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POLICY & PROCEDURES

.1501 GENERAL

The following procedures outline inmate releases from the custody of North Carolina Prisons.
These guidelines include a variety of processes through which an inmate can be released from
prison custody, with specific instructions for North Carolina Prisons staff to ensure that the
release is affected accurately. This material also includes the processes completed by other
related authorities, i.e., Combined Records, Post-Release Supervision and Parole Commission,
the North Carolina Community Corrections (DCC), etc., as appropriate.

.1502 DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of this policy, the following definitions apply:

(@)

(b)

(©)

(d)

©

®

(®

(h)

EXPIRATION OF SENTENCE - When an inmate has completely served all sentences
and will not be reporting to Parole or Post-Release Supervision. This is commonly known
as the inmate’s projected release date (PRD) or max out.

COURT-ORDERED RELEASE - This release is the result of authorization by the
courts for the inmate to be released from the custody of the North Carolina Prisons.

RELEASE SAFEKEEPER - This release returns a safekeeper inmate to the custody of
the appropriate Sheriff upon presentation of credentials and proper related court
documents.

PRE-SENTENCE DIAGNOSTIC (PSD) RELEASE - This release occurs when a
court-ordered PSD study has been completed.

RELEASE FROM INTERSTATE CORRECTIONS COMPACT (ICC) - This
release occurs when the state from which the inmate came authorizes the inmate's release.

PARDON - A pardon occurs when the Governor of North Carolina forgives an inmate's
sentence.

CONDITIONAL COMMUTATION - This release occurs when the Governor of North
Carolina reduces an inmate's sentence to the time he or she has already served
(commonly known as commuted to time served).

POST-RELEASE SUPERVISION - Post-release supervision is mandated by statute
following release from certain active structured sentence terms.
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(1) PAROLE - Release on parole is an action by the Parole Commission and can include 6-
month mandatory parole, 90-day mandatory parole, misdemeanor parole, one-third
parole, regular parole, community service parole, and conditional release (Committed
Youthful Offender only) and parole to DWI school (28 and 90 day programs).

9) DECLINE TO REVOKE - This is an action by the Parole Commission which indicates
that the inmate's parole supervision time is to continue. If the inmate has no other active
prison time to complete, a release from custody and return to parole supervision will be
affected. If there is an active prison sentence to complete, (i.e., has received an additional
sentence while on parole), the inmate will remain in custody until the active sentence has
expired.

(k) SEX OFFENDERS - Offenders identified as those inmates convicted of specific
statutorily defined assaultive offenses of a sexual nature.

O DEATH - When an offender dies while in the custody of North Carolina Prisons.

(m) DIRECT RELEASE - This procedure applies to inmates that are released to the
community as post-release or parole supervisees. Exceptions are indicated in .1503.

(n) RELEASE OFFICER - A certified Probation Parole Officer designated to assist with
releasing an offender from custody by initiating the process to begin the Post-Release or
Parole Supervision period.

The foregoing are the normal releases within the North Carolina Prisons. Combined Records
should be contacted for releases from jails.

.1503 PROCEDURE

(a) PROCEDURES FOR ALL RELEASES

(1)  Inmates scheduled for release will be listed on the facilities Release Planning List
(IPT batch job 02), and the Scheduled Release List (IPT batch job 10).

(2)  All releases are authorized by Combined Records on the Significant Issues/Case
Management Note screen (IP60/61) with exceptions being Safekeeper Release,
PSD Release, and Release from Interstate Corrections Compact. IP60/61 notes
will include comments as to the specific approved release date, and a screen print
of IP60/61 will serve as the authority to release the inmate. A copy of the screen
print should be placed in the inmate's facility jacket for future reference.

(3)  The External Movements screen (IP20) should be completed before the inmate
departs to ensure no unaudited sentences exist.

“4) If, because of meritorious time being approved, an inmate's projected release date
changes after the release is approved, Combined Records should be notified
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immediately. Facility staff, if possible, should award sentence reduction credits
well in advance of projected release dates to avoid changes in approved release
dates.

Staff is required to complete the Inmate Release Plan screen (IP55) for any
inmate to be released with exceptions being Safekeeper Release, PSD Release,
and Release from Interstate Corrections Compact. IPSS completion must be as
accurate and complete as possible, with the state and county code essential. Staff
shall not enter a post office box as the inmate’s proposed release plan. The Plan
must be completed before the inmate is released.

