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JUVENILE AGE STUDY SUMMARY 

 
Study Overview 

 The 2008 NC General Assembly directed the Governor’s Crime Commission to study the 
impact of raising the age of juvenile court jurisdiction in North Carolina.  Material in this 
document and in the Juvenile Age Study Final Report is informational and not an 
endorsement by the Crime Commission of a particular position on the matter of North 
Carolina’s juvenile age. 

 
 The Crime Commission formed an Advisory Committee and worked with outside groups to 

conduct the study. The end result of the work is the Juvenile Age Study Final Report, that 
includes three main parts: 

 1) COST-BENEFIT ANALYSIS - authored by The ESTIS Group, LLC 
 2) IMPLEMENTATION AND ACTION PLAN - authored by The ESTIS Group, LLC 
 3) LEGAL ANALYSIS - authored by Professor Janet Mason, UNC School of Govt. 

 
Cost-Benefit Analysis of Raising the Age of Juvenile Court Jurisdiction  

 Cost-Benefit Analysis (CBA) is a tool used to evaluate the economic ramifications of a 
decision.  CBA assigns a correlative dollar value to anticipated losses and gains.  

 
 GCC contracted with the ESTIS Group to construct a cost-benefit framework, analyzing the 

costs and benefits of moving 16 and 17 year-old persons out of the adult criminal system 
and into the juvenile system, based on the most reliable economic data available.  

 
 Their analysis found that, if North Carolina’s juvenile system were enhanced with more 

evidence-based programs, the monetary benefits of the age change could outweigh the costs, 
by about $7.1 million. 

 
 The ESTIS Group also noted that costs will likely outweigh the monetary benefits by $37.5 

million if the juvenile system is not enhanced and if 16 and 17-year olds are added.   
 
Net Costs and Benefits (in millions) of Changing the Age of Juvenile Court Jurisdiction  
Costs and Benefits SYSTEM AS IT IS 

NOW 
ENHANCED 

JUVENILE SYSTEM 
Budgetary Cost ($79.6) ($53.7)
DJJDP – (“Juvenile Justice”) (112.2) (103.6)
DOC - Dept. of Corrections (prisons, etc.) 44.5 45.9
Judicial Branch (judges, DA’s, etc.) (8.2) (6.4)
Local Government (jails, police, etc.) (3.6) 10.5
Victim Benefit (from reduced recidivism) 1.6 20.3
Offender Benefit (not having a record) 40.5 40.5
Net Cost or Benefit ($37.5) $7.1
Adapted from The ESTIS Group’s Exhibit 1  
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Implementation and Action Plan  
 The ESTIS Group, working with the Crime Commission’s Juvenile Age Study Advisory 

Committee, developed a plan of action for implementing a change to the juvenile age.   
 To deal with an influx of older offenders into the juvenile system, changes have to be made 
 Step-by-step implementation schedules and planning issues are laid out for the Department 

of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (see Final Report pp.99-110), for the 
Department of Correction (see Final Report pp.111-112), for the Administrative Office of 
the Courts (see Final Report pp.113-114), and for local governments (see Final Report 
pp.115-117).  

 
(Legal Analysis)   Statutory Implications of Raising the Age of Juvenile Jurisdiction  

 This section reviews North Carolina statutory law, suggesting revisions and flagging issues 
where appropriate and provides a user-friendly guide for North Carolina legislators who 
might look at the statutory ramifications of this issue. 

 
LOCATION OF STATUTES THAT MAY NEED CHANGING IF THE JUVENILE 

AGE IS RAISED: 
Chapter 5A (Contempt) Chapter 50B (Domestic Violence) 

Chapter 7B (Juvenile Code) 
Chapter 90 (Medicine and Allied 
Occupations) 

Chapter 14 (Criminal Law) Chapter 143B (Executive Organization) 
Chapter 15A (Criminal Procedure Act) Chapter 148 (State Prison System) 
Chapter 20 (Motor Vehicles)  

      
(Legal Analysis)   Overview of Laws Related to the Sharing of Juvenile Information  

 This section identifies required privacy and confidentiality rights associated with juvenile 
record information and offers a helpful, quick-read for anyone who interested in what 
happens with juvenile records.  

 
Other Key Findings of the Juvenile Age Study  

 An enhanced juvenile justice system can save money  
 For persons who are arrested, there is a greater chance of receiving services (48%) and 

sanctions in the juvenile system than in the adult system (23%)  
 The juvenile system produces benefits outside the scope of avoided budgetary and victim 

costs. Currently, first-time adult offenders 16 and 17 years of age who do not re-offend, 
retain records of arrest and conviction. Studies show that records of arrest, and to a greater 
degree convictions and incarceration, reduce future earnings of offenders and decrease their 
overall likelihood of employment.  
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STUDY-AUTHORIZING LEGISLATION 
S.L. 2008-107, Sec. 18.1 

 
 

SECTION 18.1.(a)  The Governor's Crime Commission and its adjunct committees 
shall study the legal, systematic, and organizational impact of expanding the jurisdiction of the 
Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention to include persons 16 and 17 years 
of age who commit crimes or infractions under State law or under an ordinance of local 
government.  In particular, the Commission shall perform the following functions regarding the 
proposed expansion of the jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 
Prevention to include 16- and 17-year-olds who commit crimes or infractions under State or local 
law: 

(1) Identify the costs to the State court system and State and local law 
enforcement. 

(2) Review the relevant State laws that should be conformed or amended, 
including, but not limited to, the motor vehicle and criminal laws, the laws 
regarding expunction of criminal records, and other juvenile laws. 

(3) Review the experience of any other states which have within recent years 
expanded the juvenile justice jurisdiction to 16- and 17-year-olds. 

(4) Identify the practical issues for the Department of Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention to implement best practices for programs and 
facilities that would meet the unique needs of the older youth under the 
proposal without adversely affecting the existing departmental programming. 

(5) Review the relevant State laws on sharing of juvenile information with other 
State departments and agencies. 

(6) Create a specific plan of the actions that are necessary to implement the 
expansion of the jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention. 

(7) Determine the total cost of expanding the jurisdiction of the Department of 
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. 

(8) Conduct a cost benefit analysis of expanding the jurisdiction of the 
Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention with specific 
information on possible future fiscal savings anywhere within State 
government as a result of expenditures necessary to implement the expansion. 

(9) Determine whether federal or other funds are available to aid in the transition 
and expansion, or both, of the age of juvenile jurisdiction to 16- and 
17-year-olds. 

 
 
SECTION 18.1.(b)  The Commission may contract with an independent group or 

groups for the oversight and management of this study project, a service needs study, and a 
courts study, and to periodically report those findings to the Commission. 

 
SECTION 18.1.(c)  The Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 

and all other departments, agencies, institutions, or officers of the State or any political 
subdivision of the State, shall cooperate with the Commission in this study, shall provide the 
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Commission with any requested facilities, data, or other assistance, and help the Commission 
identify any collateral effect which might result from implementation of the proposal on the 
program and operations of the relevant State department, agency, or the political subdivision. 

 
SECTION 18.1.(d)  The Commission shall submit a report of its findings and 

legislative, administrative, and funding recommendations by April 1, 2009, to the General 
Assembly and the Governor.  

In addition to its final report, the Commission shall report in writing on the progress 
of this study on a quarterly basis beginning on October 1, 2008, and by the first day of every 
quarter thereafter until the Commission submits its final report to the General Assembly, to the 
chairs and co-chairs, as applicable, of the standing committees or subcommittees of the General 
Assembly listed in subsections (e) and (f) of this section. A copy of each progress report made to 
the standing committee and subcommittee chairs shall also be filed in the Legislative Library. 

 
SECTION 18.1.(e)  The Commission shall report to all of the following standing 

committees or subcommittees in the House of Representatives pursuant to this section: 
(1)       Appropriations: Justice and Public Safety. 
(2)       Children, Youth, and Families. 
(3)       Education: Preschool, Elementary, and Secondary Education. 
(4)       Juvenile Justice. 
(5)       All of the Judiciary Committees. 
 
SECTION 18.1.(f)  The Commission shall report to all of the following standing 

committees or subcommittees in the Senate pursuant to this section: 
(1)       Appropriations:  Justice and Public Safety. 
(2)       Education and Higher Education. 
(3)       All of the Judiciary Committees. 
 
SECTION 18.1.(g)  Of the funds appropriated by this act to the Department of Crime 

Control and Public Safety, the Governor's Crime Commission for the 2008-2009 fiscal year, the 
Commission may use up to two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000) to conduct the study 
authorized by this section.  The Commission may also apply for, receive, or accept grants and 
contributions from any source of money or any other thing of value to be held and used for the 
purposes of the study authorized by this section. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 

PREFACE 
 

  
The Governor’s Crime Commission was directed by Session Law 2008-107 to study the impact 
of expanding the jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. 
As contemplated in the Study legislation, the Crime Commission secured the expertise of outside 
groups:  
 

The ESTIS Group, LLC was selected to perform cost-benefit analysis and to assist with 
implementation planning. Aaron Estis and members of his consultancy acquainted 
themselves with the structures, personages, and philosophies making up North Carolina’s 
systems of juvenile and criminal justice. Considerable care was given to understanding the 
day-to-day workings of the State’s systems, this being done to fully inform the Cost Benefit 
Analysis and Implementation and Action Plan which constitute the end products of The 
ESTIS Group’s work. 
 
Professor Janet Mason of the UNC School of Government graciously shared her legal 
acumen, authoring the sundry documents comprising the legal analysis: a document titled 
Statutory Implications of Raising the Maximum Age of Juvenile Court Jurisdiction in North 
Carolina (this accompanied by three Appendices) and a document titled Overview of Laws 
Relating to the Sharing of Juvenile Information with State Departments and Agencies. The 
former document highlights for possible revision those portions of the North Carolina 
General Statutes that would be directly implicated by a change in juvenile court jurisdiction. 
In her look at laws bearing on the sharing of juvenile information, Professor Mason examines 
both statutory and Administrative Code provisions.  

 
Under the leadership of then-Crime Commission Chair Linda Hayes, a Juvenile Age Study 
Advisory Committee was assembled in the beginning of 2009, with membership pulled primarily 
from the ranks of the Crime Commission and the Commission’s adjunct Juvenile Justice 
Planning Committee; the Advisory Committee convened for five meetings in 2009. The initial 
February 5th meeting served as a forum for Advisory Committee members to learn of the Study 
work then-accomplished and to guide The ESTIS Group on avenues of approach to the questions 
they were charged with answering. Subsequent meetings involved review and comment on study 
materials and methodology. The ESTIS Group’s Final Report was delivered to the Advisory 
Committee in June, said Report joined with other documents to form this comprehensive 
Juvenile Age Study Final Report.  
 
The Juvenile Age Study Final Report is a culmination of several months’ work, representing the 
pooled efforts of Commission members, staff, and study consultants. Considerable assistance 
was rendered by the many persons from within and without State and local government who took 
time to aid the study consultants, sharing information and conveying a practitioner’s appreciation 
for juvenile and criminal justice in North Carolina. The material presented in this Final Report is 
intended to inform the North Carolina General Assembly in its work; nothing herein is intended 
to be nor should be regarded as an endorsement by the Crime Commission of a particular 
position on the matter of North Carolina’s juvenile age.   
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The Final Report is comprised of several parts, with particular sections corresponding to the 
respective study deliverables called for in the authorizing legislation. The table set forth below 
details the location of each within the greater document: 
 

 
JUVENILE AGE 

STUDY FUNCTION 
LOCATION WITHIN DOCUMENT PAGES 

 
Costs to Courts and Local 
Law Enforcement 

 
Cost-Benefit Analysis of Raising the Age of 
Juvenile Court Jurisdiction  
 
 

 
pp. 3-78 
 
 

State Laws to be 
Conformed or Amended 

Statutory Implications of Raising the Maximum 
Age of Juvenile Court Jurisdiction in North 
Carolina  
 
 

 pp. 135-214 
 
 

Experiences of Other 
States 

Cost-Benefit Analysis – Background  
Raising the Age – Lessons from Connecticut 
and Illinois Implementation  
 
 

 pp. 12-13 
 pp. 124-126 
 
 

Practical Issues for DJJDP DJJDP Action Steps and Implementation Plan; 
Issues, Service Analysis, and Legal 
Considerations  
 
 

pp. 99-110; 
pp. 118-124 
 
 

State Laws on Sharing of 
Juvenile Information 

Overview of Laws Relating to the Sharing of 
Juvenile Information with State Departments 
and Agencies  
 
 

pp. 215-218 
 
 

Plan of Actions Needed to 
Implement Change 

Implementation and Action Plan – Raising the 
Age of Juvenile Court Jurisdiction  
 
 

pp. 79-134 
 
 

Total Cost of Expanding 
Jurisdiction 

Cost-Benefit Analysis of Raising the Age of 
Juvenile Court Jurisdiction  
 
 

pp. 3-78 
 
 

Cost-Benefit Analysis Cost-Benefit Analysis of Raising the Age of 
Juvenile Court Jurisdiction  
 
 

pp. 3-78 
 
 

Availability of Federal or 
Other Funds 

Researching potential partnerships for 
implementation funding  

pp. 120-122 
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COST-BENEFIT ANALYSIS OF RAISING THE AGE OF 
JUVENILE COURT JURISDICTION 
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Executive Summary  
If the maximum age of initial juvenile court jurisdiction in North Carolina is raised from 15 to 
17, with no change to the current juvenile system, the costs are expected to exceed the benefits 
by $37.5 million. If, however, North Carolina makes substantial changes to its juvenile system to 
reduce recidivism, it is estimated that benefits could exceed costs by approximately $7.1 million.  
Additional savings could be generated by reducing costs in the juvenile system. 
 
The net costs and benefits of changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction are shown in Exhibit 
1. Two estimates are presented for the baseline and for the enhanced scenarios – one for a policy 
that applies to persons 16 years of age only and one that applies to persons 16 and 17 years of 
age. There are three major cost categories– Budgetary Costs, Victim Benefits, and Offender 
Benefits. These categories include all of the tangible and intangible costs for which there are 
established methodologies for measurement and for which there is a relationship between arrests 
(the unit of measure used in this cost-benefit analysis) and the cost category.   
 
The budgetary cost (i.e., the impact on State and local government fiscal resources) is significant. 
The budgetary impacts occur over a three-year time frame for the analysis, but most of the costs 
are incurred in the first year.  
 
Exhibit 1: Net Costs and Benefits (in Millions) of Changing the Age of Juvenile Court  
  Jurisdiction 
 

 Baseline System Enhanced System 
Costs and Benefits Ages 16 & 17 Age 16 Ages 16 & 17 Age 16 
Budgetary Cost ($79.6) ($35.8) ($53.7) ($24.2) 
DJJDP (112.2) (50.5) (103.6) (46.6) 
DOC 44.5 20.0 45.9 20.7 
AOC (8.2) (3.7) (6.4) (2.9) 
Local Government (3.6) (1.6) 10.5 4.7 
Victim Benefit 1.6 0.7 20.3 9.1 
Offender Benefit 40.5 18.2 40.5 18.2 
Net Cost ($37.5) ($16.9) $7.1 $3.2 

 
Note: Totals may not add due to rounding. 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Discussion of the Results 
The slightly higher re-arrest rate for persons 15 years of age as compared with persons 16 and 17 
years of age and the high cost of treating offenders in the juvenile system combine to produce a 
net cost when the age for juvenile court jurisdiction is raised (see Exhibit 2). The composite re-
arrest rate for persons 15 years of age in the juvenile system (46.5 percent) is greater than the 
comparable re-arrest rate1 for persons 16 and 17 years of age in the adult system (44.4 percent).2    

                                                 
1 This rate represents an adjustment to the composite re-arrest rate of 43.7 percent for persons 16 and 17 years based 
on published reports by the Sentencing and Policy Advisory Committee. The purpose of the adjustment is to make 
the adult rate comparable to the juvenile rate for persons 15 years of age. The juvenile system cohort for which 
recidivism is measured is approximately 3,000 more persons than the adult system cohort. To make the two systems 
comparable for analysis, the population in the adult cohort was adjusted to account for this difference. The 
recidivism rate applied to these persons, who were not adjudicated in the adult system, is the rate for juveniles 
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The proposed change in the age of juvenile court jurisdiction produces a substantial benefit to 
society through improved outcomes for offenders. Offenders benefit and society benefits when 
offenders are able to reach the age of 18 without a record of criminal activity. Several studies 
have calculated the benefits derived from not having a criminal record in terms of lifetime 
earnings. The study deemed most applicable to the circumstances in North Carolina provides a 
range of possible impacts on offender lifetime earnings. Using the mid-point of the range, a 6.5 
percent increase in lifetime earnings, the estimated lifetime offender benefits total $40.5 million.  
Though this estimate is substantial, it is not sufficient to overcome the significant difference in 
costs between the adult and the juvenile systems in the baseline scenario. 
 
Exhibit 2: Critical Factors Affecting Cost-Benefit Analysis Results 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
*This is the rate for persons 16 and 17 years of age served in the adult system. The rate shown is a composite of the 
three-year re-arrest rate of 43.2% for persons in community supervision, 67.7% for persons served in prison, 36.1% 
for persons served in unsupervised probation, 30.5% for persons served by deferred prosecution, and an estimated 
rate of 32.5% for persons whose cases were not adjudicated or deferred. 
** Juvenile recidivism rate reflects the rate for persons 15 years of age served in the juvenile system. The rate shown 
is a composite of the three-year re-arrest rate of 46.5% for persons adjudicated to YDC or community supervision 
and a rate of 30.5% for persons whose cases were diverted. 
Source: Cost per arrest - The ESTIS Group, 2009; Recidivism rates – The ESTIS Group, based on Sentencing Policy 
Advisory Committee tabulations, 2009. 
 
This analysis shows that, with major improvements to the current juvenile justice system in 
North Carolina, changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction can result in a net benefit of 
approximately $7.1 million. Under an enhanced system that makes use of evidence-based 
                                                                                                                                                             
whose cases were closed (these persons were also not adjudicated but are included in the juvenile recidivism rate), 
32.5% re-arrested and 19.2% re-convicted within three years. 
2 This report is a prospective cost benefit analysis and as such requires assumptions about what is likely to occur in 
the future.  An important assumption is that the experience of persons 15 years of age in North Carolina’s juvenile 
system is the best approximation for the experience of persons 16 and 17 years of age, should they be placed in the 
juvenile system.  Because persons 16 and 17 years of age have always been in the adult system, there is no 
statistically valid data on what actually happens when 16 and 17 year olds are served in the juvenile system.   
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practices, integrated case management, and increased use of alternatives to secure placements, 
North Carolina should be able to reduce recidivism and reduce the cost per arrest for juveniles.  
The effort required to make these changes is substantial and may take several years to 
accomplish, but reflects the national trend in the evolution of juvenile justice programs. 
 
Options for Lowering Future Costs and Increasing Benefits 
By implementing enhancements to the juvenile justice system, North Carolina can produce a net 
benefit with a change to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction. Enhancements to reduce costs and 
increase benefits fall into two broad categories – efforts to reduce recidivism and efforts to 
reduce the cost per arrest.  
  

 Reducing recidivism:  A number of evidence-based programs for juveniles have shown 
a significant reduction in recidivism. Among these are multi-systemic therapy and 
functional family therapy. A recent study by the Washington State Institute for Public 
Policy has shown reductions in recidivism from the use of these programs of up to 38.1 
percent. If these programs are implemented along with an integrated case management 
approach for all persons under the supervision of the Department of Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention, the overall composite rate of recidivism could be reduced from 
41 to 31.5 percent.   

 Reducing the cost per arrest:  The cost per arrest is 50.1 percent higher in the juvenile 
system than it is in the adult system. Primary drivers of the difference in costs include the 
cost of supervision and the cost of secure placement. Many states have had success in 
reducing the number of juveniles sent to secure placement through changing the incentive 
structure for local jurisdictions, developing detention alternatives, and reducing or 
eliminating secure placement for certain low-level offenders. Redeploy Illinois, for 
example, has achieved its goal of reducing use of secure confinement by 25 percent in 
eight pilot sites. If North Carolina achieved such a reduction, it could reduce the cost of 
arresting persons 16 and 17 years of age by 4.0 percent, or by about $9.9 million 
annually.  

 
These and other cost-saving measures can help ensure that the change in age of initial juvenile 
court jurisdiction yields a net benefit rather than a net cost.  
 
Cost and Benefits from the State and Local Perspective 
State and local governments incur a significant net cost from changing the age of juvenile court 
jurisdiction — about $79.3 million. This study measures the unit cost per arrest, which includes 
the costs from initial contact with law enforcement to the point at which an offender is released 
from custody or supervision. The cost-benefit analysis results in a net cost primarily because the 
cost per arrest in the juvenile system is so much higher than the cost per arrest in the adult 
system.  
 
The cost per arrest of serving offenders 16 and 17 years of age in the adult system is estimated at 
$4,882—33.5 percent less than the cost per arrest in the juvenile system ($7,348). The difference 
between these two costs is driven primarily by the higher cost per arrest of supervision and 
secure placement in the juvenile system. One cause of this is staff ratios. For example, the ratio 
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of court counselors to juveniles is much higher than the ratio of adult system probation officers 
to offenders. A comparison of the cost per arrest is shown in Exhibit 3. 
 
Exhibit 3: Comparison of Costs per Arrest  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Costs and Benefits from the Victim’s Perspective 
Victim costs include tangible and intangible costs and are based on well-established 
methodologies for measuring victim benefits. The cost to the victim is calculated by offense and 
includes the following: 

 Property Loss and Damage 
 Medical Care 
 Mental Health Care 
 Loss of Productivity 
 Quality of Life (intangible benefits) 

These costs increase or decrease along with recidivism. Owing to some differences in how the 
juvenile and adult systems work, raising the age results in a net benefit to victims of 
approximately $1.6 million. 
 
Costs and Benefits from the Offender Perspective 
Offenders and the broader society benefit from a change to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction. 
This benefit results from being served in the juvenile system and not having a criminal record 
upon reaching the age of 18. The benefit is reflected in higher estimated lifetime earnings. This 
benefit is related to the change in age for juvenile jurisdiction and is not related to changes in the 
rate of recidivism. All persons 16 and 17 years of age who commit a felony offense (and are not 
bound over) benefit from not having a felony record when they age into adulthood. The net 
benefit to all offenders avoiding a felony conviction is approximately $40.5 million. Included in 
offender net benefit is an estimated lifetime federal, state, and local tax liability.  
 
The estimate of the net benefit to offenders is based on two factors: the number of 16 and 17 year 
olds who, if in the adult system would get a felony conviction but in the juvenile system would 
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not recidivate, and an estimate of how the absence of a felony conviction on a person’s record 
affects his or her earning potential over a lifetime. 
 
Conclusion 
The cost per arrest is 50.1 percent greater for a juvenile than it is for an adult in North Carolina. 
State governments make the additional expenditure for juveniles with the expectation that 
juveniles will be less likely to recidivate after receiving services in the juvenile system. Although 
persons 10 to 14 years of age may be less likely to recidivate as a result of being served in the 
juvenile system, it does not appear to be the case when persons 15 years of age in the juvenile 
system are compared with persons 16 and 17 years of age in the adult system in North Carolina. 
The recidivism rate is roughly the same for persons 15 years of age in the juvenile system as it is 
for persons 16 and 17 years of age in the adult system. Consequently, transferring 16 and 17 year 
olds from the adult system to the juvenile system creates no benefits from reduced recidivism. It 
does, however, generate a benefit in increased lifetime earnings for offenders.   
 
Although increased lifetime earnings are clear benefits resulting from changing the age of 
juvenile court jurisdiction, they are not large enough to overcome the cost of moving 30,000 
arrests of persons 16 and 17 years of age from the adult to the juvenile system. To address the 
gap in costs and benefits, North Carolina should enhance its juvenile justice system through the 
introduction of evidence-based programs, a change in the local incentive structure for choosing 
detention and secure placement over community based programs, use of integrated case 
management, and development of alternatives to detention and secure placement.  
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Introduction  
During its 2008 legislative session, the North Carolina General Assembly requested a report 
addressing on-going discussions about the appropriate age of juvenile court jurisdiction in North 
Carolina. The Sentencing Policy and Advisory Commission presented the  “Report on Study of 
Youthful Offenders Pursuant to Session Law 2006-248, Sections 34.1 and 34.2”  to the General 
Assembly in March of 2007 and recommended that the maximum age of initial juvenile court 
jurisdiction be raised to 17. In Section 18.1.(a) of North Carolina Session Law 2008-107, the 
Governor’s Crime Commission (GCC) was charged with conducting a review of the  “legal, 
systematic, and organizational impact of expanding the jurisdiction of the Department of 
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention to include persons 16 and 17 years of age…”   
 
Commentators on the issue of the juvenile age in North Carolina have noted several concerns 
with transferring person 16 and 17 years of age from the adult to the juvenile system. The 
transfer would double the number of persons under the supervision of the Department of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Preventions (DJJDP). If implemented now, a change in the juvenile age 
would come amidst a number of changes in the juvenile justice system including the creation of a 
separate department in 2001 and the introduction of a new therapeutic model for secure 
placements. On the other hand, the transfer would reduce the number of persons under the 
supervision of the Department of Correction.   
 
Scope of GCC Review 
The specific scope of inquiry outlined in the legislation initiating the GCC review includes the 
following: 
 
(1) Identify the costs to the State court system and State and local law enforcement. 
(2) Review the relevant State laws that should be conformed or amended, including, but not 
 limited to, the motor vehicle and criminal laws, the laws regarding expunction of criminal 
 records, and other juvenile laws. 
(3) Review the experience of any other states that have expanded the juvenile justice 
 jurisdiction to 16- and 17-year-olds in recent years. 
(4) Identify the practical issues for DJJDP to implement best practices for programs and 
 facilities that would meet the unique needs of the older youth under the proposal without 
 adversely affecting the existing departmental programming. 
(5) Review the relevant State laws on sharing of juvenile information with other State 
 departments and agencies. 
(6) Create a specific plan of the actions that are necessary to implement the expansion of the 
 jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. 
(7) Determine the total cost of expanding the jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile 
 Justice and Delinquency Prevention. 
(8) Conduct a cost-benefit analysis of expanding the jurisdiction of the Department of 
 Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention with specific information on possible future 
 fiscal savings anywhere within State government as a result of expenditures necessary to 
 implement the expansion. 
(9) Determine whether federal or other funds are available to aid in the transition and 
 expansion, or both, of the age of juvenile jurisdiction to 16- and 17-year-olds. 
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GCC solicited proposals from qualified companies to perform the following scope of work: 
 Analysis of Total Cost – The estimated cost (a) to the state court system, (b) state and 

local law enforcement and (c) the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 
Prevention to operate a juvenile justice system that would be expanded and revised to 
include juveniles aged 16 and 17. The analysis should include the estimated savings to 
these agencies and the Department of Correction in prisons, community corrections, and 
other services to these youthful offenders. The analysis should include an alternative cost 
analysis that assumes only juveniles aged 16 would be included in the juvenile justice 
system. 

 Cost/Benefit Analysis – A comparison of long term cost and benefits of raising the 
juvenile age. This includes identifying the cost of serving these youth in the adult system 
compared to the juvenile system to determine a net current cost raising the juvenile age to 
16 and 17. Interagency funding transfers should be noted. The analysis should include 
future benefits such as reduced recidivism for juveniles aged 16 and 17 if handled in the 
juvenile system, and any other benefits of evidence-based programs for juveniles. This 
analysis should clearly set out current studies on which such forecasts are based including 
the source and methodology. 

 Issue and Service Analysis – Identification of the issues to be addressed to provide 
effective services and programs to 16 and 17 year olds in the juvenile system. This 
includes identifying the population to be served, analyzing current service quality and 
service gaps, and recommending changes in services and programs. Recommendations 
should focus on the use of evidence-based programs as evaluated in the national juvenile 
literature and by other states. 

 Action and Implementation Plans – An outline of the short and long term plans for 
implementing changes needed to prepare the State for raising the juvenile age. This 
includes action plans, key steps, and schedules for the courts, law enforcement, juvenile 
justice and corrections and a recommended organization or committee responsible for 
refining these plans and overseeing implementation. 

 Legal Analysis – Analysis will be provided to the consultant regarding relevant North 
Carolina state laws that should be conformed or amended to implement expanded 
juvenile jurisdiction, including motor vehicle and criminal laws. The consultant should 
incorporate these in the report with recommendations for the sequence and timing of 
implementation. The consultant shall review any federal legal compliance issues under 
federal law. 

 
This report addresses the Analysis of Total Cost and Cost/Benefit Analysis portions of the scope 
of work. The report includes the costs to state courts and state and local law enforcement, a 
review of other states’ experiences with changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction, the 
estimated cost of the change, and the results of a cost-benefit analysis of changing the age of 
juvenile court jurisdiction. Additional reports, under separate covers, contain the Implementation 
and Action Plans and Legal Analysis portions of the scope of work.  
 
It is important to note that the dollars and operational data presented in this report may differ 
from those presented in the Implementation and Action Plan report; they are not intended to be 
the same. The cost estimates included in this document are costs and benefits associated with a 
cohort of approximately 30,000 persons 16 and 17 years of age arrested in a given year. The 
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costs associated with this cohort occur primarily in the first year persons are served but also 
include costs incurred two to three years after arrest. The costs included in the Implementation 
and Action Plan Report are estimates of annual operating budgetary impacts. The budgetary 
estimates reflect the changes that must be made to the system to serve persons 16 and 17 years of 
age rather than the overall cost of serving them. In addition, the costs in the Implementation and 
Action Plan report are estimated using population projections for the juvenile population and 
show the impact of implementing the change incrementally for the following age groups: 
younger than 16 1/2, younger than age 17, younger than age 17 ½, and younger than 18.   

 
The report is organized as follows:  
 

 Background: Provides an overview of juvenile jurisdiction in North Carolina and in other 
states. It also discusses the stakeholders that would be affected by a change to juvenile 
court jurisdiction and describes how persons are processed through the juvenile and adult 
systems. 

 Cost-Benefit Analysis Overview: Summarizes the approach used for the analysis and the 
costs and benefits that it includes.     

 Cost-Benefit Analysis Calculations: Includes a discussion of the costs and benefits of the 
current juvenile and adult systems, and the net benefit (cost) that would be incurred by a 
change to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction. Also quantifies the net benefit (cost) 
associated with serving persons 16 and 17 years of age in an enhanced juvenile system.   

 Explanation of Results: Describes the key cost drivers in the State’s juvenile and adult 
systems, as well as how incremental changes in recidivism affect the State’s overall 
bottom line.   

 
Several appendices to the report outline the methodology used to estimate costs incurred by the 
juvenile and adult systems. An additional appendix includes a detailed discussion of the 
enhanced system proposed in the report. 



 

12 

Background 
This study is one part of a larger policy discussion about the appropriate age for juvenile court 
jurisdiction in North Carolina. There have been several attempts to change the age of juvenile 
jurisdiction since the current age was established in 1919.3 To place the issue in its proper 
context, this section provides a brief summary of the issue in North Carolina and other states, a 
description of the organizations at the state and local levels that would be affected by any change 
in the age of juvenile court jurisdiction, a discussion of the criminal justice process for adults and 
juveniles in North Carolina, and a profile of the offenders that would be affected by this change. 
 
Juvenile Court Jurisdiction in North Carolina and Other States 
Currently, 10 states prosecute offenders 16 years of age in the juvenile system; 38 states 
prosecute offenders both 16 and 17 years of age in the juvenile system. North Carolina is one of 
three states that charge all offenders 16 and 17 years of age as adults. It should be noted that 
Connecticut recently passed legislation to move offenders 16 years of age to juvenile court 
jurisdiction, but implementation of the change is not expected to begin until fiscal year 
2010. The other state that has adult jurisdiction over offenders 16 and 17 years of age, New 
York, has a system significantly different from that of North Carolina. New York treats offenders 
younger than 19 years of age differently than all other adult offenders. The New York 
Department of Correctional Services provides services to these offenders; however they do not 
receive adult convictions and retain a separate, “youthful offender,” status. As a result, the 
offenders do not have a criminal record, yet still receive services targeted to their age and needs. 
 
North Carolina is one of many states that have re-evaluated the age of juvenile court jurisdiction 
in recent years. The experiences of other states may be helpful for North Carolina decision-
makers to consider. Connecticut and other states have recently considered making or have made 
the following modifications to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction:  

 Illinois- Increased the maximum age of jurisdiction from 16 to 17 for misdemeanants in 
2007; the change will be effective in 2010. The previous statute regarding juvenile court 
jurisdiction had been in place since 1987. Local officials raised concerns about shifting 
the cost of services for persons 17 years of age from state to local units of government 
(probation and other services are provided and funded by counties) and the impact of 
housing persons 17 years of age with younger persons in secure facilities. Legislators 
were more willing to change the age for misdemeanors, so advocates initially suggested a 
compromise to include all misdemeanors and only some felonies. The final bill was a 
further compromise, limiting the change to misdemeanors and setting up a task force to 
study adding felonies. 

 Connecticut- Raised the age of jurisdiction to 17 legislatively in 2007; criminal courts 
retain authority over offenders 16 and 17 years of age charged with committing serious 
felonies. The change was originally scheduled to be effective in 2010. However, in 
February 2009, Connecticut’s legislature projected an $8.7 billion deficit for the next two 
fiscal years; as a result, decision makers are currently considering a delay in 
implementation for budgetary reasons.   

                                                 
3 The initial age of jurisdiction was 15. See Tamar R. Birckhead, North Carolina Juvenile Court Jurisdiction, and the 
Resistance to Reform, North Carolina Law Review, September 2008, Volume 86, Number 6. 



 

13 

 Rhode Island- Passed legislation that decreased the age of juvenile court jurisdiction from 
17 to 16 in 2007 to accrue cost savings on secure bed expenditures. Implementation of 
the change did not have the same results as prior studies of cost had indicated. Instead of 
being placed in typical adult facilities, offenders 17 years of age were placed in "high 
security" adult facilities for protection, which were more expensive than juvenile 
facilities. As a result, the change was reversed in the same year.  

 
Exhibit 4 provides the age of juvenile court jurisdiction for all 50 states and the District of 
Columbia. 
 
Exhibit 4: Age of Jurisdiction in 50 States and District of Columbia 
 

 
Source: King, Melanie and Szymanski, Linda.  2006. "National Overviews.” State Juvenile Justice Profiles.  
National Center for Juvenile Justice. http://www.ncjj.org/stateprofiles/  
 
Stakeholders Affected by the Policy Change 
If North Carolina were to make its age of juvenile court jurisdiction more in line with that of 
other states, there would be a significant impact to a diverse set of stakeholders, including State 
government agencies, local government entities, and private citizens. State and local government 
entities’ budgets and operations would be directly affected if the age of juvenile court 
jurisdiction were raised. Citizens are potential offenders or victims of crime and pay taxes used 
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by government entities to maintain public safety and serve offenders. See Exhibit 5 for a more 
detailed list of stakeholders within these groups.   
 
Exhibit 5: Stakeholders  
 

 
Of the State agencies in Exhibit 5, those that will be affected the most by a change to juvenile 
court jurisdiction include the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 
(DJJDP), the Department of Correction (DOC), and the Administrative Office of the Courts 
(AOC). These entities are described below. 
 
Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention  
In fiscal year 2008, DJJDP spent $153.4 million to provide delinquency, protective, and 
prevention services to juveniles approximately 15,000 juveniles under its supervision. Services 
provided to delinquent youth include detention, diversion programs and commitment alternatives 
(e.g., residential programs, clinical treatment, and structured day programs), secure confinement 
in Youth Development Centers (YDC), and community supervision. DJJDP operates 9 YDCs 
(with a total of 4254 beds) and 9 detention facilities (194 beds). County governments operate 3 
detention facilities (78 beds), making a total of 272 detention beds. Education services (high 
school equivalent, GED, and limited vocational education) are provided in DJJDP facilities, as 
well as counseling and behavioral health services. Offenders may also receive substance abuse 
treatment or sex offender treatment. Community programming, such as family counseling and 
day treatment centers are also available to diverted youth and youth with a community 
supervision disposition. 
 
 
 

                                                 
4 DJJDP YDCs currently have the capacity to serve 537, but are not yet fully staffed. As a result, 425 beds are 
currently available for use. 

State Government Local Government Private

Department of Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention Counties Victims and Families

Juvenile Crime Prevention Councils Offenders and Families

Department of Corrections Criminal Justice Partnership Programs Service Providers
Sheriffs Victim Advocacy

Administrative Office of the Courts Juvenile Advocacy
Prosecutors Local Law Enforcement Business
Public Defenders 
Judges School Districts
Court Staff 

Department of Public Instruction
Department of Crime Control and 
Public Safety
Department of Health and Human 
Services
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Department of Correction 
DOC provides secure confinement services and community supervision services to persons 
convicted in Superior and District Courts, including persons committing crimes while 16 or 17 
years of age. Secure confinement is primarily provided to offenders 16 and 17 years of age in the 
Western Youth Institution, which also serves offenders that were older than age 17 at the time of 
offense. The facility’s annual budget of $19.6 million is approximately 2 percent of DOC’s 
annual budget.  Full-time educational services in the form of GED courses and vocational 
courses are available to offenders at the Western Youth Institution. Offenders may also receive 
substance abuse treatment or sex offender treatment.     
 
