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MEMORANDUM FOR RECORD 

 

SUBJECT: Guidance and requirements for the use of probationary or out-of-state security guards 

 

 

Security guard and patrol (SGP) companies licensed by the North Carolina Private Protective 

Services Board have several options available when seeking to hire probationary or out-of-state 

security guards in response to natural disasters or large-scale events.  

 

Probationary Unarmed Security Guards 

 See N.C. Gen. Stat. § 74C-11(a) and Rule 14B NCAC 16 .0707(a) 

 

Licensed SGP companies may employ unarmed security guards as probationary employees for 

20 consecutive calendar days at any time, regardless of whether a disaster declaration or state of 

emergency is in effect. To lawfully utilize an unarmed probationary security guard the SGP 

company must: 

• Ensure the employee completes, at a minimum, the following training within 20 days of 

being placed on a duty station:  

o The Security Officer in North Carolina (1 hour) 

o Legal Issues for Security Officers (3 hours) 

• Conduct a criminal record check on the employee. The scope and manner of the criminal 

record check is at the discretion of the employing licensee.  

• Log the employee’s information and dates worked on the Monthly Report of 

Probationary Employees form, and email the form to ppsasl@ncdps.gov each month 

probationary employees are used.  

 

Out-of-State Unarmed Security Guards 

 See N.C. Gen. Stat. § 74C-11(e) 

 

Licensed SGP companies may employ a person properly registered or licensed (credentialed) as 

an unarmed security guard in another state for a period not to exceed 10 days in any given 

month, regardless of whether a disaster declaration or state of emergency is in effect. To lawfully 

utilize an out-of-state unarmed security guard the SGP company must: 

• Before placing the unarmed security guard on post, submit to the Board Director a roster 

of the out-of-state guards to be used, which must include the following information about 

each guard: 

o Name, address, last four of social security number. 

o The state where the guard is currently licensed or registered, the guard’s license or 

registration number, and the license or registration expiration date. 

https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_74C/GS_74C-11.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2016%20-%20private%20protective%20services%20board/14b%20ncac%2016%20.0707.pdf
https://www.ncdps.gov/documents/probationary-employee-roster/open
https://www.ncdps.gov/documents/probationary-employee-roster/open
mailto:ppsasl@ncdps.gov
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_74C/GS_74C-11.pdf


 

 

Probationary Armed Security Guards 

 

Use of probationary armed security guards is not permitted.  

 

Out-of-State Armed Security Guards 

 See N.C. Gen. Stat. § 74C-11(g) and Rule 14B NCAC 16 .0807(c)(1) 

 

Licensed SGP companies may employ a person properly registered or licensed (credentialed) as 

an armed security guard in another state for the duration of a disaster declaration or state of 

emergency declared by the Governor. To lawfully utilize an out-of-state armed security guard the 

SGP company must: 

• Before placing the out-of-state armed security guard on post, submit to the Board 

Director a roster of the out-of-state guards to be used, which must include the following 

information about each guard: 

o Name, address, last four of social security number. 

o The state where the guard is currently licensed or registered, the guard’s license or 

registration number, and the license or registration expiration date. 

o Proof of completion of the 4-hour classroom block of instruction required of 

armed security guards, which includes legal limitations on the use of handguns 

and on the powers and authority of an armed security guard, and familiarity with 

rules and regulations relating to armed security guards, administered by a Board-

certified firearms trainer. 

o Proof of the guard having successfully qualified with their duty weapon on the 

Board-approved course of fire, administered by a Board-certified firearms trainer.  

 

The Board does not have the statutory authority to issue temporary licenses to security guard and 

patrol companies. Any private person, firm, association, or corporation providing security guard 

and patrol services in North Carolina, as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 74C-3(6), must be licensed 

by the N.C. Private Protective Services Board. Reports of unlicensed activity may be reported 

using the Board’s online complaint form and will be investigated accordingly.   

 

Questions about the lawful deployment of probationary or out-of-state security guards may be 

sent to Director Paul Sherwin or Deputy Director Ray Bullard.  

 

 

 

 

 

       Paul Sherwin 

       Director 

       N.C. Private Protective Services Board 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_74C/GS_74C-11.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2016%20-%20private%20protective%20services%20board/14b%20ncac%2016%20.0807.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_74C/GS_74C-3.pdf
https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-and-commissions/private-protective-services-board/complaints
mailto:paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov
mailto:gary.bullard@ncdps.gov


 

 

EXAMPLE EMPLOYMENT TIMELINE FOR A PROBATIONARY UNARMED SECURITY GUARD 
 

The 50-Day “Month of Ray” 

Probationary Unarmed Security Guard 

 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 

11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 

21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 

31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 

41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 

51+          

 

• Day 1: The probationary unarmed security guard is hired. 

• Day 1 – Day 20: The company must –  

o Ensure the employee completes, at a minimum, the following training –  

▪ The Security Officer in North Carolina (1 hour) 

▪ Legal Issues for Security Officers (3 hours) 

o Conduct a criminal record check on the employee. The scope and manner of the 

criminal record check is at the discretion of the employing licensee.  

o Log the employee’s information and dates worked on the Monthly Report of 

Probationary Employees form, and email the form to ppsasl@ncdps.gov each 

month probationary employees are used.  

o Note: If the employee resigns or is terminated within Day 1 – Day 20, the 

employee is still required to be listed on the Monthly Report of Probationary 

Employees form.  