Any questions or concerns about the validity of the instructions should be directed
to Combined Records at (919) 716-3200 during normal working hours.

All efforts shall be made on the part of Prisons to transfer the inmate to the
facility closest to the planned place of residence for all applicable releases. When
possible this should be done fourteen (14) days prior to the projected release date.
Certain inmates are eligible for custody change for release purposes. All inmates
shall be screened for transfer to the closest facility to facilitate release. The
Release Officer at the receiving facility will review the post release papers with
the inmate. Any exceptions shall be communicated among all parties.

Specific instructions regarding each type of release are:

(b) DIRECT RELEASE

All inmates released to Post-Release Supervision or Parole will be direct released with
the exception of the following:

Inmates determined to be homeless;

Inmates with pending charges (where bond has not been posted);

Inmates with outstanding warrants;

Sex Offenders convicted of a reportable conviction or who have been convicted of
a non-reportable offense that involves the physical, mental or sexual abuse of a
minor;

Inmates being released from High Security Maximum Control (HCON),
Maximum Control (MCON), and Intensive Control (ICON).

NOTE: The Release Officer will affect the release of inmates from the control statuses listed
above. Prisons will purchase a bus ticket to the inmate’s home county if needed. The Supervising
Officer will not be required to travel to the facility to perform the release unless they are in the

same county as the facility.

Inmates who are under the age of 18.
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NOTE: For offenders under the age of 18, the release officer will affect the release on the
date of the release; if the inmate does not have transportation, Community Corrections
will transport the offender to the inmate’s home county.

(D

@

)

When an inmate is required to be picked up by the Supervising Officer, the
Officer will contact the facility at least fourteen (14) days prior to the scheduled
release date and request the inmate be transferred to the facility most convenient
to the Officer for pick-up.

The Supervising Officer will utilize CJ LEADS and ACIS to determine if there
are pending charges or detainers in North Carolina. The Releasing Prison Facility
will review DCI to determine if there are Out of State pending charges or
detainers and to ensure all commitments have been satisfied and relay that
information to the Release Officer.

For inmates with pending charges or outstanding warrants, before the date of
release, the Supervising Officer will ensure the local sheriff in the county where
the charge(s) are pending is made aware the inmate will need to be picked up for
transport to the local confinement facility.

The assigned case manager shall work with the Release Officer to find a suitable
home plan for the inmate. The assigned case manager shall confirm the home plan
within 30 days and within 14 days of release.

(c) COURT-ORDERED RELEASE

4y

2
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When a Superior or District Court Judge orders an inmate's sentence vacated,
Combined Records will first notify the facility by telephone to inform them that
the inmate must be released. A related comment will then be placed on the
Significant Issues/Case Management Note screen (IP60/61), and the facility will
receive a faxed copy of the court order from Combined Records. If the court-
ordered release documentation is forwarded directly to the prison facility,
Combined Records should be contacted immediately.

The facility will not release the inmate until all steps have been completed by
Combined Records. A copy of the court order should be retained by the facility
for future reference.

If a judge orders an inmate to be removed from the North Carolina Prisons'
custody directly from court (frees the inmate), the facility should immediately
contact Combined Records.

(d) SAFEKEEPER RELEASE
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Procedures for the release of a safekeeper inmate are directed under Chapter C,
.1600 Safekeepers, specifically .1608 Release.

Any questions as to the validity of the proposed release of a safekeeper should be
directed to Combined Records at (919) 716-3200 during normal working hours.

(¢) PRE-SENTENCE DIAGNOSTIC STUDY (PSD) RELEASE

M

(2)

Upon completion of the PSD committee report, the Diagnostic Services Branch
will send a DCI message authorizing the sheriff of the committing county to
assume custody of the PSD, and notifying the assigned diagnostic center of the
same. No PSD is released without this authorization. All PSD’s are returned to
their respective counties on or before the expiration date of the commitment.

Any validity concerns about release after a PSD should be directed to the DSB at
(919) 838-3700 during normal working hours.

® RELEASE FROM INTERSTATE CORRECTIONS COMPACT (ICC)

0y
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That state from which the inmate came will forward all related papers to the
Classification Services Section. Classification Services is the final approving
authority for actions regarding ICC cases for North Carolina Prisons.

