Precious Metals Forms
C O N T E N T S
[North Carolina General Statutes Article 45 of Chapter 66]
Article 45 of Chapter 66 of the North Carolina General Statutes governs the regulation of precious metal business in the state (see #7 below).
A person who purchases precious metals from the public, other than by an exempted transaction (as defined in Chapter 66-406 (1)), must have a dealer permit. A precious metal dealer permit is only issued by a local law enforcement agency (city police or county sheriff department) where the business will be located using a form approved by the Department of Public Safety. The applicant for a dealer permit must also obtain a certificate of compliance for every employee engaged in the business of precious metals purchasing. Chapter 66-407 further explains this process.
All applicants must apply with their respective local law enforcement agency. Finger printing and criminal history checks on all applicants are required. A person, firm or corporation requesting a Special Occasion Permit must also comply with the fingerprint requirement.
The SBI is authorized to charge the applicant a fee to perform the criminal record check. The dealer permit application fee of $180 will cover the cost of the fingerprint check. A certificate of compliance will be issued after proper registration of an employee and payment of a $10 fee to the local law enforcement agency.
The approved forms are listed below. These forms may be reprinted on the local law enforcement agency's stationary.
- Application for Precious Metals Dealer Permit
- Supplemental Information Sheet for Co-Owner of Precious Metals Business
- Precious Metals Business Employee Registration Form
- Precious Metals Dealer Permit
- Certificate of Compliance for Precious Metals Business Employee
- Precious Metals Dealer Bond
- North Carolina General Statutes §§ 66-405 through 66-419
« this page last modified 08/24/15 »