Administrative Office of the Courts 
AOC administers the budget for entities associated with court processing, such as Indigent 
Defense Services. Offenders 16 and 17 years of age that are prosecuted for criminal offenses are 
primarily served by District Courts, and a small proportion is served in Superior Courts (most 
often those who are charged with felonies). Juvenile cases are processed separately in District 
Court. In fiscal year 2007, the Superior Court expended $37.1 million and the District Court 
expended $78.7 million to serve adult and juvenile offenders. District Courts and Superior 
Courts were served by 256 and 109 judges, respectively. Cases in North Carolina are prosecuted 
by 42 District Attorneys and 571 Assistant District Attorneys.  Indigent offenders are served by 
14 public defenders, 200 assistant public defenders, one juvenile defender, one assistant juvenile 
defender, and private counsel via contracted services. Juvenile offenders are presumed indigent 
and many offenders 16 and 17 years of age are indigent according to the office of Indigent 
Defense Services. 
 
Processing of Juvenile and Adult Offenders  
Persons suspected of committing criminal and delinquent acts go through several processes: 
arrest and apprehension, detention, case processing, and pre- and post-dispositional services. 
These processes involve several stakeholders, including local law enforcement agencies, the 
District and Superior Courts, DOC, and DJJDP. The processes associated with each system are 
described below and are summarized in Exhibit 6. See Appendix A for a glossary of terms used in 
this report. 
 
Adult System 
First, persons suspected of committing a crime receive a citation or are arrested by a law 
enforcement officer. They are then taken to a magistrate, who may set a bond amount for the 
person’s release or who may allow release without the payment of bond. Persons who are unable 
to pay the bond amount are then detained in jail prior to their trial for the offense that they are 
accused of committing. Some offenders may participate in pre-trial services, which are an 
alternative to housing persons in detention facilities prior to trial and which provide supervision 
and sometimes counseling to suspects. 
 
Instead of prosecuting persons for a crime, a District Attorney (public prosecutor) that is 
assigned to the case may decide to defer prosecution in lieu of a defendant completing certain 
requirements (e.g., community service or rehabilitative programming) and avoiding further 
criminal activity. The period of supervision before all charges are dropped may last up to two 
years.  If persons are prosecuted by the DA, their cases are decided by a trial court. Upon being 
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found guilty of committing a crime, persons receive a sentence from the court classified as 
active, intermediate, or community. Active sentences are served in prison or in jail, while 
intermediate and community sentences are served in the community. Intermediate sentences 
include supervision by a probation officer and an additional level of service such as that provided 
by electronic house arrest or day reporting centers. Community sentences may include 
supervision by a probation officer; they may also include completion of community service 
hours, payment of fines/restitution, or unsupervised probation (requirement to meet terms of 
probation, without the supervision of a probation officer). Some offenders (those who have 
committed Class B through E felonies) that receive prison sentences also receive post-release 
supervision. 
 
Juvenile System 
Persons suspected of committing delinquent offenses are apprehended by law enforcement 
officers in the community and temporarily detained (for 12 hours typically, or up to 24 hours if 
on a weekend or a holiday). The law enforcement officer files a complaint with the District 
Court. In addition, school resource officers (sworn officers stationed at schools) and private 
citizens may also file complaints. A juvenile court counselor or judge may decide whether the 
person should be returned to their parent/guardian or receive a secure custody order, which 
typically is served in a juvenile detention facility.    
 
Risk and needs assessments generally are completed for persons who are held in detention 
facilities. The assessments document information about delinquency history, family situation, 
school behavior, substance abuse, peer relationships, and individual characteristics. Data 
collected in the assessments are used to determine an appropriate level and type of supervision.   
 
Juvenile court counselors then review the files of all persons for which complaints have been 
filed, and evaluate each case by conducting interviews with the juvenile, the juvenile’s parent, 
guardian, or custodian, the complainant, the victim, and any other persons with relevant 
information. Court counselors can decide to:  
 

 Close a case if they determine that the person is not in need of any referrals or follow-up, 
 Divert a case if they think it should not be filed but that the person is in need of service 

referrals or follow-up services, or 
 File a petition with the trial court and set a hearing date with the court. 
 

Juvenile offenders receive either commitment or community supervision.5 Committed juveniles 
primarily serve their dispositions in Youth Development Centers (YDCs). All committed 
offenders receive post-release supervision after they leave YDC confinement. Offenders 
receiving community supervision dispositions receive supervision by a court counselor and may 
receive additional rehabilitative services in the community. 
 
Many of these community rehabilitative services are overseen through Juvenile Crime 
Prevention Councils (JCPCs), which are county-appointed councils that administer grants to 
community program providers. The State allocates funding to each county in the State 
                                                 
5 There are two levels of community supervision dispositions; one is more intensive than the other and requires 
services in addition to basic supervision be provided. 
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(approximately $22.4 million in fiscal year 2008) and the county provides matching funds 
ranging from 10 to 30 percent of their State allocated dollars. The funds are used to administer 
grants for both preventive and rehabilitative programs; they serve youth that have not been 
involved with the juvenile justice system, as well as those who are diverted or serving 
dispositions. Grantees establish measurable objectives and provide data on their performance to 
the JCPC. 
 
Exhibit 6: Comparison of Juvenile Justice and Criminal Justice Systems  
 

Process Juvenile System Adult System 
Arrest Juveniles are brought into a police station, 

where the officer completes paperwork to 
file a complaint with the court. 

Adult either is issued a citation or is arrested. 

Detention Some juveniles are brought home by the 
local police department or their parents pick 
them up. Other juveniles receive secure 
detention through a secure custody order. 

All adults arrested are booked and have bond set 
by a magistrate. Some do not have bond set and 
are released. Others pay bond and are released. 
Some do not pay bond and are held in jail prior 
to their trial. Some offenders also receive pre-
trial services, which allow supervision in the 
community prior to trial. 

Court  Juvenile Court within District Court District Court and Superior Court 
Decision to 
Prosecute 

Juvenile Court Counselor reviews file and 
evaluates the case by conducting interviews 
with the juvenile, the juvenile’s parent, 
guardian, or custodian, the complainant, the 
victim, and any other persons with relevant 
information: 

o Close case: Juvenile not in need of 
any referrals or follow-up. 

o Divert case: Case should not be filed, 
but juvenile in need of referrals or 
follow-up.   

o File petition for case: Case is 
prosecuted, hearing is set. 

District Attorney makes decision. Can decide to: 
o Defer prosecution: Decision to dismiss 

a case if the defendant complies with 
certain conditions.   

o Prosecute the case: A hearing date is 
then set. 

Pre-
Adjudication 
Services  

A diversion contract can be signed; it has a 
six-month time frame and requires the 
juvenile to attend a specific program or 
service instead of being prosecuted. 

A decision can be made to defer prosecution 
upon completion of set conditions (e.g., pay 
restitution, complete community service hours). 
A written agreement specifies the conditions; 
limited supervision is provided by DOC to 
ensure the conditions are met. The agreement 
can last up to 24 months. 

Placement 
Options for 
Adjudicated 
Persons 

Commitment: Generally receive secure 
confinement at a Youth Development 
Center. There are a limited number of 
commitment alternatives available as well. 
Community Supervision: Supervision at 
varying levels in the community. May 
include supervision alone or supervision 
plus additional services such as community 
service, counseling, day reporting, and 
electronic monitoring. 

Active: Secure confinement in a prison or jail. 
Community Supervision (Probation): 
Supervision at varying levels in the community. 
May include supervision alone or supervision 
plus additional services. 
Unsupervised Probation: No supervision by a 
probation officer. Still subject to conditions of 
probation including remaining crime-free, being 
employed, not possessing firearms, etc. 
Other: community service, restitution, fine. 

 
Source: North Carolina Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission “Report of Study of Youthful Offenders 
Pursuant to Session Law 2006-248, Sections 34.1 and 34.2”    
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Persons Affected 
The proposed change in juvenile court jurisdiction would involve approximately 30,000 persons. 
In Calendar Year 2007, 30,702 persons 16 and 17 years of age were reported to be arrested. 
These persons were arrested for a variety of offenses, though most (approximately 25,000) were 
arrested for misdemeanor offenses. As shown in Exhibit 7, the majority of persons 16 and 17 
years of age (81 percent) were arrested for minor offenses (Classes 1 through 3 misdemeanors).  
Only 6 percent of the offenses were violent felonies (Classes A through E). The population of 
persons 16 and 17 years of age has a marginally larger proportion of more serious offenders than 
does the population of persons 15 years of age currently served by the juvenile system.  
Approximately 85 percent of offenders 15 years of age were arrested in 2007 for minor offenses, 
and 15 percent for violent and serious offenses. 
 
Exhibit 7: Calendar Year 2007 Arrests by Offense Type and Age     
 

Offenders 16 and 17 Years of Age
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13%

81%

g
5%
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85%

Offenders 16 and 17 Years of Age Offenders 15 Years of Age

5% 
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85%81%
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Violent Offenses  (Class  A‐E    Felonies)

Serious  Offenses  (Class  F‐J Felonies , A1 Misdemeanors )

Minor Offenses  (Class  1‐3 Misdemeanors)

Violent Offenses (Class A-E Felonies) 

Serious Offenses (Class F-J Felonies, A1 Misdemeanors) 

Minor Offenses (Class 1-3 Misdemeanors) 

 
 
Source: DJJDP data, 2009, Sentencing Policy and Advisory Commission Data, 2009  
 
Although serious offenders 16 and 17 years of age would be eligible to be bound over 
(transferred) to adult court jurisdiction if the age of juvenile jurisdiction were changed, the 
juvenile system currently does not bind over many cases. In Calendar Year 2007, 40 juveniles 
had cases bound over. This represents only 1.5 percent of all offenses eligible to be bound over 
(2,732), and less than 1 percent of all juvenile complaints. Of the 30,702 arrests of persons 16 
and 17 years of age, only 5,460 (18 percent) of these arrests are eligible to be bound over. As a 
result, most of these 30,702 persons will be served by the juvenile system rather than the adult 
system.  
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The following sections of the report provide a detailed account of the cost-benefit analysis and 
initial implementation considerations. Appendices are included with additional information on 
research, data collection, and calculations. 
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Cost-Benefit Analysis Overview 
This section describes the analysis of the costs and benefits of changing the age of juvenile court 
jurisdiction in North Carolina to include persons charged with committing offenses at ages 16 
and 17. The section includes a discussion of the approach to the analysis and an overview of 
related costs and benefits. Exhibits detailing the cost per arrest in the juvenile system and adult 
system are included, along with summary exhibits that calculate the costs of raising the age of 
juvenile court jurisdiction to include just persons 16 years of age and persons 16 and 17 years of 
age.  
 
Approach 
Although an identical study has not been conducted, the analysis methodology draws on similar 
cost-benefit analyses conducted in the fields of juvenile and criminal justice and guidelines for 
such analyses, including the following: 

 “Comparative Costs and Benefits of Programs to Reduce Crime,” Washington State 
Institute for Public Policy  

 “Cost-Benefit Analysis for Juvenile Justice Programs,” U.S. Office of Juvenile Justice 
and Delinquency Prevention 

 “Victim Costs and Consequences: A New Look,” National Institute of Justice 
 “The Economics of Juvenile Court Jurisdiction,” The Urban Institute 
 “Cost-Benefit Analysis for Crime Prevention: Opportunity Costs Routine Savings and 

Crime Externalities,” Crime Prevention Studies 
 
The analysis compares the societal costs and benefits of serving persons 16 and 17 years of age 
in the juvenile system and in the adult system. Costs and benefits are organized by and calculated 
for the groups that are affected by the change: state government, local government, victims, and 
offenders. The unit used to measure costs and benefits is arrests. All costs are measured at a rate 
per arrest; the rate accounts for the overall probability of persons 16 and 17 years of age 
receiving certain services, as all offenders do not receive the same services. Included is an 
explanation of the overall cost per arrest, processing costs, recidivism outcomes, and additional 
costs and benefits not quantified in this report. 
 
The major points for comparison between the adult and juvenile systems are processing cost and 
recidivism outcomes. Benefits either represent costs avoided because of reduced recidivism (e.g., 
costs to potential victims of crime and budgetary costs of serving convicted/adjudicated 
offenders), or benefits incurred by the offender by being served by the juvenile system. This is a 
standard cost benefit analysis that measures the social cost of a policy. In this case, the costs and 
benefits of the policy are measured prospectively. When comparing total costs to society of 
serving persons 16 and 17 years of age in each of the two systems, the difference signifies the net 
present value to society of changing the age of jurisdiction for a single year cohort. This means 
the difference in total costs would be repeated each year with a new cohort, assuming that crime 
and population levels remain constant. 
 
Overall Cost per Arrest 
As noted, the unit of cost used in this analysis is the cost per arrest. To determine costs or 
benefits of raising the age of juvenile court jurisdiction, total processing costs and total costs of 
recidivism outcomes (including re-processing) are estimated for a one-year entry cohort of 
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persons 16 and 17 years of age under the existing adult system and then under the existing 
juvenile system. Capital investments for detention and Youth Development Centers are not 
included in this cost assessment and are addressed in the Implementation and Action Plan Report 
under separate cover.  
 
Processing Cost 
State government costs are included for the following agencies: Administrative Office of the 
Courts (AOC), the Department of Correction (DOC), and the Department of Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention (DJJDP). As shown in Exhibit 8, the analysis includes costs and benefits 
associated with 30,702 arrests in Calendar Year 2007 of persons 16 and 17 years of age.  
Processing costs per arrest are calculated for the adult and juvenile systems; they include the 
budgetary costs incurred by stakeholders as an offender moves from contact with law 
enforcement, to courts, and to service-providing agencies such as DOC and DJJDP. Not every 
person that goes through the criminal or juvenile justice process uses the same services.  
Therefore, processing costs per arrest account for how often specific services are used by 
offenders. For example, it costs an estimated $4,092 for a juvenile community supervision 
disposition, but the average cost per arrest for juvenile community supervision disposition is 
$1,465.  
 
Exhibit 8 shows the different paths that persons in the two processes can take and the proportion 
of the total arrests/complaints that result in use of a particular part of each process. Overall, costs 
incurred by DJJDP are associated with an additional 14,629 persons receiving court-ordered 
sanctions; cost reductions incurred by DOC are associated with serving fewer persons. In the 
juvenile system, offenders have a lower probability of being adjudicated (30 percent) than in the 
adult system (35 percent), but a higher probability of receiving a sanction (48 percent compared 
to 23 percent). Offenders also have a lower probability of being placed in secure confinement in 
the juvenile system (2 percent) compared to the adult system (6 percent). 
 
The adult cost is based on observed outcomes for persons 16 and 17 years of age in 2007. The 
juvenile cost per complaint (arrest) is based on outcomes observed for juveniles 15 years of age. 
See Appendix B for details about the methodology.  
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Exhibit 8: Population Pathways  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
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transferred to the adult system. 
** It is unclear whether these persons ultimately were prosecuted; therefore, deferred prosecution is counted as an additional cost and not a 
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included in the dismissal pathway. 
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Recidivism Outcomes  
Recidivism outcomes affect budgetary costs and costs to potential victims of crime. If crime is 
averted (meaning recidivism is reduced), then costs associated with crime incidence are reduced. 
The difference in recidivism outcomes in the juvenile and adult systems, therefore, has an effect 
on the total cost of each system. In addition to including the initial cost of serving persons 16 and 
17 years of age in the juvenile and adult systems, the overall cost in this analysis includes the 
budgetary cost of serving persons from the initial cohort who recidivate, as well as the cost of 
being victimized by the persons who recidivate.   
 
The budgetary cost is affected by following: 
 

 The proportion of persons who re-offend (overall recidivism rate). 
 The outcome of their re-offense. Cost varies significantly if they are: arrested and their 

case is closed/dismissed, adjudicated and receive a commitment disposition, adjudicated 
and receive a community supervision disposition, or if they received a diversion.   

 The system through which persons who re-offend are processed (either the adult or 
juvenile system). 

 
Budgetary recidivism costs represent the net present value of expenditures required to serve 
persons who re-offend within three-years of release. In the cost-benefit analysis, each incident of 
recidivism is multiplied by a factor of 1.6 to account for multiple future offenses per recidivating 
offender. The three-year period of release for community supervision begins at the date of 
disposition. For secure placement the three-year period begins upon the offender’s release.  
Recidivism costs are estimated based on the projected number of re-arrests and re-convictions 
among the entry cohort. Re-arrests are multiplied by a time-discounted budgetary cost per arrest.  
Time discounting corrects for declining value of money over time so that budgetary calculations 
more appropriately reflect actual value. Revocations resulting in incarcerations are also 
calculated. See Appendix C for more details about the recidivism calculation methodology. 
 
Victim costs are also affected by re-offense. The type of offense committed by persons who 
recidivate affects the victim costs, with more serious offenses costing victims more. To calculate 
total victim costs, the number of expected re-convictions is multiplied by a time discounted 
victim cost per conviction.   
 
Additional Costs and Benefits 
This report focuses on quantifiable costs and benefits accruing to state and local governments, 
victims, and offenders, which are the primary costs and benefits that society experiences because 
of crime incidence or reduction. Some costs and benefits that would result from a change to the 
age of juvenile court jurisdiction cannot be quantified or are not related to a change in the rate of 
crime (or arrests) and therefore have not been included in the analysis. To maintain its 
objectivity, the cost-benefit analysis also excludes any perceived benefits and costs that could not 
be substantiated by validated data. See Appendix D for a detailed description of the costs that 
were considered and the rationale for their inclusion or exclusion in this analysis. 
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Qualitative benefits and costs related to incidence of crime would be affected by a change to the 
age of juvenile court jurisdiction. These costs, which could not be included in the cost-benefit 
analysis, include the following: 
 

 Precautionary behavior:  Citizens may alter their behavior to reduce the risk of being 
victims of crime. Such behavior may include taking a circuitous route to a destination to 
avoid unsafe parts of town or deciding not to leave the house at night to meet friends or 
go to dinner. 

 
 Fear of crime: The fear of crime itself imposes a negative effect on a person. The quality 

of life of potential victims is diminished by the fear of crime. The fear of crime does not 
necessarily correlate with changes in arrests rates. 

 
 Community defense expenditures:  The residents in a neighborhood may organize 

themselves and hire security personnel to patrol their neighborhood. Although these are 
tangible costs, identifying the neighborhoods with private patrols and collecting financial 
information from them is an impractical exercise. 

 
 Government crime prevention activity:  Crime generates prevention responses at the 

local, state, and federal levels. Federal and state grants fund local programs aimed at 
preventing crime. Some of these programs could include Head Start and other early child 
development programs. These are secondary impacts from a change in crime rates and 
the connection between changes in crime rates and the prevalence of these programs is 
not established. 

 
 Miscarriages of justice:  With every crime committed there is a possibility that the wrong 

person may be accused and in some cases convicted of it. Any reduction in recidivism 
reduces this possibility and thereby generates a benefit to society, albeit one that is 
difficult to measure. 

 
The preceding list includes costs and benefits that are difficult, if not impossible, to quantify. The 
impediment to quantifying these benefits and costs can come from inadequate data availability, 
the impracticality of collecting the data, or the absence of any general agreement among 
researchers as to what constitutes a reliable and sound approach to making such a calculation.   
 
Weighing the importance of non-quantifiable costs and benefits is a task best left to elected 
officials. Many decisions of government are made without an appeal to quantifiable costs and 
benefits, but they are deemed good decisions nevertheless. The intangible benefits to society 
derived from the reduction in recidivism may be sufficient to make the additional investment in 
the criminal justice system worthwhile; however, making such a judgment is outside the scope of 
this report.  
 
Additionally, there are perceived benefits and costs that would result from a change to juvenile 
court jurisdiction that are not included in the analysis. Some of these benefits and costs can be 
quantified but their occurrence cannot be attributed to the implementation of a change to juvenile 
jurisdiction. 
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There are other perceived benefits and costs, but stakeholders have diverging views of their 
effect. Examples of these perceived benefits and costs are discussed below:  
 

 Juvenile advocates would consider a decrease in the number of persons 16 and 17 years 
of age placed in secure confinement to be a benefit; other persons concerned with public 
safety may consider it a cost to have offenders living amongst the citizenry with the 
potential to commit crimes.  

 
 A perceived benefit to offenders is that they will attain higher levels of academic 

achievement because of the services they would receive in the juvenile system and the 
lack of a criminal record. The lifetime costs of dropping out of high school (in 2007 
dollars) are estimated to range from $692,500 to $1.0 million (Cohen and Piquero 2007).  
Although research shows that persons without criminal records generally finish high 
school and attend college more often than those with criminal records, it is not clear that 
the absence of a record causes increased educational attainment. Studies show that the 
differential in attainment may be caused by pre-existing characteristics. 

 
 A perceived cost to public safety is that the records of persons 16 and 17 years of age 

would become confidential upon a change to juvenile court jurisdiction, making the 
public less aware of offenders in their communities and therefore less prepared to deal 
with that perceived danger. Citizens who may change their lifestyle or business practices 
upon knowledge that an offender is living nearby or employed in the same workplace 
would not have the information necessary to make changes. This could increase the 
occurrence of otherwise preventable crimes and therefore increase victimization and 
related costs. However, the extent to which this would occur is unclear and the potential 
costs that would result cannot be quantified.   

 
The omission of the preceding costs and benefits does not seriously undermine the significance 
of the results of this study because many of these effects counterbalance one another, are 
secondary, or have a relatively small impact. 
 
Costs Associated with Raising the Age  
Described in this section are specific costs associated with changing the age of juvenile court 
jurisdiction, including those incurred by state and local government, victims, and offenders. The 
analysis calculates governmental, or budgetary, costs at a rate per arrest. These costs include the 
total expenditures required to process persons through the juvenile and adult systems, as well as 
the costs required to process persons through the same systems if they re-offend. Costs to victims 
relate to the rate of re-offense; for every crime averted, costs decrease. Costs to offenders relate 
to the loss of employment opportunity and earning potential resulting from a felony conviction 
because research has shown that criminal records result in reduced employment and salary 
opportunity. 
 
State and Local Government Costs 
Estimates of the initial cost to serve persons 16 and 17 years of age in the juvenile and adult 
systems include the following processes: arrest and apprehension, detention, pre-adjudication 
services (e.g., deferred prosecution and diversion), court case processing, and post-adjudication 
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services (e.g., secure confinement, community supervision). These processes and the entities that 
incur related costs are shown in Exhibit 9. As shown in Exhibit 8, DJJDP incurs most of the 
types of costs associated with providing juvenile justice services. Local governments provide 
funds for community programming, operate jails, juvenile detention facilities, and YDCs, and 
pay for law enforcement operation. Entities associated with AOC primarily incur costs related to 
the processing of court cases, while DOC bears the cost for the provision of pre and post-
adjudication services. 
 
Exhibit 9: Types of Costs Incurred by State and Local Government Entities 
 

 
Arrest and 

Apprehension 
Detention 

Court 
Case 

Processing 

Pre-
Adjudication 

Services 
Probation 

Secure 
Confinement (e.g., 

YDC, prison) 
DJJDP       
DOC       
AOC       

Local Gov.       
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
In total, costs to serve persons 16 and 17 years of age in the juvenile system are $7,348, a 50.1 
percent increase from the $4,882 currently used to serve these persons in the adult system. Of the 
additional dollars (nearly $2,500) needed to serve an offender in the juvenile system, 86 percent 
would be incurred by the State. See Exhibits 10 and 11 for more detail on these expenditures. 
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Exhibit 10: Initial Adult System Expenditures per Arrest 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
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Exhibit 11: Initial Juvenile System Expenditures per Complaint 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Victim Costs 
For many crimes committed, there is at least one victim. The costs of crime include property loss 
and damage, medical care, mental health care, loss of productivity, and decrease in quality of 
life.  Costs vary based on the type of crime resulting in victimization. Victim benefits and costs 
are directly influenced by the rate of crime, and as such, any benefits are the result of crime 
aversion (measured by percentage of re-offenses avoided). This analysis uses victim costs cited 
in two studies6 (see Appendix E for more information about these sources), and allocates costs 
based on the number of offenses for which a conviction or disposition resulted. It should be 
noted that some of these costs are tangible and were collected through primary research, and are 
therefore more reliable. Others, such as quality of life costs, are not easily quantifiable and are 
more subjective; as such, their reliability has been questioned by some studies. Because of this, 
quality of life cost (benefit) dollars are listed separately.7  
 
Tangible costs to victims are estimated to range from an average of approximately $480 per 
offense for minor offenses to approximately $28,500 for violent offenses. Quality of life costs 
range from approximately $1,800 for minor offenses to $62,500 for violent offenses. See 

                                                 
6 Miller 1994 and Cohen 2008 
7 These quality of life costs do not include pain and suffering. 
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Appendix E for the methodology of the victim cost per offense calculations and Appendix F for 
how this cost was incorporated into the cost-benefit scenarios. 
 
Benefits Associated with Raising the Age  
Benefits associated with changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction include those incurred by 
the state and local government, victims, and offenders. Benefits have been included to the degree 
that they are measurable, have validated and reliable estimates, and are supported by evidence of 
their occurrence. State and local government benefits are derived from crimes averted due to 
reduced recidivism. Victim benefits are also derived from the recidivism outcomes of the adult 
and juvenile systems. Offender benefits are calculated as an increase in lifetime earnings that 
would result from the lack of an adult criminal record, should persons committing offenses while 
16 and 17 years of age be placed under juvenile jurisdiction. 
   
State and Local Government Benefits  
Benefits attributed to serving persons 16 and 17 years of age in the juvenile and adult systems 
result from crimes averted. Because the cost of initial offenses is a substantial cost in both 
systems, any benefits in the form of reduced recidivism do not result in an overall net positive 
benefit in the overall cost-benefit analysis. However, averted crime mitigates the budgetary 
burden of serving delinquent or criminal offenders in their respective systems.  
  
Victim Benefits 
Victims benefit from reduced crime, as they have a lower chance of being victimized and 
incurring costs associated with victimization. If the age of juvenile court jurisdiction is changed, 
victim costs total approximately $62.7 million. If these persons continue to be served in the adult 
system, victim costs total approximately $64.5 million. Overall, victims would benefit $1.7 
million under the baseline juvenile system. 
 
Offender Benefits 
The juvenile system produces benefits outside the scope of avoided budgetary and victim costs.  
Currently, first-time adult offenders 16 and 17 years of age who do not recidivate retain records 
of arrest and conviction. Studies show that records of arrest, and to a greater degree convictions 
and incarceration, reduce future earnings of offenders and decrease their overall likelihood of 
employment. These outcomes in turn increase the likelihood of recidivism. If North Carolina 
changes the age of juvenile court jurisdiction, these one-time offenders will enter adulthood with 
clean records.   
 
The degree of an adult criminal record’s effect on earnings varies among studies on the subject.  
Leading studies in the area of offender benefits suggest that offenders will avoid a loss in 
earnings anywhere from 2 to 11 percent depending upon whether their criminal records include 
an arrest, conviction, or incarceration. This analysis uses a lifetime earnings reduction factor in 
the middle of the range of estimates from leading studies of 6.5 percent. See Appendix G for 
more information about the studies. 
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Exhibit 12: Offender Benefit Resulting from Lack of an Adult Criminal Record 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009; Toikka and Neveu (2004) 

 
Under these parameters, the benefit— for felony offenders who do not re-offend— of entering 
adulthood with a clean record would result in additional lifetime earnings of approximately $40.5 
million. As shown in Exhibit 12, approximately 1,140 persons (66 percent of the 1,720 felony 
convictions) 16 and 17 years of age would receive this benefit if they were served in the juvenile 
system rather than the adult system. These estimates represent lifetime earnings inclusive of tax 
liabilities. In other words, approximately 25 percent the offender benefits of $40.5 million in 
lifetime earnings is payable to federal, state, and local government as income taxes. 
 
Increased earnings over the lifetime of these one-time offenders may lead to secondary effects 
such as reduced burden on State support services and an overall more attractive workforce. 
These secondary impacts have not been measured because they cannot be calculated with any 
level of certainty. Further, secondary impacts are customarily excluded from cost-benefit 
analyses. It is difficult to estimate any reduced impact on state-provided support services (e.g., 
services for the unemployed or persons of low income), because there is no generally accepted 
estimate of the number of persons from the cohort who would be eligible for those services in the 
future. In addition, any reduced impact of former offenders on State-provided support services 
may only be the result of a transfer of service use among residents of the State.    

Age 

Felony 
Convictions 
Under Adult 
System (#) 

% Non- 
Reconviction 

Expected Under 
Juvenile System  

Net Present Value 
(2007 $)  

Earnings Differential 
(6.5%) Total

16 774        66% 35,501$  18,245,234 $  
17       946        66% 35,501$  22,299,731 $  

Total 1,720     40,544,965 $  
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Cost-Benefit Calculations 
This section discusses the assumptions behind calculations of costs and benefits and summarizes 
the findings. Costs and benefits associated with the current juvenile and adult systems (baseline) 
are included, as are costs and benefits associated with the current adult system and an enhanced 
juvenile system. For the baseline and enhanced system cost summaries, results also include two 
separate net costs: the cost of serving offenders 16 and 17 years of age in the juvenile system and 
the cost of serving offenders 16 years of age only in the juvenile system. For each summary, a 
budgetary view is presented first, followed by a social cost-benefit view incorporating victim and 
offender costs and benefits. 
 
Baseline Assumptions 
The cost-benefit analysis is based on the following assumptions: 
 

 Judicial and prosecutorial decisions made regarding offenders 16 and 17 years of age in 
the juvenile system remain the same as decisions made regarding offenders 15 years of 
age. It is not possible to predict with accuracy whether there will or will not be any 
changes in decision making if a change to juvenile court jurisdiction is made. 

 
 Class A felonies are transferred to the adult system automatically.   
 
 All offenses currently eligible for transfer to the adult system remain eligible for transfer, 

and are projected to occur at the rate projected by the Sentencing Policy and Advisory 
Commission (SPAC). 

 
 Traffic offenses do not move to juvenile court jurisdiction. Per SPAC, there would be 

significant resources involved in transferring a large volume of traffic offenses into the 
juvenile courts. It would also be administratively difficult to change. 

 
 Recidivism rates for offenders 16 and 17 years of age are most closely related to those of 

offenders 15 years of age. Offense type and offense seriousness for offenders 15 years of 
age are more similar to those for persons 16 and 17 years of age than they are to those for 
persons ages 14 and younger.     

 
In addition, the analysis incorporates the following parameters: 
 

 All figures are presented in 2007 dollars and have been adjusted as needed using the 
Implicit Price Deflator for Personal Consumption expenditures published by the U.S. 
Bureau of Economic Analysis. 

 
 Discount Rate of 3 percent used. 
 
 The entry cohort is based on 30,7028 persons 16 and 17 years of age arrested in Fiscal 

Year 2007.  

                                                 
8 The entry cohort of 30,702 consists of all arrests of persons 16 and 17 years of age except for runaways included in 
the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation 2007 Uniform Crime Report. 
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Baseline Cost Summary  
The sections below summarize the net benefit of serving persons 16 and 17 years of age in the 
juvenile system and in the adult system. Two scenarios are discussed: serving persons 16 years 
of age only in the juvenile system and serving persons 16 and 17 years of age in the juvenile 
system. For each scenario, the budgetary impact on stakeholders is presented first, followed costs 
and benefits to government, victims, and offenders. 
 
The total cost is affected most by the budgetary costs of both systems; it is greatly influenced by 
the costs of adjudicating juveniles and serving committed youth. Although the total cost also 
incorporates victimization costs, they are similar for both systems. 
 
Costs Associated with Serving Offenders 16 and 17 Years of Age 
If offenders 16 and 17 years of age were served in the current juvenile system, it would cost the 
State a total of $79.6 million for a single year’s cohort. As shown in Exhibit 13, DOC would 
reduce its costs by approximately $44.5 million if the change were implemented. It should be 
noted, however, that this figure and the other stakeholder cost figures should not be interpreted 
as recommendations to change the annual budget for affected State agencies. These estimates 
should be used for comparison purposes. Additional considerations, such as the feasibility of 
transferring funding from one entity to another without interrupting service provision and the 
actual budget year during which the costs occur, are necessary before converting these estimates 
to an implementation plan.  
 
Exhibit 13: 16, 17 Baseline Summary: Budgetary Costs (Benefits) 
 

Adult minus Juvenile Adult Juvenile % Difference
Budgetary Total (79,558,396)$                   203,406,204$       282,964,600$       -39%

State (75,917,095)$                   63,576,263$         139,493,358$       -119%

DOC 44,468,440$                     51,711,464$         7,243,023$           
AOC (8,207,860)$                     11,864,800$         20,072,659$         -69%

DJJDP (112,177,675)$                 -$                       112,177,675$       

Local Government (3,641,302)$                     139,829,941$       143,471,242$       -3%

Rearrests 147                                   9,662                     9,516                     2%
Reconvictions 198                                   6,770                     6,571                     3%  
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
It is reasonable to assume, however, that some of the cost reductions accrued by DOC could be 
used to mitigate some of the additional expenses that would be incurred by DJJDP and AOC. If 
the change were implemented for offenders 16 and 17 years of age, DJJDP would incur an 
additional $112.0 million in expenditures, and AOC would incur an additional $8.2 million in 
expenditures. Local government would incur a $3.6 million cost increase.   
 
When offender and victim benefits and costs are incorporated into the model, the cost of the 
change is reduced significantly. As shown in Exhibit 14, overall costs would be $37.5 million. 
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Exhibit 14: 16, 17 Baseline Summary: Overall Costs (Benefits) 
 

Net Benefit (Cost) Adult Juvenile
(37,511,171)$                

Budgetary (79,558,396)$                   203,406,204$       282,964,600$       

Victim 1,563,317$                       64,508,993$         62,945,677$         
Tangible 608,437$                          25,106,651$         24,498,214$         

Quality of Life 954,880$                          39,402,342$         38,447,463$         

Offender 40,483,909$                     40,483,909$         *

 
 
*Offender benefits (forgone earnings) are treated as a cost of the adult system, but could also be considered a benefit 
of the juvenile system. 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Costs Associated with Serving Offenders 16 Years of Age Only 
An alternative to changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction to include persons both 16 and 
17 years of age is to include only persons 16 years of age. Cost increases and cost reductions to 
all entities would be about half of that expected if juvenile court jurisdiction is expanded to 
include persons 16 and 17 years of age. 
 
This alternative would result in $43.7 million less in budgetary expenditures than the previous 
scenario to include persons ages 16 and 17. As shown in Exhibit 15, it would cost state and local 
government approximately $35.8 million more to serve offenders 16 years of age in the juvenile 
system than it would to serve them in the adult system.   
 
Exhibit 15: 16 Only, Baseline Summary: Budgetary Costs (Benefits) 
 

Adult minus Juvenile Adult Juvenile % Difference

Budgetary Total (35,801,278)$                      91,532,792$           127,334,070$         -39%

State (34,162,693)$                      28,609,318$           62,772,011$           -119%
DOC 20,010,798$                       23,270,159$           3,259,360$             
AOC (3,693,537)$                        5,339,160$             9,032,697$             -69%

DJJDP (50,479,954)$                      -$                        50,479,954$           

Local Government (1,638,586)$                        62,923,473$           64,562,059$           -3%

Rearrests 147                                     9,662                      9,516                      2%
Reconvictions 198                                     6,770                      6,571                      3%  
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009  

 
Similarly, DOC would have lower cost reductions and other government stakeholders would 
incur lower costs. DOC’s costs would reduce by $20.0 million, while DJJDP would incur $50.5 
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million in additional expenditures. Local government and AOC would incur additional 
expenditures of $1.6 million and $3.7 million, respectively.  
As expected, overall costs would also be reduced if only offenders 16 years of age were included 
in a change to juvenile jurisdiction, as shown in Exhibit 16. Costs decrease to $16.9 million 
when victim and offender costs and benefits are incorporated. 
 
Exhibit 16: 16 Only, Baseline Summary: Overall Costs (Benefits) 
 

Net Benefit (Cost) Adult Juvenile

(16,880,027)$                      

Budgetary (35,801,278)$                      91,532,792$           127,334,070$         

Victim 703,493$                            29,029,047$           28,325,554$           
Tangible 273,797$                            11,297,993$           11,024,196$           

Quality of Life 429,696$                            17,731,054$           17,301,358$           

Offender 18,217,759$                       18,217,759$           *

 
 
*Offender benefits (forgone earnings) are treated as a cost of the adult system, but could also be considered a benefit 
of the juvenile system. 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Enhanced System Assumptions  
While the baseline scenario addresses what happens when persons 16 and 17 years of age are 
handled in North Carolina’s juvenile justice system as it currently exists, the enhanced scenario 
addresses what happens if those persons are served in a new juvenile system in which best 
practices and research-based approaches are implemented. An enhanced system is an upgrade to 
the current system, which means that there may be a change in resource allocation. Because the 
enhanced system is a modification to current operations, it also may result in changes to the way 
things are done or result in decreased use of costly programming such as secure placements.   
 