Classification Services will notify the appropriate facility by telephone and

forward to the facility the related documentation along with specific instructions.

Questions or concerns should be directed to the Classification Services Manager
at (984) 255-6100 during normal working hours.

(g) PARDON

)

2

Combined Records manages this release and will notify the facility by telephone
to inform them of the pardon. Release instructions will then be entered on the
Significant Issues/Case Management Note screen (IP60/61), with comments as to
the approved pardon date.

A screen print of IP60/61 will serve as unit authority to release the inmate. A copy
of IP60/61 is to be placed in the inmate's facility jacket for future reference.

(h) CONDITIONAL COMMUTATION
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(1)  Combined Records manages this release and will notify the facility by telephone
to inform them of the commutation. Release instructions will then be entered on
the Significant Issues/Case Management Note screen (IP60/61).

(2) A screen print of IP60/61 will serve as unit authority to release the inmate. A copy
of IP60/61 is to be placed in the inmate's unit jacket for future reference.

@) POST-RELEASE SUPERVISION

(1)  The Parole Commission sets the conditions of post-release supervision, which are
provided to North Carolina Community Corrections (DCC).

(2)  Eligibility for post-release supervision applies to class B1 through E structured
sentence felons with offense dates from October 1, 1994 through November 30,
2011 and all felony structured sentences with offense dates on or after December
1,2011.

(3)  Eligibility for post-release supervision will fall under one of two categories:
regular post-release supervision or early post-release supervision. Both types
require that an inmate with felony offense be released from prison and placed on
post-release supervision on the date equivalent to the maximum prison sentence
minus jail credit, less nine/twelve month or 5 year for felony cases or a 4 month
deduction for Aggravated Level 1 DWI (which ever is applicable), less any
earned time awarded by the Department of Public Safety or the custodian of a
local confinement center. The difference between the two types involves
structured sentence time being served in conjunction with pre-structured sentence
time. If the inmate is serving structured sentence time for a felony, the inmate will
be released on regular post-release supervision. If the inmate is serving structured
sentence time for a felony and is also serving a pre-structured sentence time, he
may be eligible for early post-release supervision which may occur prior to the
maximum release date. Note that either type of post-release supervision is not a
parole, and the inmate can neither refuse nor be denied the release. If the inmate
attempts to refuse post-release supervision, contact the Post-Release/Parole
Supervision Office at (919) 716-3107.

@) When an inmate is scheduled for post-release supervision, the post-release papers
will be printed from the OPUS On the Web Inmate Release Checklist screen.
This option will appear after the Parole Commission has approved the release.
The Release Officer will provide three (3) sets of the approved post-release papers
to be reviewed with the inmate.

(5)  The Release Officer will read the release agreement and have the inmate sign all
sets where indicated to acknowledge awareness and understanding. The inmate is
provided with one copy of the Release Order and one signed Release Agreement.
The facility will retain one copy and the Release Officer will retain a copy.
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For any specific DCC release instructions, view the Release Plan Notes. DCC
staff enters relevant release instruction comments through the F23 key on the
Inmate Release Plan screen (IP55).

The Facility Parole Results Review screen (PC15) will indicate a parole release
date has been set. All post-release supervision cases will be documented by
Combined Records on the significant Issues/Case Management Note screen
(IP60/61). The Facility Parole Review screen (PC40) will not show a release
on/after date, but will note the comment: **See IP60/61 for release date.**

The PC40 screen will include any related Parole Commission comments
regarding the case.

Post-release supervision cases must be released on the scheduled release date as
prescribed by statute, including cases where the release date falls on weekends
and holidays. If the inmate scheduled for post-release supervision has not been
released from the prison unit by the designated Release Officer by 5 p.m. on the
scheduled release date, the prison unit is to call the Electronic House Arrest
(EHA) Base Station at 1-800-735-1432 to report the problem. EHA will contact
appropriate personnel who will assist in releasing the inmate.

OPUS will automatically print the “Transfer of Custody” form when the post-
release movement code is entered on the External Movement screen (IP20). This
form should be given to the parole officer releasing the inmate to ensure
information related to inmate’s prison adjustment, control status, STG affiliation,
and other critical information is available to the supervising officer.

