REQUEST FOR FIREARMS TRAINING EXEMPTION

Instructions: This form is for the exclusive use of persons applying for a new armed registration who are eligible for a firearms training exemption, pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 74C-13.1. This form and the training exemption are not applicable to armed registration renewals. Once completed, this form and the required supporting documentation is to be attached to the person's application for a new armed registration.

Select which qualifying exemption you are applying for:

I am currently a sworn state, county, or municipal law enforcement officer who has successfully completed N.C. Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) and the first year of probationary employment.

Required supporting documentation: A copy of your North Carolina BLET training certificate and a letter from your department that verifies your probationary employment period has been completed.

I am a former sworn federal, state, county, or municipal law enforcement officer whose duties included the use of, and qualification with, a firearm, and who retired or separated in good standing within the preceding three years from the date of my application for an armed registration.

Required supporting documentation: Retirement documentation from within the preceding three years that verifies your previous sworn status, or the card issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Training & Standards Division that authorizes you to carry a concealed handgun under the United States Law Enforcement Officers' Safety Act of 2004, or retirement or separation documentation from a federal law enforcement agency with a United States Office of Personnel Management job series of 1811.

I am an honorably discharged military veteran whose military occupational specialty included Military Police or Criminal Investigative Division (CID), and who separated from the military in good standing within the preceding three years from the date of my application for an armed registration.

Required supporting documentation: A United States Department of Defense Form DD-214, Form DD-215, or Form NGB-22 noting a Military Police or CID military occupational specialty and discharge status.

I am an employee of a nuclear power plant who is required to comply with 10 C.F.R. § 73.55 Appendix B, "Training and Qualification of Security Personnel," as supplemented by the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Regulatory Guide 5.75.

Required supporting documentation: Evidence of current and direct employment with a nuclear power plant located in North Carolina.

I understand that with this exemption, I am still required to complete the 4-hour minimum legal block of instruction, as required by N.C.G.S. 74C-13.1(e) and administrative rule 14B NCAC 16.0807(c)(1). In addition, I understand that if I do not successfully qualify within the first three attempts on the required firearm qualification course, I must undergo the entire 20-hour course of instruction, as required by N.C.G.S. 74C-13.1(d).

| Name as it appears on your registration application | n: |
|-----------------------------------------------------|----|
|-----------------------------------------------------|----|

| Signature: | | |
|------------|--|--|
| | | |

Date:

MAILING ADDRESS: 3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104 Raleigh, NC 27609



www.ncdps.gov/pps An Equal Opportunity employer OFFICE LOCATION:

3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104 Raleigh, NC 27609 Telephone: (919) 788-5320

Email: ppsasl@ncdps.gov