

North Carolina Department of Public Safety

Office of Recovery and Resiliency

Roy Cooper, Governor Eddie M. Buffaloe, Jr., Secretary Laura H. Hogshead, Director

MEMORANDUM

TO: Joint Legislative Commission on Governmental Operations Fiscal Research Division

FROM: Laura Hogshead, Director XNA Eddie M. Buffaloe, Jr., Secretary EMPS

RE: Stream Management and Flooding Reduction Biannual Report

DATE: January 1, 2022

Pursuant to Session Law 2021-180, section 5.9.(p), the North Carolina Office of Recovery and Resiliency (NCORR) shall establish an intergovernmental working group related to stream management and flooding reduction and shall submit a biannual report regarding the working group's findings and recommendations to the Joint Legislative Commission on Governmental Operations and the Fiscal Research Division, beginning on January 1, 2022.

Subsection 5.9.(p) of Session Law 2021-180, amends Subpart D of Part 5 of Article 13 of Chapter 143B of the North Carolina General Statutes and directs NCORR to establish the working group with "representatives from the Department of Environmental Quality and other relevant State agencies, local governments, and other stakeholders to identify legislative, economic, jurisdictional, and other challenges related to stream management and flooding reduction.

Session Law 2021-180 was approved on November 18, 2021. Because of the short time available between the signing of the law and the due date of the first report, NCORR resilience leadership convened an initial meeting of state agency staff on December 17, 2021, to discuss outreach to additional interagency representatives (including local governments and relevant stakeholders outside government) and next steps for the working group, with the intention of building out the group's membership over the next few months. State agency staff who participated in this first meeting are listed at the bottom of this memorandum.

At the December 17, 2021 meeting, NCORR leadership asked the state agency representatives present to submit additional names for membership, with particular attention to representation from outside state government. Members of the group have now submitted several additional names, and NCORR leadership will engage in additional outreach in the new year.

Mailing Address: Post Office Box 110465 Durham, NC 27709



An Equal Opportunity Employer

Phone: (984) 833-5350 www.ncdps.gov www.rebuild.nc.gov NCORR also asked for volunteers for an ad hoc subcommittee to help plan how the group will develop its findings and recommendations regarding "legislative, economic, jurisdictional, and other challenges related to stream management and flooding reduction." Staff from the Departments of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Environmental Quality, Natural and Cultural Resources, and Transportation have volunteered to assist NCORR staff with planning these next steps for the working group. This ad hoc subcommittee will meet in early January, and the next meeting of the full interagency working group will be for scheduled shortly thereafter. Development of the working group's findings and recommendations will begin at this next meeting, once additional members can participate.

Interagency Working Group Representatives Present at December 17, 2021 Meeting (held virtually)

Steve Bevington, Restoration Program Manager, Division of Land and Water Stewardship, NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (NCDNCR)

Marlena Byrne, Deputy Chief Resilience Officer, North Carolina Office of Recovery and Resiliency (NCORR), NC Department of Public Safety (NCDPS)

Coley Cordeiro, PhD, Assistant Director, Division of Water Resources, NC Department of Environmental Quality (NCDEQ)

Vernon Cox, Director, Division of Soil & Water Conservation, NC Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Shannon Deaton, PE, Chief, Habitat Conservation Division, NC Wildlife Resources Commission (NCWRC)

Steve Garrett, CFM, State National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) Coordinator, Risk Management Section, Emergency Management, NCDPS

Chris Goudreau, Special Projects Coordinator, NCWRC

Joy Hicks, Senior Director of Governmental Affairs, NCDEQ

Matthew Lauffer, PE, CPM, State Hydraulics Design Engineer, Hydraulics Unit, NC Department of Transportation (NCDOT)

Amanda Martin, PhD, Chief Resilience Officer, NCORR, NCDPS

Colin Mellor, Eastern Regional Team Lead, Environmental Policy Unit, NCDOT

Stephen Morgan, PE, State Hydraulics Engineer, Hydraulics Unit, NCDOT

Kirsten Ullman, CFM, Watershed Planner, Division of Mitigation Services, NCDEQ

William E. Toby Vinson, Jr., PE, CPESC, CPM, Chief of Program Operations and NCORR Liaison, Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources, NCDEQ

Andrea Webster, Resilience Policy Advisor, NCORR, NCDPS