Any questions or concerns about post-release supervision should be directed to
the Parole Commission at (919) 716-3010 during normal working hours.

G) PAROLES

0))

2

€))

The Facility Parole Results Review screen (PC15) allows a facility to confirm the
inmate has been approved for parole. The Facility Parole Review screen (PC40)
will show the type of parole approved and the earliest possible date of release.
Comments regarding release are also provided on PC40.

Inmates are cleared for parole on PC40 by entering CLR in the Facility Action.
However, inmates should be cleared for parole by the facility that releases the
inmate. The clearing should be done immediately before the inmate departs the
facility (i.e., not several hours before he or she leaves, not several hours after
departure). If an inmate who was cleared needs to be changed to hold, refer to the
Parole Commission instructions.

Except for a parole to a detainer (federal, in state, out of state), all paroles are
normal paroles. Normal paroles will be forwarded to the facility where the inmate
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is housed along with instructions concerning the release of the inmate. Parole
documents forwarded to the facility will include:

(A) PCARI11S - Facility instructions for release (to be retained by the facility);
(Batch job 15)

(B) Two (2) copies of PCAR110A - Certificate of Parole (the facility is to
retain one copy and provide one copy to the inmate); (Batch job 15)

(C)  Three (3) copies of PCAE111C - Parole Agreement. (Batch job 15)
The assigned Release Officer will contact the facility to arrange release.

The Release Officer will read the parole papers to the inmate explaining the
conditions and have the inmate sign all copies where indicated to acknowledge
awareness and understanding. The inmate is provided with one set and the facility
will retain one copy. The Release Officer will ensure the remaining sets of signed
parole papers are forwarded to the Post-Release/Parole Supervision Office.

Parole to a detainer will be accompanied by special instructions for the facility.

Any facility that has an inmate scheduled to be paroled should have the
appropriate paperwork at least 24 hours ahead of time. If a facility does not have
the documentation on the day before the scheduled parole, the facility is directed
to contact the Parole Commission at (919) 716-3010.

Mandatory parole cases, including 6-month and 90-day end of term cases, must be
released on the scheduled release date as prescribed by statute, including cases
where the release date falls on weekends and holidays. If the inmate scheduled for
90-day mandatory parole has not been released from the prison unit by the
Release Officer by 5 p.m. on the scheduled release date, the prison unit is to call
the Electronic House Arrest (EHA) Base Station at 1-800-735-1432 to report the
problem. EHA will contact appropriate personnel who will assist in releasing the
inmate.

OPUS will automatically print the “Transfer of Custody” form when the parole
movement code is entered on the External Movement screen (IP20). This form
should be given to the parole officer releasing the inmate to ensure information
related to inmate’s prison adjustment, control status, STG affiliation, and other
critical information is available to the supervising officer.

Any other concerns or questions about parole should be directed to the Parole
Commission at (919) 716-3010 during normal working hours.

(k) DECLINE TO REVOKE
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When an inmate is returned to prison as a parole violator without additional
sentences, and the Commission declines to revoke the inmate, Combined Records
staff receives the alert that the inmate is not being revoked, and by telephone
verifies with the housing facility that there are no additional sentences or pending
charges on this inmate.

After verification, Combined Records will place a comment on the Significant
Issues/Case Management Note screen (IP60/61) advising the facility to reinstate
the inmate to parole and then notify the facility by telephone to verify. The
IP60/61 is the facility authority to release the inmate.

The facility will not receive any additional documents because the previous parole
action and documentation are still in effect. Any questions on matters related to a
Decline to Revoke release without an additional sentence should be directed to
Combined Records at (919) 716-3200 during normal working hours.

When an inmate is returned to prison as a parole violator with additional
sentences, and the Commission declines to revoke the parole, the additional
sentence is processed as usual. Combined Records then verifies the sentence
structure and establishes the new release date.

When the additional sentence is completed, if the original parole sentence has
expired, the inmate becomes a regular release (expiration of sentence) with
appropriate release instructions on the IP60/61 screen.

If at the completion of the additional sentence, the original parole sentence has not
yet ended, the inmate returns to parole on the prior sentence. In this case, no
additional parole action documents will be sent to the facility. Combined Records
will use IP60/61 to instruct the facility to reinstate the inmate to parole.