As discussed below, this scenario assumes that DJJDP redirects its resources to implement 
evidence-based programming, that the programming is implemented appropriately, and that the 
programs result in recidivism outcomes that are similar to those seen in other states.   
 
Selected Requirements for an Enhanced System 
The enhanced system cost-benefit analysis includes all of the assumptions for the baseline 
analysis, as well as some additional assumptions. These assumptions are as follows: 
 

 Use of integrated case management 
 
 Use of a validated needs assessment that is linked to programs available in the State 
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 Placement of offenders in programs that match their needs according to a needs 
assessment  

 
 Development and implementation of programs that have been shown to be effective (see 

Appendix H for a description of the features of effective juvenile programming).  
Examples of programs that have been shown to be effective at reducing re-offending at a 
low cost include multi-systemic therapy, functional family therapy, and aggression 
replacement therapy. 

 
In addition, the enhanced system cost-benefit scenario assumes that the following areas are 
addressed in addition to program implementation to ensure successful outcomes are achieved: 
 

 Organizational Development 
o Educate agency leaders; obtain commitment to evidence-based practices. 
o Identify appropriate assessment and treatment planning tools. 
o Bring agency policy in line with evidence-based practices. 
 

 Software Development and Implementation 
o Identify areas in which automation could reduce paperwork and facilitate use of 

evidence-based practices. 
o Integrate assessment and service planning tools into management information 

systems. 
 

 Staff Training 
o Develop onsite coaches. 
o Train line staff for implementation with online modules and in-person refreshers. 
o Develop and maintain a “Frequently Asked Questions” database. 
 

 Quality Assurance 
o Develop competency and certification requirements for line staff and supervisors. 
o Incorporate line supervisors into the quality assurance process. 
o Monitor fidelity of evidence-based programs.  
o Create user-friendly report functions that regularly measure case processing 

outcomes. 
o Measure program outcomes periodically. 

 
These changes are reflected in the analysis by a 25 percent reduction in all recidivism rates for 
persons 16 and 17 years of age processed through the juvenile system.  
 
Enhanced System Cost Summary 
Summarized below are the costs and benefits estimated to occur with the implementation of an 
enhanced system. Estimates are provided for two scenarios: raising the age of jurisdiction for 
persons 16 years of age only and raising the age of jurisdiction for persons both 16 and 17 years 
of age. 
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Costs Associated with Serving Offenders 16 and 17 Years of Age 
Overall, budgetary costs are lower in the enhanced juvenile system than they are in the baseline 
juvenile system. In total, it would cost state and local government $53.7 million to serve a single-
year cohort of offenders 16 and 17 years of age.     
Under an enhanced system, DOC would have reduced costs of $45.9 million. This amount is 
slightly more than the cost reduction DOC would accrue under the baseline juvenile system 
because a portion of the recidivism reduction occurs from juveniles that would normally 
recidivate as adults. DJJDP, however, would have significantly fewer expenditures if it served 
offenders 16 and 17 years of age with an enhanced system than it would if it served the same 
offenders with its current system. The budgetary cost increase of $103.6 million that DJJDP 
would incur if an enhanced system were to be used for offenders 16 and 17 years of age 
represents an 8 percent decrease over the baseline juvenile system that does not assume a 
reduction in recidivism. Local government would see a cost reduction of $10.5 million and AOC 
would see an additional cost of $6.4 million. See Exhibit 17 for more detail regarding costs for 
serving offenders 16 and 17 years of age in an enhanced system. 
 
Exhibit 17: 16, 17 Enhanced System Summary: Budgetary Costs 
 

Adult minus Juvenile Adult Juvenile % Difference
Budgetary Total (53,674,454)$                   203,406,204$       257,080,658$       -26%

State (64,124,722)$                   63,576,263$         127,700,985$       -101%

DOC 45,903,797$                     51,711,464$         5,807,666$           
AOC (6,427,848)$                     11,864,800$         18,292,648$         -54%

DJJDP (103,600,670)$                 -$                       103,600,670$       

Local Government 10,450,267$                     139,829,941$       129,379,673$       7%

Rearrests 2,954                                9,662                     6,708                     31%

Reconvictions 2,152                                6,770                     4,617                     32%  
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
When victim and offender costs and benefits are included, the overall benefit of serving 
offenders 16 and 17 years of age in an enhanced juvenile system is 7.1 million. As shown in 
Exhibit 18, victims would accrue $20.3 million in benefit and offenders would accrue $40.5 
million in benefit.   
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Exhibit 18: 16, 17 Enhanced System Summary: Overall Costs 
 

Net Benefit (Cost) Adult Juvenile
7,087,383$            

Budgetary (53,674,454)$            203,406,204$       257,080,658$    

Victim 20,277,929$             64,508,993$         44,231,064$      
Tangible 7,892,091$               25,106,651$         17,214,559$      

Quality of Life 12,385,837$             39,402,342$         27,016,505$      

Offender 40,483,909$             40,483,909$         *

 
 
*Offender benefits (forgone earnings), are treated as a cost of the adult system, but could also be considered a 
benefit of the juvenile system. 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Costs Associated with Serving Offenders 16 Years of Age Only 
If the age of juvenile court jurisdiction was only changed to include offenders 16 years of age 
and if an enhanced system were implemented, it would result in lower costs incurred by state and 
local stakeholders. Cost increases and cost reductions to all entities would be about half of that 
expected if juvenile court jurisdiction were expanded to include persons both 16 and 17 years of 
age. 
 
As shown in Exhibit 19, it would cost an additional $24.1 million to serve offenders 16 years of 
age in an enhanced juvenile system instead of in the adult system. DOC’s costs would decrease 
$20.7 million; DJJDP would incur additional expenditures of $45.2 million. AOC would incur an 
additional $2.9 million cost; local government would have reduced costs of $4.7 million. 
 
 
Exhibit 19: 16 Only Enhanced System Summary: Budgetary Costs 
 

Adult minus Juvenile Adult Juvenile % Difference

Budgetary (24,153,504)$                      91,532,792$           115,686,296$         -26%

State (28,856,125)$                      28,609,318$           57,465,443$           -101%
DOC 20,656,709$                       23,270,159$           2,613,450$             
AOC (2,892,532)$                        5,339,160$             8,231,692$             -54%

DJJDP (46,620,302)$                      -$                        46,620,302$           

Local Government 4,702,620$                         62,923,473$           58,220,853$           7%

Rearrests 2,954                                  9,662                      6,708                      31%
Reconvictions 2,152                                  6,770                      4,617                      32%  
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
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When victim and offender costs and benefits are included, the net benefit of serving offenders 16 
years of age in the juvenile system is $3.2 million. As shown in Exhibit 20, victims would accrue 
$9.1 million in benefit; offenders would accrue $18.2 million in benefit. Costs and benefits of 
serving persons 16 years of age are roughly equivalent when enhanced juvenile services are 
implemented. 
 
Exhibit 20: 16 Only Enhanced System Summary: Overall Costs 
  

Net Benefit (Cost) Adult Juvenile

3,189,323$                 

Budgetary (24,153,504)$              91,532,792$           115,686,296$      

Victim 9,125,068$                 29,029,047$           19,903,979$        
Tangible 3,551,441$                 11,297,993$           7,746,552$          

Quality of Life 5,573,627$                 17,731,054$           12,157,427$        

Offender 18,217,759$               18,217,759$           *

 
 
*Offender benefits (forgone earnings), are treated as a cost of the adult system, but could also be considered a 
benefit of the juvenile system. 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Enhanced System Cost Savings 
As noted, implementing a change to juvenile jurisdiction in conjunction with an enhanced 
juvenile service model significantly reduces the budgetary and victim costs associated with 
serving offenders 16 and 17 years of age in the juvenile system. Budgetary costs incurred by 
state and local government are reduced by more than $25 million (from $282.4 million to $256.8 
million).  This decrease in costs is the result of reduced recidivism. DJJDP costs of serving 
offenders 16 and 17 years of age on their first offense remain the same, but the costs of serving 
recidivating offenders decrease significantly because fewer offenders are served. As shown in 
Exhibit 21, there are 2,802 fewer re-arrests in the enhanced system (6,688 compared to 9,490) re-
arrests, and 1,949 fewer re-convictions (4,603 compared to 6,552). Costs incurred by local 
governments for arrest and apprehension, detention, court case processing, and pre- and post-
dispositional services also decrease.   
 
In addition, victim benefits increase with the implementation of an enhanced system for the same 
reason- the reduction in recidivism. Fewer costs are incurred by crime victims, who benefit $18.7 
million with the implementation of an enhanced system. 
 
Offender benefits remain the same because they occur as a result of services not being provided 
in the adult system, and therefore a change in services provided in the juvenile system has no 
effect. 
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Exhibit 21: Costs Reduced (in millions) by Implementing Change with Enhanced Juvenile 
System 
 

 Amount 
Reduced 

Cost of Baseline 
Juvenile System 

Cost of 
Enhanced 
Juvenile System  

Budgetary Cost $25.59 $282.41 $256.82 
DJJDP 8.57 111.99 103.42 
DOC 1.43 7.23 5.80 
AOC 1.77 20.06 18.29 
Local Government 14.08 143.39 129.31 
Victim Cost $18.67 $62.77 $44.10 
    
Re-arrests 2802 9,490 6,688 
Re-convictions 1949 6,552 4,603 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
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Explanation of Results  
The results of the cost-benefit analysis reflect the fiscal realities of maintaining public safety 
while serving persons 16 and 17 years of age in the criminal justice system. Overall, the benefits 
and costs resulting from raising the age of juvenile jurisdiction and implementing an enhanced 
juvenile justice system are positive. Although the reduction in recidivism that comes with an 
enhanced system yields quantifiable benefits, the budgetary impact is still a cost. Possible 
reasons this analysis yields a net budgetary cost rather than a net budgetary benefit includes the 
following: 
 

 More offenders are served in the juvenile system than are served in the adult system 
 
 Services in the juvenile system are more costly 
 
 The enhanced system yields substantial improvements in recidivism, but not enough to 

overcome the significant difference in costs between the adult and the juvenile system 
 

Even the most successful juvenile programs cannot produce enough savings to overcome the 
significant difference in budgetary costs between the adult and juvenile systems. The following 
subsections address the factors driving the significant difference in costs between the two 
systems in North Carolina. 
 
More Offenders Served in Juvenile System 
As shown in Exhibit 22, a greater number of persons arrested receive services and sanctions in 
the juvenile system (48 percent, or 14,594 persons) than they do in the adult system (23 percent 
or 6,935 persons). This means that by changing the system in which offenders are served, North 
Carolina will increase the total number of persons served by almost 85 percent (6,664). This 
includes approximately 5,300 additional persons served in the juvenile system through diversion 
services, which are provided to non-adjudicated offenders. There is no equivalent prosecution 
alternative of the same magnitude in the adult system; although District Attorneys can defer 
prosecution, the service is used for less than 2 percent of arrested offenders 16 and 17 years of 
age. A larger proportion of adjudicated offenders also receive sanctions in the juvenile system 
(100 percent) compared to the adult system (73 percent). The other offenders in the adult system 
either have an unsupervised probation sentence or have been required to complete community 
service hours, pay a fine, or pay restitution.   
 
Exhibit 22: Offenders Served in Juvenile and Adult Systems 
 

System 

Total 
Arrests/ 

Complaints 

Percent of 
Arrests/Complaints 

Receiving 
Services/Sanctions 

Persons 
Adjudicated 

Percent of 
Adjudications 

Receiving 
Services/Sanctions 

Adult 30,702 23% 10,935 73% 

Juvenile 30,702 48% 9,305 100% 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
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Therefore, even if costs for services provided were the same in both systems, the juvenile system 
would incur higher aggregate costs from serving the entering population of persons 16 and 17 
years of age. As discussed below, however, the services currently provided to juvenile offenders 
are generally more costly than are services provided to offenders in the adult system.   
 
Juvenile Justice Services Are More Costly 
Juveniles generally receive more intensive, costly rehabilitative services than do adult offenders.  
Overall, the cost per arrest in the juvenile system for serving offenders 16 and 17 years of age 
($7,348) is approximately 50 percent higher than the cost per arrest in the adult system ($4,882). 
   
The difference in staffing standards between the adult and juvenile system accounts for a 
substantial portion of the cost differential. For example, probation caseloads per supervising 
officer are higher in the adult system than in the juvenile system. Juvenile court counselors have 
an approximate average caseload of 30 offenders, while adult probation officers have target 
caseloads of 60 for intensive supervision and 80 for general supervision (Note: Actual caseloads 
vary and can be higher or lower than the estimates and established targets). As a result, base 
supervision costs, as shown in Exhibit 23, are approximately $2 per day in the adult system and 
are approximately $5 per day in the juvenile system. 
 
Exhibit 23: Average Service Cost per Day per Offender 
 

 
 Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Costs per bed per day in residential facilities are greater in the juvenile system than they are in 
the adult system. As shown in Exhibit 23, YDCs cost an average of $286 per day while prison 
costs approximately $68 per day; detention in the juvenile system costs an average of $170 per 
person per day while adult detention costs approximately $50 per person per day.    
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Secure Confinement a Significant Factor in Overall Costs 
As noted, secure confinement (commitment and detention) is expensive to provide compared to 
community supervision. As a result, it is a significant determinant of overall DJJDP costs to 
implement a change to the age of juvenile jurisdiction. Of the approximate $112.0 million in 
budgetary costs to implement the change in the current DJJDP system, 52 percent, or $58.6 
million, are costs resulting from secure confinement. See Exhibit 24 for additional information 
regarding costs incurred by DJJDP. If the use of secure confinement were reduced, the overall 
cost of implementation would decrease significantly. 
 
Exhibit 24: DJJDP Cost of Serving Offenders 16 and 17 Years of Age 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Recidivism a Small Portion of Overall Costs 
Initial budgetary costs of the entry cohort in the baseline scenario are $150.0 million for the adult 
system and $225.6 million for the juvenile system, corresponding to a gap of $75.6 million.  
These initial budgetary costs are approximately 80 percent of the total budgetary cost (283.0 
million) of serving persons 16 and 17 years of age in the juvenile system; the total budgetary cost 
of recidivism in the juvenile system is only $57.4 million. Similarly, under the enhanced system, 
the total budgetary cost of recidivism for the juvenile system, $42.2 million, is equivalent to 16 
percent of the total system cost of $257.1 million. 
 
Conclusion 
This analysis is but one input to a complex decision-making process. Understanding quantifiable 
benefits are an important component of considering the implications of policy decisions, but they 
are not the only component. Given the small net benefit of raising the age of juvenile jurisdiction 
within an enhanced system – $7.1 million (budget, victim, and offender impact), it is conceivable 
that once consideration of the non-quantifiable benefits are taken into account, the overall result 
would be a significantly larger net benefit to society. These kinds of judgments, which elected 
officials legislators make routinely, are well beyond the scope of this analysis. This report 
supports that decision-making process. 
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APPENDIX A. GLOSSARY OF TERMS 
 
 
Adjudication - The court process by which a juvenile is found to be delinquent, undisciplined, 
 dependent, neglected, or abused based on the allegations in a juvenile petition. 
Arrest - The act of taking an adult into custody in relation to the investigation of a crime. 
Commitment - The placement of a youth in the care of DJJDP and its facilities. 
Commitment Alternative - Services offered to a juvenile in lieu of commitment in a YDC. 
Community Supervision (juvenile) - Services provided to youth under the supervision of 
 juvenile court counselors. Includes services provided to youth with Level 1 and 2 
 dispositions.  
Community Supervision (adult) - Services provided to offenders under the supervision of 
 probation officers. Includes community and intermediate sentences. 
Conviction - A legal finding of guilt in a court of law that results in a criminal receiving the 
 appropriate sentence. 
Delinquent juvenile - A juvenile who commits a crime or infraction under State law or 
 ordinance of local government. 
Detention - The holding of an offender after apprehension or arrest or while awaiting 
 adjudication or sentencing. 
Disposition - Court order in response to an adjudication that mandates sanctions for delinquent 
 and undisciplined juveniles. 
Discount rate - The interest rate used in determining the present value of future cash flows. 
Diversion - Services delivered to a juvenile when a complaint is not approved for filing as a 
 petition. 
Implicit Price Deflator - An economic metric that accounts for inflation. 
Juvenile Court Counselor - DJJDP employee that provides intake, probation, supervision. 
Minor Offender - A juvenile adjudicated for a class 1-3 misdemeanor. 
Petition - Document filed in juvenile court alleging that a juvenile is delinquent or is a status 
 offender, requesting that the court assume jurisdiction over the juvenile or that the 
 juvenile be transferred to criminal court. 
Pre- and Post-dispositional Services - Services ordered by the court for delinquent juveniles in 
 response to adjudication. 
Secure Confinement - The restriction of the movement of a juvenile through placement in a 
 youth facility. 
Serious Offender - A juvenile adjudicated for a class F-I felony or a class A1 misdemeanor. 
Undisciplined juvenile - A juvenile who is unlawfully absent from school, is beyond the 
 disciplinary control of the parent/guardian/custodian, has run away, or is regularly found 
 in unlawful places. 
Violent Offender - A juvenile adjudicated for class A-E felony.  
Youth Development Center (YDC) - A secure residential facility providing long-term 
 treatment for committed juveniles. 
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APPENDIX B. COST-BENEFIT ANALYSIS METHODOLOGY: 
BUDGETARY COSTS 

 
 
Budgetary Costs include expenditures related to the following categories: 

 Arrest and apprehension 
 Detention in jail or a juvenile detention facility 
 Pre-adjudication services such as diversion contracts, pre-trial services, and deferred 

prosecution 
 Processing cases in court 
 Providing services upon sentencing/disposition of a case, including post-release 

supervision 
 

These costs are incurred by local government (local law enforcement, county government) and 
state agencies (AOC-administered entities, DOC, DJJDP). For each of these cost categories, the 
following information is included: the groups bearing the costs, a summary of the methodology, 
the detailed equation used to estimate costs, and data sources. 
 
Arrest and Apprehension 
Groups Bearing Cost:  
CostA = Local Law Enforcement Cost  
CostJ = Local Law Enforcement Cost  
   
Methodology Overview:  
Local law enforcement agencies incur a cost for apprehending, processing, and detaining (if 
necessary) a person who commits a crime. The primary expenditure for these activities is the cost 
of personnel. As a result, the analysis uses total expenditures for local law enforcement to 
estimate baseline costs and then focuses on the difference in personnel hours needed to serve 
adult and juvenile offenders.   
 
To understand differences associated with processing juveniles and adults, at least one sheriff’s 
office or police department from each of DJJDP’s service areas was contacted. These interviews 
indicated that some departments will have to increase staff time devoted to processing arrests due 
to the increased paperwork for processing juvenile offenders and additional time spent working 
with families of offenders. Alternatively, some departments stated that they are not at all 
concerned with these issues. Because responses were so mixed, a moderate (2%) increase in cost 
per juvenile arrest over that of an adult arrest is included. 
   
Detail:  
CostA = Total FY06 Law Enforcement Expenditures/Number of Arrests   
 
CostJ = CostA + Juvenile Processing Cost Differential  
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Data Sources:  
Bureau of Justice Statistics Criminal Justice Expenditure and Employment Statistical Extracts, 
2006; North Carolina 2007 Uniform Crime Report, State Bureau of Investigation    
 
Detention 
Groups Bearing Cost:  
CostA = Local Government  
CostJ = Local Government + DJJDP  
   
Methodology Overview:  
Both the juvenile and adult systems detain a portion of offenders during the judicial process.  
Juveniles are detained in Detention Centers operated by DJJDP or local governments, while 
adults are detained in local jails. This analysis estimates the cost that is incurred by DJJDP and 
local governments for housing offenders 16 and 17 years of age in jail and the cost they would 
incur if the offenders were housed in juvenile detention facilities. An average cost per bed per 
day and an average length of pre-trial detention is used to produce this estimate. [Note: Both the 
state and county governments run and bear the cost of juvenile detention centers.  Some of the 
costs for county-operated facilities are borne by DJJDP and are accounted for separately.]  
 
Detail:  
CostA Detention =  
 Average cost per night*Average length of stay * Probability of pre-trial detention for 
 adult offenders, weighted by type of offense committed by offenders 16 and 17 years of 
 age9  
 
CostJ Detention =  
 Average cost bed per night*Average length of stay * Probability of detention per juvenile 
 arrest   
  
Data Sources:  
FY 2008 DJJDP Expenditures, DJJDP data request, UNC 2007 County and Municipal 
Government Report, 2000-2004 Pretrial Release of Felony Defendants in State Courts- Bureau 
of Justice Statistics, 2006 Census State and Local Government Expenditures.   
 
Adjudication/Disposition  
Groups Bearing Cost:  
CostA Adjudication/Disposition= AOC  
CostJ Adjudication/Disposition = AOC+ DJJDP  
  
Methodology Overview:  
The costs of adjudication and disposition are primarily composed of personnel costs for the staff 
involved: judges, juvenile court counselors, District Attorneys, clerks, and defense attorneys.  
While the criminal cases of persons 16 and 17 years of age currently processed in Superior Court 
or District Court10 will be processed as juvenile cases in District Court, case processing 

                                                 
9 “*” Denotes multiplication 
10 Most criminal cases for persons 16 and 17 years of age are currently prosecuted in District Court.  
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associated with a change in jurisdiction involves more than just a transfer of personnel 
resources. Interviews with stakeholders indicate that juvenile cases take longer to process than do 
adult cases. The added time associated with processing cases of persons 16 and 17 years of age 
in the juvenile judicial system may result in additional personnel costs beyond the costs reduced 
in the adult system. Resources associated with AOC and with DJJDP are discussed in more detail 
below. 
 

 AOC Resources: This analysis allocates court expenditures based on the proportion of 
personnel resources consumed by superior court criminal cases, district court criminal 
cases, and juvenile court delinquency cases. These proportions were estimated by the 
relative differences in judges’ time to process cases in District Court and clerks’ time to 
process juvenile and adult cases in both District Court and Superior Court. These dollars 
were divided by the number of estimated convictions of offenders 16 and 17 years of age.  
Generally, juvenile cases take approximately twice as long to process as do adult District 
Court cases.   

 
 DJJDP Resources: Juvenile Court Counselors provide intake and case processing services 

during the adjudication process and offender supervision after case disposition. To 
account for the time spent conducting court-processing and supervision activities, an 
estimate of the average number of hours spent on each activity from the results of 
DJJDP’s 2005 time study of court counselors’ tasks is included. From this, a total cost 
per conviction was calculated based on the average salary of a court counselor.  

 
Details:  
CostA Adjudication/Disposition =  
 [(Total FY07 expenditures for Superior Court * Proportion of estimated criminal case 
 hours to all case hours in Superior Court)/ Number of convictions]  * Probability of 
 conviction per arrest (for persons 16 and 17 years of age)  
+ 
 [(Total FY07 expenditure for District Court * Proportion of criminal case hours to all 
 case hours in District Court)/ Number of criminal case convictions]  * Probability of 
 conviction per arrest (for persons 16 and 17 years of age)  
    
CostJ Adjudication/Disposition =  
 Court Costs + DJJDP Costs 

 Court Cost Equation: 
  [(Total FY07 expenditures for District Court * Proportion of juvenile case hours  
  to all case hours in District Court)/ Number of dispositions in FY08]  *   
  Probability of disposition per juvenile arrest  
 

 DJJDP Cost Equation: 
  [(Hourly wage per court counselor) * (Total number of hours spent on intake and  
  court services)]  / Total number of dispositions  

o Total number of dispositions per court counselor= Projected number of 
juvenile dispositions /Number of court counselors  
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o Total number of hours spent on intake and court services per 
counselor= [Index (from DJJDP time study) Proportion of total 
activity] * 160 hours/month (total hours of counselors per the study)    

 
Data Sources:  
DJJDP 2005 Court Counselor Time Study, DJJDP FY2008 expenditure report, SPAC Youthful 
Offender Report Data Request (FY08 table update), NCSC report on Implications of Changing 
Juvenile Court Jurisdiction for Adjudication and Case-Processing Personnel Needs in 
Connecticut Superior Court, AOC FY2007 Budget, AOC FY2008 Court Caseload Report, DOC 
Data Request, AOC time study formulas calculated by NCSC, Charlotte Observer NC State 
Employee Database 2008. 
 
Pre and Post Adjudication Placement   
Groups Bearing Cost:  
CostA Pre and Post Adjudication Placement = DOC + Local Government (Criminal Justice 
Partnership Program (CJPP) match funds)  
CostJ Pre and Post Adjudication Placement = DJJDP + Local Government (JCPC match funds)  
  
Offenders may receive services prior to and after the completion of the judicial process.  The 
services are discussed below, divided by the system in which they are used: adult system and 
juvenile system.  These services include diversion, pre-trial services, deferred prosecution, 
community supervision, commitment, and prison.  Deferred prosecution has been included in the 
analysis to the extent that it is tracked by DOC data.  The analysis uses a weighted average cost 
of current pre and post adjudication placement based on FY2008 data provided by DOC and 
DJJDP.  
 
Cost of Pre and Post Adjudication Placement - Adult System 
Methodology Overview and Detail: 
CostA Pre-Adjudication Services:   
Offenders in the adult system can receive deferred prosecution or pre-trial services.  The number 
of offenders 16 and 17 years of age served by these programs was estimated based on the total 
number of adult offenders and the proportion of total offenders comprised of persons 16 and 17 
years of age. 
 
CostA = Average Daily Cost per Offender * probability of receiving pre-trial services/deferred 
prosecution* Average Length of Supervision  
 
CostA Community Supervision:   
The majority of persons 16 and 17 years of age who are convicted of criminal offenses have 
probation sentences. The analysis includes a weighted average cost of supervision per sentence, 
as there are a number of levels of supervision and programs provided in conjunction with 
supervision. It should be noted that a significant proportion (42%) of persons 16 and 17 years of 
age adjudicated in the adult system do not receive any supervision; they are sentenced to either 
unsupervised probation or are required to pay a fine, complete community service hours, or pay 
restitution. This analysis estimated the number of unsupervised probation entries based on the 
difference between DOC records of probation entries and court records of probation sentences 
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compiled by SPAC, and the proportion of adult probation sentences that were reported by SPAC 
to be unsupervised. 
  
CostA = Average Daily Cost of supervision per Offender * probability of receiving community 
supervision* Average Length of Supervision  
   
CostA Prison:  
The majority of youthful offenders 16 and 17 years of age that receive active prison sentences 
serve their sentences in the Western Youth Institution. Stakeholders and DOC budget staff have 
voiced concern that the medical expenses of adult offenders as a whole may be higher than those 
of offenders that are only 16 or 17 years of age. As a result, the analysis uses expenditures of the 
Western Youth Institution only to estimate the cost of serving persons committing offenses at 16 
and 17 years of age in FY2008. The analysis estimates a cost per offender per day and multiplies 
it by the number of persons 16 and 17 years of age (at time of offense) admitted in FY2008 and 
the average length of stay of these persons.   
 
It should be noted that some offenders with an active sentence serve their time in a jail. This 
analysis estimated the number of jail entries based on the difference between the number of 
prison entries of persons committing offenses at ages 16 and 17 per DOC data, and the number 
of offenders reported in court records of active sentences compiled by SPAC. 
   
CostA= Cost per offender-day at Western* Probability of receiving a prison sentence per arrest 
(for persons 16 and 17 years of age)* Average Sentence Length  
  
CostA Post-Release Supervision: The cost per offender per day was multiplied by the projected 
number of offenders served by post-release supervision (i.e., persons who were convicted of a 
class B-E felony and received an active sentence) and the average number of days of supervision.  
The cost per offender per day was estimated to be the cost of the lowest level of community 
supervision to give a conservative estimate of costs. 
 
CostA = Average supervision cost per person per day * Probability of receiving an active 
disposition for a class B-E felony per arrest (for persons 16 and 17 years of age) * Average 
length of post-release supervision 
 
Data Sources:  
DOC data request, DOC budget data request (FY2008 Western Youth Institution Budget), DOC 
Data Request, SPAC Data Request, DOC FY2008 cost per day per supervision level, GCC SAC 
Reporting and NC Criminal Justice Analysis Center- “Pretrial Service Programs in North 
Carolina: A Process and Impact Assessment,” DOC ASQ Query Data, SPAC Structured 
Sentencing Report, FY2008. 
   
Cost of Pre and Post Adjudication Placement - Juvenile System 
Methodology Overview and Detail: 
CostJ Diversion:   
Court counselors may decide to divert a case prior to judicial hearings (for certain types of 
offenses) if they determine that the offender would benefit from community-based services.  
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Diverted youth are often served by JCPC programs, which are funded through a combination of 
state and local funds. Note: some diverted youth may be sent to private providers rather than a 
JCPC program. Because this is a cost that is typically borne by the offender’s family, data are not 
available and are excluded from the analysis.  
 
CostJ = Weighted Average Cost per Youth Served (DJJDP and County)* Probability of 
receiving diversion services per juvenile arrest  
   
CostJ Community Supervision:  
Juvenile Court Counselors provide supervision to offenders that receive level 1 and 2 
dispositions.  Some of these youth also receive JCPC services. Both costs are included in the 
analysis.  

 Similar to the calculations of Court Counselor Costs for Adjudication and Disposition, 
this calculation uses the time estimates from DJJDP’s 2005 Court Counselor Time Study 
to determine the additional time required to conduct community supervision (probation) 
tasks for persons 16 and 17 years of age. The analysis estimates the rate per offender 
supervised and multiplies this by the total court counselor intake hours required per youth 
and the number of additional probation dispositions projected to be received. 

 
CostJ Supervision = [(Hourly wage per court counselor * Number of hours per year spent on 
probation supervision)/ Number of probation dispositions] * Probability of receiving a probation 
disposition per juvenile arrest  

 Offenders receiving community supervision also participate in programs that are funded 
through state and local dollars. In addition to the supervision costs discussed above, the 
analysis estimates the cost impact of JCPC use for both entities by using an average cost 
per offender and the projected number of offenders served. 

 
CostJ JCPC Programs = Average Cost per Probation Entry (DJJDP and County)* Probability of 
receiving probation per juvenile arrest  
  
CostJ Commitment:  
The cost per offender per day was multiplied by the projected number of persons 16 and 17 years 
of age receiving commitment dispositions and the average length of stay of persons 15 years of 
age. Because offenders have a length of stay that can last longer than one year, the cost borne by 
the state to house the offender in the future must be discounted year by year. The analysis also 
accounts for the varying daily costs per facility used for commitments by estimating a weighted 
average based on FY2008 usage.  
 
CostJ = Average YDC cost per bed per day * Probability of receiving a commitment disposition 
per arrest (for persons 16 and 17 years of age) * Average length of YDC stay  
  
CostJ Post-Release Supervision:  
The cost per offender per day was multiplied by the projected number of offenders served by 
post-release supervision (i.e., all persons who are projected to receive a commitment disposition) 
and the average number of days of supervision. The cost per offender per day was estimated to 
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be the cost of the lowest level of community supervision in the juvenile system to give a 
conservative estimate of costs. 
 
CostJ = Average supervision cost per person per day * Probability of receiving a commitment 
disposition per arrest (for persons 16 and 17 years of age) * Average length of post-release 
supervision  
 
Data Sources:  
JCPC Effectiveness Report 2008, DJJDP Data Request, DJJDP FY08 Expenditures, DJJDP 2005 
Court Counselor Time Study, Charlotte Observer NC State Employee Database 2008.  
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APPENDIX C. COST-BENEFIT ANALYSIS METHODOLOGY: 
RECIDIVISM COSTS AND BENEFITS 

 
 
Recidivism is an indicator of re-involvement in criminal activity, and it can be measured in 
several ways.  It can reflect arrest, conviction, revocation, or incarceration; it may measure a 
variety of periods (e.g., 1, 2, or 3-year rates), and it can track activity across different levels of 
jurisdiction (e.g., into adult, federal or other state systems). As such, comparison of rates 
published by other entities requires careful review to ensure a valid comparison. 
 
The level of re-involvement that an offender has in the juvenile or adult system affects the 
budgetary cost incurred by serving that offender. This analysis calculates recidivism costs based 
on the probability of re-arrest, re-conviction, or revocation for distinct populations in both the 
adult and juvenile systems. This level of detail ensures that the analysis identifies differences in 
both systems for each outcome.  
 
A separate rate for re-arrest and re-conviction is used for the following populations: 

 Adult community supervision 
 Adult prison (from release) 
 Adult unsupervised/community service 
 Juvenile adjudicated (community and YDC composite) 
 Juvenile diversion  
 Juvenile closed and dismissed composite 
 

Calculation of Recidivism Rates  
Recidivism rates in this analysis are based on studies performed by the Sentencing and Policy 
Advisory Commission. All reported rates span a 3-year time frame. One and two year rates of 
return were imputed using reported rates of return for the entire adult population, but still end 
with the observed 3-year rate. Exhibits 28 and 29 show the estimated 1, 2, and 3-year recidivism 
rates in the juvenile and adult systems, as well as the number of offenders estimated to recidivate 
under the baseline scenario. Rates are grouped by sentence/disposition and by age (16 years of 
age only, 16 and 17 years of age).   
 
For each population group, the analysis calculates a reentry cohort based on the year-to-year 
increments in recidivism for three years. Because the adult prison and juvenile YDC population 
are not at risk to recidivate during the time of their average length of stay, none are calculated to 
return in the Year 0 cohort. The incarcerated population begins to return in the Year 1 cohort, 
and continues for two more years, resulting in a Year 3 (fourth year from start) reentry cohort.   
 
In the juvenile scenario, some offenders age into the adult system and recidivate as adults. The 
analysis specifies the proportion of recidivists in each reentry cohort that will be treated by the 
courts as a juvenile or adult to allocate budgetary costs to appropriate agencies. Each reentry 
cohort represents future costs and is discounted to a present value based on the year of 
occurrence. Because recidivistic events of a cohort span over an entire year, a discounted value 
based on a half-year into the current year of a return cohort is used to more accurately 
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approximate costs.  For example, all events that occur in Year 1 are discounted based on 1.5 
years. 
 
Relevant Assumptions  
The juvenile system overall serves more youth than the adult system. To compare the potential 
for recidivism of both systems, the analysis constructs a population group in the adult system 
termed “Juvenile Differential.” This group equals in size the number of offenders served in the 
juvenile system, but not served in the adult system. This juvenile differential group is calculated 
to recidivate at a composite recidivism rate based on the observed return of juveniles 15 years of 
age with a closed or dismissed case. 
 
Data were available for the recidivism rates of persons served outside of the adjudication process 
in the juvenile system (those with cases diverted, closed, or dismissed), but equivalent data were 
not available for persons receiving deferred prosecution through the adult system. These persons 
are estimated to recidivate at the same rate as offenders diverted at 15 years of age diverted in the 
juvenile system. 
 
The analysis assumes the same severity of offense upon recidivating in both the adult and 
juvenile scenarios. Long-term rates have not been used because such studies have not been 
conducted in North Carolina. However, comparative recidivism benefits are based on the 
difference year-over-year in the return of offenders. Given similarity in the incremental increase 
from year to year in comparative recidivism rates, the long-term difference is already reflected in 
the first year rate of return. Further, the majority of a recidivating cohort of offenders return 
within the first three years at risk. 
 
Reported rates in Exhibits 28 and 29 correspond to one future incident of recidivism. However, 
offenders that do recidivate often go on to commit multiple future offenses. Each incident of 
recidivism is multiplied by a factor of 1.6 when incorporated into the cost-benefit analysis to 
account for multiple future offenses per recidivating offender. This factor is based on known 
average prior arrests of offenders through 29 years of age in the adult system weighted based on 
observations that 50 percent of offenses are committed by 6 percent of offenders (Cohen 2008), 
and the assumption that recidivism reductions largely occur on the fewer offenses end of a 
distribution. 
 
