## DUTY TO REPORT

If you are experiencing pressure from or have been sexually abused by an offender, DPS employee, community work site supervisor, treatment provider or agent, please report this abuse immediately. Reports may be made (but is not limited) to the following:

- $\Delta$  Probation Officer or Office Supervisor
- $\Delta$  Local Law Enforcement
- Δ Community Corrections Main Office at (919)716-3100
- △ DPS PREA Office at (919)716-3700

# NATIONAL and LOCAL RAPE CRISIS SERVICES

#### Rape, Abuse and Incest

#### National Network (RAINN)

RAINN can be reached toll-free at (800) 656-HOPE (4673) or at <u>www.rainn.org</u>.

The Online Hotline provides live, secure, anonymous crisis support for victims of sexual assault, their friends, and families over RAINN's website. The Online Hotline is free of charge and is available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week.

#### NC CASA

The North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault can connect you to a rape crisis center in your area. Call (919) 871-1015.

## FALSE REPORTS

NCGS § 14-225. False reports to law enforcement agencies or officers.

Any person who shall willfully make or cause to be made to a law enforcement agency or officer any false, misleading or unfounded report, for the purpose of interfering with the operation of a law enforcement agency, or to hinder or obstruct any law enforcement officer in the performance of his duty, shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.

#### RETALIATION

The Department has a zero-tolerance policy for retaliation towards an offender or employee who reports offender sexual abuse. Submit reports of retaliation in writing to the DPS PREA Office at 214 W. Jones St., Raleigh, NC 27610.



The opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this publication/ program/ exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect views of the Department of Justice. This project was supported by award 06-RP-BX-0026 awarded by the Bureau of Justice Assistance through the U.S. Department of Justice. 250,000 copies of the public document were printed at a cost of \$5,556 or \$0.02 per copy.



# Sexual Abuse Awareness for the Offender

North Carolina Department of Public Safety

### **OFFENDER SEXUAL ABUSE**

The Department of Public Safety has zero-tolerance for behavior with an offender that is unduly familiar or sexually abusive. Departmental staff, correctional agents, agency vendors and volunteers are strictly prohibited from engaging in personal dealings or any conduct of a sexual nature with offenders. Sexual acts between an offender and departmental staff, correctional agents, agency vendors and volunteers violates the federal Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003 (PREA) and is punishable as a Class E felony in North Carolina.

## PREVENTING SEXUAL ABUSE

The only way rape can be prevented is when a potential rapist chooses NOT to rape. However, you may avoid an attack by keeping the following safety guidelines in mind:

- $\Delta$  Be aware of situations that make you feel uncomfortable. Trust your instincts.
- ∆ Don't let your manners get in the way of keeping yourself safe. Don't be afraid to say "NO" or "STOP IT, NOW!"
- ∆ Walk and stand with confidence. Many rapists choose victims who look like they won't fight back or are emotionally weak.
- ∆ Avoid talking about sex and casual nudity. These things may be considered a come-on or make another offender believe that you have an interest in a sexual relationship.
- △ Avoid secluded areas. Position yourself in plain view of staff members. If you are being pressured for sex, report it to a staff member immediately. If you are aware that another offender is being sexually abused, you have a responsibility to report it to staff.

#### FACTS ABOUT SEXUAL ABUSE

Anyone, male or female, can be the victim or perpetrator of sexual violence. A rapist may be either heterosexual or homosexual.

A survivor is not at fault for the rape/sexual assault, even if he/she was in a secluded area or had previous consensual sex with the attacker.

The fact that a victim of sexual abuse became sexually aroused, or that a male victim ejaculated, does not mean he/she was not raped or that he/she gave consent. These are normal, involuntary physiological reactions.

It is common for survivors of sexual abuse to have feelings of embarrassment, anger, guilt, panic, or depression. Other common reactions include loss of appetite, nausea or stomachaches, headaches, loss of memory and/or trouble concentrating and changes in sleep patterns.

The dynamics of sexual abuse can cause physical, mental, social & behavioral effects, chronic conditions and issues with reproductive health. Physical effects may include injuries, functional impairments, poor health, obesity, etc. Mental effects include PTSD, anxiety, low self esteem, sexual dysfunction, etc. Social and behavioral effects such as smoking, alcohol/ drug abuse, high risk sexual behavior, physical inactivity, stigmatization by the community or family.

#### WHAT TO DO IF YOU ARE SEXUALLY ABUSED

If the attack has just happened...

Get to a safe place. REPORT THE ATTACK TO A STAFF MEMBER or LAW ENFORCEMENT IMMEDIATELY. The longer you wait to report the attack the more difficult it is to obtain the evidence necessary for a criminal and/or administrative investigation.

Seek immediate medical attention. You may have serious injuries that you are not aware of, and any sexual contact can expose you to sexually transmitted diseases. Do not shower, brush your teeth, use the restroom, or change your clothes. You may destroy important evidence. \*At Community Corrections Residential facilities, request immediate medical attention.

Later on...

Seek the support of a trusted friend, family member, or local Rape Crisis Center. The days ahead can be traumatic and it helps to have people who care about you supporting you.

**Seek professional help.** Support Services in the community are available for crisis care to listen and offer support.

