
Victim 
Compensation 

Services

• Domestic violence
• Sexual assault
• Assault and  

battery
• Homicide
• Stalking 

• DUI/DWI or  
pedestrian  
hit and run

• Elder abuse
• Other violent 

crimes

FINANCIAL RESOURCES 
FOR VICTIMS OF VIOLENT CRIME

CONTACT US
1-800-826-6200
919-733-7974
www.ncdps.gov/4victims
512 N. Salisbury St.
Raleigh, N.C. 27601

OTHER RESOURCES
Legal Aid of N.C. Inc.

1-866-219-5262
www.legalaidnc.org

North Carolina Coalition  
Against Domestic Violence

919-956-9124
www.nccadv.org

North Carolina Coalition Against  
Sexual Assault

919-871-1015
www.nccasa.org

NC Statewide Automated  
Victim Assistance and Notification

1-877-NCSAVAN (627-2826)
www.ncsavan.org

Victim Support Services
1-866-719-0108
www.dac.nc.gov



WHAT IS VICTIM COMPENSATION? 
North Carolina provides financial assistance  
to victims of violent crime who face out-of-
pocket costs for eligible expenses. The Office 
of Victim Compensation Services is a payer  
of last resort, meaning victims should first 
submit expenses to private or public insurance 
companies. Deductibles and co-pays may be 
reimbursed.

AM I ELIGIBLE?
Victims of violent crime who answer YES to 
the following questions may be eligible for 
financial assistance. Victims do not need to  
be residents of North Carolina. 
• Was the crime reported in North Carolina?
• Did the victim sustain a direct injury –  
 physical or psychological?
• Did the victim receive eligible services  
 or lose income within one year of the crime?
• Was the victim NOT committing a crime at  
 the time of injury?

 
 

WHAT TYPES OF EXPENSES CAN I SUBMIT?

4  Medical

4	Counseling

4	Dental or orthodontic 

4	Lost wages

4	Domestic violence loss of household support 

4	Burial and funeral expenses

4	Crime scene cleanup

WHAT CANNOT BE SUBMITTED?

7	 Property damage or loss

7	 Replacement of property taken as evidence

7	 Court fees and expenses

7	 Pain and suffering

7	 Utilities

7	 Mortgage or rent

7	 Travel

 
 
 
 

HOW DO I APPLY?
1. Visit www.ncdps.gov/4victims to download 

an application, or call 800-826-6200 or  
919-733-7974 to request an application by mail. 

2. Complete and sign the application. 
3. Attach all documents that support the  

application. 
4. Mail the application to:
  Office of Victim Compensation Services
  4232 Mail Service Center
  Raleigh, NC 27699-4232

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER I SUBMIT THE  
APPLICATION?
All services provided by the Office of Victim 
Compensation Services are free and  
confidential. Our staff reviews each application 
and may contact you to provide referrals or 
to request additional information. You must 
respond to questions and provide additional 
documents as requested. 

Once a decision has been made, you will  
receive a letter outlining next steps. If your 
claim is denied, you will have 60 days to 
appeal the decision with the Administrative 
Office of the Courts. 

HOW CAN I AVOID DELAYS?
• Complete and sign the application.
• Include a law enforcement report or warrant  
 that lists your name.
• Provide itemized bills.
• Cooperate with requests from our office   
 and from law enforcement.

WHAT IS THE MAXIMUM REPAYMENT?
• Up to $45,000 for victims of violent crime
• Up to $10,000 for burial and funeral  
 expenses for homicide victims 