Some recidivism in the enhanced scenario occurs prior to juveniles aging into the adult 
system. Over time, as DJJDP reduces recidivism by 25 percent, there will be a small decrease in 
initial entrants, reducing initial processing costs and further reducing the population that could 
recidivate. The enhanced system assumes a time in the future when complaints and recidivism 
have stabilized at this new lower level. 
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Exhibit 28: Adult Recidivism Rates and Outcomes, Baseline Example 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Adult System 
Age Population #

16 Community 2,050  
17 Community 2,505  
16 Prison 839  
17 Prison 1,026  
16 Unsupervised and Community Service 2,050  
17 Unsupervised and Community Service 2,505  
16 Deferred 250  
17 Deferred 305  
16 Juvenile Differential 1,378  
17 Juvenile Differential 1,685  

Age Rearrests 1 Year Rate 2 Year Rate 3 Year Rate 1 Year (#) 2 Year (#) 3 Year (#)
16 Community 24.0% 35.5% 43.2% 493 235 158
17 Community 24.0% 35.5% 43.2% 602 287 193
16 Prison 37.7% 55.6% 67.7% 316 151 101
17 Prison 37.7% 55.6% 67.7% 386 184 124
16 Unsupervised and Community Service 20.1% 29.7% 36.1% 412 196 132
17 Unsupervised and Community Service 20.1% 29.7% 36.1% 503 240 161
16 Deferred 17.0% 25.0% 30.5% 42 20 14
17 Deferred 17.0% 25.0% 30.5% 52 25 17
16 Juvenile Differential 18.1% 26.7% 32.5% 249 119 80
17 Juvenile Differential 18.1% 26.7% 32.5% 305 145 98

Age Reconvictions 1 Year Rate 2 Year Rate 3 Year Rate 1 Year (#) 2 Year (#) 3 Year (#)
16 Community 17.6% 26.0% 31.6% 360 172 115
17 Community 17.6% 26.0% 31.6% 440 210 141
16 Prison 28.6% 42.2% 51.4% 240 114 77
17 Prison 28.6% 42.2% 51.4% 293 140 94
16 Unsupervised and Community Service 14.0% 20.6% 25.1% 286 137 92
17 Unsupervised and Community Service 14.0% 20.6% 25.1% 350 167 112
16 Deferred 10.2% 15.0% 18.3% 25 12 8
17 Deferred 10.2% 15.0% 18.3% 31 15 10
16 Juvenile Differential 10.7% 15.8% 19.2% 147 70 47
17 Juvenile Differential 10.7% 15.8% 19.2% 180 86 58

Age Revocations Resulting in Prison 3 Year Rate #
16 2889 7.5% 216
17 3531 7.5% 263
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Exhibit 29: Juvenile Recidivism Rates and Outcomes 
 

 
(Note:  % Juvenile Year N is a factor used to distribute the return of offenders partially in the juvenile and adult 
systems. “1 Year J” and related columns is the number of offenders expected to return as a juvenile in one year.) 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 

Juvenile System 
Age Entry #'s

16 Supervision 3,924
   

17 Supervision 4,796
   

16 YDC 247
   

17 YDC 302
   

16 Diversion 2,396
   

17 Diversion 2,928
   

Age Rearrest Rate 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year % Juvenile Year 1 % Juvenile Year 2 % Juvenile Year 3
16 Supervision 25.9% 38.2% 46.5% 100.0% 50.0% 25.0%
17 Supervision 25.9% 38.2% 46.5% 50.0% 25.0% 0.0%
16 YDC 25.9% 38.2% 46.5% 100.0% 50.0% 25.0%
17 YDC 25.9% 38.2% 46.5% 50.0% 25.0% 0.0%
16 Diversion 17.0% 25.0% 30.5% 100.0% 50.0% 25.0%
17 Diversion 17.0% 25.0% 30.5% 50.0% 25.0% 0.0%

Age Rearrests 1 Year J 1 Year A 2 Year J 2 Year A 3 Year A 3 Year J
16 Supervision 1015 0 242 242 244 81
17 Supervision 620 620 148 444 397 0
16 YDC 64 0 15 15 15 5
17 YDC 39 39 9 28 25 0
16 Diversion 406 0 97 97 98 33
17 Diversion 248 248 59 178 159 0

Age Reconvictions 1 Year Rate 2 Year Rate 3 Year Rate 1 Year (#'s) 2 Year (#'s) 3 Year (#'s)
16 Supervision 18.7% 27.7% 33.7% 735 351 236
17 Supervision 18.7% 27.7% 33.7% 899 429 288
16 YDC 18.7% 27.7% 33.7% 46 22 15
17 YDC 18.7% 27.7% 33.7% 57 27 18
16 Diversion 10.2% 15.0% 18.3% 244 116 78
17 Diversion 10.2% 15.0% 18.3% 298 142 95

Age Revocations #'s
16

    8.70% 21
17

    8.70% 26
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APPENDIX D. METHODOLOGY CONSIDERATIONS 
 
 
This appendix describes the major cost of crime categories according to Miller (1999) and Cohen 
(2000) and indicates their relevance to the cost benefit analysis for changing the age of juvenile 
court jurisdiction in North Carolina. The U.S. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 
Prevention cites Miller and Cohen’s work as a comprehensive assessment of victim costs. All of 
the costs identified by Cohen and Miller were considered for inclusion in the cost-benefit 
analysis. However, not all costs are included in the cost-benefit analysis for the lack of sound 
methodologies for calculating, the lack of data, or the lack of a documented relationship between 
the cost item and the factors being changed with a change in the juvenile age— recidivism. 
 
The costs of crime can be organized into two broad categories. Cohen and Miller organize them 
into (1) the direct cost of victimization, (2) society's response to the victimization.   
 
Costs of Victimization 
 

Cost of Crime Category Included in CBA? Comment 
Direct property losses 

 
Losses not reimbursed 
by insurance 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Losses reimbursed by 
insurance 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Administrative cost: 
insurance 
reimbursement 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 Recovery by police  

Separate data is not available to estimate this cost 
which is not included in the Miller (1994) estimates of 
victim costs.  Some if not all of this cost overlaps with 
local law enforcement costs and are included in the 
Cost in Response to Crime section. 

Medical and mental health care 

 
Charges not reimbursed 
by insurance 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Charges reimbursed by 
insurance 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Administrative 
overhead of insurance 
coverage (item 2) 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

Victim services 

 
Expenses charged to 
victim 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Expenses paid by 
service agency 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Temporary labor and 
training of replacements 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

Lost workdays 

 
Lost wages for unpaid 
workdays 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Lost productivity for 
paid workdays 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 
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Cost of Crime Category Included in CBA? Comment 
Lost school days 

 
Forgone wages due to 
lack of education 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

 
Forgone non-pecuniary 
benefits of education 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

 
Forgone social benefits 
due to lack of education 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

Lost housework  
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

Pain and suffering/quality of life  
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

Loss of affection/enjoyment  
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

Death 

 Value of life  
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Funeral and burial 
expenses 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 
Loss of 
affection/enjoyment 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

 
Psychological 
injury/treatment 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

Legal costs associated with tort 
claims 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

Long-term consequences of victimization 

 Future victims  
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

 Future social costs  
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
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Costs of Society's Response to Victimization 
 

Cost of Crime Category Included in CBA? Comment 

Fear of crime11  

The relationship between the fear of crime and 
victimization is not settled in the research.12  
Consequently there is no agreed upon methodology for 
linking arrests and the fear of crime.  

Potential victim’s precautionary 
expenditures/effort 

 

The relationship between the fear of crime and 
victimization is not settled in the research.13  
Consequently there is no agreed upon methodology for 
linking arrests (the unit of measure for the CBA) and 
expenditures in response to one’s fear of crime. 

Criminal justice system 

 
Police and investigative 
costs 

 Included as a part of local government costs 

 Prosecutors  Included as a part of AOC costs 
 Courts  Included as a part of AOC costs 
 Legal fees 
       (a) Public defenders  Included as a part of AOC costs 
       (b) Private  Data to calculate this cost is not available 
 Incarceration costs  Included as a part of DOC and DJJDP costs 

 
Nonincarcerative 
sanctions 

 Included as a part of DOC and DJJDP costs 

 Victim time  
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

 Jury and witness time  
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

Victim services 

 
Victim service 
organizations 

 

Although a method for calculating this cost and 
linking it to arrests has been suggested in the literature, 
Miller does not include this cost in his estimates owing 
to its wide variability. 

 
Victim compensation 
programs 

 

Although a method for calculating this cost and 
linking it to arrests has been suggested in the literature, 
Miller does not include this cost in his estimates owing 
to its wide variability. 

 Victim time  

Although a method for calculating this cost and 
linking it to arrests has been suggested in the literature, 
Miller does not include this cost in his estimates owing 
to its wide variability. 

 

                                                 
11 “The Home Office has an objective ‘to reduce crime and the fear of crime’. However, there are currently no 
estimates of the costs of the fear of crime which can be used to judge the worth and effectiveness of interventions to 
reduce the fear of crime. ERA has been involved in and commissioned exploratory work to measure the economic 
costs of fear.27 However, further work is required to confirm the economic basis for this work, as well as to ensure 
its compatibility with practical measures of fear.”  -  The Economic and Social Costs of Crime Against Individuals 
and Households 2003/04, Home Office Online Report 30/05 
http://www.homeoffice.gov.uk/rds/pdfs05/rdsolr3005.pdf. 
12 Feyerhrm & Hindelang (1974) Gomme (1986) Kale & Kleinman (1985), Kleinman and David (1983) find a 
positive relationship between victimization and fear of crime while other such as Boggs (1971) Conklin (1971), 
DuBow (1979) Garafalo (1979), Gates and Rohe (1987) fail to find any relationship between victimization and fear. 
13 Ibid. 
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Cost of Crime Category Included in CBA? Comment 
Other noncriminal programs 

 
Hot lines and public 
service announcements 

 Data for calculating this cost is not available 

 
Community treatment 
programs 

 Data for calculating this cost is not available 

 
Private 
therapy/counseling 

 
Incorporated in victim costs through use of estimates 
in Miller (1996), Cohen (1998), and Cohen (2008) 

Incarcerated offender costs 
 Lost wages  Included in calculation of offender benefits 

 
Lost tax revenue and 
productivity 

 Included in calculation of offender benefits 

 Value of lost freedom  
Although true economic costs, these cost are excluded 
because it is society’s intent through incarceration to 
deprive the offender of his or her utility. 

 
Psychological cost to 
family 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Miller and 
Cohen do not include this cost in their estimates. 

"Overdeterrence" costs 

 
Innocent individuals 
accused of offense 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Cohen does 
not include this cost in his estimates. 

 
Restriction of legitimate 
activity 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Cohen does 
not include this cost in his estimates. 

 
Cost of additional 
detection avoidance by 
offenders 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Cohen does 
not include this cost in his estimates. 

"Justice" costs 

 
Constitutional 
protections to avoid 
false accusations 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Cohen does 
not include this cost in his estimates. 

 
Cost of increasing 
detection rate to avoid 
differential punishment 

 
A method for calculating this cost and linking it to 
arrests is not established in the literature. Cohen does 
not include this cost in his estimates. 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Other Assessments of the Cost of Crime Literature 
A 1999 literature review of cost of crime estimates conducted by the Minnesota House of 
Representatives Research Department found that in the previous 30 years cost of crime studies 
included the following categories of costs. How these cost categories are treated in this cost 
benefit analysis is included after the description of each cost category in italics: 
 

 Tangible costs relating to property loss. The tangible costs of crime relating to a 
victim’s property loss fall into three categories. First, there are the direct costs associated 
with property or cash stolen from the victim. These costs are the easiest to quantify 
because usually they are known at the time the crime is committed. Second, victims may 
experience costs relating to property damage. These costs are, likewise, relatively fixed 
and easily quantified. Third, victims may suffer loss of wages or productivity and legal 
costs due to either the physical or mental injuries they suffer or their participation in the 
criminal justice process. These costs are more difficult to quantify because they may 
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arise, in part, after the primary data are collected about the criminal victimization event. 
In all cases, a victim’s property loss may be wholly or partially reimbursed by insurance 
or government assistance. This transforms the crime cost from one borne by the victim to 
one borne by society in general. 

 
All of these costs are included in the analysis. These costs and additional victim related costs are 
included in the victim cost estimates as presented by Miller (1996) and Cohen (1998 and 2004), 
which are the basis for the victim cost estimates in the study.  
 
 Medical costs. Victims of crimes against the person and, to some degree, victims of property 

crimes often must bear medical and mental health treatment costs. Data concerning these 
costs come from a variety of sources, including victim self-reports, insurance data, hospital 
and emergency medical care data, and information supplied by medical and other treatment 
providers. Again, some of these costs may be shifted from victims to society by means of 
insurance coverage and government-sponsored reparations programs. 

 
All of these costs are included in the analysis. These costs and additional victim related costs are 
included in the victim cost estimates as presented by Miller (1996) and Cohen (1998 and 2004), 
which are the basis for the victim cost estimates in the study. 
 
 Government costs. There are a number of crime costs that are borne by society generally 

through government-sponsored public safety programs and institutions. These include the 
costs of providing police protection, emergency medical services, criminal court processes, 
prosecution and public defense services, victim services programs, and correctional 
institutions and programs. Many of these costs are an inherent and inevitable attribute of 
organized societies but, nevertheless, can be sensitive barometers of rising or falling crime 
rates. 

 
All of these costs are included in the analysis. These costs are included in the budgetary cost 
component of the study. 
 
 Private security measures.  Various costs relate to the actual or perceived need of victims 

and communities to increase their level of personal security in response to crime. These costs 
include the purchase by homeowners of better locks, home security systems and firearms, as 
well as the increased use of armored vehicles and security guards by businesses. Some 
research studies go beyond these tangible security measures and attempt to quantify the cost 
of the increased fear that residents of high crime neighborhoods have of leaving their homes, 
particularly at night. This increased fear may, itself, contribute to a decrease in neighborhood 
safety to the extent that deserted streets and public areas invite additional criminal activity. 

 
These costs are not included in the analysis owing to the lack of consistent research showing a 
relationship between the general level of crime and the fear of crime. Expenditures for self 
security are closely related to ones perception of the risk of being a victim. These costs are not 
generally included cost benefits analyses.  
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 Other indirect or intangible costs. Finally, several research studies seek to quantify other 
indirect or intangible costs of crime. One example is the negative effect that criminal 
victimization may have on children in the household. Most studies conclude that child 
victims are at increased risk of having school problems, psychological problems and 
delinquency problems as a result of their victimization. Another example is the intangible 
cost to victims of their continuing pain and suffering due to the criminal event and their 
actual or perceived lost “quality of life.” Even though “pain and suffering” costs are 
extremely difficult to measure, some research studies provide an aggregate dollar estimate of 
them, primarily based on data derived  from jury awards in civil law suits. 

 
An estimate of the pain and suffering of crime victims is included in the analysis and is based on 
data derived from jury awards generally, rather than specifically in North Carolina. We have not 
included costs associated with the negative effect of victimization on children in a household. 
The estimates in the studies cited here are for the children of victims rather than the children of 
offenders. The data for calculating the effect on children is sparse and no standard methodology 
is established for its incorporation into a cost benefit analysis.   
 
Other potential costs considered 
Reviewers of early drafts of the study inquired about specific costs and whether or not they were 
included in the analysis. This section addresses questions raised about specific cost categories 
and how they are addressed in the study. 
 
 Reduced lifetime dependence on transfer payments. One potential benefit is the reduced 

reliance on transfer payments that would come with decreased recidivism. Although this 
“benefit” would accrue to the state and federal governments in the form of reduced 
dependency payments, the actual societal effect is a transfer from the offender back to the 
taxpayer. It does not produce a net benefit to society and as such is excluded from the cost 
benefit analysis. Further, it is unclear who would be dependent on the social services given a 
change in age. No long-term impact evidence is available. The effects of a reduction in 
recidivism typically decay over time. 

 
 Lifetime annual taxpayer contributions. These costs are included in the analysis. The tax 

liability for offenders is included in the offender benefits calculation. The calculation of 
offender benefits is an estimate of the differential in lifetime earnings for the offender. The 
methodology employed by the researchers cited in this analysis includes the offender’s tax 
liability as a part of the increased earnings. 

 
 Lifetime avoidance of future delinquency/crime. This benefit which should accrue from 

the reduction in repeat offenders overlaps significantly with other benefits already in the 
analysis. Its inclusion could result in double counting of benefits. The fact that an offender 
does not commit another crime is reflected in there being fewer victims (this is accounted for 
when arrests go down, the victim cost goes down) lower costs to government to arrest, 
prosecute and sanction the offender (this is accounted for when arrest go down and the 
budgetary costs go down) and the increase in offender lifetime earnings. 

 
 Increase in lifetime earnings. This benefit is included in the offender benefit calculation. 
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 Reduced pain and suffering. This benefit is included in the analysis. It is based on estimates 

by Cohen using jury awards. 
 
 Opportunity costs. Opportunity costs are accounted for in the victim costs. Opportunity 

costs for offenders that do not recidivate under the enhanced system are not included. They 
do represent a legitimate cost (benefit) but the methodologies for calculating them are not 
widely used and they usually pertain to an older cohort. We do not believe the omission of 
these costs has a significant impact on the analysis. 

 
 Community cost/benefits. This category of costs is most closely relate to the cost of crime 

category called “fear of crime” and efforts in anticipation of victimization. As indicated 
above, researchers have not established a clear connection between arrests and the fear of 
crime. The costs are real, but we cannot say how they change with changes in arrest rates.  
When recidivism goes down, but a sensational murder occurs in a neighborhood, the fear of 
crime is likely to go up. To maintain the integrity of the analysis, this cost is excluded. 

 
 Cost to the Offender’s family and Offspring. The actual impact on children and families of 

offenders is not known and it is not certain whether the impact of reduced arrests is positive 
or negative. Consider this quote from two leading cost of crime researchers: 

 
 “Perhaps more important is the cost to the family of offenders. On the one hand, growing 
 up with an incarcerated parent might have a negative effect on a child’s upbringing. On 
 the other hand, since many offenders are also alcohol or drug abusers it is possible that 
 taking the parent out of the home has a positive effect. Unfortunately, we lack good data 
 on this – and further studies are needed.”  Cohen & Piquero (2008). 
 
Despite our effort to include all of the costs associated with a cost benefit analysis of a change in 
criminal justice policy, certain costs have been omitted. These include costs for which there is 
insufficient data or for which there are no established methodologies for measuring them. 
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APPENDIX E. COST-BENEFIT ANALYSIS METHODOLOGY: 
VICTIM COSTS 

 
 
Victimization costs used in this analysis include the following five categories: 
  
1.       Property Loss and Damage 
 a.       Non-recovered losses reimbursed and not reimbursed by insurance 
 b.       Administrative cost of insurance 
2.       Medical Care 
 a.       Lifetime expenses paid by victim, including legal expenses related to medical costs 
3.       Mental Health Care 
 a.       Services by “psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, and pastoral counselors” 
 b.      Administrative cost of insurance 
4.       Loss of Productivity 
 a.      Lost wages for unpaid workday, lost productivity, lost benefits 
 b.      Lost school days and related outcomes 
 c.      Lost housework 
5.       Quality of Life 
 a.      Average of value of statistical life and adjustments based on compensated    
      damages 
 
The victimization costs used in this analysis are taken from Miller 1994 and supplemented with 
calculations by Cohen 2008. All costs are adjusted to 2007 dollars.   
 
Calculation Methodology 
To quantify the cost of crime to victims, a cost per crime is added to total costs for each re-
conviction of an offender in the entry cohort. The number of re-convictions is a conservative 
proxy for the actual number of crimes committed, as compared to the number of arrests, which 
may overestimate crime levels. The re-conviction rates shown in Exhibits 28 and 29 that were 
used to estimate budgetary costs were also used to estimate victim costs. It is important to note 
that each cost is based on a single unit of victimization; while one re-convicted offender may 
have multiple victims, that cost is not reflected in the analysis.  
 
Miller defines crime categories based on the National Crime Victimization Survey, with some 
adjustments. These crime categories were linked to arrest data of persons 16, 17 and 18 years of 
age in 2007 in North Carolina. Some categories were linked directly, others averaged, and others 
dropped to determine victim costs for crimes committed in North Carolina. This method 
accounts for the fact that some crimes do not have a victim.   
 
Arrest data was then categorized into violent (Class A-E felonies), serious (Class F-I felonies and 
Class A1 misdemeanors), and minor offenses (Class 1-3 misdemeanors). As shown in Exhibit 
30, this analysis calculates an average victim cost for violent, serious, and minor crimes in North 
Carolina. From these, a single victim cost per crime was calculated via a weighted average of 
violent, serious, and minor victim costs, which is based on the distribution of offenses committed 
by persons 16 and 17 years of age.   
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Exhibit 30: Construction of Victim Cost Per Offense Type 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

MINOR 
Arrest Description Arrests Total Tangible Subtotal Productivity Medical Care Mental Care Property Loss Quality of Life

Larceny - Theft 7,080 
    381$ 

  381$ 
 

11$ 
 

-$ 
 

8 $ 
  362 $ 

  -$ 
 

Other Assaults - Not Aggravated 6,607 
    12,431$ 

  1,979$ 
 

1,273$ 
 

570$ 
 

102 $ 
  35 $ 

  10,452$ 
 

Stolen Property: Buy, Receiving, Poss. 957 
    

Vandalism 1,774 
    370$ 

  370$ 
 

Weapons: Possessing, etc. 1,479 
    

Prostitution/Commercialized Vice 21 
    

Gambling - Bookmaking 9 
    

Possession - Marijuana 4,213 
    

Possession - Opium or Cocaine 676 
    

Possession - Dangerous Drugs 209 
    

Possession - Synthetic Narcotics 86 
    

Gambling Numbers and Lottery - 
    

Gambling All Other 2 
    

Offenses Against the Family/Child 158 
    11,843$ 

  1,257$ 
 

34$ 
 

4$ 
 

1,219 $ 
  - $ 

  10,586$ 
 

Driving Under the Influence 1,712 
    3,688$ 

  1,812$ 
 

228$ 
 

-$ 
 

110 $ 
  1,474 $ 

  1,876$ 
 

Liquor Laws 2,517 
    

Disorderly Conduct 3,155 
    

Vagrancy 48 
    

All Other Offenses 10,758 
    

Curfew/Loitering - 
    

Total Arrests in Category 41,461 
    93,668,041$ 

  19,727,377$ 
 

8,881,895$ 
 

3,763,322$ 
 

1,110,560 $ 
 

5,315,220 $ 
  73,940,664$ 

 
Average Cost 2,259$ 

  476$ 
 

214$ 
 

91$ 
 

27 $ 
  128 $ 

  1,783$ 
 

SERIOUS

Arrest Description Arrests Total Tangible Subtotal Productivity Medical Care Mental Care Property Loss Quality of Life

Motor Vehicle Theft 309 
    4,891$ 

  4,489$ 
 

60$ 
 

-$ 
 

7 $ 
  4,422 $ 

  402$ 
 

Arson 78 
    20,269$ 

  19,599$ 
 

11$ 
 

-$ 
 

24 $ 
  19,564 $ 

  670$ 
 

Manslaughter by Negligence 4 
    4,258,252$ 

  1,584,952$ 
 

1,541,000$ 
 

24,522$ 
 

6,432 $ 
  12,998 $ 

  2,673,300$ 
 

Forgery and Counterfeiting 112 
    

Fraud 735 
    1,100$ 

  1,100$ 
 

Embezzlement 242 
    

Sale/Mfg. Marijuana 435 
    

Sale/Mfg. Opium or Cocaine 343 
    

Sale/Mfg. Other Dangerous Drugs 16 
    

Sale/Mfg. Synthetic Narcotics 6 
    

Burglary - Breaking and Entering 1,715 
    1,725$ 

  1,323$ 
 

16$ 
 

-$ 
 

7 $ 
  1,300 $ 

  402$ 
 

Total Arrests in Category 3,995 
    23,891,451$ 

  12,332,343$ 
 

6,211,046$ 
 

98,088$ 
 

41,170 $ 
 

5,173,539 $ 
  11,559,108$ 

 Average Cost 5,980$ 
  3,087$ 

 
1,555$ 
 

25$ 
 

10 $ 
  1,295 $ 

  2,893$ 
 

VIOLENT

Arrest Description Arrests Total Tangible Subtotal Productivity Medical Care Mental Care Property Loss Quality of Life

Murder 85 
    3,927,835$ 

  1,368,435$ 
 

1,340,000$ 
 

21,842$ 
 

6,432 $ 
  161 $ 

  2,559,400$ 
 

Forcible Rape 68 
    131,575$ 

  11,243$ 
 

2,814$ 
 

657$ 
 

7,772 $ 
  - $ 

  120,332$ 
 

Robbery 1,216 
    25,145$ 

  6,653$ 
 

3,350$ 
 

1,340$ 
 

87 $ 
  1,876 $ 

  18,492$ 
 

Assault - Aggravated 1,677 
    32,168$ 

  6,306$ 
 

4,154$ 
 

1,970$ 
 

130 $ 
  52 $ 

  25,862$ 
 

Sex Offenses 118 
    115,776$ 

  6,700$ 
 

2,948$ 
 

670$ 
 

2,948 $ 
  134 $ 

  109,076$ 
 

Burglary - Breaking and Entering 1,715 
    1,725$ 

  1,323$ 
 

16$ 
 

-$ 
 

7 $ 
  1,300 $ 

  402$ 
 

Total Arrests in Category 4,879 
    443,954,498$ 

  138,805,678$ 
 

125,506,651$ 
 

6,913,073$ 
 

1,758,461 $ 
 

4,627,493 $ 
  305,148,820$ 

 
Average Cost 90,993$ 

  28,450$ 
 

25,724$ 
 

1,417$ 
 

360 $ 
  948 $ 

  62,543$ 
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APPENDIX F. DETAILED COST CALCULATIONS 
 
 
The following exhibits show the detailed calculations used to produce the summary charts 
appearing in the body of the report. These five exhibits include the following: 
 

 Adult Detail 
 Juvenile Baseline 16 and 17 Detail 
 Adult 16 Only 
 Juvenile 16 Only 
 Juvenile Enhanced 16 and 17 
 Juvenile Enhanced 16   

 
Exhibit 31: 16, 17 Baseline Detail Adult 
 
Adult System 267,915,197$  Total

Initial Costs Arrests Total State DOC AOC Local
Year 0 30,702            

$ Per Arrest 4,882$                 1,386$               1,089$               297$                 3,496$                  
Subtotal 149,886,550$    42,545,604$    33,437,548$     9,108,055$      107,340,946$     

Recidivating Budgetary Costs Arrests Total State DOC AOC Local
Year 0 4,252              

$ Per Arrest 4,810$                 1,365$               1,073$               292$                 3,445$                  
Year 1 3,152              

$ Per Arrest 4,670$                 1,326$               1,042$               284$                 3,345$                  
Year 2 1,898              

$ Per Arrest 4,534$                 1,287$               1,012$               276$                 3,247$                  
Year 3 360                 

$ Per Arrest 4,402$                 1,250$               982$                  268$                 3,153$                  
Subtotal 9,662              45,366,316$      12,877,321$    10,120,577$     2,756,744$      32,488,994$        

Revocation Budgetary Costs # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DOC
Revocations resulting in prison stays 479 266 64$                    8,153,338$       8,153,338$    

Recidivating Victimization Costs Convictions Total Tangible Quality of Life
Year 0 2,913              

$ Per Conviction 9,768$                 3,802$               5,966$               
Year 1 2,243              

$ Per Conviction 9,484$                 3,691$               5,793$               
Year 2 1,340              

$ Per Conviction 9,207$                 3,583$               5,624$               
Year 3 273                 

$ Per Conviction 8,939$                 3,479$               5,460$               
Subtotal 6,770              64,508,993$      25,106,651$    39,402,342$      

 
* Discounted cost per day 
ALOS- Average Length of Stay 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
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Exhibit 32: 16, 17 Baseline Detail Juvenile 
 

 
* Discounted cost per day 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 

Juvenile System 345,439,651$ 
  Total

Initial Costs Complaints Total State DJJDP DOC AOC Local

Year 0 30,702
    $ Per Complaint 7,348$ 

 
3,740$ 
 

3,211$ 
 

528 $ 
  3,608$ 

 Subtotal 225,592,156$  
 

114,811,357$ 
 

98,585,964$  
 

16,225,393 $ 
  110,780,799$ 

 

Bound Over Youth # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DJJDP DOC 
Estimated Youth Bound Over -40 399 278$ 

 
(4,436,880) $ 
 40 942 66$ 

 
2,486,880 $ 
  Subtotal (1,950,000)$  

 

Recidivating Budgetary Costs Complaints (Arrests) Total State DJJDP DOC AOC Local

Year 0 
$ Per Complaint 3,663

   
7,240$ 
 

3,685$ 
 

3,164$ 
 

521 $ 
  3,555$ 

 $ Per Arrest 1,389
   

4,810$ 
 

1,365$ 
 

1,073 $ 
  292 $ 

  3,445$ 
 Year 1 

$ Per Complaint 1,038
   

7,029$ 
 

3,577$ 
 

3,072$ 
 

506 $ 
  3,452$ 

 $ Per Arrest 1,599
   

4,670$ 
 

1,326$ 
 

1,042 $ 
  284 $ 

  3,345$ 
 Year 2 

$ Per Complaint 221 6,824$ 
 

3,473$ 
 

2,982$ 
 

491 $ 
  3,351$ 

 $ Per Arrest 1,506
   

4,534$ 
 

1,287$ 
 

1,012 $ 
  276 $ 

  3,247$ 
 Year 3 

$ Per Complaint 8 6,626$ 
 

3,372$ 
 

2,895$ 
 

477 $ 
  3,254$ 

 $ Per Arrest 65 4,402$ 
 

1,250$ 
 

982 $ 
  268 $ 

  3,153$ 
 Subtotal 9,490

    56,649,838$ 
 

24,045,040$ 
 

15,464,303$ 
 

4,743,517 $ 
 

3,837,220 $ 
  32,604,798$ 

 

Revocation Budgetary Costs # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DJJDP 
Estimated YDC stays due to revocation 48 184 270$ 

 
2,375,074$ 
 

2,375,074 $ 
 

Recidivating Victimization Costs Adjudications/Convictions Total Tangible Quality of Life

Year 0 3,481
   $ Per Adjudication 9,768$ 

 
3,802$ 
 

5,966$ 
 Year 1 1,825

   $ Per Adjudication 9,484$ 
 

3,691$ 
 

5,793$ 
 Year 2 1,194

   $ Per Adjudication 9,207$ 
 

3,583$ 
 

5,624$ 
 Year 3 53

   $ Per Adjudication 8,939$ 
 

3,479$ 
 

5,460$ 
 Subtotal 6,552

     62,772,583$ 
 

24,430,847$ 
 

38,341,736$  
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Exhibit 33: 16 Only, Baseline Detail Adult 
 

 
* Discounted cost per day 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 

Adult System 119,897,202$   Total

Initial Costs Arrests Total State DOC AOC Local
Year 0 13,680    

$ Per Arrest 4,882$  1,386$  1,089$  297$   3,496$  
Subtotal 66,785,486$  18,957,197$  14,898,888$  4,058,309$   47,828,290$  

Recidivating Budgetary Costs Arrests Total State DOC AOC Local
Year 0 1,913    

$ Per Arrest 4,810$  1,365$  1,073$  292$   3,445$  
Year 1 1,418    

$ Per Arrest 4,670$  1,326$  1,042$  284$   3,345$  
Year 2 854    

$ Per Arrest 4,534$  1,287$  1,012$  276$   3,247$  
Year 3 162    

$ Per Arrest 4,402$  1,250$  982$  268$   3,153$  
Subtotal 4,348    20,414,324$  5,794,648$  4,554,144$  1,240,504$   14,619,677$  

Revocation Budgetary Costs # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DOC 
Revocations resulting in prison stays 216 266 64$  3,669,002$  3,669,002$   

Recidivating Victimization Costs Convictions Total Tangible Quality of Life
Year 0 1,311    

$ Per Conviction 9,768$  3,802$  5,966$  
Year 1 1,009    

$ Per Conviction 9,484$  3,691$  5,793$  
Year 2 603    

$ Per Conviction 9,207$  3,583$  5,624$  
Year 3 123    

$ Per Conviction 8,939$  3,479$  5,460$  
Subtotal 3,046    29,028,389$  11,297,737$  17,730,652$  



 

67 

Exhibit 34: 16 Only, Baseline Juvenile Detail 
 

 
* Discounted cost per day 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
 

Juvenile System 152,653,539$ 
  Total

Initial Costs Complaints Total State DJJDP DOC AOC Local

Year 0 13,680
    $ Per Complaint 7,348$ 

 
3,740$ 
 

3,211$ 
 

528 $ 
  3,608$ 

 Subtotal 100,517,904$  
 

51,156,907$ 
 

43,927,301$  
 

7,229,606 $  
  49,360,997$ 

 

Bound Over Youth # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DJJDP DOC 
Estimated Youth Bound Over -18 399 278$ 

 
(1,996,596) $ 
 18 942 66$ 

 
1,119,096 $ 
  Subtotal (877,500)$ 

 

Recidivating Budgetary Costs Complaints (Arrests) Total State DJJDP DOC AOC Local

Year 0 
$ Per Complaint 1,137

   
7,240$ 
 

3,685$ 
 

3,164$ 
 

521 $ 
  3,555$ 

 $ Per Arrest 1,137
   

4,810$ 
 

1,365$ 
 

1,073 $ 
  292 $ 

  3,445$ 
 Year 1 

$ Per Complaint 322
   

7,029$ 
 

3,577$ 
 

3,072$ 
 

506 $ 
  3,452$ 

 $ Per Arrest 864
   

4,670$ 
 

1,326$ 
 

1,042 $ 
  284 $ 

  3,345$ 
 Year 2 

$ Per Complaint 12 6,824$ 
 

3,473$ 
 

2,982$ 
 

491 $ 
  3,351$ 

 $ Per Arrest 765
   

4,534$ 
 

1,287$ 
 

1,012 $ 
  276 $ 

  3,247$ 
 Year 3 

$ Per Complaint 0 6,626$ 
 

3,372$ 
 

2,895$ 
 

477 $ 
  3,254$ 

 $ Per Arrest 33 4,402$ 
 

1,250$ 
 

982 $ 
  268 $ 

  3,153$ 
 Subtotal 4,270

    23,698,463$ 
 

9,108,079$ 
 

4,623,296$ 
 

2,926,678 $ 
 

1,558,105 $ 
  14,590,384$ 

 

Revocation Budgetary Costs # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DJJDP 
Estimated YDC stays due to revocation 21 184 270$ 

 
1,067,703$ 
 

1,067,703 $ 
 

Recidivating Victimization Costs Adjudications/Convictions Total Tangible Quality of Life

Year 0 1,566
   $ Per Adjudication 9,768$ 

 
3,802$ 
 

5,966$ 
 Year 1 821

   $ Per Adjudication 9,484$ 
 

3,691$ 
 

5,793$ 
 Year 2 537

   $ Per Adjudication 9,207$ 
 

3,583$ 
 

5,624$ 
 Year 3 24

   $ Per Adjudication 8,939$ 
 

3,479$ 
 

5,460$ 
 Subtotal 2,949

     28,246,969$ 
 

10,993,611$ 
 

17,253,358$  
 



 

68 

Exhibit 35: 16 and 17, Enhanced Juvenile Detail 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 

Juvenile System 300,915,802$ 
  Total

Initial Costs Complaints Total State DJJDP DOC AOC Local

Year 0 29,469
    $ Per Complaint 7,348$ 

 
3,740$ 
 

3,211$ 
 

528 $ 
  3,608$ 

 Subtotal 216,533,597$  
 

110,201,155$ 
 

94,627,286$  
 

15,573,869 $ 
  106,332,442$ 

 

Bound Over Youth # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DJJDP DOC 
Estimated Youth Bound Over -40 399 278$ 

 
(4,436,880) $ 
 40 942 66$ 

 
2,486,880 $ 
  Subtotal (1,950,000)$  

 

Recidivating Budgetary Costs Complaints (Arrests) Total State DJJDP DOC AOC Local

Year 0 
$ Per Complaint 2,602

   
7,240$ 
 

3,685$ 
 

3,164$ 
 

521 $ 
  3,555$ 

 $ Per Arrest 959
   

4,810$ 
 

1,365$ 
 

1,073 $ 
  292 $ 

  3,445$ 
 Year 1 

$ Per Complaint 738
   

7,029$ 
 

3,577$ 
 

3,072$ 
 

506 $ 
  3,452$ 

 $ Per Arrest 1,121
   

4,670$ 
 

1,326$ 
 

1,042 $ 
  284 $ 

  3,345$ 
 Year 2 

$ Per Complaint 160 6,824$ 
 

3,473$ 
 

2,982$ 
 

491 $ 
  3,351$ 

 $ Per Arrest 1,058
   

4,534$ 
 

1,287$ 
 

1,012 $ 
  276 $ 

  3,247$ 
 Year 3 

$ Per Complaint 6 6,626$ 
 

3,372$ 
 

2,895$ 
 

477 $ 
  3,254$ 

 $ Per Arrest 45 4,402$ 
 

1,250$ 
 

982 $ 
  268 $ 

  3,153$ 
 Subtotal 6,688

    39,997,209$ 
 

17,015,159$ 
 

10,992,884$ 
 

3,311,133 $ 
 

2,711,142 $ 
  22,982,050$ 

 