Any questions related to a Decline to Revoke release with an additional sentence
should be directed to Combined Records at (919) 716-3200 during normal
working hours.

()  SEX OFFENDERS

¢y

An inmate categorized as a sex offender on either the current or a prior sentence
can be identified by the sex offender notification on the bottom of the Facility
Parole Review screen (PC40) for parole and post-release supervision cases, and
on the Release Planning List (IPT batch job 05) for expiration of sentences.
Current sex offenders will be flagged by a “sex offender” notification; inmates
with prior convictions for reportable offenses will be identified by a “prior sex
offender” notification; and sex predators will be identified by a “sex predator”
notification.
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When an inmate is categorized as a current or prior sex offender or sex predator,
staff is required to:

(A)

(B)

©)

D)

(B

Prepare triplicate original Notice of Duty to Register Forms (print details
from IPT batch job 05), review the forms with the inmate, and have the
inmate sign all originals to acknowledge understanding of the statutory
reporting mandates. In keeping with General Statutes, the Notice to the
Inmate must occur not less than 10 days nor more than 30 days prior to
release. To obtain this information, each facility should access the
“scheduled release of sexual offender” screen on OPUS as follows: P57 7
MMDDYY MMDDYY #### (unit number). OPUS will then provide a
list of all offenders required to register as sex offenders and scheduled for
release between the specified dates. On the first Monday of each month,
the date range shall be from the 15th day of the month through the end of
the month. On the third Monday of the month, the date range shall be from
the 1st day of the next month through the 14th day of the next month.

Provide inmate with a copy of the DC979, Notice of Duty to Register as a
Sex Offender/Offender Acknowledgement. This is a summary of
information provided by the SBI and is to be given to the inmate upon
release so he/she will be aware of statutory requirements related to sexual
offenders. The inmate does not sign this copy. Do not send copies to
Combined Records, SBI, or the Classification Manager.

Upon having the inmate sign the Notice of Duty to Register, staff shall
ensure the inmate has an updated photo taken. It is not necessary to issue a
new inmate identification card, but the updated photo shall be used for the
inmate release card and shall be uploaded in the photo identification system
as the most recent photo on the web.

Complete the sex offender notification entry on the IP55, F24 comments
screen. Comments should read “Inmate informed of duty to register as a
sexual offender on MM/DD/YY; automated release plans updated; and
signature form distributed to inmate, facility record, and Classification and
Technical Support Manager. Inmate also provided a copy of the DC-979,
Notice of Duty to Register as a Sex Offender/Offender Acknowledgement.
Inmate photo updated in the Inmate Photo ID System on MM/DD/YY.”

Provide one original copy of the OPUS generated Notice of Duty to
Register form (report IPTR130D) to the inmate; retain one original Notice
of Duty to Register form in the inmate's facility jacket, and forward the
third original to the Manager of Classification & Technical Support, MSC
4275, Raleigh, NC 27699-4275.

(2)  Records completion as noted above is essential given the statutory requirements
for notification to the local sheriff's departments. No other manual processes are
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required because with accurate record completion, the notification is electronic
and automatic.

In the event that an identified sex offender refuses to sign the notice of Duty to
Register, two staff members will document by signature that the duty was
explained and he/she refused to sign.

(m) SATELLITE BASED MONITORING (SBM)
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Prior to release, the (SM01) OPUS module shall be viewed for Satellite Based
Monitoring (SBM) applicability. Once verified, the IP55 (F24) comments screen
shall be utilized for documenting purposes. Comments should read “SM01 OPUS
module viewed for SBM applicability — SBM is noted — contacted the Sex
Offender Management line on date/time and spoke to DCC employee”. If SBM is
not noted, IP55 (24) comments shall be documented as such.

As indicated earlier, valid Satellite Based Monitoring (SBM) cases shall be
referred to North Carolina Community Corrections Sex Offender Management
line at 1-888-663-0156 prior to release.

In addition to IPS5 comments, on the date of release for those inmates identified
as SBM, staff must run the required release batch reports (AS12 0 IPT 02/05).
Inmates flagged as SBM will generate a “Notice to Enroll in Satellite Based
Monitoring”. The releasing facility will be responsible for reading to and having
the inmate sign, acknowledging the contents. Instructions for distribution are on
the form.

The sex offender management office will be responsible for the upkeep and
tracking of these forms.

