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Victims Come from All Walks of Life

. —
“J v




Who Are We?

Office of Victim Compensation Services
Department of Public Safety

Since 1987, we have helped victims and their

families regain their lives and their financial

Director Liddie Shropshire stability as they heal from the devastating effects

of criminal violence.




We Provide Resources to Help Put Life Back Together

Our office accepts applications for payment of eligible expenses and lost
wages that result from being an innocent victim of a violent crime

committed in North Carolina. Crimes include;

« Sexual assault Homicide

« Domestic violence Assault and battery

Stalking

 Elder abuse

- DWI/DUI

Other violent crimes

 Pedestrian hit and run



How Do We Help Victims of Violent Crime?

Our English- and Spanish-speaking claims specialists help victims

understand their eligibility for benefits and apply for financial

assistance.
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More than

2,300

applications
approved in
FY2022

More than

300

applications
filed each
month

More than

2,400

calls for
support each
month

More than

$6.8M

distributed in
FY2022




Eligibility and Application Requirements




Who Is Eligible to Apply?

Victims of violent crime who meet these requirements:

* Crime occurred in North Carolina

* Victim contacted law enforcement or applied for a warrant

* Victim sustained a direct injury — physical or psychological

* Victim received eligible services or lost income within 1 year

* Victim was NOT committing a crime at the time of injury

Note: Victims do NOT need to be North Carolina residents.



What Actions Do Applicants Need to Take?

Download the application, or call to request a copy by mail.
Complete and sign the application.

Attach supporting documents.
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Mail the application to our office.

Phone

_ Website
(800) 826-6200 in N.C. or Victim Comp Services

D) CESTATA G D e www.ncdps.gov/4victims 4232 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-4232




What Happens Once You Apply?

Our office reviews

li . d Complete Investigator
applications and may application - determines
contact you to make submitted eligibility ‘
referrals or request
more information. Claim denial — Financial examiner
applicant may reviews expenses
] appeal decision
To avoid delays, make ‘

sure our office has your

: : Final letter of
contact information, and detormination.
respond to all messages payment mailed to

. applicant or directly
from our office. to provider




Compensation Guidelines




What Compensation Services May Cover

The compensation program reimburses out-of-pocket costs of eligible
services and may compensate for lost wages or financial support.

Families of victims may also be eligible for compensation of funeral
expenses and counseling.

$45,000

Maximum reimbursement per applicant




Payer of Last Resort

The Office of Victim Compensation Services provides financial
assistance only for eligible expenses or lost wages not paid by sources
such as:

« Auto, disability, health and home insurance

* Public funds such as Medicaid

« Sick or annual leave paid by an employer

 Worker compensation
» Restitution paid by an offender
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Medical, Counseling
and Dental Expenses

Victims who sustain physical or
psychological injury may submit
expenses from certified
providers of medical, dental or
counseling services.

Required Documents:
» Copy of police report
* Itemized bills




Funeral Expense Benefit

Families of homicide victims may
apply for up to $10,000 for the
burial, cremation and
transportation of the body of their
loved one.

Required Documents:
e Death certificate
e |temized funeral bill




Loss of wages

Victims who are employed at the time
of injury and are not able to work may
apply for lost wages.

Required Documents:
« Pay stub prior to injury
* Doctor statement

« Employer statement confirming
employment status, leave benefits,
and wages per year or per hour




Loss of Household
Support

Unemployed victims who are married
to a domestic violence offender and
who have dependent children may be
eligible for support.

Required Documents:
» Law enforcement report

» Third-party confirmation of eligible
children




Crime Scene Cleanup

Payments to a certified biohazard
cleanup company may include
repair of doors, locks and windows;

cleanup of blood stains.

Required Documents:

« Signed and itemized contract

* |nsurance claim




Questions?

ncdps.gov/4victims
800.826.6200
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