Revocation Budgetary Costs # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DJJDP 
Estimated YDC stays due to revocation 45 184 270$ 

 
2,235,675$ 
 

2,235,675 $ 
 

Recidivating Victimization Costs Adjudications/Convictions Total Tangible Quality of Life

Year 0 2,445
   $ Per Adjudication 9,768$ 

 
3,802$ 
 

5,966$ 
 Year 1 1,282

   $ Per Adjudication 9,484$ 
 

3,691$ 
 

5,793$ 
 Year 2 839

   $ Per Adjudication 9,207$ 
 

3,583$ 
 

5,624$
 Year 3 37

   $ Per Adjudication 8,939$ 
 

3,479$ 
 

5,460$ 
 Subtotal 4,603

     44,099,321$ 
 

17,163,285$ 
 

26,936,036$  
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Exhibit 36: 16 Only, Enhanced Juvenile Detail 
 

 
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
 
Exhibit 37: Net Present Value (2007) of Key Costs 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 

Year 0.5 1 1.5 2 2.5 3 3.5
Value Present Amount Discounted >

Budgetary Cost Per Juvenile Arrest 7,348$ 
 

7,240$ 
 

7,134$ 
 

7,029$ 
 

6,926$ 
 

6,824 $ 
  6,724$ 

  6,626$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Juvenile Arrest - State 3,740$ 

 
3,685$ 
 

3,631$ 
 

3,577$ 
 

3,525$ 
 

3,473 $ 
  3,422$ 

  3,372$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Juvenile Arrest - DJJDP 3,211$ 

 
3,164$ 
 

3,118$ 
 

3,072$ 
 

3,027$ 
 

2,982 $ 
  2,939$ 

  2,895$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Juvenile Arrest - AOC 528$ 

 
521$ 
 

513$ 
 

506$ 
 

498$ 
 

491 $ 
  484$ 

  477$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Juvenile Arrest - Local 3,608$ 

 
3,555$ 
 

3,503$ 
 

3,452$ 
 

3,401$ 
 

3,351 $ 
  3,302$ 

  3,254$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Adult Arrest 4,882$ 

 
4,810$ 
 

4,740$ 
 

4,670$ 
 

4,602$ 
 

4,534 $ 
  4,468$ 

  4,402$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Adult Arrest - State 1,386$ 

 
1,365$ 
 

1,345$ 
 

1,326$ 
 

1,306$ 
 

1,287 $ 
  1,268$ 

  1,250$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Adult Arrest - DOC 1,089$ 

 
1,073$ 
 

1,057$ 
 

1,042$ 
 

1,027$ 
 

1,012 $ 
  997$ 

  982$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Adult Arrest - AOC 297$ 

 
292$ 
 

288$ 
 

284$ 
 

280$ 
 

276 $ 
  271$ 

  268$ 
 Budgetary Cost Per Adult Arrest - Local 3,496$ 

 
3,445$ 
 

3,394$ 
 

3,345$ 
 

3,296$ 
 

3,247 $ 
  3,200$ 

  3,153$ 
 Victimization Cost Per Conviction 9,914$ 

 
9,768$ 
 

9,625$ 
 

9,484$ 
 

9,344$ 
 

9,207 $ 
  9,072$ 

  8,939$ 
 Victimization Cost Per Conviction - Tangible 3,858$ 

 
3,802$ 
 

3,746$ 
 

3,691$ 
 

3,637$ 
 

3,583 $ 
  3,531$ 

  3,479$ 
 Victimization Cost Per Conviction - Quality of Life 6,055$ 

 
5,966$ 
 

5,879$ 
 

5,793$ 
 

5,708$ 
 

5,624 $ 
  5,541$ 

  5,460$ 
 Cost per day Prison 68$ 

 
67$ 
 

66$ 
 

65$ 
 

64$ 
 

63 $ 
  63$ 

  62$ 
 Cost per day YDC 286$ 

 
282$ 
 

278$ 
 

274$ 
 

270$ 
 

266 $ 
  262$ 

  258$ 
 

Juvenile System 135,742,358$ 
  Total

Initial Costs Complaints Total State DJJDP DOC AOC Local

Year 0 13,348
    $ Per Complaint 7,348$ 

 
3,740$ 
 

3,211$ 
 

528 $ 
  3,608$ 

 Subtotal 98,075,362$ 
 

49,913,816$ 
 

42,859,886$  
 

7,053,930 $  
  48,161,546$ 

 

Bound Over Youth # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DJJDP DOC 
Estimated Youth Bound Over -18 399 278$ 

 
(1,996,596) $ 
 18 942 66$ 

 
1,119,096 $ 
  Subtotal (877,500)$ 

 

Recidivating Budgetary Costs Complaints (Arrests) Total State DJJDP DOC AOC Local

Year 0 
$ Per Complaint 822

   
7,240$ 
 

3,685$ 
 

3,164$ 
 

521 $ 
  3,555$ 

 $ Per Arrest 822
   

4,810$ 
 

1,365$ 
 

1,073 $ 
  292 $ 

  3,445$ 
 Year 1 

$ Per Complaint 233
   

7,029$ 
 

3,577$ 
 

3,072$ 
 

506 $ 
  3,452$ 

 $ Per Arrest 625
   

4,670$ 
 

1,326$ 
 

1,042 $ 
  284 $ 

  3,345$ 
 Year 2 

$ Per Complaint 9 6,824$ 
 

3,473$ 
 

2,982$ 
 

491 $ 
  3,351$ 

 $ Per Arrest 553
   

4,534$ 
 

1,287$ 
 

1,012 $ 
  276 $ 

  3,247$ 
 Year 3 

$ Per Complaint 0 6,626$ 
 

3,372$ 
 

2,895$ 
 

477 $ 
  3,254$ 

 $ Per Arrest 24 4,402$ 
 

1,250$ 
 

982 $ 
  268 $ 

  3,153$ 
 Subtotal 3,087

    17,131,838$ 
 

6,584,315$ 
 

3,342,224$ 
 

2,115,722 $ 
 

1,126,369 $ 
  10,547,523$ 

 

Revocation Budgetary Costs # ALOS $ Per Day* Total (State) DJJDP 
Estimated YDC stays due to revocation 21 184 270$ 

 
1,030,581$ 
 

1,030,581 $ 
 

Recidivating Victimization Costs Adjudications/Convictions Total Tangible Quality of Life

Year 0 1,130
   $ Per Adjudication 9,768$ 

 
3,802$ 
 

5,966$ 
 Year 1 593

   $ Per Adjudication 9,484$ 
 

3,691$ 
 

5,793$ 
 Year 2 388

   $ Per Adjudication 9,207$ 
 

3,583$ 
 

5,624$ 
 Year 3 17

   $ Per Adjudication 8,939$ 
 

3,479$ 
 

5,460$ 
 Subtotal 2,128

     20,382,076$ 
 

7,932,625$ 
 

12,449,451$  
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Exhibit 38: Prior Year Cost Adjustment Factor 
 

 
Source: U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis 

Dollar Year Factor for 2007 Dollars 
1990 1.462

1991 1.410

1992 1.371

1993 1.340

1994 1.312

1995 1.285

1996 1.258

1997 1.237

1998 1.226

1999 1.206

2000 1.177

2001 1.152

2002 1.136

2003 1.114

2004 1.086

2005 1.054

2006 1.026

2007 1.000

2008 0.968

Implicit Price Deflator for Personal 
Consumption Expenditure ( US BEA) 
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APPENDIX G. COST-BENEFIT ANALYSIS METHODOLOGY: 
BENEFITS TO OFFENDERS 

 
 
In addition to benefits to taxpayers and potential victims, a reduction in criminal activity 
resulting from state programs can result in benefits to society and the offenders themselves. In 
particular, one benefit cited by proponents of the proposed change to the age of juvenile court 
jurisdiction is that, without an adult offense on their record, offenders will be more employable 
in the future and receive higher earnings. Research of other primary studies supports this idea 
and indicates that arrests, convictions, and incarceration reduce future earnings and the 
likelihood of being legally employed. Some studies even suggest that a lack of employment 
opportunities for persons with criminal records may increase those persons likelihood of 
recidivism.   
 
However, the reasons behind these setbacks and the magnitude to which they occur are where the 
research diverges.  For example: 

o Harry Holzer’s studies, along with others, discuss the “large costs on employment 
associated with current levels of incarceration” (Holzer 2007).   

o Joel Waldfogel discusses how conviction records negatively impact employers’ trust and 
willingness to hire those who have been convicted and translates this into an impact on 
earnings.  

o Jeffrey Grogger finds that the effect of arrests on employment and earnings is “moderate 
in magnitude and rather short-lived” (Waldfogel 1994;Grogger 1995).   

 
Researchers in this field also question whether the arrest, conviction, or incarceration itself 
negatively effects employment and earnings or if the perceived effects are caused by other 
characteristics of members of the offender population. These characteristics may include a lack 
of educational attainment, residence in environments that support undesirable behaviors, and 
poor professional networks among others.   
 
This report cannot indicate what portion of lost earnings and lack of employment can be 
attributed to an adult arrest, conviction, or incarceration records solely. However, research 
appears to support the belief that persons without criminal records fare better in the labor market.  
Should persons 16 and 17 years of age be served in the juvenile justice system, research studies 
suggest that they will avoid a loss in earnings anywhere from 2-11 percent depending on whether 
the record includes an arrest, conviction, or incarceration. The analysis includes this avoided 
earnings loss as a benefit to raising the age of juvenile court jurisdiction by calculating greater 
lifetime earnings for persons 16 and 17 years of age charged as adults. This study uses a rate of 
6.5 percent to estimate the cost differential to be used in the net cost (benefit) model. This 
earnings differential is then applied persons 16 and 17 years of age who receive a felony 
conviction and are not expected to have another felony conviction.  
 
The lifetime earnings estimate used in this analysis was derived from the work of Richard S. 
Toikka and Andre R. Neveu, who calculated the expected lifetime earnings of children in the 
United States in 2000 U.S. Dollars with a two percent discount rate. This report converts their 



 

72 

estimate into 2007 U.S. Dollars, resulting in an expected lifetime earnings of $546,169 for the 
youth included in the analysis.   
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APPENDIX H. ENHANCED SYSTEM APPROACH 
 
 
Research shows that a random application of “model programs” does not necessarily produce 
desired outcomes. Stand-alone evidence-based programs are not likely to be effective if these 
practices are not integrated throughout the juvenile system. Only then will the implementation of 
model programs show positive outcomes.  
 
This appendix explains the concepts behind a comprehensive approach to serving youths through 
integrated assessment, service planning, and case management. It begins with an explanation of 
what is known about effective approaches to reducing delinquent behavior, followed by an 
overview of an integrated case management model developed from critical research findings.  
Finally, it discusses implications for implementing the model successfully. 
 
What Works to Reduce Juvenile Offending 
Research has documented a clear association between certain criminogenic factors (factors that 
increase the risk of crime) and a range of delinquent behavior. These factors include 
characteristics such as: involvement with a delinquent peer group, school problems, substance 
abuse, and lack of adequate parental involvement and discipline. The more of these factors a 
youth displays, the higher his or her risk, and the greater the probability of committing future 
delinquent acts.   
 
In addition, research has identified “protective factors” such as engagement in school and pro-
social activities outside of school that appear to buffer the youth from risk, and decrease the 
probability of future offending. As described later, having an assessment tool that measures 
specific risk and protective factors systematically is essential to developing an integrated 
assessment and case management system. Further, for rehabilitation efforts with youthful 
offenders to be successful (i.e., to reduce re-offending), factors that are connected with the 
delinquent behavior first need to be identified. Interventions should then address these factors 
(Borum, 2003) while strengthening protective factors.   
 
Over the last two decades, research that explores the specific types of interventions that are most 
effective with juvenile offenders in reducing recidivism and substance abuse has been 
developed. Often referred to as the “What Works” literature, this research has been instrumental 
in creating a base of knowledge for juvenile justice practitioners. Specifically, it has provided 
convincing evidence of the following: 
 

 Punishment alone is ineffective: Most forms of punishment, including short-term and 
long-term incarceration, electronic monitoring, boot camps, intensive supervision and 
other forms of sanctions, are not effective in reducing recidivism (Dowden & Andrews, 
1999; Hoge, 2001; Lipsey & Wilson, 1998, Howell, 1997). Punishment can actually 
increase recidivism. 

 
 Treatment interventions are generally much more effective than punishment:  Meta-

analyses, based on analyses of literally hundreds of research studies and program 
evaluations, demonstrate that, overall, treatments for juvenile delinquents reduce 
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delinquency by about 10 percent. However, the most successful programs typically show 
reductions in the range of 20 percent to 30 percent; some interventions have yielded up to 
a 40 percent reduction in recidivism. 

 
 Treatment based on individual criminogenic needs (risk factors) increases 

effectiveness: By targeting treatment interventions based on an individual’s assessed risk 
factors, the effectiveness of the intervention is increased. 

 
 Successful programs typically have focused on changing the youth’s behavior 

through structured interventions: Interventions that have been proven effective include 
structured skills training and skills development (i.e., practicing and perfecting skills), 
cognitive-behavioral based treatment, and structured and focused counseling guided by 
behavioral learning goals. Unstructured “talk therapy” is less effective in changing 
behavior.   

 
 Family-based therapies that include a cognitive-behavioral component have shown 

particular promise:  Programs such as Functional Family Therapy, Multi-Systemic 
Therapy, and Multi-Dimensional Therapeutic Foster Care that address the family system 
have been found to be effective in reducing teen substance abuse, violence, and substance 
abuse. 

 
 Treatment programs need to be of a sufficient intensity and duration to be effective: 

In addition, programs that adhere to the “Risk Principle” are likely to have greater 
success. Higher-risk youth should be matched appropriately to longer, more intensive 
services and lower-risk youth may need little or no intervention.  

 
Implementing an integrated model of case management is an effective way to harvest the 
potential of the best practices in the industry. This approach recognizes the importance of 
traditional supervision, while embracing a broader role for the case manager. Further, effective 
supervision helps to control behavior, allowing the youth to remain in the community and work 
on addressing key criminogenic needs related to the risk of future re-offending. 
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Executive Summary  
Extending juvenile jurisdiction to persons 16 and 17 years of age would transfer approximately 
30,000 arrests each year from the adult system to the juvenile system. Both systems incorporate a 
process that includes local law enforcement, adjudication, and sanction. As shown in Exhibit 1, 
the transfer has a significant impact on the juvenile system whose responsibilities nearly double 
while arrests processed through the adult system decrease by only 6.1 percent.   
 
Exhibit 1: Percent Change in Arrests by System with Change in Juvenile Age 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
The entities that participate in the criminal justice process for juveniles and for adults would 
have to make adjustments to accommodate such a change.  The change would affect capital 
expenditures and the annual operational costs for the Department of Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention (DJJDP), the Department of Correction (DOC), the Administrative 
Office of the Courts (AOC), and local governments. The adjustments required to accommodate a 
change in age would be more significant for DJJDP and AOC than it would be for local law 
enforcement and DOC. 
 
The organizational and operational changes need not occur all at once. According to House Bill 
1441, which was introduced during the 2009 legislative session, the increase in the age of 
juvenile jurisdiction could be incremental, with discrete age groups entering the juvenile system 
each year over four years. The bill proposes that the change take place in half-year age 
increments starting two years after the passage of the law. The initial two years are for planning 
and preparation, while years three through six involve the actual transfer of persons 16 and 17 
year of age from the adult to the juvenile system. Exhibit 2 offers an estimate of how many youth 
would be transferred each year.  
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Exhibit 2: Entries into the Juvenile System 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Budgetary Impact of Raising the Age of Juvenile Jurisdiction 
Because the cost of serving a person in the juvenile system is nearly 50 percent greater than it is 
in the adult system, raising the age of juvenile court jurisdiction would increase state budgetary 
expenditures.14 If 30,000 persons were moved from the adult system to the juvenile system, the 
cost of serving each person would increase from approximately $4,900 to approximately $7,300, 
which from the perspective of a multi-year cost-benefit analysis translates to a net cost to state 
and local government of $79.6 million. This includes costs incurred by local governments, AOC, 
DJJDP, and DOC, but does not include capital costs. Capital costs can range from $5 million for 
a 30-bed detention facility to $18 million for a 96-bed YDC.  
 
Cost Mitigation Strategies 
To address the cost impact associated with transferring 30,000 arrests from the adult to the 
juvenile system, North Carolina should consider the following opportunities for reducing the 
budgetary impact of a change to the age of juvenile jurisdiction: 
 

 Implementation of evidence-based programming could help DJJDP achieve lower 
recidivism (reoffense) rates. If recidivism is reduced by 25 percent, by year 6 of 
implementation DJJDP could save an estimated $20.4 million.   

 
 Development of local incentives to reduce secure confinement use could help DJJDP 

reduce its number-one cost driver— facility placement costs. If initiatives are 
implemented, DJJDP could reduce its annual expenditures by approximately $22.2 
million by the end of Year 6. 

 
                                                 
14 Although State expenditures would increase, the Cost-Benefit Analysis, which is provided under separate cover, 
suggests that the overall societal benefit of raising the age could be positive if the Department of Juvenile Justice 
and Delinquency Prevention makes certain enhancements to its system to reduce costs and recidivism. 
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 Limitation of secure detention use would allow North Carolina to serve fewer persons 
in detention centers. Thirty beds are currently needed to hold the 824 persons detained 
for undisciplined offenses annually. Operating costs for these beds is estimated at $1.8 
million per year. By limiting these types of detentions, North Carolina could eliminate a 
detention facility from its revised capital plan for a savings of about $5 million. 

 
The implementation plan included in this report is built upon the assumption that these cost 
mitigation strategies are implemented. 
 
Operational and Capital Impacts 
The increase in population served would affect DJJDP operations significantly. More persons 
would be processed through the juvenile court system and served by detention facilities, local 
Juvenile Crime Prevention Council-funded programs, court counselor supervision, and Youth 
Development Centers (YDC). Additional facility space would be needed, the availability of 
community programs and services must be expanded, and staff must be recruited and hired.  
DOC would have fewer persons to serve, but the reduction would be only a small percent of its 
total population. AOC court staff would have an increased workload, which would require 
additional staff to be hired. 
 
DJJDP 
DJJDP would be affected the most by a change to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction, as shown 
in Exhibit 3. It would need to build one YDC and three detention facilities, at a total cost of $33 
million.  Its annual budget would increase by $85.4 million by Year 6 to serve the additional 
persons under its supervision. To accommodate the additional youth, 557 court counselors are 
needed as well as 225 direct care staff at YDCs and detention facilities. In addition, DJJDP 
would need to hire eight trainers to provide initial training, at a cost of $256,000 annually. 
 
Exhibit 3: DJJDP Capital, Staffing, and Operational Impact  
 

Capital Impact and Facility Need Staffing Impact Operational Impact  
     Type                       Cost               Type                               Cost 
YDC 
 
Detention 
centers (3)  
 
Total  

$18M  
 
$15M  
 
 
$33M 

557 court counselors 

225 direct care staff  

8 staff trainers 
  
  

Personal Services 

Program Development 

Facility Operations 

Aid and Public Assistance 

$67.5M annually 

$0.8M over 3 years 

$2.9M annually 

$15.0M annually 

 
To accommodate nearly 30,000 additional persons by Year 6, DJJDP would need 130 detention 
beds to accommodate 3,641 additional youth by Year 6 of implementation. The Department 
would also need 306 YDC beds to accommodate 444 persons 16 and 17 years of age by Year 6 
of implementation. Some of these beds would need to be provided in a new facility; others could 
be provided in currently-operating facilities. In addition, court counselors would need 44,560 
square feet of office space to accommodate an additional 557 court counselors by Year 6, 
assuming 80 square feet of space per person.    
DJJDP must also develop programs in YDCs and in the community to serve older youth, expand 
current Juvenile Crime Prevention Councils (JCPC) programs, and develop new JCPC programs. 
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A tool linking these programs to the overall needs of individual youth (including criminogenic 
needs) would be also needed to ensure positive re-offense outcomes. In addition, community 
incentives for reducing secure confinement of committed youth must be developed and 
implemented.  
 
Department of Correction 
With 30,000 persons no longer being processed through the adult system, DOC would have 
reduced operating expenditures by approximately $2.9 million annually. It would have an 
increase in prison and jail beds available, but would continue to use those for its adult 
population. The Department may be able to delay the building or expansion of a new prison as 
the result of gaining 457 vacant beds no longer occupied by persons who committed an offense 
at the age of 16 or 17. In addition, DOC would have a reduction in personal services 
expenditures for adult probation of $2.4 million, as a result of decreased probation officer need. 
 
Administrative Office of the Courts  
AOC would need to hire an additional 138 staff, at an additional annual cost of $9.2 million. An 
estimated 11 judges would be needed, along with 17 assistant district attorneys, 32 court support 
staff, 72 deputy and administrative clerks, and 6 assistant defenders. The additional staff could 
have an impact on facility needs in local communities (court rooms and office space). An 
analysis at the local level would be required to determine the specific facility needs for each 
location. 
 
Local Government 
Local government would need to provide 44,560 square feet of work space for additional court 
counselors at a cost of $5.8 million. Local Government would also need to provide an additional 
$3.4 million in JCPC match funds, based on current minimum matching rate requirements. 
Additional space may be needed to accommodate the court-related staff needed to address the 
transfer of persons 16 and 17 years of age from the adult to the juvenile system. A locally-based 
facility audit would be necessary to determine what local facility needs may result from changing 
the juvenile age.  
 
Summary 
Changing the age of juvenile jurisdiction would affect local governments in North Carolina, the 
AOC, DJJDP and DOC. A change would have its most significant impact on the capital and 
operating budgets for the DJJDP. Assuming the change is carried out over a 6 year period as 
suggested by House Bill 1441, DJJDP’s operating budget would increase by $85.4 million by 
year 6 of the implementation and would require the construction of one Youth Development 
Center (YDC) and three Detention Centers. This plan is based on the assumption that North 
Carolina implements the cost mitigation strategies recommended in this report. These strategies 
should have the effect of reducing recidivism, improving outcomes, and reducing the need for 
secure bed space in detention centers and YDCs. The state and local government budgetary 
impact of the proposed change in the age of juvenile jurisdiction is summarized in Exhibit 4. 
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Exhibit 4: Incremental Budgetary Adjustments required to Accommodate Operational 
Budget, by Year  
 

  Yearly Budget Adjustment (in Millions) 

Budget Category  Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 

Total Budget 
Adjustment by 

Year 6 

DJJDP $1.0  $1.3 $20.9 $20.6 $23.6 $22.5  $85.4 

Personal Services   14.3 16.6 18.7 17.5  67.5 
    Court Counselors   6.8 7.0 8.9 9.1  31.8 

YDC    5.9 8.0 7.7 6.3  27.9 

Detention   1.6 1.6 2.1 2.1  7.4 
Training Staff  0.4     0.4 

Facility Operations     0.8 0.7 0.7 0.7  2.9 
     YDC   0.6 0.6 0.6 0.5  2.3 
     Detention   0.1 0.1 0.2 0.2  0.6 
Program Development *0.2 *0.3 *0.3  *0.8 
Aid and Public Assistance   3.2 3.3 4.2 4.3  15.0 
     JCPC Allocations   3.2 3.3 4.2 4.3  15.0 

DOC     ($1.2) ($1.2) ($1.5) ($1.5) ($5.3) 
Personal Services   (0.5) (0.5) (0.7) (0.7) (2.4) 
Facility Operations     (0.7) (0.7) (0.8) (0.8) (2.9) 15 

AOC     ** $4.1 ** $5.1  $9.2 

Personal Services    4.1  5.1  9.2 

Local Government     $0.9 $0.9 $0.9 $0.9  $3.4 

JCPC Match Funds      0.8 0.8 0.9 0.9  3.4 

* These would be one-time allocations and would not be recurring annual costs at Year 6 of implementation 
** This estimate is based on the assumption that current staff can accommodate Year 3 additions to  the system 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                 
15 Annual cost reductions to DOC related to a decrease in needed prison beds could range from $0 to $19.5 million.  
This estimate reflects an assumption that persons currently served in jails would be served in the prison space made 
available by the transfer of persons ages 16 and 17 to the juvenile system. See DOC Action Steps and 
Implementation Plan section for more information. 
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Introduction  
During its 2008 legislative session, the North Carolina General Assembly requested a report 
addressing on-going discussions about the appropriate ages of juvenile court jurisdiction in North 
Carolina. The Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission had previously presented the  
“Report on Study of Youthful Offenders Pursuant to Session Law 2006-248, Sections 34.1 and 
34.2”  to the General Assembly in March of 2007 and recommended that the maximum age of 
initial juvenile court jurisdiction be raised to 17. In Section 18.1.(a) of North Carolina Session 
Law 2008-107, the Governor’s Crime Commission (GCC) was charged with conducting a 
review of the  “legal, systematic, and organizational impact of expanding the jurisdiction of the 
Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention to include persons 16 and 17 years 
of age…”   
 
Commentators on the issue of the juvenile age in North Carolina have noted several concerns 
with transferring person 16 and 17 years of age from the adult to the juvenile system. The 
transfer would double the number of persons under the supervision of the Department of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Preventions (DJJDP). If implemented now, a change in the juvenile age 
would come amidst a number of changes in the juvenile justice system including the creation of a 
separate department in 2001 and the introduction of a new therapeutic model for secure 
placements. On the other hand, the transfer would reduce the number of persons under the 
supervision of the Department of Correction. The reduction would make prison bed space 
available that could delay the anticipated need for new prison construction as a result of 
population growth projections. 
 
The specific scope of inquiry outlined in the legislation initiating the GCC review of the impact 
of a change to juvenile court jurisdiction includes the following: 
 
(1) Identify the costs to the State court system and State and local law enforcement. 
(2) Review the relevant State laws that should be conformed or amended, including, but not 
 limited to, the motor vehicle and criminal laws, the laws regarding expunction of criminal 
 records, and other juvenile laws. 
(3) Review the experience of any other states that have expanded the juvenile justice 
 jurisdiction to 16- and 17-year-olds in recent years. 
(4) Identify the practical issues for DJJDP to implement best practices for programs and 
 facilities that would meet the unique needs of the older youth under the proposal without 
 adversely affecting the existing departmental programming. 
(5) Review the relevant State laws on sharing of juvenile information with other State 
 departments and agencies. 
(6) Create a specific plan of the actions that are necessary to implement the expansion of the 
 jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. 
(7) Determine the total cost of expanding the jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile 
 Justice and Delinquency Prevention. 
(8) Conduct a cost benefit analysis of expanding the jurisdiction of the Department of 
 Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention with specific information on possible future 
 fiscal savings anywhere within State government as a result of expenditures necessary to 
 implement the expansion. 
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(9) Determine whether federal or other funds are available to aid in the transition and 
 expansion, or both, of the age of juvenile jurisdiction to 16- and 17-year-olds. 
 
GCC solicited proposals from qualified companies to perform the following scope of work: 
 

 Analysis of Total Cost – The estimated cost (a) to the State court system, (b) state and 
local law enforcement and (c) the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 
Prevention to operate a juvenile justice system that would be expanded and revised to 
include juveniles aged 16 and 17. The analysis should include the estimated savings to 
these agencies and the Department of Correction in prisons, community corrections, and 
other services to these youthful offenders. The analysis should include an alternative cost 
analysis that assumes only juveniles aged 16 would be included in the juvenile justice 
system. 

 
 Cost/Benefit Analysis – A comparison of long term cost and benefits of raising the 

juvenile age. This includes identifying the cost of serving these youth in the adult system 
compared to the juvenile system to determine a net current cost of raising the juvenile age 
to 16 and 17. Interagency funding transfers should be noted. The analysis should include 
future benefits such as reduced recidivism for juveniles aged 16 and 17 if handled in the 
juvenile system and any other benefits of evidence-based programs for juveniles. This 
analysis should clearly set out current studies on which such forecasts are based including 
the source and methodology. 

 
 Issue and Service Analysis – Identification of the issues to be addressed to provide 

effective services and programs to 16 and 17 year olds in the juvenile system. This 
includes identifying the population to be served, analyzing current service quality and 
service gaps, and recommending changes in services and programs. Recommendations 
should focus on the use of evidence-based programs as evaluated in the national juvenile 
literature and by other states. 

 
 Action and Implementation Plans – An outline of the short and long term plans for 

implementing changes needed to prepare the State for raising the juvenile age. This 
includes action plans, key steps, and schedules for the courts, law enforcement, juvenile 
justice and corrections and a recommended organization or committee responsible for 
refining these plans and overseeing implementation. 

 
 Legal Analysis – Analysis will be provided to the consultant regarding relevant North 

Carolina state laws that should be conformed or amended to implement expanded 
juvenile jurisdiction, including motor vehicle and criminal laws. The consultant should 
incorporate these in the report with recommendations for the sequence and timing of 
implementation. The consultant shall review any federal legal compliance issues under 
federal law. 

 
This report addresses the Analysis of Total Cost, Issue and Service Analysis and the Action and 
Implementation Plans noted in the scope of work. It provides an implementation plan necessary 
for transferring persons 16 and 17 years of age from the adult criminal justice system to the 
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juvenile system in North Carolina. The report includes a discussion of opportunities for reducing 
the cost of the juvenile justice system, operational and capital costs to State courts, State and 
local government, and State and local law enforcement, lessons learned from other states’ 
experiences with changing the age of juvenile jurisdiction, the estimated operational impact of 
implementing the change, and key action items to implement the change. A section of this report 
addresses some of the legal issues of changing the age of juvenile jurisdiction. A formal Legal 
Analysis is included under separate cover.  
 
It is important to note that the dollars and operational data presented in this report may differ 
from those presented in the Cost Benefit Analysis report; they are not intended to be the same.  
The cost estimates included in this document are estimates of annual operating budgetary 
impacts. The budgetary estimates reflect the changes that must be made to the system on an 
annual basis to serve persons 16 and 17 years of age rather than the overall cost of serving them.  
In addition, the costs in this report are estimated using population projections for the juvenile 
population and show the impact of implementing the change incrementally for the following age 
groups: younger than 16 1/2, younger than age 17, younger than age 17 ½, and younger than 18.  
The costs included in the Cost Benefit Analysis report are costs and benefits associated with a 
cohort of approximately 30,000 persons 16 and 17 years of age arrested in a given year. The 
costs associated with this cohort occur primarily in the first year persons are served but also 
include costs incurred two and three years after arrest.   
 
The report is organized as follows:  
Background: Provides an overview of the transition requirements and the timeline as set in 
House Bill 1441. It also includes a description of the stakeholders that would experience capital 
and operational effects with a change in the juvenile age and provides an overview of the results 
of the cost-benefit analysis of the budgetary impact of raising the age of juvenile jurisdiction. 
 
Cost Mitigation Strategies for Implementation: Provides descriptions of the cost mitigation 
strategies that North Carolina should consider as it moves forward with implementation of a 
change to juvenile court jurisdiction.     
 
Action Steps and Implementation Schedule Overview: Explains the assumptions used for the 
implementation plan.  It also provides a discussion of the operational costs and other resource 
adjustments of affected entities and applies them to the six-year implementation timeframe.   
 
Action Steps and Implementation Schedule: Action steps related to facility needs, human 
resources impact, capital costs, and operational costs are listed separately for each agency and for 
local government. In addition, the section outlines the short- and long-term plans for 
implementing changes needed to prepare the State for raising the juvenile age. 
 
Issues, Service Analysis, and Legal Considerations: Provides areas for consideration prior to 
changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction and a legal analysis of federal compliance 
concerns associated with changing the age of juvenile jurisdiction. 
 
Lessons from Connecticut and Illinois Implementation: Describes the policy and planning 
decisions made by other states that raised the age of juvenile jurisdiction. 
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Additional appendices include a description of financial incentives used in other states to reduce 
the use of secure confinement, annual and total budget costs of implementing a change for 
persons 16 years of age only, and implementation information from the Washington Institute for 
Public Policy.   
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Background 
This transition plan is one component of the information the General Assembly requested as a 
part of its deliberations over the proposal to change the age of juvenile court jurisdiction in North 
Carolina.  House Bill 1441, which was introduced during the 2009 legislative session, proposes 
that a change in the age for juvenile court jurisdiction take place over a six-year period in half-
year age increments. Two of the six years would be dedicated to planning and preparation, while 
years three through six would be dedicated to the transition of persons 16 and 17 years of age to 
the juvenile system. This planning document is based on the assumption that if a change to the 
age of juvenile jurisdiction is implemented, it would occur over six years in the same manner as 
outlined in House Bill 1441. The legislation implements the change in years 2010 through 2015; 
however, in case the time frame changes, this report refers to the years of implementation as 
“Year 1” through “Year 6” to ensure the continued utility of this report for decision-makers. 
If persons 16 and 17 years of age were to be served in the juvenile justice system instead of the 
adult system, the number of youth served by the juvenile system would approximately double.  
Such a significant transfer of service provision requires extensive planning. This report presents 
a framework for the transfer of service over a six-year period. In addition to summarizing the 
capital and operational changes needed, this report provides a summary of budgetary 
requirements, strategies for mitigating implementation costs, action steps for implementing a 
change, a timeline for action, and lessons learned from other states. 
 
Stakeholders for Changing the Age of Juvenile Jurisdiction 
State government agencies and local governments would be affected by the implementation of an 
increase to the maximum age of initial juvenile court jurisdiction. State entities would have the 
greatest fiscal, capital, and operational responsibilities for implementing the change. State 
agencies affected include the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention 
(DJJDP), the Department of Correction (DOC), and the Administrative Office of the Courts 
(AOC). Local governments would have additional expenditures if the change were implemented; 
local law enforcement officers’ daily operations would also be affected. 
 
DJJDP 
In fiscal year 2008, DJJDP spent $153.4 million to provide delinquency, protective, and 
prevention services to the approximately 15,000 juveniles under its supervision. Services 
provided to delinquent youth include detention, diversion programs and commitment alternatives 
(e.g., residential programs, clinical treatment, and structured day programs), secure confinement 
in Youth Development Centers (YDCs), and community supervision.  DJJDP operates 9 YDCs 
and 9 detention facilities (counties operate 3 detention facilities). In fiscal year 2008, DJJDP had 
approximately 1950 full-time equivalent positions. The positions included approximately 500 
direct care staff to supervise youth in YDCs and detention facilities and nearly 500 court 
counselors who processed court cases and provided court-ordered supervision. 
 
Department of Correction  
DOC provides secure confinement services and community supervision services to persons 
convicted in Superior and District Courts, including persons committing crimes while 16 or 17 
years of age. Secure confinement is primarily provided to these offenders in the Western Youth 
Institution, which also serves some offenders that were older than age 17 at the time of offense.  
The facility’s annual budget of $19.6 million is approximately 2 percent of DOC’s annual 



 

90 

budget. DOC operates 79 prisons with approximately 38,000 inmates; the Western facility 
capacity (785) is only 2.0 percent of the total prison population. 
 
Administrative Office of the Courts   
AOC administers the budget for entities associated with court operations. It also administers 
personal services expenditures related to court personnel such as judges, district attorneys, public 
defenders, clerks, and support staff. Offenders 16 and 17 years of age that are prosecuted for 
criminal offenses are primarily served by District Courts, and a small proportion is served in 
Superior Courts (most often those who are charged with felonies). Juvenile cases are processed 
separately in District Court.  In fiscal year 2007, the Superior Court expended approximately 
$37.1 million and the District Court expended $78.7 million to serve adult and juvenile 
offenders.   
 
District Courts and Superior Courts are served by 256 and 109 judges, respectively. Cases in 
North Carolina are prosecuted by 42 District Attorneys and 571 Assistant District Attorneys.  
Indigent offenders are served by 14 public defenders, 200 assistant public defenders, 1 juvenile 
defender, and contracted services from attorneys. Juvenile offenders are presumed indigent and 
many offenders 16 and 17 years of age are indigent. 
 
Local Government 
In North Carolina, local governments are responsible for providing office space to DJJDP court 
counselors and match funds for locally operated community programming managed by Juvenile 
Crime Prevention Councils (JCPCs). In fiscal year 2008, local governments paid $9.7 million in 
match funds to provide services to delinquent youth or to youth who were accused of a 
delinquent offense but whom were diverted away from court prosecution.  
 
Local governments also bear the cost of local law enforcement. Law enforcement officers arrest 
persons accused of committing a crime or a delinquent offense, hold juveniles until their parents 
can pick them up, and transport some juvenile offenders to juvenile detention centers or to their 
homes. 
 
Budgetary Impact of Raising the Age of Juvenile Jurisdiction 
Because the cost of serving a person in the juvenile system is 50 percent greater than it is in the 
adult system, changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction would increase state budgetary 
expenditures. If approximately 30,000 persons were moved from the adult system to the juvenile 
system, the cost of serving each person would increase from approximately $4,900 to 
approximately $7,300, which, according to the results of a multi-year cost-benefit analysis, 
would result in an additional cost to State and local government of $79.6 million. This includes 
costs incurred by DJJDP, DOC (for youth transferred to the adult system), AOC, and local 
governments, but does not include capital costs. This cost estimate assumes that a change in the 
juvenile age happens in a single year without any capital costs, investments in program 
development, or modifications to current services. Capital costs can range from $5 million for a 
30-bed detention facility to $18 million for a 96-bed YDC.  
 