In the event that an identified SBM inmate refuses to sign the notice to enroll in
SBM, two staff members will document by signature that the notice was
explained and the inmate refused to sign.

(m) DEATH

0))

(2

Upon the death of an inmate while in the custody of North Carolina Prisons, the
facility Officer-In-Charge will contact the medical examiner (and coroner if
applicable) of the county in which the body of the deceased is found; the district
attorney and other law enforcement agencies having investigative jurisdiction of
the case; and the Prisons Director or designee.

Refer to Fiscal Policy and Procedures .3700 Disposition of Assets of Deceased
Inmates.
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.1504 ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Upon the release of an inmate, staff should:

(a)

(b)

(©)

@

(e)

®

Issue trust fund monies and gate money, if required, by policy. The Release Planning List
(IPT batch job 02), and the Scheduled Release List (IPT batch job 10) will both show if
an inmate is eligible for gate money.

Issue the paper prison release photo ID card from the inmate's facility jacket, and retain
the color identification card in the facility jacket.

Verify that personal property and transition document envelope, to include social security
card, driver’s license and other identification, and all property in storage is returned to the
inmate.

Restore rights in unconditional release cases. Prison releases, specifically, expiration of
sentences ("max out"), and unconditional pardons require the restoration of citizenship.
The facility affecting the inmate's release from the custody of North Carolina Prisons is
responsible for printing the Restoration of Rights form from OPUS. The form is batch job
97 in the Inmate Population Tracking (IPT) module of OPUS.

Prior to the release of any offender not eligible for Direct Release, facility staff will
determine if there are pending charges, detainers or notifications requiring release to
another agency. Staff will review the OR44 and OR45 screens for pending charges,
detainers and notifications. Additionally, Criminal Justice Law Enforcement Data
Services (CJ LEADS) will be the primary tool to determine if pending charges exist that
is not displayed in OPUS. The Administrative Office of the Court (AOC) files will be a
secondary tool in this process. A statewide search should occur by use of offender’s
name, as well as a name search in the county of residence (misdemeanor). Staff must
review all court disposition comments on the OR14 “J70” type to ensure:

(1) A comment exists for each court movement, and
2) No outstanding additional sentences exist that have not been entered on OPUS.

Any agency holding a warrant, detainer or notification shall be contacted at least 72 hours
prior to the scheduled release to establish transfer of custody. Contact is defined as a
conversation with an individual at the other agency to discuss the inmate’s release
including details on transferring the inmate to the other jurisdiction. A voicemail
message may be left; however, if no response is received, facility staff shall continue
calling the other agency until such time as a supervisor or other personnel is contacted.
All such contacts shall be documented on the appropriate OR45, FS11 comment screen to
include the name and position of the person contacted as well as the estimated time of
arrival to pick up the releasing inmate. Please refer to DOP policy, Outstanding
Charges/Detainers, G.0105(c) for specific instructions regarding priority, should more
than one detainer or pending charge exist on the OR44/45 screens.
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If the receiving agency does not arrive at the expected time, facility staff should again
make personal contact with staff at the other jurisdiction. If these efforts are
unsuccessful, facility staff shall contact the Assistant Director for Auxiliary Services or
the Manager of Classification for further instruction. If the release occurs on a holiday or
weekend, the Prisons Administration duty officer should be contacted. These contacts
should occur prior to the release of the inmate and be documented on the OR45, FS11
comment screen.

In the event an inmate is directed to report to court for disposition of pending charges,
reporting directions should also be documented on the OR45, FS11 comment screen.

Staff must review all court disposition comments on the OR14 “J70” type to ensure a
comment exists for each court movement.

(1)  If a comment indicates an additional sentence was issued, the reviewing authority
shall access the OT20 screen to determine if the additional sentence has been
added to OPUS.

(A) If the additional sentence has been added to the OT20 screen and been
audited by Combined Records, no further action is needed and the release
may proceed.

(B) If the additional sentence does not appear on the OT20 screen, the
reviewing authority shall review the inmate’s field jacket to determine if
the commitment has been received but not entered in OPUS.

(i) If the commitment is available, the information shall be entered on
OPUS immediately. Combined Records shall be notified that an
additional sentence has been entered so a “do not release” flag can
be entered until such time as the sentence is audited.

