

North Carolina Department of Public Safety N.C. Center for Safer Schools

Pat McCrory, Governor

Frank L. Perry, Secretary

Raleigh, NC 27607 Telephone: (919) 324-6380

Agenda Governor's Task Force on Safer Schools June 30, 2016

10:00 a.m.	Welcome and Introductions/ Approval of Minutes	Chip Hughes, Chairman	
	Special Remarks	Commissioner Greg Baker N.C. Department of Public Safety	
	Special Presentation: School Safety Excellence Award	Sheriff Robert Holland, Vice-Chair	
	Swearing in New Members	Chief Justice Mark Martin	
10:30 a.m.	Executive Director's Report	Kym Martin, Executive Director N.C. Center for Safer Schools	
10:45 a.m.	"Some of the Best of the West: School Safety Initiatives from the Western Region"	Collaboration between Buncombe County Schools and Buncombe County Emergency Management- Joe Hough, Assist. Superintendent, Buncombe County Schools; Angie Ledford, Buncombe County EM	
		Inside Out: Alternatives to Suspension- Jackson County	
MAILING ADDRESS: 4218 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27607	NC constructions	OFFICE LOCATION: Claude T. Bowers Military Center 4105 Reedy Creek Rd. Raleigh, NC 27607	

An Equal Opportunity employer

www.ncdps.gov

		Schools, Western Carolina University, and the HIGHT Program Program Director- Marcus Metcalf A Continuum of Integrated School Mental Health: The ASC Center University-School Partnership Dr. Kurt D. Michael, Ph.D. Department of Psychology at ASU
	Questions and Comments	Task Force Members
12:15 p.m.	Lunch Break	
12:30 p.m.	Presentations over Lunch	Threats on the Internet; Cyber- Bullying and Sexting Karen Morrow, CLPE Forensic Scientist Manager/Special Agent, NC Crime Lab Update on School Safety Efforts in the Eastern Part of the State Agent Matt Knight, ALE
1:15 p.m.	Subcommittee Reports	School Climate and Discipline Dr. Ben Matthews, Chair Physical Security and Emergency Preparedness Sheriff Robbie Holland, Chair Substance Abuse and Gang Prevention Agent Matt Knight, Chair Mental Health and Students with Special Needs Greta Metcalf, LPC, Chair

2:00 p.m.	Partnering Agency Updates on School Safety Activities	Dr. Courtney Cantrell
		Director Mark Strickland Department of Justice
		Dr. Ben Matthews Department of Public Instruction
		Deputy Commissioner William Lassiter Juvenile Justice Services
		Lt. Col. William Clayton State Highway Patrol
	Questions and Comments	Task Force Members

2:45 p.m.	Legislative Agenda Update	Vice-Chair Robert Holland
	Input and Questions From Our Western Partners	

2:15 p.m.	New Business/Closing Remarks/Adjourn	Chairman Hughes

September Meeting