To make implementation of a change to juvenile jurisdiction more feasible, several strategies 
aimed at reducing these costs are presented in the section that follows. 
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Cost Mitigation Strategies for Implementation 
This section describes opportunities for reducing the costs associated with changing the age of 
juvenile jurisdiction based on other states’ experiences. North Carolina State agencies that would 
stand to benefit from these cost mitigation strategies include the Department of Juvenile Justice 
and Delinquency Prevention (DJJDP) and the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC).   
 
The implementation plan included in this report is based on the assumption that all of the cost 
mitigation strategies would be implemented. Changes include implementing evidence-based 
practices, employing a financial incentive system to reduce secure confinement use, and 
eliminating the use of secure detention for undisciplined youth. A discussion of an additional 
strategy that could be used to reduce the burden placed on local law enforcement by a change to 
juvenile court jurisdiction is also included.  
 
Evidence-Based Practices 
The implementation of evidence-based practices that employ proven programs can help DJJDP 
achieve lower recidivism (re-offense) rates. Incorporating evidence-based practices throughout 
an organization is a combination of providing the programs that are proven to have positive 
outcomes and ensuring that youth receive only the services they need, as suggested by the results 
of needs assessments. Providing youth with services not tailored to their needs may have a 
negative effect on their future outcomes (including the potential to re-offend); providing services 
to youth who do not demonstrate sufficient need may be damaging as well. 
 
If DJJDP is able to reduce recidivism rates, the system will pay less to detain, supervise, and 
confine persons. A number of evidence-based programs for juveniles have shown a significant 
reduction in recidivism, including multi-systemic therapy, functional family therapy, and 
aggression replacement therapy. A recent study by the Washington State Institute for Public 
Policy has shown reductions in recidivism from the use of these programs of up to 38.1 percent. 
If the State were to implement the programs along with integrated case management to ensure 
that youth only receive the most appropriate services, the overall re-arrest rate could be reduced 
from 41 to 31.5 percent.   
 
If DJJDP implements evidence-based programs and reduces recidivism by 25 percent, by year 6 
of implementation the Department could save an estimated $20.4 million. As shown in Exhibit 5, 
a 25 percent reduction in recidivism (which yields about a 5 percent reduction in total arrests 
per year among juveniles) reduces the number of YDC beds needed in Year 6 by 45. 
 
Local incentives to Reduce Secure Confinement 
Other states have used financial incentive structures to reduce the number of commitments 
served in secure confinement. Implementation of a similar structure could significantly reduce 
the costs incurred by DJJDP, as YDC confinement is one of the primary cost drivers of 
implementing a change to juvenile court jurisdiction. Despite only being used as a disposition for 
about 2 percent of the juveniles, YDC commitment costs DJJDP more than any other service 
annually (32 percent of total expenditures in fiscal year 2008). YDC placement costs nearly 25 
times the amount to provide community-based services.   
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States that have had success in reducing use of secure commitment through financial incentive 
structures include Illinois, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. Additional states, such as New 
York, are also in the process of doing so. In Pennsylvania, counties bear part of the fiscal burden 
of housing youth in State institutions and the State provides a set level of reimbursement.  
Illinois supplies funds to local governments to operate or pay program providers for local 
programs for delinquent youth. Ohio allows local governments to prioritize and manage the use 
of a funding allocation each year on either community or secure facility services. (See Appendix 
A for additional information on the incentive structures). 
 
Illinois has achieved its goal of reducing confinement by 25 percent in eight pilot counties over 
the past two years through the Redeploy Illinois program. Illinois has decided to implement 
Redeploy Illinois statewide as of this year. If North Carolina achieved such a reduction, it could 
reduce the cost of serving committed youth by 4 percent—$22.2 million annually by Year 6 at a 
savings of around $100,000 per year per bed. Counties opt in to the program and agree to reduce 
the number of secure commitments by 25 percent of the average number sent in the prior 3 years.  
In turn, the State provides counties with funding to serve the population with alternative 
programs. In four pilot sites, 382 youth were diverted from secure commitment within three 
years, which saved $18.7 million in avoided construction costs.   
 
If this initiative were implemented in North Carolina and a 25 percent reduction in secure 
commitments was achieved, DJJDP could reduce annual expenditures by approximately $22.2 
million by the end of Year 6. The number of beds needed would reduce by 219—equivalent to 
more than 2 96-bed YDCs, as shown in Exhibit 5. 
 
Exhibit 5: Bedspace Impact of Cost Mitigation Strategies 
 

Initial Estimate of Bedspace Need in Year 6  876 
Persons 10-15 469 
Persons 16-17 407 
Impact of Cost Mitigation Strategies (264) 
Evidence-based programs (45) 
Local incentives (219) 
Updated Estimate of Bedspace Need in Year 6 612 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Limitations on Use of Secure Detention  
North Carolina could revise its statute to eliminate the use of secure detention for undisciplined 
persons. Currently, North Carolina holds approximately 800 undisciplined youth in secure 
detention annually. Undisciplined offenses are those that would not be considered criminal if 
they were committed by an adult. Other states, such as California, Delaware, Iowa, and 
Massachusetts, do not permit secure detention of these types of offenders. If North Carolina 
eliminated use of detention for undisciplined persons, detention entries would decrease by 10 
percent.   
 
Thirty beds would be needed to hold the 824 persons detained for undisciplined offenses.  
Operating costs for these beds is estimated at $1.8 million per year. Implementation of this 
detention limitation would allow North Carolina to serve additional youth in its current facilities 
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rather than build an additional facility. At capital costs of about $5 million to build a detention 
facility, this represents a significant savings. 
 
Modify Custody Requirements for Persons 16 and 17 Years of Age  
In North Carolina, juvenile offenders must be released after arrest either to the custody of a 
parent/guardian or to State custody in a juvenile detention center. Local law enforcement 
departments report that a significant amount of time is spent supervising juvenile offenders while 
they wait for parents to pick them up or for transportation to a detention center.  
 
Law enforcement also reported concerns with supervising juvenile offenders when legislators in 
Connecticut were debating a change to the age of juvenile jurisdiction. Current legislation in 
Connecticut proposes a “non-custody order” to allow the release of juvenile offenders on their 
own recognizance, which minimizes the number of persons needing transportation or requiring 
supervision while waiting for a parent/guardian to arrive. To ensure that offenders released on 
non-custody make their court dates, Connecticut legislation proposes that an additional 
delinquent charge be created for persons released on non-custody that miss their court date.  
Although this policy option does not affect the State budget, North Carolina decision-makers 
should consider it because it reduces the workload of local law enforcement.  
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Overview of Action Steps and Implementation 
Proposed legislation (House Bill 1441) would implement a change to the age of juvenile 
jurisdiction over a period of four years, in half-year age increments after a two-year planning 
period.  Both state and local government would be affected. During these six years, operational 
infrastructure and fund sources would need to be developed. Capital costs and expenditure 
requirements would also need to be defined and planned. This section describes assumptions, 
cost estimates, and resource adjustments that would be needed to implement a change to the age 
of juvenile jurisdiction.  
 
The sections that follow include a discussion of the facility impacts and operation costs required 
for each entity implementing a change to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction. In addition, there 
are action steps and an implementation schedule for each entity. 
 
Assumptions 
The implementation plan is based on the following assumptions: 

 DJJDP implements evidence-based practices and all cost mitigation strategies. 
 6-year implementation in half-year age increments (less than 16 ½, 17, 17 ½, 18). 
 The youth to direct care staff ratio at YDCs is 4 to 1, consistent with the therapeutic 

model. 
 YDC facilities built would be the 96-bed model (used for Cabarrus YDC) where possible.  
 Workspace required for court counselors is 80 square feet per counselor. 
 Facility beds would be provided by building new facilities and not retrofitting old ones.    
 Western Youth Institution remains under DOC operation. 
 

These assumptions have been used to calculate the operational cost and impact. 
 
Impact of Implementation 
A change to the age of juvenile jurisdiction would affect the annual operational costs for DJJDP, 
DOC, AOC, and local governments, as it represents a transfer of approximately 30,000 persons 
from the adult system by Year 6. As shown in Exhibit 6, the transfer is incremental with discrete 
age groups entering the juvenile system each year over four fiscal years. The change would result 
in additional facility and human resources needs, and capital and operational cost increases. 
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Exhibit 6: Entries into the Juvenile System by Fiscal Year 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
By Year 6 of implementation, DJJDP would require an additional $85.4 million for personal 
services, facility operations, and aid and public assistance, as shown in Exhibit 7. DJJDP would 
also incur program development costs in Year 1 through Year 3 totaling $0.8 million. These 
would be one-time costs. DOC would experience a reduction in costs totaling $5.3 million by Year 
6 of implementation owing to a reduction in its prison population and a reduction in need for 
probation officers. AOC would require an additional $9.2 million for personal services by Year 6 
of implementation. Local governments would require an additional $3.4 million by Year 6 of 
implementation for JCPC matching funds. (See Appendix B for the annual and total budget costs 
of implementing the change for persons 16 years of age only). 
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Exhibit 7: Incremental Budget Adjustments needed to Accommodate Operational Budget,  
  by Year  
 

  Yearly Budget Adjustment (in Millions) 

Budget Category  Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 

Total Budget 
Adjustment by 

Year 6 

DJJDP $1.0  $1.3 $20.9 $20.6 $23.6 $22.5  $85.4 

Personal Services   14.3 16.6 18.7 17.5  67.5 
    Court Counselors   6.8 7.0 8.9 9.1  31.8 

YDC    5.9 8.0 7.7 6.3  27.9 

Detention   1.6 1.6 2.1 2.1  7.4 
Training Staff  0.4     0.4 

Facility Operations     0.8 0.7 0.7 0.7  2.9 
     YDC   0.6 0.6 0.6 0.5  2.3 
     Detention   0.1 0.1 0.2 0.2  0.6 
Program Development *0.2 *0.3 *0.3  *0.8 
Aid and Public Assistance   3.2 3.3 4.2 4.3  15.0 
     JCPC Allocations   3.2 3.3 4.2 4.3  15.0 

DOC     ($1.2) ($1.2) ($1.5) ($1.5) ($5.3) 
Personal Services   (0.5) (0.5) (0.7) (0.7) (2.4) 
Facility Operations     (0.7) (0.7) (0.8) (0.8) (2.9) 16 

AOC     ** $4.1 ** $5.1  $9.2 

Personal Services    4.1  5.1  9.2 

Local Government     $0.9 $0.9 $0.9 $0.9  $3.4 

JCPC Match Funds      0.8 0.8 0.9 0.9  3.4 

* These would be one-time allocations and would not be recurring annual costs at Year 6 of implementation 
** This estimate is based on the assumption that current staff can accommodate Year 3 additions to  the system 

Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 

 

Statewide Action Plan 
Statewide policy and oversight of a change to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction is ultimately 
the responsibility of the General Assembly. The General Assembly has two primary tasks related 
to raising the juvenile age: 
 

 Creating an Implementation Council to oversee and coordinate the change 
 Considering and voting on matters affecting long-term secure bed needs for the State 

 
Step 1: Create Implementation Council 
The proposed change requires the participation of the legislative, executive, and judicial 
branches. To oversee the implementation of the change, the General Assembly should create an 
Implementation Council composed of representatives from among the following: 

                                                 
16 Annual cost reductions to DOC related to a decrease in needed prison beds could range from $0 to $19.5 million.  
This estimate reflects an assumption that persons currently served in jails would be served in the prison space made 
available by the transfer of persons ages 16 and 17 to the juvenile system.  See DOC Action Steps and 
Implementation Plan section for more information. 
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• DJJDP 
• DJJDP Court Services 
• DJJDP Community Programs  
• DJJDP Property and Construction 
• Department of Health and Human Services 
• DOC 
• DOC Division of Prisons 
• Administrative Office of the Courts 
• Department of Crime Control and Public Safety 
• District Court 
• Superior Court 
• District Attorneys 
• Local law enforcement 
• Department of Public Instruction 
• Governor’s Crime Commission 
• Senate, House of Representatives 
• Juvenile justice advocacy groups 
• Juvenile program service providers 
• Sentencing and Policy Advisory Committee 
• Juvenile Defender’s office (Indigent Defense Services) 
 
The purpose of this group is to oversee and coordinate the implementation of the change across 
all three branches of government. The General Assembly should require that this group report to 
it on a regular basis to provide updates to legislators and the public on the status of the 
implementation plans for changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction. 
 
Step 2: Launch state-wide collaborative effort to change the incentive structure  
Assuming that the State decides to consider giving local governments an incentive to serve youth 
in local community-based programs, the Implementation Council would need to launch a 
statewide effort to gather input and ideas. Because a change to the incentive structure for local 
governments would have a broad and lasting impact, the Council should create a formal process 
for gathering input from across the State. The process would provide input to the ultimate 
legislative proposal to create the incentives.   
 
Step 3: Launch first four pilot sites 
Working through DJJDP, the Implementation Council would solicit proposals from counties or 
judicial districts that want to participate in the pilot phase for the new incentives program.  
DJJDP would select the four sites and begin implementation on a limited basis. A pilot site could 
consist of one or more counties. At the end of the first year, the Council would receive a report 
from DJJDP on the performance of the pilot sites and would consider modifications to the 
program accordingly. 
 
Step 4: Launch second four pilot sites 
In Year 3 the Implementation Council would solicit another four sites. At the end of the second 
pilot period, DJJDP would prepare and present a report to the Council on the performance of the 
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second set of pilot sites and the results of any modifications made to the program after the first 
pilot. 
 
Step 5: Roll out new incentive structure across the State 
After two years of launching and evaluating two sets of four pilot sites, the Implementation 
Council would roll out the new incentive structure across the State. 
 
Step 6: Consider/vote on additional policies related to changing the age of juvenile jurisdiction 
Prior to developing a 6-10 year capital plan, the General Assembly should consider legislation 
that can reduce the number of secure beds needed for detention and commitment. Among the 
legislative changes that should be considered in the first year of implementation is one that 
encourages local governments to serve youthful offenders in their local communities rather than 
sending them to the State for secure confinement. This implementing legislation would also set 
up the pilots suggested in Steps 3 and 4 above. 
 
The General Assembly may generate suggested changes on its own, but other suggestions can be 
prepared and submitted by DJJDP based on its ongoing efforts to reduce costs and improve 
service. One of the legislative proposals to be considered would come from the process outlined 
in Steps 2 through 5 above. 
In addition to legislation that will have an impact on capital construction decisions, the General 
Assembly should address relevant North Carolina laws that should be conformed or amended to 
implement a change to the age of juvenile jurisdiction. These include the issues raised in the 
legal analysis provided by Professor Janet Mason of the University of North Carolina School of 
Government. 
 
Exhibit 8: Statewide Implementation Schedule 
 

Action Item

1   Implementation Council

2   Collaborative Effort

3   1st Pilot Sites

4   2nd Pilot Sites

5   Statewide Rollout

6   Consider/Vote Policy

Fiscal Year of Implementation

Year 1 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6Year 2 Year 3
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DJJDP Action Steps and Implementation Plan 
With a change to the juvenile age, the most significant annual budget increase for DJJDP would 
be associated with staffing YDC and detention facilities. DJJDP would also incur capital costs to 
create additional bed space for YDC and detention placements. Court counselors would be 
needed in increasing numbers each year to process cases and supervise youth. Unlike other 
agencies, DJJDP would also have program development costs associated with implementing the 
change. Specifically, these program development costs would be needed to implement evidence-
based practices and financial incentives for reducing the use of secure commitment. 
 
Facility Impact 
DJJDP would need facility space for secure commitment in YDCs as well as detention placement 
to handle several hundred persons 16 and 17 years of age who are now supervised by the 
Department of Correction. The Department’s expected needs for beds and new facilities are 
discussed below. 
 
Youth Development Centers 
The implementation of cost mitigation strategies would result in a need for 612 beds total for the 
juvenile system by Year 6. DJJDP would need 306 YDC beds to accommodate the estimated 444 
persons 16 and 17 years of age requiring secured placement by Year 6 of implementation.  Only 
80 of these beds, however, are new construction. The remaining 226 beds can be provided in 
existing facilities. As a result of fully staffing the new facilities that are currently operating under 
capacity17 and implementing cost mitigation strategies, beds in current facilities could be made 
available to additional youth.   
 
Exhibit 9: Bed Space Needed for New Population, by Year  

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
To serve the new population in Year 3, 88 YDC beds would be needed. As shown in Exhibit 9, 
the number of beds needed in subsequent years would decrease owing to the implementation of 
initiatives to reduce the use of YDCs for committed youth. By Year 6, the transfer of persons 16 
and 17 years of age to DJJDP would create a need for 306 beds, some of which would be 
provided in new facilities but most of which would be provided through existing facilities.   
 
Assuming continued use of DJJDP’s current therapeutic model, one new 96-bed facility would 
be needed to accommodate the increased population by Year 6. This facility would have 16 more 
beds than the State needs; however, the therapeutic model would allow for a wing of the facility 
to be closed and unstaffed until it is needed.18 As shown in Exhibit 10, the facility would not be 

                                                 
17 Cabarrus, Edgecombe, and Lenoir YDCs. 
18 The assumption is that, due to population growth, these beds would be needed.  

Resource Needed Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 Total by Year 6 

YDC beds 88 80 79 59 306 

New Persons served 127 117 115 85 444 

Detention Center beds 28 29 36 37 130 

New Persons Served  781 799 1,019 1,043 3,641 
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needed until Year 4 of implementation, and it would not be fully occupied during the first three 
years that it is in operation. See Exhibit 10 for more details about the total number of beds 
needed to serve delinquent youth in Year 3 through Year 6. 
 
Exhibit 10: Total YDC Beds Needed, by Year 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Detention Centers 
DJJDP would also need to provide additional bed space for juvenile detention. DJJDP would 
need 130 detention beds to accommodate 3,641 additional youth detained by Year 6 of 
implementation. Three new facilities would be needed to accommodate 104 of the 130 beds: one 
32-bed19 and two 36-bed facilities. The remaining 26 beds can be accommodated in current 
DJJDP detention facilities, assuming implementation of the cost mitigation strategy to limit the 
use of secure detention. As shown in Exhibit 11, the new detention facilities would be needed in 
Years 4 through 6. A total of 376 (new and existing) detention beds would be required to serve 
the entire juvenile population by Year 6.   
 
To fulfill the need for additional detention beds, North Carolina can either place persons 16 and 
17 years of age in juvenile detention facilities, which would require building or retrofitting 
existing facilities, or continue to detain persons 16 and 17 years of age in local jails. The facility 
needs have been calculated with the assumption that persons 16 and 17 years of age would be 
served in juvenile detention facilities. Given the relatively high cost of retrofitting, new facilities 
would need to be created. If DJJDP builds the new facilities in areas that lack a detention facility, 
it may be able to reduce state and local costs of transporting youth to and from detention. 

                                                 
19 DJJDP’s largest detention facility has 30 beds; however, it would have to build at least four facilities at this size. 

Facility Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6

C.A. Dillon 125 125 125 125 125 125

Cabarrus 24 24 80 96 96 96

Chatham 32 32 32 32 32 32

Dobbs 69 69 69 69 69 69

Edgecombe 16 16 32 32 32 32

Lenoir 16 16 32 32 32 32

Samarkand 32 32 32 32 32 32

Stonewall Jackson 71 71 71 71 71 71

Swannanoa 48 48 48 48 48 48

New Facility 1  16* 56*  80*

Total Beds Needed 428 428 517 553 593 612

 Current Beds 

New Beds

433

 

433

 

524

 

537

16

436

56

436

176
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Exhibit 11: Total Juvenile Detention Beds Needed, by Year 
 

 
* No beds are needed in Year 3 because 30 current beds become free as a result of a policy change to exclude 
undisciplined persons from secure detention eligibility 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Capital Costs 
As shown in Exhibit 12, DJJDP would need to build one new YDC or detention center each year 
in Years 2 through 4. The facilities would cost a total of approximately $33 million.  Recent 
DJJDP facility construction reflects a time frame of one year and six months to one year and 
eight months to build and populate a facility. As a result, DJJDP should start building facilities 
approximately two years before it plans to use them.   
 
DJJDP would need to build one 96-bed YDC to accommodate the additional youth and address 
bed needs.  The Department should begin construction in Year 2, as the facility would be needed 
to accommodate youth in Year 4. As shown in Exhibit 12, the YDC is projected to cost 
approximately $18 million. According to the North Carolina 2007-2012 capital improvement 
plan, $22.2 million in general obligation bonds are available for new construction in fiscal year 
2010. Although DJJDP has planned for this funding, it is not currently building any facilities 

Facility Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6

Alexander 24 24 24 24 24 24

Buncombe 14 14 14 14 14 14

Cumberland 18 18 18 18 18 18

Durham 14 14 14 14 14 14

Forsyth 16 16 16 16 16 16

Gaston 24 24 24 24 24 24

Guilford 48 48 48 48 48 48

New Hanover 18 18 18 18 18 18

Perquimans 24 24 24 24 24 24

Pitt 18 18 18 18 18 18

Richmond 30 30 30 30 30 30

Wake 24 24 24 24 24 24

New Facility 1 * 32 32 32

New Facility 2 36 36

New Facility 3 36

Total Beds 272 272 272 304 340 376
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(though some are planned) and should re-evaluate its plans for funding based on implementation 
needs for the juvenile age change. 
 
In addition, DJJDP would need three new detention facilities to be built in Years 2 through 4.  
The detention facilities would be needed to serve youth in Years 4 through 6 (one per year).  
Currently, the State’s capital improvement plan does not account for any funding for new 
detention facilities. The 32- or 36-bed facilities would cost approximately $5 million each—a 
total of approximately $15 million.  
 
Exhibit 12: Capital Costs by Construction Year, Facility Needs by Year Open 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Operational Impact 
In Year 3, DJJDP would need an additional $18.5 million to serve the new population added to 
the juvenile system. As shown in Exhibit 13, the Department would spend at least an additional 
$20 million in each year thereafter. Ultimately in Year 6, the annual budget would require the 
expenditure of $85.4 million additional dollars. These costs are described in further detail in the 
subsections that follow. 
 
Exhibit 13: DJJDP Budget Increases by Year of Implementation 
 

                                                  Budget Adjustment in Millions 

Budget Category  Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 

Total Budget 
Adjustment by 

Year 6 
Total  $0.2   $0.6 $18.5 $20.6 $23.6 $22.5  $85.4  
Personal Services   14.3 16.6 18.7 17.5  67.5  
    Court Counselors   6.8 7.0 8.9 9.1  31.8  
   YDC    5.9 8.0 7.7 6.3  28.0  
   Detention   1.6 1.6 2.1 2.1  7.4  
   Basic Training Staff  0.3     0.3  
Facility Operations     0.8 0.7 0.7 0.7  2.9  
    YDC   0.6 0.6 0.6 0.5  2.3  
   Detention   0.1 0.1 0.2 0.2  0.6  
Program Development *0.2 *0.3 *0.3    *  
Aid and Public Assistance   3.2 3.3 4.2 4.3  15.0  
    JCPC Allocations   3.2 3.3 4.2 4.3  15.0  

     
  * These would be one-time allocations and would not be recurring annual costs at Year 6 of implementation 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
Personal Services  

Facility Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6

New YDC 1 Open 

New Detention 1 Open

New Detention 2 Open

New Detention 3 Open

Total Capital Cost  $23M $5M $5M

 $18M

 $5M

  $5M

  $5M



 

103 

Additional DJJDP staff needed to implement a change in juvenile court jurisdiction include court 
counselors, YDC and detention facility staff (primarily direct care staff), and training staff. This 
subsection explains DJJDP’s staffing needs resulting from a change to the age of juvenile court 
jurisdiction as well as the related recruitment and training needs. 
 
Court Counselors 
To accommodate the transfer of approximately 30,000 arrested persons to the juvenile system by 
Year 6, DJJDP would need 557 court counselors, in addition to the 482 currently employed, to 
process cases through juvenile court and provide community supervision. Most court counselors 
handle intake and supervision; therefore, these staff duties have not been allocated separately.  
This estimate is based on the assumption that the current staffing rate remains constant. The staff 
would need to be hired over the course of implementation to accommodate the increasing 
number of persons served in the juvenile system. DJJDP would need to hire between 100 and 
160 court counselors each year to reach the additional 557 staff required. As shown in Exhibit 
14, DJJDP would need to hire 119 counselors in Year 3 and 160 in Year 6. 
 
Exhibit 14: Court Counselor New Hires Exhibit 14: Court Counselor New Hires  

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Facility Staffing 
DJJDP would need to hire 225 direct care staff for YDCs and detention facilities. Each detention 
facility would need to be staffed fully in the year that it is first used. Based on current detention 
facility staffing levels, 32-bed facilities would require 27 direct care staff and 36-bed facilities 
would require 30, totaling 8720. Each facility would also need to be fully staffed with 
administrative staff, nursing staff, and additional support staff upon opening. 
 
Each 96-bed YDC requires 194 total staff.  Some of these employees, such as administrators and 
cooks must be employed regardless of the number of youth housed at the facility. However, the 
new YDC model has separate wings that can be operated and staffed separately. Each 16-bed 
wing has two teachers, one treatment specialist (social worker), one mental health staff person, 
and four direct care staff. These staff can be hired incrementally over the implementation period 
based on the number of beds that would be needed. This incremental staffing is shown in detail 
in Exhibit 15 for the currently-operating YDCs that would need to increase staffing to 
accommodate additional youth as well as the new YDC that would need to be built.21 By Year 6, 
138 total YDC direct care staff would have been hired.  
 

                                                 
20 This is based on the estimation that DJJDP would need to build two 36-bed and one 32-bed detention facilities. 
21 Some staff would be hired prior to Year 3 to serve the current juvenile population, due to bed needs resulting from 
population growth. These are excluded from our estimates, as they are not related to serving persons ages 16 and 17. 

  Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 Total Year 6 
Court Counselors Needed 119 122 156 160 557 
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Exhibit 15: YDC Staff Needed by Year- Direct Care, Treatment Staff, Educators 
 

 
* Facility staff would need to be hired at least a month prior to facility bed space opening for youth to accommodate 
DJJDP’s training program. 
**This facility is not operating at full capacity of 96 beds. 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Recruiting 
Court counselors, court staff, and YDC/detention facility direct care staff can be hired over the 
course of the six years of the implementation. DJJDP should allow for at least 4 to 5 months to 
recruit staff and complete the hiring process. According to DJJDP guidelines, applicants should 
allow a three-month time frame for review of their qualifications. However, YDC facility staff 
report that it can take up to 6 months to fill a vacant position.   
 
DJJDP reports it has a difficult time retaining juvenile court counselors due to low pay, high 
workloads, lack of training, and safety concerns. If recruiting continues to be a problem, it would 
become even more significant with an increased volume of staff needed. In addition, because 
some YDC staff report delays in the hiring process (up to 6 months) DJJDP may want to review 
its past hiring time frames, and if needed, look into streamlining its human resources processes 
prior to implementation.    
 
Training 
The training programs for the 557 new court counselors and 225 new direct care facility staff at 
YDCs and detention centers are intensive. Because these programs would have to serve a large 
group of new staff, the programs would need to be doubled, resulting in additional short-term 
staffing costs.   
 
Both court counselors and direct care facility staff must complete a total of four (non-
consecutive) weeks of basic training that allows them to become certified for their positions. All 
four weeks of training must be completed within the first year of employment. Training courses 
take place at the North Carolina Justice Academy and are provided by DJJDP trainers.  
Currently, DJJDP employs 8 full-time, certified general trainers who conduct the basic trainings.  
In addition, 96 adjunct trainers hold full-time positions at DJJDP and lead other training sessions 
as needed. DJJDP does not currently pay the Justice Academy to use its facilities.   

Facility Year 3* Year 4 Year 5 Year 6

Cabarrus YDC 56 16

Edgecombe 16

Lenoir 16

New Facility 1     16**     56**     80**

Total New Beds/Newly Staffed Beds 88 32 40 40

Direct Care Staff New Hires 61 22 28 28

Teacher New Hires 11 8 9 9

Mental Health, Treatment Specialist New Hires 12 8 10 10
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DJJDP holds six four-week cycles of basic training for juvenile justice officers each year. Each 
of these training cycles can accommodate up to 25 direct care workers; approximately 150 direct 
care workers would be trained each year. Based on this information, 10 additional basic training 
courses would be needed in Year 3 through Year 6. See Exhibit 16 for the estimated number of 
staff to be trained and additional training courses needed over the course of the implementation. 
 
Exhibit 16: Direct Care Staff New Hires and Training Courses by Year 
 

Implementation 
Year 

Number of New 
Direct Care Hires 

Additional Basic 
Training Courses 

Year 3 81 4 

Year 4 42 2 

Year 5 51 2* 

Year 6 52 2* 

 
* DJJDP would accommodate the extra 1-2 persons requiring training in these years rather than open a new course 
for such a small number of persons 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
There are fewer court counselor training cycles because the position of court counselor 
experiences lower turnover than does the facility direct care position. DJJDP holds three four-
week cycles of basic training for court counselors each year. Each of these training cycles can 
accommodate up to 25 court counselors. DJJDP trains approximately 75 court counselors each 
year. Based on this information, 24 additional basic training courses would be needed for court 
counselors in Year 3 through Year 6. See Exhibit 17 for the expected number of new court 
counselors in Year 3 through Year 6 and the estimated number of additional training courses that 
would be required each year. 
 
DJJDP currently offers nine cycles of basic training each year-- six for direct care staff and three 
for court counselors. The number of needed training cycles would approximately double during 
Year 3 through Year 6. It is reasonable to assume that DJJDP would have to double the number 
of full-time trainers for these years as well, which means that DJJDP would need to hire an 
additional 8 trainers by the end of Year 2.   
 
Exhibit 17: Court Counselor New Hires and Training Courses by Year 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Summary of Personal Services Costs 
By Year 6, DJJDP would have an additional personal services budgetary need of $67.5 million. 
The most significant annual budget item for DJJDP would be personal services costs associated 

Implementation 
Year 

Number of New 
Court Counselor Hires 

Additional Basic 
Training Courses 

Year 3 119 5 
Year 4 122 5 
Year 5 156 7 
Year 6 160 7 



 

106 

with staffing YDC and detention facilities, which would total approximately $35.3 million by 
Year 6. Most of the cost to serve youth in YDCs relates to the cost of staffing the facilities; only 
seven percent of the cost is attributed to operational costs.   
 
Other personal services costs include court counselors and staff who provide training to newly-
hired direct care employees and court counselors. The additional 557 court counselors needed by 
Year 6 would result in an additional annual expenditure of $57,000 in salary and benefits per 
counselor, totaling $31.8 million. To train the additional court counselors and direct care staff, 
DJJDP would have to hire 8 additional trainers at a cost of approximately $45,000 in salary and 
benefits per trainer. The total training staff cost of $358,000 would be incurred during Year 2.  
 
In addition, staff salaries for the first year of employment also include payments for time spent 
receiving training. These would be the majority of the costs incurred for training new staff, 
although additional materials and costs may be needed. The salary and benefits paid to new hires 
during training would be approximately $6,143 per court counselor and $3,802 per direct care 
staff. By the end of Year 6, this would cost DJJDP a total of approximately $4.3 million- $3.4 
million for court counselors and $900,000 for direct care staff. 
 
Facility Operations 
The total anticipated facility operational costs for DJJDP by the end of Year 6 of implementation 
would be $2.9 million. YDC operation accounts for $2.3 million of the total costs and detention 
facility operation accounts for $0.6 million. These costs are based on the current ratio of 
operational costs to total facility costs. Total facility costs also include personal services 
expenditures for direct care staff. 
 
Program Development 
Implementation of evidence-based practices and cost mitigation strategies require additional 
planning and development expenditures. In Year 1, DJJDP would incur $0.2 million and by Year 
6 the Department would have spent a total of $0.8 million. The development costs do not recur 
after Year 3. DJJDP should attempt to target grant funding to cover these costs. See the Issues, 
Service Analysis, and Legal Considerations section for more information about potential funding 
resources. 
 
Aid and Public Assistance 
DJJDP would continue to be responsible for allocating dollars to Juvenile Crime Prevention 
Councils (JCPCs), which oversee and distribute funding to local organizations that provide 
community-based programs to court-ordered youth (they also provide prevention programming).  
DJJDP pays, on average, $1050 per diverted or delinquent youth served in JCPC programs. In 
Year 3, DJJDP would spend an additional $3.2 million to provide its State allocation to JCPCs 
for services provided to approximately 1,150 diverted youth and 1,900 delinquent youth, 
assuming current funding levels. By the end of Year 6, annual allocations would increase by 
$15.0 million for services provided to approximately 5,400 diverted youth and 8,800 delinquent 
youth. It should be noted that, as a result of implementing financial incentives, the use of 
community supervision would increase by 25 percent, similar to the 25 percent reduction in use 
of secure confinement. 
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Additional dollars may need to be allocated to JCPCs to allow for provision of evidence-based 
services. However, this would not be a significant cost. Currently, the average cost of JCPC 
services per youth is $2,437, compared to an estimated average cost of evidence-based services 
of $2,615. Some evidence-based programs, such as multi-systemic therapy are more expensive 
per youth than the JCPC average ($4,600 compared to $2,400); other programs, such as 
Aggression Replacement Therapy, are less expensive ($897). Functional Family Therapy, 
another evidence-based program, is similar in cost to the average cost of JCPC services ($2,300 
compared to $2,400). Because it is unclear how frequently each of these programs would be 
used, an estimation of the additional cost that would be incurred is not included. However, if 
DJJDP projects the extent to which evidence-based programs would be used, it can determine if 
additional funding is needed. 
 
Exhibit 18: Evidence-based Program Cost per Youth 
 

Program Cost per Youth 
Multi-Systemic Therapy $4,624 
Average JCPC Cost  $2,437 
Functional Family Therapy $2,325 
Aggression Replacement Therapy    $897 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
Implementation Schedule 
Changing the age of juvenile court jurisdiction would have the greatest impact on DJJDP. Once 
fully implemented, the change would result in twice as many persons requiring Department 
supervision as there are now. DJJDP would have to make changes to its capital plans, to its 
operational plans, and to its programming. To set the context for these changes, DJJDP would 
need to develop and implement administrative policies and prepare proposals for legislative 
policy changes. The key steps for DJJDP include the following: 
 
Step 1: Develop new policies and procedures 
The first two years of the implementation schedule offer an opportunity to make changes to 
administrative and legislative policy that would affect the facility needs resulting from a change 
to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction. DJJDP should concentrate its initial efforts on 
developing proposed legislative changes in preparation for the 2010 legislative session. The 
Department should also develop and begin preparing administrative policies in preparation for 
the change. 
 
The cost mitigation strategies described in this report are among the legislative policy changes 
that need to be developed and submitted to the legislature. Policy changes that should require 
legislation include the following: 
 

 Incentives to reduce secure commitment: implementation of financial incentives to serve 
juveniles in local community-based programs, rather than in State-operated secure beds. 

 Eligibility for detention: definition of types of offenders who may not be placed in secure 
detention.   
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 Eligibility for juvenile jurisdiction: creation of additional offenses (such as violent 
offenses or serious felony offenses) for mandatory transfer to adult jurisdiction and/or 
limitation of types of offenses that could be referred by school resource officers in a 
petition (such as limiting petitions for low-level misdemeanors). 

 
In addition, DJJDP may want to revisit and modify the process and procedures for selecting and 
evaluating JCPC-funded service providers to ensure that the providers are qualified to provide 
evidence-based programs and to ensure that the fidelity of the programs is maintained.  
 
Step 2:  Develop a new long-term capital plan 
DJJDP should develop a new capital plan that reflects the anticipated number of secure beds for 
placement and detention that would be needed upon implementation of the change in the age of 
juvenile court jurisdiction. This revised capital plan should reflect any new policy initiatives that 
affect the number of secure beds required for commitment or detention of juveniles. 
 
Step 3: Develop operational plan 
The Department should prepare a detailed operational plan based on the timing for new facilities 
coming online and old facilities being closed. The plan would address the organizational 
structure for the new facilities, the number of personnel needed, and any additional supporting 
technology, training, or administrative infrastructure needed. Personnel, supplies, materials, 
equipment, and contract vehicles that would be needed for each of the facilities to be operational 
should also be included. 
 
Step 4: Construct facilities 
Beginning in Year 2, DJJDP would construct the facilities according to the capital plan and 
available budgetary resources. 
 
Step 5: Execute operational plan 
DJJDP would need to recruit, hire, and train staff to provide court intake, community 
supervision, and service delivery at the new YDCs and detention facilities. Human resources 
staff would need to increase in Year 2 to handle the increased hiring workload. 
 