(i)  If the commitment is not located in the field jacket, the reviewing
authority shall immediately contact the Clerk of Court in the
county of conviction to obtain a copy of the commitment.
Combined Records shall be notified that the inmate has received an
additional sentence and the commitment has been requested so a
“do not release” flag can be entered until such time as the
commitment is received, entered inn OPUS, and audited.

(2)  If the comments indicate no additional commitments have been issued, facility
staff shall proceed with the inmate’s release.

Questions or concerns about restoration of citizenship should be directed to Combined
Records at (919) 716-3200.

.1505 RELEASE PROCEDURAL RESPONSIBILITY
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For all releases in which the inmate has mandated supervision by Community Corrections, the
Release Officer will take the primary role in effecting the release. Facility staff will act in a
supporting role.

For releases with no mandated supervision by Community Corrections, the facility effecting the
inmate's release or transfer from the custody of North Carolina Prisons is responsible for
reviewing the release action and for ensuring the accuracy and completeness of the required
release procedures. The facility affecting the release is defined as the last housing facility,
including the receiving facility in the event of transfer for release, transfer for direct release, or
any other circumstances in which one facility affects the final release on behalf of another. The
final facility is responsible whether or not the inmate is actually housed at that location.
Releasing facilities are to review each release for procedural correctness, accuracy, and
appropriateness.

.1506 RELEASE THROUGH ADMINISTRATIVE ERROR

If an inmate is erroneously released through administrative error, every reasonable effort must be
extended to ensure his/her timely return to custody for completion of the sentence. The following
procedure will guide the actions of administrators for such returns to custody.

(@)  The Manager of Combined Records or designee will submit a notarized affidavit to the
requesting facility specifying information related to the inmate's sentence. Included will
be date of commitment to the Department of Public Safety, offense, length of sentence
and projected release date. Additionally, the Manager will specify information related to
any new commitments which need to be processed, as well as a brief explanation
detailing the erroneous release.

(b)  The facility head or designee, in cooperation with the local district attorney in the county
where the inmate was released, will present to an appropriate District Court Judge
(misdemeanor) or Superior Court Judge (felony) a copy of the judgment and commitment
form and the affidavit from Combined Records. Note that Combined Records maintains
copies of judgment and commitment forms certified true copies by the sending courts.

(c) The facility head or designee, upon presenting the judgment and commitment form and
affidavit, will request the District or Superior Court Judge to issue a court order stating
that the commitment is valid and requiring a return to confinement. Statutory authority
may be found in Section 15A-305(5) of the North Carolina General Statute.

(d)  Requests for law enforcement assistance shall be made after carefully evaluating security
considerations and the welfare of custodial staff assigned to return the inmate to custody.
Law enforcement assistance will be requested on the basis of the court order.

(e) Following the return of the inmate to confinement, a routine classification hearing will be
conducted in accordance with established policy for those inmates who do not have a new
commitment. The rationale of the Department of Public Safety for the return to custody
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shall be clearly stated on the OPUS Classification files (IC05) with assignment to the
appropriate custody and facility. The inmate shall be allowed the opportunity to make a
statement on the Witness Statement form, DC-138B.

® For those inmates returned with an additional commitment that has not been processed,
the inmate shall be admitted to the appropriate diagnostic center as directed by the
Prisons Transfer Branch staff. Processing of the additional sentence will occur in
accordance with prisons policy.

(8)  The Chief of Security’s office shall enter the Release Through Administrative Error into
the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) as a Wanted Person with appropriate
alerts to law enforcement. Facility staff shall contact the Randall Building Security
Officer at 919-838-3572 as soon as local authorities determine the inmate cannot be
located for return to custody to complete his/her sentence(s). The Assistant Director for
Auxiliary Services and/or the Classification Manager shall consult with the Chief of
Security’s office on each erroneous release to determine whether prisons administration
assistance, such as PERT or SORT, shall be activated to assist in the search and return to
custody. The Chief of Security or his/her designee shall be responsible for any
coordination of efforts.

.1507 EXCEPTIONS

These procedures govern regular operations. Exceptions may be made by the Prisons Section
Director or designee.

.1508 ISSUES
Questions or other issues regarding release procedures may be directed to Manager,

Classification and Technical Support staff at (984) 255-6100 during normal working hours.
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