• Day 21: The security guard is either hired as a permanent employee or released from 

employment.  

• Day 21 – Day 50: If the guard is hired as a permanent employee, the company must –  

o Ensure the employee completes the remaining 12 hours of required training –  

▪ Emergency Response (3 hours) 

▪ Communications (2 hours) 

▪ Patrol Procedures (3 hours) 

▪ Note Taking and Report Writing (3 hours) 

▪ Professional Conduct (1 hour) 

o Complete all other registration application requirements of Rule 14B NCAC 16 

.0701 and submit an online registration application.  

o Note: If the employee resigns or is terminated within Day 21 – Day 50, the 

company is still required to submit a registration application—even if it is 

incomplete.  

• Day 51+: The guard continues working for the duration of their employment or until 

their registration expires.  

 

 

https://www.ncdps.gov/documents/probationary-employee-roster/open
https://www.ncdps.gov/documents/probationary-employee-roster/open
mailto:ppsasl@ncdps.gov
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2016%20-%20private%20protective%20services%20board/14b%20ncac%2016%20.0701.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2016%20-%20private%20protective%20services%20board/14b%20ncac%2016%20.0701.pdf


 

 

EXAMPLE EMPLOYMENT TIMELINE FOR AN OUT-OF-STATE UNARMED SECURITY GUARD 
 

Out-of-State Credentialed Unarmed Security Guard 

 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 

11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 

21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 

31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 

41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 

51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 

61+          

 

• Day 0: Before placing a credentialed out-of-state unarmed security guard on post, submit 

to the Board Director a roster of the out-of-state guards to be used, which must include 

the following information about each guard: 

o Name, address, last four of social security number. 

o The state where the guard is currently licensed or registered, the guard’s license or 

registration number, and the license or registration expiration date. 

• Day 1 – Day 10: The credentialed out-of-state unarmed security guard works in N.C. 

under the authority of NCGS 74C-11(e).  

• Day 11: The out-of-state guard is either hired as a probationary employee and remains in 

N.C., or is released from temporary employment in N.C.  

• Day 11 – Day 30: If the guard is hired as a probationary employee, the company must –  

o Ensure the employee completes, at a minimum, the following training –  

▪ The Security Officer in North Carolina (1 hour) 

▪ Legal Issues for Security Officers (3 hours) 

o Conduct a criminal record check on the employee. The scope and manner of the 

criminal record check is at the discretion of the employing licensee.  

o Log the employee’s information and dates worked on the Monthly Report of 

Probationary Employees form, and email the form to ppsasl@ncdps.gov each 

month probationary employees are used.  

o Note: If the employee is released from N.C. employment, resigns, or is terminated 

within Day 11 – Day 30, the employee is still required to be listed on the Monthly 

Report of Probationary Employees form.  

• Day 31: The security guard is either hired as a permanent employee or released from 

probationary employment in N.C.  

• Day 31 – Day 60: If the guard is hired as a permanent employee, the company must –  

o Ensure the employee completes the remaining 12 hours of required training –  

▪ Emergency Response (3 hours) 

▪ Communications (2 hours) 

▪ Patrol Procedures (3 hours) 

▪ Note Taking and Report Writing (3 hours) 

▪ Professional Conduct (1 hour) 

https://www.ncdps.gov/documents/probationary-employee-roster/open
https://www.ncdps.gov/documents/probationary-employee-roster/open
mailto:ppsasl@ncdps.gov


 

 

o Complete all other registration application requirements of Rule 14B NCAC 16 

.0701, and submit an online registration application.  

o Note: If the employee is released from employment in N.C., resigns, or is 

terminated within Day 31 – Day 60, the company is still required to submit a 

registration application—even if it is incomplete.  

• Day 61+: The guard continues working for the duration of their employment in N.C. or 

until their registration expires.  

 

 

 

EXAMPLE EMPLOYMENT TIMELINE FOR AN OUT-OF-STATE ARMED SECURITY GUARD 
 

Out-of-State Credentialed Armed Security Guard 

 

1 →  

Disaster Declaration/State of Emergency ends, or 

 365 

 

• Day 0: Before placing the credentialed out-of-state armed security guard on post, submit 

to the Board Director a roster of the out-of-state guards to be used, which must include 

the following information about each guard: 

o Name, address, last four of social security number. 

o The state where the guard is currently licensed or registered, the guard’s license or 

registration number, and the license or registration expiration date. 

o Proof of completion of the 4-hour classroom block of instruction required of 

armed security guards, which includes legal limitations on the use of handguns 

and on the powers and authority of an armed security guard, and familiarity with 

rules and regulations relating to armed security guards, administered by a Board-

certified firearms trainer. 

o Proof of the guard having successfully qualified with their duty weapon on the 

Board-approved course of fire, administered by a Board-certified firearms trainer.  

• Day 1: Out-of-state armed security guard begins working in N.C.  

• Day 1 – Day 365, or until the Disaster Declaration/State of Emergency ends, 

whichever occurs first: Credentialed out-of-state armed security guard works in N.C. 

under the authority of N.C.G.S. 74C-11(g).  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2016%20-%20private%20protective%20services%20board/14b%20ncac%2016%20.0701.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2016%20-%20private%20protective%20services%20board/14b%20ncac%2016%20.0701.pdf
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