Step 6: Develop new evidence-based programming for all persons under DJJDP supervision 
Many evidence-based programs and providers are available. DJJDP should begin soliciting 
evidence-based programs for the youth in its care. The Department should also work with local 
Juvenile Crime Prevention Councils (JCPCs) to find program providers and solicit their 
participation. 
 
Step 7: Establish quality assurance processes 
DJJDP should develop processes to ensure that program fidelity is maintained for evidence-
based programs. According to guidance provided by the Washington Institute of Public Policy 
(WSIPP) in a report on “Recommended Quality Control Standards,” the following are standards 
that should be adhered to when implementing evidence-based programs: 
 

 Involvement of statewide and regional program specialists who ensure adherence to 
program principles and competence of service delivery by visiting program sites, 
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consulting with staff, developing a quality control manual, conducting annual site 
reviews, and assessing provider staff.  

 Holding workshops to review and clarify program best practices with service providers. 
 Annual assessments of service providers and program environments. Classifying service 

providers as (a) highly competent, (b) competent, or (c) not competent, notifying service 
providers of their status, and reviewing classification results with management.  
Classifying program environments as (a) highly adequate, (b) adequate, or (c) not 
adequate. Biennial validation of the assessments via an oversight committee. 

 Corrective action should be taken by program specialists when delivery is not competent. 
 
WSIPP also notes the importance of discontinuing funding when corrective actions do not result 
in compliance with quality assurance standards. See Appendix C for additional information about 
WSIPP’s recommended standards. 
 
Step 8: Deploy evidence-based programs 
DJJDP should begin to deploy evidence-based programming in locations across the State where 
providers are available. The process should begin in Year 2 but should continue throughout 
Years 2 through 6, as evidence-based program implementation is a continuous process that 
involves implementation, evaluation, and modification to ensure program fidelity and 
achievement of expected outcomes. In addition, the deployment should occur incrementally, with 
different types of evidence-based programs being implemented each year rather than all at one 
time. This would allow DJJDP to focus on each program’s implementation, which would better 
ensure the program’s success. WSIPP also has set standards for measuring the outcomes of new 
programs, which are further described in Appendix D.  
 
Step 9: Develop new programming for persons 16 and 17 years of age 
With the introduction of persons 16 and 17 years of age to DJJDP, the Department would have to 
make changes to its programming. DJJDP would need to convene key people in its organization 
and the provider community to develop the guidelines for specific programs in the areas of GED 
attainment, vocational education, life skills, and parenting skills. The process of developing these 
programs should include a method for measuring program effectiveness once the programs are 
deployed, so that DJJDP can use the results to make future modifications.  
 
Step 10: Deploy new programs for persons 16 and 17 years of age 
The new programs should be deployed for the new entrants to the system.  
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Exhibit 19: DJJDP Implementation Schedule  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Action Item
1     Policies and Procedures 
2     Long-Term Capital Plan 
3     Operational Plan 
4     Construct Facilities
5     Execute Operational Plan 
6     Dev. Evidence-Based Prog.
7     Quality Assurance 
8     Deploy Evidence-Based Prog.
9     Dev. Programs for Ages 16/17 

10   Deploy Programs for Ages 16/17

Fiscal Year of Implementation 

Year 1 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6Year 2 Year 3
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Department of Correction Action Steps and Implementation Plan 
A change in juvenile court jurisdiction would reduce the size of the population served by the 
Department of Correction (DOC) and would reduce its budgetary costs. The cost reduction is, for 
the most part, due to the decrease in the Department’s prison population. 
 
Facility Impact 
Implementation of a change in juvenile court jurisdiction would affect the need for jail and 
prison space. DOC may gain additional bed space; it would not incur any additional capital costs. 
 
Jails 
If the age of juvenile jurisdiction were changed, additional beds would become available in local 
jails. As a result, jails that are currently overcrowded could find themselves with an adequate 
number of cells after the change; counties with current plans to build new jail space may also be 
able to postpone or cancel those plans. The increase in available bed space would not 
significantly reduce the costs incurred by local governments for operating jails, however. Most 
of the facility operating costs are not related to the number of beds occupied; therefore, the costs 
would remain nearly the same. Jails would accrue minimal cost savings due to a reduction in 
need for food and supplies. 
 
Prison Beds 
A change in juvenile court jurisdiction would result in a reduction of an estimated 457 beds used 
in DOC prisons.22 Because these beds compose only 2.0 percent of DOC’s total prison space, 
this would have a small impact on overall DOC expenditures and facility planning. No facilities 
would be closed as a result of the change.   
 
DOC could continue to operate the Western Youth Institution (which houses most of the young 
persons in DOC custody), close the facility, or sell the facility to DJJDP. DOC staff report that 
the State does not plan to close Western; the facility design is also poorly suited for providing 
DJJDP’s therapeutic model. As a result, this plan was created with the assumption that Western 
would continue to be operated by DOC. 
 
Operational Impact 
DOC facility staffing would not change because none of the prisons would close as a result of 
changing the age of juvenile jurisdiction. However, DOC would have 4,555 fewer persons to 
supervise on probation if the change is implemented.  If DOC keeps its current caseloads23, it 
would need approximately 54 fewer probation officers by Year 6, for a reduction of $2.4 million 
in salary and benefits payments. Probation officer staff reductions could be achieved through 
attrition and should not need to be scheduled. 
 
If 457 beds become available, DOC would have a new resource to either house persons in other 
prisons or house persons currently serving sentences in local jails. DOC would reduce its costs 

                                                 
22 According to DOC prison placement data from 5/6/09 for persons ages 16 and 17 at the date of conviction. 
23 Median ratio of 85 persons to 1 probation officer; 60:1 for intermediate supervision and 110:1 for general 
supervision. 
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by up to $2.9 million24 annually by Year 6 if it uses the 457 beds to house offenders that are 
currently serving their sentences in local jails; this assumes that DOC continues to implement its 
plans to handle anticipated growth in the prison population by “double bunking” inmates in 
certain prisons. However, if DOC uses the beds to eliminate double bunking, it would not accrue 
any savings but may delay its need to build additional prisons. As a result of these operational 
changes, DOC would reduce its annual expenditures by an estimated $5.3 in Year 6. 
 
Implementation Schedule 
Because persons 16 and 17 years of age constitute only a small percentage of the entire 
population in DOC’s prisons, the change in the age of juvenile jurisdiction would not have a 
significant impact on the Department. DOC has only two major steps for its action plan – revise 
its capital plan to reflect new population estimates and deploy new adult inmates to the Western 
Youth Institution as persons 16 and 17 years of age currently incarcerated there leave the facility 
upon completion of their sentences.   
 
Step 1:  Revise capital plan 
DOC would need to revise its capital plan to reflect changes in its population projections that 
would result from moving persons 16 and 17 years of age from the adult to the juvenile system. 
 
Step 2: Redeploy inmates 
DOC should redeploy inmates, as cells in Western would no longer be used for persons who 
committed crimes at the age of 16 or 17. 
 
Exhibit 20: DOC Implementation Schedule 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 

                                                 
24 Annual cost reductions to DOC related to a decrease in needed prison beds could range from $0 to $19.5 million.  
If Western Youth Institution were closed, DOC would reduce expenditures by the annual operating budget of the 
facility, which is estimated at $19.5 million. However, if Western were closed, the State would have to find space 
for approximately 300 additional inmates at the institution that would not be served by the juvenile system under a 
change in juvenile court jurisdiction. These persons would need to be transferred to new prisons or the current 
prisons would need to be used more effectively (i.e., the prisons would need to accommodate more inmates than 
they currently do). On the other hand, if the state were to use the excess beds in Western to decrease the population 
served in other facilities, no cost reductions would be accrued. This estimate reflects the implementation of an 
alternative strategy to serve persons currently serving their sentences in jails within the prison space made available 
by the transfer of persons ages 16 and 17 to the juvenile system. 

Action Item
1     Long-Term Capital Plan
2     Redeploy Inmates

Fiscal Year of Implementation 

Year 1 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6Year 2 Year 3
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Administrative Office of the Courts Action Steps and Implementation Plan 
AOC’s budget would increase as a result of needing more court staff to process cases of persons 
committing offenses while 16 and 17 years of age. It takes longer to process juvenile cases than 
it does adult cases;25 therefore, AOC would need to make more than simply a transfer of 
resources from one type of case to another. Court staff should be able accommodate the new 
population in Year 3 and would not need to increase its budget for Year 2 of the implementation.  
 
Facility Impact 
It is unclear whether there would be additional facility space needs for AOC as a result of a 
change in juvenile court jurisdiction. Additional research into the facility space impact of the 
change should be conducted. A change to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction could potentially 
result in additional facility needs in some court districts; however, this is a decision that would 
be made by those districts and an expense that would be incurred by counties.   
 
Operational Impact 
In Year 6, AOC’s annual budget would require the expenditure of an additional $9.2 million in 
personal services. Juvenile cases take longer to process, on average, than adult cases. Based on 
current staffing rates and the differential in juvenile case processing time (as compared to adult 
cases), 138 additional staff would be needed by Year 6. AOC would need to hire 11 judges, some 
of whom may have to support multiple districts or be allocated by need to the courts with the 
highest workload. An additional 62 court staff should be hired by Year 4 to process juvenile 
cases, including judges, assistant district attorneys, assistant defenders, clerical staff, and support 
staff, as shown in Exhibit 21.   
 
Courts should be able to accommodate the additional cases in Year 3 with current staff and hire 
new staff in Year 4. Similarly, court staff should be able to accommodate the additional juvenile 
cases in Year 5 with staff levels from Year 4 and hire the remaining staff in Year 6. The fiscal 
impact is based on personal services expenditures.   
 
Exhibit 21: AOC Staffing Needs and Cost (in millions) by Year 
 

Position 

Total 
New 
Hires  

Total Budget 
Adjustment 
by Year 6 

Staff 
Hired 
Year 

3 

Staff 
Hired 
Year 

4  

Cost 
Year 

4  

Staff 
Hired 
Year 

5  

Staff 
Hired 
Year 

6  

Cost 
Year 

6 

Judges 11 $1.6 * 5 $0.7 * 6 $0.9 

Assistant district attorneys 17 $1.6 * 8 $0.7 * 9 $0.9 

Court support staff 32 $1.7 * 14 $0.7 * 18 $0.9 

Staff clerks 72 $3.8 * 32 $1.7 * 40 $2.1  

Assistant defenders 6 $0.6 * 3 $0.3 * 3 $0.3 

Total 138 $9.2 * 62 $4.1 * 76 $5.1 

 
* Current court staff should be able to accommodate the new juvenile population in Year 3, and therefore the first 
year that additional resources would be needed is in Year 4. Similarly, additional court staff should not be needed in 
Year 5; instead, staff would be increased in Year 6.    
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 

                                                 
25 National Center for State Courts study of North Carolina Staff time 
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AOC would have a fiscal impact related to the increase in staff. Ultimately in Year 6, AOC’s 
annual budget would require the expenditure of an additional $9.2 million for salaries of the 138 
additional staff hired. In Year 3, AOC would not increase its personal services expenditures 
because it could accommodate the additional youth with current resources. However, in the 
subsequent year (Year 4) an additional $3.0 million would be needed to serve the new population 
added to the juvenile system. Similarly, AOC would not have an increase in expenses between 
Year 4 and Year 5, but would need an additional $3.6 million in Year 6. See Exhibit 21 for more 
details about annual budget increases needed for implementation. 
 
Implementation Schedule 
District courts would have a moderate increase in workload if 30,000 criminal cases became 
juvenile cases, because juvenile cases take longer to process than adult cases. AOC would have 
to modify its operational plans for district courts to accommodate the increase in workload and 
determine whether capital planning would be affected. AOC’s action plan involves providing 
local governments with information they need to assess local facility space requirements that 
may result from a change to the age of juvenile jurisdiction.  
 
Step 1:  Prepare Workload and Impact Estimates 
AOC would need to prepare workload and impact estimates for each district. Each district should 
develop an operational and capital plan around the AOC estimates. 
 
Step 2: Develop operational plans 
Based on the current utilization of courtroom space, AOC should develop guidelines for creating 
detailed operational plans for each district. The presiding District Court judge for each district 
and Superior Court judge for counties in each district should oversee the development of a 
specific plan for the utilization of courtroom space and the allocation of judges. The local 
District Attorney (DA) should adjust staffing assignments in areas that have ADA’s assigned 
full-time to the juvenile court (Note: This only appears to be the case in select districts). AOC 
should assist the courts and the DAs in developing these estimates and operational plans. The 
Juvenile Defender and the Office of Indigent Defense Services should also assess the training 
needs required to accommodate additional juvenile cases. 
 
Step 3: Execute operational plan 
Based on the results of the operational planning process, the local courts should redeploy 
resources to coincide with the increased number of cases heard in juvenile court and the 
decreased number of cases heard in adult court.  
 
 
Exhibit 22: AOC Implementation Schedule 
  

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 

Action Item
1    Prepare Workload and Impact Estimates
2    Develop Operational Plan 
3    Execute Operational Plan 

Year 6Year 2 Year 3

Fiscal Year of Implementation 

Year 1 Year 4 Year 5
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Local Governments Action Steps and Implementation Plan 
Local governments are involved in the juvenile justice system through local Juvenile Crime 
Prevention Councils (JCPC) and the provision of courtrooms and workspace for court employees 
and DJJDP-employed court counselors. JCPCs provide oversight for service provision to 
juveniles in their communities and are funded locally and through DJJDP. Needs for workspace 
would increase due to additional staff being hired. In addition current JCPC programs must be 
expanded and new JCPC programs must be developed to treat older youth. Community 
incentives for reducing secure confinement of committed youth must also be developed and 
implemented.  
 
Facility Impact 
Local governments would be responsible for providing workspace for 557 additional court 
counselors, which would cost approximately $5.8 million statewide. Court counselors provide 
supervision services to adjudicated youth and process cases of juveniles who are accused of 
committing a delinquent offense; they are employed in multiple locations across the State. Each 
court counselor would require approximately 80 square feet of workspace, totaling 45,000 square 
feet statewide. Because the number of additional court counselors needed (557) is close to the 
number that are currently employed (481), it is reasonable to assume that current space being 
used would not be able to accommodate all of them.   
 
If the cost of new court counselor office facilities were split evenly among North Carolina’s 100 
counties, court counselor office space would cost about $58,000 per county. It should be noted 
that this cost would vary based on county size and population. Some counties may also have 
unused office space that could be used for the newly-hired court counselors, which would reduce 
the fiscal impact.  
 
Local governments would also have to consider whether available court facilities were sufficient 
for the anticipated increase in juvenile cases and employees that would result from a change to 
the age of juvenile court jurisdiction. Local governments should work closely with AOC to 
determine any additional court space needs before and during implementation. 
 
Operational Impact 
Because the number of persons 16 years of age and older served by the juvenile system would 
increase with the change, there are additional services that should be provided through JCPC 
programming to address their needs (e.g., job skills training). Currently, the provision of such 
services is limited and therefore would need to be expanded. It may require some additional 
research to find local providers of appropriate services. Services that are currently provided by 
JCPC program would also need to be provided to persons 16 years of age and older, therefore 
either additional service providers must be located or current service providers would have to 
expand their capacities. See the Issues, Service Analysis, and Legal Considerations section for 
further information. In addition, local governments would need to be involved in the efforts to 
implement a financial incentive system to reduce use of secure confinement.   
 
Additional human resources adjustment requirements for local governments are not estimated; 
however, local government would be affected by additional youth being served by JCPC 
programs. As noted, the implementation of financial incentives to reduce the use of secure 
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confinement would reduce use by up to 25 percent; similarly, the use of community supervision 
would increase by 25 percent.  By Year 6, JCPC services would be provided to approximately 
5,400 diverted youth and 8,800 delinquent youth, totaling more than 14,000 youth.  
 
Local government currently pays matching funds for State allocations to serve youth in 
community JCPC programs. Assuming local governments pay the minimum required match 
funds for the additional $15.0 million in State allocations for JCPC programming, local 
governments will need to pay an additional $3.4 million by the end of Year 6. However, it should 
be noted that local governments currently match State allocations at a rate higher than the 
minimum required. If local government match dollars were to remain at the current levels, they 
would need to total $11.9 million in additional funds by Year 6. To decrease the impact on local 
government, the State could elect to bear this cost instead. It should be noted that with a change 
in the incentive structure for local governments to encourage the use of more locally based 
community alternatives, this funding structure may change. 
 
Implementation Schedule 
Local governments’ action plans should address the need to provide workspace to an increased 
number of court counselors and district court employees. The plans should also address the 
training of law enforcement officers regarding the new statutes. 
 
Step 1: Inventory available workspace 
Local government is responsible for providing workspace for court counselors and courtroom 
space to accommodate court caseloads. To determine how much workspace and courtroom space 
is needed in each county, local government administrators should collaborate with DJJDP Court 
Services staff to inventory the current space used, identify any vacant space available, and 
determine the total amount of space needed to accommodate the total number of expected court 
counselors and court staff serving the local District Court. 
 
Step 2: Revise capital plan 
Based on the results of the inventory of court counselor workspace and courtroom space, local 
governments should revise their capital plans to reflect any changes required to provide 
additional workspace and/or courtroom space. The capital plan should reflect the projected 
number of court counselors and court staff needed to accommodate the increase in persons 
served by the juvenile system.  
 
Step 3: Provide training 
Local law enforcement officials would require some orientation and training on the new law. 
This training should occur during the 6 months prior to the date of the change (July 1 of Year 3).  
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Exhibit 23: Local Government Implementation Schedule 
 

 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Action Item
1     Inventory Workspace 
2     Revise Capital Plan
3     Provide Training

Fiscal Year of Implementation 

Year 1 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6Year 2 Year 3
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Issues, Service Analysis, and Legal Considerations 
Programming would need to be developed in YDCs and in the community to serve older youth, 
current JCPC programs expanded, and new JCPC programs developed. A tool linking these 
programs to the needs of individual youth is also needed to ensure positive re-offense outcomes.  
DJJDP would be responsible for implementing changes in these action areas. Included below is 
an overview of these action areas. This section also includes information on organizations that 
have funded juvenile justice reforms. DJJDP should review the work of these organizations and 
consider the possibility of partnering with one of them during the implementation of new 
programming. 
 
Programming for Older Youth 
DJJDP is responsible for developing programs that address the needs of the older youth who 
would be coming into its system. However, collaboration with DOC, local service providers, and 
JCPC representatives may be helpful in accomplishing the activities suggested here to address 
service gaps. To accommodate persons 16 and 17 years of age, DJJDP should revisit its 
programming and develop new programs to serve the unique needs of older youth, specifically 
those related to vocational education, job skills training, community living, and teen pregnancy 
and parenting. In addition, the Department should revisit its procedures for placing persons in 
YDC housing units to ensure that there is adequate separation of older and/or more serious 
offenders from younger and/or less serious offenders.   
 
Vocational and Job-Skills Programming  
DJJDP should develop vocational and job-skills programming to be used in YDCs and in the 
community. In both YDC and community placements, older youth require services in addition to 
those currently provided by DJJDP. The services primarily relate to the need to find gainful 
employment after exiting delinquency programming, as older youth are often of age to obtain 
full-time employment upon completion of their delinquency disposition. Therefore, vocational 
education and job skills programs would be increasingly important.   
 
Currently, vocational education and GED programs are provided to a limited extent in the 
current juvenile system. However, they appear to be provided to a greater extent by DOC to 
persons served in the Western Youth Institution, as this age group and its needs is the focus of 
the facility.26  There may be some benefit for DJJDP and DOC staff to collaborate on efforts to 
develop vocational and job-skills training programs, and potentially implement some of the 
education programs used at Western. These types of services are not currently provided in JCPC 
programming. None of the 288 JCPC programs available to court-ordered youth in fiscal year 
2008 provided employment related services.   
 
It is unclear whether appropriate vocational or job-skills coursework could be provided in YDCs 
built to accommodate the new therapeutic model, as youth receive education services with the set 
of eight persons with whom they live in a facility wing. Some of these services may require 
equipment or material that is more efficiently used in a group setting. As a result, some of this 
programming may need to be provided either in a separate location at YDCs or at an off-site 
location. 
                                                 
26 Services provided at Western are significantly different from services provided at other prisons.  Because it is a 
younger population, education and job skills programming are more extensive. 
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Community Living Skills Programming 
By increasing the number of older youth served in the juvenile system, an additional number of 
juvenile offenders will be released at an age of legal adulthood. As a result, these persons will 
need to develop skills to live independently in the community. Community living skills programs 
should assess youths’ needs and providing appropriate instruction and practice in areas such as 
money management, eating, household care and maintenance, transportation arrangements, 
socializing, and personal hygiene. 
 
Parenting Programming  
Because older youth would be served by DJJDP, there may be a need for more extensive 
parenting programming for girls who are pregnant and for juveniles that have children. There is a 
higher occurrence of pregnancy and/or motherhood among older teenage girls. If DJJDP sees an 
increase in the number of females or young mothers served after the change is implemented, it 
should revisit its current programming to see whether it is sufficient. One type of program that 
could be employed is the Nurse-Family Partnership, which is recommended as a “model 
program” by the Colorado Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence. The program 
involves visits by nurses during pregnancy and in the first two years after birth.   
  
Staff Training  
DJJDP should consider providing training to educators at YDCs to address the wide range of 
educational needs of youth in YDCs. If YDCs serve an older population in addition to the current 
population, they may experience a wider range in educational ability of residents. The structure 
of new YDCs built to accommodate DJJDP’s new therapeutic model requires a unique approach 
to education, as all persons are educated in the same room. As a result, facilities would need to 
ensure that they hire persons who are equipped to accommodate this need. 
 
Age Separation 
DJJDP should refine procedures for housing unit placement of committed persons at YDCs to 
ensure that the oldest and most serious offenders are kept separate from the youngest and least 
serious offenders. Currently, DJJDP has policies in place that govern decisions to place youth in 
a particular room in a YDC. The policies are based on size, offense type, and age. These policies 
may need to be revised.  The new therapeutic model could be used to place older and younger 
youth in housing units that never mix with each other, which could be an effective means of 
alleviating concerns about very young and very old youth potentially influencing each other.    
 
Development of a risk and needs assessment tool 
One of the key components of implementing evidence-based practices is the use of a tool to 
ensure that youth are linked to specific services and programming based on their assessed needs.  
North Carolina should develop and implement an integrated assessment system that identifies a 
youth’s criminogenic needs and links them to evidence-based programs. The State currently uses 
an assessment system designed to measure the likelihood of re-offending, based on a child’s risk 
and protective factors. Many of the risk assessment instruments used in juvenile justice settings 
measure concepts that research has identified as being related to or predisposing children 
towards delinquent behavior. These areas include academic performance, criminal peers, anger 
management, and parental supervision.   
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However, North Carolina has not yet realigned treatment planning, treatment interventions, or 
client management with its needs assessment approach. An integrated assessment system (also 
sometimes called an integrated case management system) refers to a relatively new concept in 
the classification and management of juvenile offender cases. In an integrated model like that 
used in Connecticut, Georgia, and Maryland, systematic assessment of a youth’s criminogenic 
needs is linked to research-based programs. To do so, these models include the following steps: 

 Determine the level of risk and supervision needed  
 Develop a treatment plan and treatment interventions  
 Measure the youth’s progress 
 Encourage and reinforce positive behavioral change  
 Adjust the plan over time to reflect changes in, or a lack of improvement of, youth 

behavior  
 
A risk classification system should be used to govern entrance into residential or home-based 
care, and a needs-based classification system should be used to inform development of individual 
treatment plans. When using these systems, the timing of screening and assessment is important.  
Screening and assessments should be conducted at critical decision points, which include court 
intake, pre-trial detention, entry into secure residential facilities, release to the community, and 
prior to revocation decisions.   
 
The types of assessment that should occur at each stage are discussed below:  

 Court intake: screening and assessment  
 Pre-trial detention: screening and assessment  
 Entry into private residential facilities or secure confinement: assessment and individual 

treatment planning upon entrance, reassessment every six months, and reassessment prior 
to return to the community 

 Revocation decisions: reassessment prior to making a decision 
 
Conducting the appropriate assessments at the right times throughout a youth’s involvement in 
the juvenile justice system allows for the most efficient and effective delivery of services to 
youth. By incorporating these assessments with the delivery of evidence-based treatments, North 
Carolina could expect improved outcomes for its youth. 
 
Researching potential partnerships for implementation funding 
Many organizations provide funding to juvenile justice organizations for program development.  
These organizations may conduct research relevant to the juvenile justice field or partner with 
departments to help improve outcomes. DJJDP may consider reviewing the work that 
organizations like the Annie E. Casey and John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur foundations have 
funded in the juvenile justice field in order to identify potential future partnering and funding 
opportunities. Furthermore, Medicaid funding can be helpful in supporting Medicaid-eligible 
youth that participate in evidence-based programs in the community. 
 
Annie E. Casey Foundation- www.aecf.org 
Annie E. Casey Foundation’s primary mission is to “foster public policies, human services, and 
community supports that more effectively meet the needs of vulnerable children and families.”  
The Foundation has been promoting the well-being of children for 60 years, and currently 
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provides about $190 million each year to organizations supporting its mission. The Foundation’s 
work in juvenile justice is focused on improving the outcomes for youth in the juvenile justice 
system by incarcerating fewer youth and focusing on evidenced-based family focused 
interventions.   
 
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation- www.macfound.org 
The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation is “committed to building a more just, 
verdant, and peaceful world.” The Foundation’s Human and Community Development grant-
making program provides funding to organizations supporting its mission, which includes 
juvenile justice program grants. The Foundation supports work that promotes a “fair, rational, 
and effective juvenile justice system” with a belief that juvenile offenders are not the same as 
adult offenders. The Models for Change initiative supports reforms of juvenile justice systems 
focusing on evidenced based practices and improvements to aftercare. The Foundation’s 2009 
budget for juvenile justice grants is $23.4 million.    
 
Models for Change is currently active in 16 states, including North Carolina, and is currently 
expanding to other states. Union County, North Carolina, is currently participating in the 
Disproportionate Minority Contact (DMC) Action Network to reduce the disproportionate 
number of minority youth in the juvenile justice system. The Union County JCPC received a 
three-year grant of up to $100,000. The MacArthur foundation has awarded planning grants 
totaling up to $1.5 million over five years to states implementing new juvenile justice 
programming. The grants have been awarded to state and local government. 
 
Medicaid Reimbursements 
Approximately 7,900 youth who received DJJDP community services in 2008 were enrolled in 
Medicaid.27 Service providers receive Medicaid reimbursement for eligible services provided to 
Medicaid-eligible delinquent youth, and would be able to receive reimbursements for eligible 
services provided to persons 16 and 17 years of age if they were transferred to the juvenile 
system. Services provided to youth 16 and 17 years of age would be subject to the same rules as 
those provided to younger persons.  
 
Medicaid funds would reduce the total cost of juvenile justice service provision. However, the 
reimbursements would not translate into direct cost savings for DJJDP because the service 
providers receive Medicaid reimbursements. Service providers receive the State reimbursement 
rate for eligible through North Carolina’s Department of Health and Human Service’s Division 
of Medicaid Assistance. The federal government is responsible for 64 percent of all Medicaid 
expenses in North Carolina, and the State is responsible for the remaining 36 percent.   
 
Juvenile justice departments in some other states have received Medicaid reimbursements for 
service provision. However, administrative changes would be required for North Carolina to 
qualify for reimbursement.  
 
The costs DJJDP would have to incur to become a Medicaid agency include: 

 Changing DJJDP’s service delivery time tracking to comply with Medicaid standards, 

                                                 
27 This number was obtained from current DJJDP records of Medicaid eligibility, which exist for 50 percent of youth 
in DJJDP’s database.   
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 Updating DJJDP data collection to ensure compliance with youth eligibility 
requirements, 

 Training court counselors for appropriate service delivery, and  
 Training court counselors on necessary medical terminology. 

 
In addition, in 2006, the federal Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) stated that Medicaid 
reimbursements cannot be claimed for services provided by juvenile justice and child welfare 
agencies when they are integrated into the regular work performed by child welfare and 
probation workers.28 DRA would prevent DJJDP from collecting Medicaid funds for case 
management services provided by court counselors. Case management services, specifically 
Targeted Case Management, are the services for which other juvenile justice departments have 
become Medicaid eligible.   
 
Service providers receive Medicaid reimbursements for services provided to youth who are 
Medicaid eligible and have received a diagnosis. Medicaid covers medical care including mental 
health needs. Diagnoses made in a juvenile justice setting are generally related to mental health, 
and providers receive Medicaid reimbursements for such services as Multi-systemic Therapy, 
Functional Family Therapy, and substance abuse treatment. 
 
Legal Considerations 
The legal analysis provided by Professor Janet Mason of the University of North Carolina School 
of Government and presented under separate cover addresses relevant North Carolina laws that 
should be conformed or amended to implement a change to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction, 
including motor vehicle and criminal laws. Year 1 of the implementation plan in this report is the 
first year after passage of a law that expands juvenile court jurisdiction. Included in the 
implementation plan is a provision for the consideration of legislation to bring other sections of 
North Carolina law into conformity with the newly-expanded juvenile court jurisdiction. The 
purpose of the legal analysis included below is to review any federal legal compliance issues 
under federal law. 
 
Changing the age of juvenile jurisdiction does not present any compliance issues with federal 
law, but it may affect the way North Carolina solicits and receives grant funding from the 
Federal Government. As an initial matter, funding from the federal Office of Juvenile Justice and 
Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) is an important supplemental source for all State and local 
juvenile programs. The grants and block grants appear to be premised upon two age related 
criteria: (1) age of juveniles as determined by the State in which they are adjudicated, and (2), 
the generally accepted definition of a juvenile as a person younger than 18. Each grant 
opportunity is drafted with its own specific criteria for the applicants that should be considered, 
such as age appropriateness or limitations for the populations sought to be served. There does not 
appear to be a wholesale funding limitation tied directly to a maximum age other than 18. 
  
The introduction of older offenders (16 or 17) to juvenile facilities carries with it the probability 
of new challenges for facility residents, staff and the system as a whole. A carefully crafted 
housing matrix system must account for the introduction of older, larger and possibly more 
                                                 
28 Coalition for Juvenile Justice presentation, “Creative Approaches for Using Medicaid and Other Funding 
Sources,” April 2008. 
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sophisticated offenders to a system that also houses youth who are significantly younger. Any 
system, regardless of the ages served, should strive to separate violent and non-violent offenders, 
sex offenders from victim populations and large disparities in age. Larger and older offenders 
may present a need for retraining of supervisory staff and perhaps revamping of the housing 
matrix to ensure predator and victim populations within new age groups to be served are not 
housed together. The best way to ensure high quality service is through training, education and 
prevention. 
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Raising the Age – Lessons from Connecticut and Illinois Implementation 
The age of juvenile court jurisdiction has recently been raised in the states of Connecticut and 
Illinois. Both states are in different stages of implementing the legislation, and some of the 
challenges that they have overcome are of value for North Carolina to understand.   
 
Connecticut raised the age of jurisdiction to 17 legislatively in 2007; criminal courts retain 
authority over offenders 16 and 17 years of age with serious felonies. This change was originally 
scheduled to be effective in 2010 and it has not yet been implemented. In February 2009, 
Connecticut’s legislature projected an $8.7 billion deficit for the next two fiscal years. Decision 
makers are currently considering a delay in implementation for budgetary reasons. Prior to the 
“raise the age” legislation, Connecticut had a Youthful Offender status that was used for persons 
accused of all types offenses but Class A (e.g., murder). This status permitted the offenders to 
retain confidentiality of records, similar to juveniles, provided for maximum sentencing limits, 
and allowed the chance for expunging the offenders’ records. 
 
Illinois increased the maximum age of jurisdiction from 16 to 17 for misdemeanants in 2007; the 
change would be effective in 2010. The previous statute regarding jurisdiction had been in place 
since 1987. Local officials raised concerns about shifting the cost of services for persons 17 
years of age from state to local units of government (probation and other services were provided 
and funded by counties) and the impact of housing persons 17 years of age in confinement with 
younger persons. Legislators were more willing to change the age for misdemeanors, so 
advocates initially suggested a compromise to include all misdemeanors and only some felonies.  
The final bill was a further compromise, limiting the change to misdemeanors and setting up a 
task force to study adding felonies. 
 
Some conditions of the age change in these states differ from those that have been proposed in 
North Carolina. Two key areas observed in a review of the two states’ implementation processes 
include staggered implementation of the policy and use of transfer (to adult court) mechanisms.  
These areas and resultant recommendations are discussed.  
 
Incremental implementation  
Legislators in North Carolina have proposed implementing a change to juvenile jurisdiction via 
four discrete age groups. This approach is in line with what other states have planned and could 
be an effective means of bringing about change. Both Connecticut and Illinois incorporate 
multiple stages of implementation. Similar to the proposed legislation in North Carolina, 
Connecticut implemented the change for discrete age groups over separate years. North 
Carolina’s legislation implements the change over four years in half-year age increments (less 
than 16 ½, 17, 17 ½, 18). Connecticut planned its implementation over two years in one-year age 
increments (less than 17, 18).     
 
Illinois also planned an incremental implementation, but grouped the implementation by offense 
type. Misdemeanors were included in the initial legislation enacting the change; felonies were 
excluded but legislation instructed their inclusion to be studied and they may be included in 
expansion legislation. 
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Exclusions from Juvenile Jurisdiction 
North Carolina decision-makers may consider making additional changes to statute regarding 
offenses that are excluded from juvenile court jurisdiction if a change to juvenile court 
jurisdiction is implemented. Most states have some way of excluding certain types of offenders 
from juvenile jurisdiction. They include statutory exclusions to juvenile jurisdiction, which 
exclude certain types of offenses from prosecution as juvenile cases, or mandatory exclusions, 
which require that certain offenses be prosecuted as criminal offenses through court hearings. 
Both exclusions provide a benefit of relatively consistent use across state courts. However, 
mandatory exclusions require more paperwork and staff time than do statutory exclusions 
because they do not occur automatically. In addition, some states have discretionary exclusions, 
which give judges or prosecutors discretion to decide whether certain cases should be tried in the 
adult system.  Because of the subjectivity inherent in these types of exclusions, they may or may 
not be used in the same way across a state.   
 
Comparison of Exclusions Used 
North Carolina primarily uses discretionary exclusions and has one mandatory exclusion. As 
shown in Exhibit 24, the State has fewer statutory and/or mandatory exclusions than do 
Connecticut and Illinois. By employing more statutory or mandatory exclusions, the State could 
better ensure that the intended types of offenders have their cases prosecuted in juvenile 
delinquency court or in criminal court. For example, the State could ensure that certain serious or 
repeat offenders receive criminal charges and sanctions. In addition, North Carolina could reduce 
its paperwork and staff time spent on efforts to transfer youth to adult criminal court jurisdiction 
if it implements statutory exclusions.   
 
Exhibit 24: Comparison of Exclusions Used in Connecticut, Illinois, and North Carolina  
 

Connecticut North Carolina Illinois 

Statutory (16+) 
Class A and some Class B 
excluded from new raising of the 
age 
  

 
 
 

Statutory (age 13+) 
first-degree murder (age 15+) 
murder w/ sexual assault/kidnapping 
certain person offenses (e.g., armed 
robbery w/ a firearm) 
weapons on school grounds 

Mandatory (age 14+) 
arson murder  
capital felonies 
class A, B, C, and D felonies 

Mandatory (age 13+) 
Class A (capital crimes) 
 

Mandatory (age 14+) 
felonies committed as part of gang  
(and meets other criteria- e.g., repeat 
offender) 

 Discretionary (age 13+) 
All felonies   
 

Discretionary (age 13+) 
All offenses (and meets other criteria 
related to offense seriousness, 
history) 

 
Source: National Center for Juvenile Justice State Profiles, 2008 
 
Statutory 
Currently, North Carolina does not statutorily exclude any type of offenses in statute from 
juvenile jurisdiction. Connecticut set statutory limitations on its new legislation to raise the age: 
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offenders 16 and 17 years if age will not be considered juvenile offenders if they are accused of 
committing a class A or B felony. Illinois has certain offenses that are statutorily excluded from 
juvenile court jurisdiction for persons 13 years of age and older. They include murder committed 
during a sexual assault or kidnapping, certain offenses on the person (e.g., armed robbery with a 
firearm), and use of weapons on school grounds. Persons 15 years of age who commit first-
degree murder are also statutorily excluded from juvenile court jurisdiction.   
 
Mandatory 
North Carolina requires that Class A felonies (typically the offense is murder) be prosecuted as 
criminal cases by district attorneys if there is probable cause. Similarly, Connecticut mandates 
the transfer (to adult charges) of persons ages 14 and older who are charged with murder, capital 
felonies, and class A, B, C, and D felonies. Illinois has a mandatory transfer to adult jurisdiction 
of felony offenses committed as part of gang activity if the person is a repeat offender and the 
previous crime committed meets set criteria. 
 
Discretionary 
Currently, North Carolina permits any felony committed by persons 13 years of age to be 
transferred to adult court jurisdiction. In Illinois, any criminal offense committed by a person 13 
years of age or older may be transferred to adult jurisdiction based on factors including, but not 
limited to seriousness of the offense and prior offense history. Connecticut does not have 
discretionary exclusions. 
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APPENDIX A. FINANCIAL INCENTIVES TO REDUCE 
SECURE CONFINEMENT 

 
 
State: Ohio 
Program: Reclaim Ohio 
The State of Ohio allocates money to counties to be used for providing community programs.  
Allocation is based on population size and delinquency levels and is reduced based on the 
number of persons who are committed to the State. The formula does not reduce funding for 
commitment dispositions of persons adjudicated for serious and violent crimes because the State 
has decided that there is a need to confine these types of offenders. Because community 
programs are cheaper, counties were willing to invest in developing them and were less likely to 
send youth to state commitment. Over the 18 years since legislation was enacted in 1992, the 
State has seen a 42 percent reduction in recidivism. Between May 1992 and June 2004, the 
number of committed persons decreased from 2,600 to 1,800. 
 
State: Illinois 
Program: Redeploy Illinois 
Illinois implemented the program in 2004. Counties opt in to the program and agree to reduce the 
number of secure commitments. They commit to decreasing the number of youth sent to secure 
facilities by 25 percent of the average number sent in the prior 3 years. In turn, the State provides 
counties with funds to serve the targeted. In four pilot sites, 382 youth were diverted from secure 
commitment within three years, which saved $18.7 million. The number of commitments 
reduced by 51 percent; however, an evaluation of the program states that the results are not all 
attributable to the program, as other juvenile justice programs have also been implemented at the 
same time.  
 
State: Pennsylvania 
Program: Act 148 
The State reimburses counties for 80 percent of the cost of community-based programming, 
whereas the lowest reimbursement rates are for secure detention in local facilities (50 percent) 
and secure residential or institutional commitments (60 percent). The Act was enacted in the late 
1970s; within three years, state reimbursement for community programs increased by 75 percent 
(from $65 million to $114 million). Secure placements for youth decreased by 24 percent by the 
early 1980s. In 2006, the proportion of committed youth placed in State facilities was as low as 
14 percent. 
 
State: California 
Program: SB 81 
SB 81 was signed in 2007, and banned the commitment of youth adjudicated for non-violent 
offenses from being committed to State residential facilities. It also established block grants to 
provide $130,000 per youth for placement in community alternatives to commitment. Initial 
projections for program impact included a reduction of the number of youth in residential 
facilities by about 1,000 in two years (from 2,500 to 1,500). Prior to SB 81, the State required 
counties to pay a monthly rate per youth in secure confinement based on a sliding scale by 
offense type, ranging from $150 for murder to $2,600 for technical violations. 



 

128 

State: Wisconsin 
Program: Youth Aids 
The program, enacted in 1980, involves State allocation of money to each county for secure 
confinement beds. Counties can then use the money to send persons to secure confinement or to 
community alternatives. Over 10 years (1997-2006) State commitments decreased by 43 percent. 
 
Source: Tyler, Jasmine L.; Ziedenberg, Jason and Lotke, Eric.  “Cost Effective Corrections: The Fiscal Architecture 
of Rational Juvenile Justice Systems.”  The Justice Policy Institute, 2006. 
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APPENDIX B. ANNUAL AND TOTAL BUDGET ADJUSTMENT, 
PERSONS 16 YEARS OF AGE ONLY 

 
 

  
Yearly Budget Adjustment (in 

Millions) 
Budget Category  Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 

Total Budget Adjustment 
by Year 4 

DJJDP $0.2  $0.7 $18.5 $20.6 $39.3  

Personal Services   14.3 16.6 31.3  
    Court Counselors   6.8 7.0 13.8  

YDC    5.9 8.0 13.9  

Detention   1.6 1.6 3.2  

Training Staff  0.4   0.4  

Facility Operations     0.8 0.7 1.5  
     YDC   0.6 0.6 1.2  
     Detention   0.1 0.1 0.2  

Program Development       0.2*      *0.3     *0.3  
             

* 
Aid and Public 
Assistance   3.2 3.3 6.5  
     JCPC Allocations   3.2 3.3 6.5  

DOC     ($1.2) ($1.2) ($2.4) 

Personal Services   (0.5) (0.5) (2.4) 

Facility Operations     (0.7) (0.7) (1.3) 

AOC     ** $4.1 $4.1  

Personal Services    4.1 4.1  

Local Government     $0.8 $0.8 $1.6  
Match Funds- JCPC 
Allocations     0.8 0.8 1.6  
 
* These are one-time allocations and will not be recurring annual costs at Year 6 of implementation 

**The estimate is based on the assumption that current staff can accommodate Year 3 additions to the system 
Source: The ESTIS Group, 2009 
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APPENDIX C. WASHINGTON INSTITUTE FOR PUBLIC 
POLICY QUALITY ASSURANCE STANDARDS FOR 

TREATMENT SERVICES 
 
 
An oversight committee is the primary vehicle for ensuring competent service delivery. The 
committee is to include experts for each program under the committee’s management, as well as 
representatives of the organizations responsible for funding and management decisions. Since 
these quality control standards affect programs run by the courts and Juvenile Rehabilitation 
Administration (JRA), it is the responsibility of the juvenile courts and the JRA to determine if 
one oversight committee is needed or whether two separate committees are advisable. 
 

A. Managing and Overseeing Program Delivery: The following practices are necessary for 
delivering research-based programs: 

 The management of each program includes the involvement of a statewide 
program specialist and, as needed, program trainers and regional program 
specialists. These individuals are responsible for ensuring that each program’s 
principles are followed and the service is competently delivered. Specialists visit 
program sites to consult with staff and assist with program delivery problems. 

 
 The program specialist is responsible for developing a quality control manual that 

describes the specific standards for the hiring, training, and retention of qualified 
providers, and the management and oversight of delivery of treatment services. 
The oversight committee reviews and approves the manual. 

 
 A representative of each service provider organization attends regularly held 

workshops, scheduled by the program specialist, to review and clarify program 
best practices. For programs operating in locations across the State, regional 
workshops may be necessary. 

 
 Each person providing a program is assessed at least annually by a program 

specialist. The reviews include direct observation, or video/audio recording of 
service delivery, and a review of the program environment. The specialist uses the 
structured assessment instrument specifically designed for each program. These 
instruments, developed under the guidance of the oversight committee, measure 
detailed aspects of competent program delivery. The instruments would inform 
the providers about their performance and provide specific areas for 
improvement, if needed. The responses to each assessment item are recorded in a 
database by the program specialist conducting the review. Each person’s service 
delivery is assessed as (a) highly competent, (b) competent, or (c) not competent.  
The specialist reviews the results with the service providers and court 
management. 

 
 The program specialist conducts site reviews at least annually to assess the 

environment supporting the research-based programs. An instrument, developed 
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under the guidance of the oversight committee, is used to assess the 
environmental support for the research-based programs. The instrument includes 
information concerning staff training, the assessment process, program participant 
assignment, engagement and motivation of youth and their families, staff 
reinforcement of the program principles, and support of these efforts by court 
management. Each program environment is assessed as (a) highly adequate, (b) 
adequate, or (c) not adequate. The specialist reviews the results with the court 
management. 

 
 Every two years, the validity of the program provider and environmental 

assessments are empirically verified under the guidance of the oversight 
committee. 

 
 The statewide specialist takes corrective action when a site is not competently 

delivering the program. The statewide specialist notifies the oversight committee 
of all corrective actions. 

 
 The oversight committee discontinues funding of any program when the 

corrective actions of the statewide specialist have failed to bring the program into 
compliance with these standards. 

 
 The oversight committee sponsors an annual refresher training workshop for 

providers. 
 

B. Selecting, Training, and Retaining Qualified Providers: following are personnel practices 
necessary to facilitate the selection and retention of qualified individuals capable of 
competently delivering treatment services. 

 Each program position has a written job description that includes duties, 
responsibilities, minimum qualifications, and any special requirements. 

 
 A job announcement is used to advertise and recruit candidates for an open 

position. 
 
 All applicants are screened to ensure they meet the minimum position 

qualifications. 
 
 The applicant’s interview team includes a program specialist who assesses the 

candidate’s qualifications. 
 Explicit selection criteria are used to determine the best person for the position. 
 
 The candidate is selected for the position on a six-month probationary basis with 

the understanding that the probationary period would determine if the applicant 
has the necessary knowledge and skills. 

 
 Initial training and feedback are provided so the applicant can acquire necessary 

experience and demonstrate acceptable knowledge and skills during the 
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probationary period. The initial training includes a written test or interview that 
assesses the applicant’s knowledge. 

 
 At the end of the probationary period, the applicant’s skills are reviewed using the 

assessment instrument designed to measure competent program delivery. 
 
 Only persons demonstrating competent delivery of the treatment service are 

retained after the probation period ends. 
 
 The program specialist maintains a database of persons who have been selected 

and trained. The database includes written test scores and an initial assessment of 
the person’s skills in delivering the program. This initial assessment is identical to 
the ongoing adherence assessments described above. 

 
 This initial assessment forms the baseline for monitoring the provider’s skill 

development. 
 
 Each statewide program specialist maintains a quality assurance manual that 

documents the process for meeting these standards. 
 
Source: Aos, Steve, and Lieb, Roxanne. “Recommended Quality Control Standards: Washington State Research-
Based Juvenile Offender Programs.” Washington State Institute for Public Policy.  2003. 
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APPENDIX D. WASHINGTON INSTITUTE FOR PUBLIC 
POLICY – STANDARDS FOR MEASURING OUTCOMES 

 
 
A. Recidivism:  The ultimate outcome measure for juvenile offender programs is recidivism.  A 

minimum of 18 months of follow-up time is necessary to reasonably measure recidivism.  
 

 An additional 12 months are necessary to allow the justice system to process the events. 
 Juvenile offenders prosecuted in adult criminal court and juvenile offenders who turn 18 

years old before the end of the follow-up period are tracked into the adult criminal justice 
system. 

 Each research-based program has undergone a rigorous outcome evaluation. These 
studies provide benchmarks, or expectations, of what the recidivism rate should be if a 
program is working. However, it is essential to know if the program outcomes continue to 
meet expectations, and this knowledge must be available on a yearly basis.  

 The expected outcomes are compared with the actual outcomes each year.  An actual 
outcome that is equal to or better than the expected outcome indicates the program is 
continuing to work. If the actual outcome is below expectation, the program would 
appear not to be working. This technique avoids the necessity of forming comparison 
groups each year. The accuracy of the outcome estimation calculations are reviewed 
annually by the oversight committee. 

 
B. Program Completion: High completion rates indicate that the courts and JRA are able to 

motivate and keep the youth engaged in the treatment process. Low completion rates indicate 
wasted resources. A 75 percent completion rate for each program is the standard. 

 
 The completion rate is the percentage of youth assigned to the program that completed it.  
 The juvenile court maintains the assessment database that identifies youth eligible for the 

research-based programs.  
 The program providers maintain a database of youth in their program, which  includes the 

date the youth was assigned to the provider, the date service delivery started, a record of 
service contacts, the date the youth competed or was terminated from the program, and, if 
terminated, the reason for noncompletion. 

 
C. Interim Outcomes: Improvement of specific risk and protective factors.  (e.g., Functional 

Family Therapy aims to reduce family risk factors and increase family protective factors; 
therefore, its ability to change these factors would make it successful).   

 
 The juvenile courts and JRA developed similar assessments that are specifically designed 

to measure changes in the dynamic risk and protective factors. 
 The risk and protective factors are assessed before the youth is placed in the program and 

again when the youth either completes or terminates the program. 
 The Institute has identified the dynamic risk and protective factors associated with the 

current research-based programs that are to be measured. Monitoring these interim 
outcomes provides immediate information on program performance. 
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Programs that positively influence the identified factors of interest should have better outcomes 
than those not able to do so. Showing an association between positive changes in those factors 
targeted by a program and, subsequently, successful program outcomes is a necessary condition 
to show that the program is working. 
 
Source: Aos, Steve, and Lieb, Roxanne. “Recommended Quality Control Standards: Washington State Research-
Based Juvenile Offender Programs.” Washington State Institute for Public Policy.  2003. 
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STATUTORY IMPLICATIONS OF RAISING THE MAXIMUM 
AGE OF JUVENILE COURT JURISDICTION IN NORTH 

CAROLINA 
 
 
This report describes changes that would be needed in the North Carolina General Statutes in 
order to increase from sixteen to eighteen the age at which an individual’s violation of criminal 
laws is addressed in the adult criminal system rather than the juvenile justice system. Many of 
these changes are in the Juvenile Code (G.S. Chapter 7B), but related or conforming changes in a 
number of other statutes would be required or should be considered. Drafts of many of these 
changes are included in the Appendices.  
 
Juvenile Code Changes  

Juvenile court jurisdiction falls into four categories: 

1. Initial jurisdiction is defined in terms of the age of an offender, at the time of his or her 
offense, whose case can be initiated only in juvenile court. 

2. Limited initial jurisdiction over juveniles who “age out” defines the juvenile court’s 
authority over adults who are alleged to have committed offenses when they were 
juveniles.  

3. Continuing or dispositional jurisdiction refers to the period of time after the age of initial 
jurisdiction during which the juvenile court may exercise jurisdiction over a juvenile who 
is alleged to be or has been adjudicated delinquent.  

4. Extended jurisdiction refers to the longer period of time the juvenile court may exercise 
jurisdiction over juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent for the most serious offenses. 

For each of these, current law and likely changes related to increasing the jurisdictional age are 
outlined below. Most conversations about raising the age of juvenile court jurisdiction are 
centered on initial jurisdiction – the age of offenders whose conduct is considered delinquent 
rather than criminal. Policies and intentions regarding changes in dispositional and extended 
jurisdiction will require further discussion.  
 

Types of Age-Related Jurisdiction in Juvenile Delinquency Proceedings 

 Initial Jurisdiction (the case can be initiated only by the filing of a juvenile petition)  

 Now:   For any offense committed while at least 6 and not yet 16 

Proposed:  For any offense committed while at least 6 and not yet 18 

Initial jurisdiction exists regardless of the offender’s age when the petition is filed; it is based 
solely on the person’s age at the time of the offense. 

 Limited Initial Jurisdiction over Juvenile Who “Ages Out” 

Now:    For a felony offense allegedly committed on or after the juvenile’s 13th 
birthday and prior to the juvenile’s 16th birthday, if the juvenile reaches age 18 
before a petition is filed or before the delinquency proceeding is completed, 
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the court has jurisdiction only (i) to conduct a probable cause hearing and (ii) 
if the court finds probable cause for a felony, to either transfer the case to 
superior court or dismiss it.  

Proposed:   For a felony offense allegedly committed on or after the juvenile’s 13th 
birthday and prior to the juvenile’s 18th birthday, if the juvenile reaches age 20 
before a petition is filed or before the delinquency proceeding is completed, 
the court has jurisdiction only (i) to conduct a probable cause hearing and (ii) 
if the court finds probable cause for a felony, to either transfer the case to 
superior court or dismiss it.  

 

 Continuing or Dispositional Jurisdiction 

Now:    In every case, for an offense committed before age 16, the juvenile court may 
exercise jurisdiction over the juvenile until the juvenile reaches age 18. The 
court may choose to terminate its jurisdiction earlier. For adjudications based 
on any offense less serious than a Class E felony, the court’s jurisdiction ends 
automatically when the juvenile reaches age 18 and cannot be extended past 
age 18.   

Proposed:   In every case, for an offense committed before age 18, the juvenile court may 
exercise jurisdiction over the juvenile until the juvenile reaches age 20. The 
court may choose to terminate its jurisdiction earlier. For adjudications based 
on any offense less serious than a Class E felony, the court’s jurisdiction ends 
automatically when the juvenile reaches age 20 and cannot be extended past 
age 20.   

 Extended Jurisdiction 

Now:    When a juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for an offense that is more serious 
than a Class F felony, the court’s dispositional jurisdiction may extend past 
the juvenile’s 18th birthday, for an absolute maximum period that ends when 
the juvenile reaches  
 age 21, if the juvenile was adjudicated delinquent and committed to a 

youth development center for first-degree murder, first-degree rape, or 
first-degree sexual offense; 

 age 19, if the juvenile was adjudicated delinquent and committed to a 
youth development center for a Class A through E felony (other than first-
degree murder, first-degree rape, or first degree-sexual offense). 

Proposed:   When a juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for an offense that is more serious 
than a Class F felony, the court’s dispositional jurisdiction may extend past 
the juvenile’s 20th birthday, for an absolute maximum period that ends when 
the juvenile reaches  

 age _____, if the juvenile was adjudicated delinquent and committed to a 
youth development center for first-degree murder, first-degree rape, or 
first-degree sexual offense; 
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 age _____, if the juvenile was adjudicated delinquent and committed to a 
youth development center for a Class A through E felony (other than first-
degree murder, first-degree rape, or first-degree sexual offense).  

 
Subchapter II of G.S. Chapter 7B, the Juvenile Code, is reproduced in Appendix A, indicating 
with editing marks where amendments related to raising the juvenile age would be needed. Some 
sections are followed by italicized comments that either explain the changes or identify issues 
that could affect the wording of the statute. In a few instances the changes are not directly 
required by the increase in the jurisdictional age but provide clarification of existing provisions. 
 
Assumptions 

The document comprising Appendix A reflects some assumptions. First, it assumes that the 
nature of the conduct that is considered delinquent would not change – that is, that sixteen- and 
seventeen-year-olds would be subject to juvenile court jurisdiction for violations of the motor 
vehicle laws and for indirect contempt by a juvenile, as well as for the commission of crimes or 
infractions under state law or local ordinances. (Appendix C shows an alternative treatment of 
motor vehicle offenses.) 
 
Second, the document assumes that the two-year increase in the court’s initial jurisdiction would 
be accompanied by a two-year increase in the court’s continuing or dispositional jurisdiction. 
Raising the age of initial jurisdiction to 18, without a comparable increase in the age of 
dispositional jurisdiction, would allow very little time, or in some cases no time, to implement 
meaningful dispositions in the cases of older juveniles. The draft assumes that the upper age limit 
would apply to all delinquent juveniles, not just those over a certain age or those who commit 
certain offenses.   
 
The document in Appendix A makes no assumption about changes in the ages of extended 
jurisdiction but notes sections that would require amendments. (Applying the two-year extension 
to the current extended jurisdiction provisions would result in some juveniles’ remaining in the 
juvenile justice system until their 21st or 23rd birthdays.)    
 

Policy Questions 

This report does not analyze policy issues related to raising the age of juvenile court jurisdiction. 
Some policy questions, however, have a bearing on whether or how certain statutes should be 
amended. These include, of course, the questions of whether the assumptions described above 
are accurate and how the statutes dealing with extended jurisdiction should be changed. Other 
questions are noted below or in the draft statutes in Appendix A.  
 
A number of the policy issues relate to the increased number of juveniles who would be subject 
to juvenile court jurisdiction after they reach age eighteen and legally are adults. Under current 
law adults can be subject to juvenile court jurisdiction, for offenses they committed before they 
reached age sixteen, in several circumstances. 

1. Pursuant to extended jurisdiction, some juveniles remain in the juvenile court system 
until their 19th or 21st birthdays.   
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2. Juvenile petitions can be filed and the juvenile court can conduct probable cause and 
transfer hearings for individuals of any age, for felony offenses they are alleged to have 
committed when at least 13 and not yet 16.   

3. A juvenile who marries or is emancipated while subject to the juvenile court’s 
jurisdiction is not released from the court’s jurisdiction for that reason alone. 

 
These cases are not numerous, and the Juvenile Code contains no special provisions addressing 
these juveniles’ legal status as adults. It seems likely that an extension of the court’s dispositional 
jurisdiction past age eighteen would increase substantially the number of adults in the juvenile 
justice system. They could be involved in intake, subject to diversion contracts, on probation, 
committed to or on post-release supervision from a youth development center, or subject to any 
other available disposition.  
 
Following are some of the questions relating to whether the increased number of adults who 
would be subject to juvenile court jurisdiction suggests a need for statutory changes.  

1. Because at age eighteen an individual is not legally subject to parental supervision and 
control, when a juvenile reaches age eighteen should the juvenile court continue to have 
jurisdiction over the juvenile’s parents? For example, should the parents still be required 
to attend court hearings, and should the court have authority to order the parents to 
participate in the juvenile’s treatment or take other actions?  

2. Should the right to have a parent, guardian, or custodian present during in-custody 
interrogation apply to juveniles after age eighteen?  

3. Should a juvenile who is eighteen or older be able to waive the right to counsel?   

4. Are there dispositional options and resources provided in the Juvenile Code that will not 
or should not be available to juveniles who are eighteen or older? 

5. Are there additional or different dispositional options that should be in the Juvenile Code 
to address the needs and circumstances of older juveniles?  

 

Applicability 

Any legislation increasing the juvenile age needs to include clear applicability language.    
 

Other Statutes 

Appendix B sets out various statutes other than the Juvenile Code for which raising the juvenile 
age has or may have implications. A number of criminal statutes define offenses in relation to the 
age of the offender, the age of the victim, or both. Raising the juvenile age does not require that 
these be changed. They are set out in Appendix B, however, with the age provisions highlighted, 
to facilitate consideration of whether changes are desirable.  
 

Motor Vehicle Offenses 

The current definition of “delinquent juvenile” includes a juvenile who commits a violation of 
the motor vehicle laws. Inclusion in the juvenile justice system of motor vehicle offenses by 16- 
and 17-year-olds would not necessarily require significant changes in G.S. Chapter 20, the Motor 
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Vehicle laws. Some of the questions that should be considered in relation to the Juvenile Code, 
however, include the following: 

 Would all motor vehicle offenses committed by juveniles be subject to the same intake, 
evaluation, and petitioning process as other delinquent offenses? 

 Should additional diversion options be available for motor vehicle offenses? 
 Would appropriate dispositions for all motor vehicle offenses be added to the Juvenile Code, 

or would some consequences be incorporated by reference from Chapter 20? 
 How would the confidentiality provisions of the Juvenile Code work in relation to motor 

vehicle offenses? 
 Would the appointment of counsel be required for all juveniles alleged to have committed a 

motor vehicle offense? 
 
If not all motor vehicle offenses were handled in the juvenile system, other possible approaches 
include 

1. specifying particular motor vehicle offenses for which a juvenile would continue to be 
treated as an adult. 

2. leaving all motor vehicle offenses in the adult system but requiring or allowing reverse 
transfer from district or superior court to juvenile court for some offenses.  

 
Appendix C provides an example of the second approach.  
 
 
Appendix A.  Draft Changes to the Juvenile Code    
Appendix B.  Draft Changes to Statutes other than the Juvenile Code   
Appendix C.  Draft Alternative Treatment of Motor Vehicle Offenses 
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APPENDIX A.  DRAFT CHANGES TO THE JUVENILE CODE   
 
 

Changes that would be required or that seem likely as a result of raising the juvenile age are 
shown with underlining and strike-through. Italicized notes after some sections explain the 
changes or identify issues that could affect the wording of the statute. Shaded areas represent 
issues for consideration; language in the shaded area is unchanged from the original source.  

 

Chapter 7B. 

Juvenile Code. 
 

SUBCHAPTER II. UNDISCIPLINED AND DELINQUENT JUVENILES. 

Article 15. 

Purposes; Definitions. 

 
§ 7B-1500.  Purpose. 

This Subchapter shall be interpreted and construed so as to implement the following purposes 
and policies: 

(1) To protect the public from acts of delinquency. 
(2) To deter delinquency and crime, including patterns of repeat offending: 

a. By providing swift, effective dispositions that emphasize the juvenile 
offender’s accountability for the juvenile’s actions; and 

b. By providing appropriate rehabilitative services to juveniles and their 
families. 

(3) To provide an effective system of intake services for the screening and 
evaluation of complaints and, in appropriate cases, where court intervention is 
not necessary to ensure public safety, to refer juveniles to community-based 
resources. 

(4) To provide uniform procedures that assure fairness and equity; that protect the 
constitutional rights of juveniles, parents, and victims; and that encourage the 
court and others involved with juvenile offenders to proceed with all possible 
speed in making and implementing determinations required by this 
Subchapter. 

 
§ 7B-1501.  Definitions. 

In this Subchapter, unless the context clearly requires otherwise, the following words have 
the listed meanings. The singular includes the plural, unless otherwise specified. 

(1) Chief court counselor. – The person responsible for administration and 
supervision of juvenile intake, probation, and post-release supervision in each 
judicial district, operating under the supervision of the Department of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Prevention. 

(2) Clerk. – Any clerk of superior court, acting clerk, or assistant or deputy clerk. 
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(3) Community-based program. – A program providing nonresidential or 
residential treatment to a juvenile under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court 
in the community where the juvenile’s family lives. A community-based 
program may include specialized foster care, family counseling, shelter care, 
and other appropriate treatment. 

(4) Court. – The district court division of the General Court of Justice. 
(5) Repealed by Session Laws 2001-490, s. 2.1, effective June 30, 2001. 
(6) Custodian. – The person or agency that has been awarded legal custody of a 

juvenile by a court. 
(7) Delinquent juvenile. – Any juvenile who, while less than 16 18 years of age 

but at least 6 years of age, commits a crime or infraction under State law or 
under an ordinance of local government, including violation of the motor 
vehicle laws, or who commits indirect contempt by a juvenile as defined in 
G.S. 5A-31.  

 Note: If any motor vehicle offenses committed by 16- and 17-year-olds 
are to be handled in adult court rather than juvenile court, the 
definition would need to be amended to reflect that.  

(7a) Department. – The Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 
Prevention created under Article 12 of Chapter 143B of the General Statutes. 

(8) Detention. – The secure confinement of a juvenile under a court order. 
(9) Detention facility. – A facility approved to provide secure confinement and 

care for juveniles. Detention facilities include both State and locally 
administered detention homes, centers, and facilities. 

(10) District. – Any district court district as established by G.S. 7A-133. 
(11) Holdover facility. – A place in a jail which has been approved by the 

Department of Health and Human Services as meeting the State standards for 
detention as required in G.S. 153A-221 providing close supervision where the 
juvenile cannot converse with, see, or be seen by the adult population. 

(12) House arrest. – A requirement that the juvenile remain at the juvenile’s 
residence unless the court or the juvenile court counselor authorizes the 
juvenile to leave for specific purposes. 

(13) Intake. – The process of screening and evaluating a complaint alleging that a 
juvenile is delinquent or undisciplined to determine whether the complaint 
should be filed as a petition. 

(14) Interstate Compact on Juveniles. – An agreement ratified by 50 states and the 
District of Columbia providing a formal means of returning a juvenile, who is 
an absconder, escapee, or runaway, to the juvenile’s home state, and codified 
in Article 28 of this Chapter. 

(15) Judge. – Any district court judge. 
(16) Judicial district. – Any district court district as established by G.S. 7A-133. 
(17) Juvenile. –Except as provided in subdivisions (7) and (27) of this section, any 
 Any person who has not reached the person’s eighteenth birthday and is not 

married, emancipated, or a member of the armed forces of the United States. 
In relation to delinquency proceedings, “juvenile” also means a person who is 
subject to the court’s jurisdiction due to a delinquent offense the person 
committed or is alleged to have committed before reaching the age of 
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eighteen. Wherever the term “juvenile” is used with reference to rights and 
privileges, that term encompasses the attorney for the juvenile as well.  

Note: The added sentence addresses the fact that with the extension of the 
jurisdictional age, an increasing number of references to “juvenile” in the 
Subchapter will be referring to persons who are 18 or older. The sentence 
is subject to the general proviso in the introductory language of the 
section – “unless the context clearly requires otherwise.” 

      It would be possible to use a different term, such as “youth,” to refer 
people who are subject to the juvenile court’s jurisdiction past age 18, 
although pinpointing the time at which the terminology should change 
might be awkward. A different possibility would be to make the term 
“youth” interchangeable with the term “juvenile.” 

(18) Juvenile court. – Any district court exercising jurisdiction under this Chapter. 
(18a) Juvenile court counselor. – A person responsible for intake services and court 

supervision services to juveniles under the supervision of the chief court 
counselor. 

(19) Repealed by Session Laws 2000, c. 137, s. 2, effective July 20, 2000. 
(20) Petitioner. – The individual who initiates court action by the filing of a 

petition or a motion for review alleging the matter for adjudication. 
(21) Post-release supervision. – The supervision of a juvenile who has been 

returned to the community after having been committed to the Department for 
placement in a youth development center. 

(22) Probation. – The status of a juvenile who has been adjudicated delinquent, is 
subject to specified conditions under the supervision of a juvenile court 
counselor, and may be returned to the court for violation of those conditions 
during the period of probation. 

(23) Prosecutor. – The district attorney or assistant district attorney assigned by the 
district attorney to juvenile proceedings. 

(24) Protective supervision. – The status of a juvenile who has been adjudicated 
undisciplined and is under the supervision of a juvenile court counselor. 

(25) Teen court program. – A community resource for the diversion of cases in 
which a juvenile has allegedly committed certain offenses for hearing by a 
jury of the juvenile’s peers, which may assign the juvenile to counseling, 
restitution, curfews, community service, or other rehabilitative measures. 

(26) Repealed by Session Laws 2001-95, s. 1, effective May 18, 2001. 
(27) Undisciplined juvenile. – 

a. A juvenile who, while less than 16 years of age but at least 6 years of 
age, is unlawfully absent from school; or is regularly disobedient to 
and beyond the disciplinary control of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, 
or custodian; or is regularly found in places where it is unlawful for a 
juvenile to be; or has run away from home for a period of more than 
24 hours; or 

b. A juvenile who is 16 or 17 years of age and who is regularly 
disobedient to and beyond the disciplinary control of the juvenile’s 
parent, guardian, or custodian; or is regularly found in places where it 
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is unlawful for a juvenile to be; or has run away from home for a 
period of more than 24 hours. 

(28) Wilderness program. – A rehabilitative residential treatment program in a 
rural or outdoor setting. 

(29) Youth development center. – A secure residential facility authorized to 
provide long-term treatment, education, and rehabilitative services for 
delinquent juveniles committed by the court to the Department. 

 
Article 16. 

Jurisdiction. 

§ 7B-1600.  Jurisdiction over undisciplined juveniles. 
(a) The court has exclusive, original jurisdiction over any case involving a juvenile who 

is alleged to be undisciplined. For purposes of determining jurisdiction, the age of the juvenile at 
the time of the alleged offense governs. 

(b) When the court obtains jurisdiction over a juvenile under this section, jurisdiction 
shall continue until terminated by order of the court, the juvenile reaches the age of 18 years, or 
the juvenile is emancipated. 

(c) The court has jurisdiction over the parent, guardian, or custodian of a juvenile who is 
under the jurisdiction of the court pursuant to this section, if the parent, guardian, or custodian 
has been served with a summons pursuant to G.S. 7B-1805. 
 
§ 7B-1601.  Jurisdiction over delinquent juveniles. 

(a) The court has exclusive, original jurisdiction over any case involving a juvenile who 
is alleged to be delinquent. For purposes of determining jurisdiction, the age of the juvenile at the 
time of the alleged offense governs. 

(b) When the court obtains jurisdiction over a juvenile alleged to be delinquent, 
jurisdiction shall continue until terminated by order of the court or until the juvenile reaches the 
age of 18 20 years, except as provided otherwise in this Article. 

(c) When delinquency proceedings cannot be concluded before the juvenile reaches the 
age of 18 20 years, the court retains jurisdiction for the sole purpose of conducting proceedings 
pursuant to Article 22 of this Chapter and either transferring the case to superior court for trial as 
an adult or dismissing the petition. 

(d) When the court has not obtained jurisdiction over a juvenile before the juvenile 
reaches the age of 18 20, for a felony and any related misdemeanors the juvenile allegedly 
committed on or after the juvenile’s thirteenth birthday and prior to the juvenile’s sixteenth 
eighteenth birthday, the court has jurisdiction for the sole purpose of conducting proceedings 
pursuant to Article 22 of this Chapter and either transferring the case to superior court for trial as 
an adult or dismissing the petition. 

(e) The court has jurisdiction over delinquent juveniles in the custody of the Department 
and over proceedings to determine whether a juvenile who is under the post-release supervision 
of the juvenile court counselor has violated the terms of the juvenile’s post-release supervision. 

(f) The court has jurisdiction over persons 18 20 years of age or older who are under the 
extended jurisdiction of the juvenile court. 



 

144 

(g) The court has jurisdiction over the parent, guardian, or custodian of a juvenile who is 
under the jurisdiction of the court pursuant to this section if the parent, guardian, or custodian has 
been served with a summons pursuant to G.S. 7B-1805.  

Note:  
 The age changes reflect a two-year increase in the court’s general dispositional 

jurisdiction. 
 Should this or another section address any jurisdictional differences with respect to 

parents of juveniles who are 18 or older? 
 
§ 7B-1602.  Extended jurisdiction over a delinquent juvenile under certain circumstances. 

(a) When a juvenile is committed to the Department for placement in a youth 
development center for an offense that would be first degree murder pursuant to G.S. 14-17, 
first-degree rape pursuant to G.S. 14-27.2, or first-degree sexual offense pursuant to G.S. 14-27.4 
if committed by an adult, jurisdiction shall continue until terminated by order of the court or until 
the juvenile reaches the age of 21 years, whichever occurs first. 

(b) When a juvenile is committed to the Department for placement in a youth 
development center for an offense that would be a Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E felony if 
committed by an adult, other than an offense set forth in subsection (a) of this section, 
jurisdiction shall continue until terminated by order of the court or until the juvenile reaches the 
age of 19 years, whichever occurs first.  

Note:  This section would need to be rewritten to reflect changes in extended jurisdiction, 
with conforming changes in later sections.  (If general dispositional jurisdiction were 
raised to age 20, age 19 would no longer represent an extension of jurisdiction.) 
    The added reference to a “Class A” felony reflects the fact that, in addition to first 
degree murder, willfully injuring another person by use of a  nuclear, biological, or 
chemical weapon of mass destruction is a Class A felony under G.S. 14-288.22. 

§ 7B-1603.  Jurisdiction in certain circumstances. 
The court has exclusive original jurisdiction of all of the following proceedings: 

(1) Proceedings under the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children set 
forth in Article 38 of this Chapter. 

(2) Proceedings involving judicial consent for emergency surgical or medical 
treatment for a juvenile when the juvenile’s parent, guardian, custodian, or 
person who has assumed the status and obligation of a parent without being 
awarded legal custody of the juvenile by a court refuses to consent for 
treatment to be rendered. 

(3) Proceedings to determine whether a juvenile should be emancipated. 
(4) Proceedings in which a juvenile has been ordered pursuant to G.S. 5A-32(b) 

to appear and show cause why the juvenile should not be held in contempt. 
 

§ 7B-1604.  Limitations on juvenile court jurisdiction. 
(a) Any juvenile individual, including a juvenile one who is under the jurisdiction of the 

court, who commits a criminal offense on or after the juvenile’s sixteenth individual’s eighteenth 
birthday is subject to prosecution as an adult. A juvenile who is emancipated shall be prosecuted 
as an adult for the commission of a criminal offense. 

(b) A juvenile who is transferred to and convicted in superior court shall be prosecuted as 
an adult for any criminal offense the juvenile commits after the superior court conviction.  
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Article 17. 

Screening of Delinquency and Undisciplined Complaints. 
 
§ 7B-1700.  Intake services. 

The chief court counselor, under the direction of the Department, shall establish intake 
services in each judicial district of the State for all delinquency and undisciplined cases. 

The purpose of intake services shall be to determine from available evidence whether there 
are reasonable grounds to believe the facts alleged are true, to determine whether the facts 
alleged constitute a delinquent or undisciplined offense within the jurisdiction of the court, to 
determine whether the facts alleged are sufficiently serious to warrant court action, and to obtain 
assistance from community resources when court referral is not necessary. The juvenile court 
counselor shall not engage in field investigations to substantiate complaints or to produce 
supplementary evidence but may refer complainants to law enforcement agencies for those 
purposes. 
 
§ 7B-1701.  Preliminary inquiry. 

When a complaint is received, the juvenile court counselor shall make a preliminary 
determination as to whether the juvenile is within the jurisdiction of the court as a delinquent or 
undisciplined juvenile. If the juvenile court counselor finds that the facts contained in the 
complaint do not state a case within the jurisdiction of the court, that legal sufficiency has not 
been established, or that the matters alleged are frivolous, the juvenile court counselor, without 
further inquiry, shall refuse authorization to file the complaint as a petition. 

When requested by the juvenile court counselor, the prosecutor shall assist in determining the 
sufficiency of evidence as it affects the quantum of proof and the elements of offenses. 

The juvenile court counselor, without further inquiry, shall authorize the complaint to be 
filed as a petition if the juvenile court counselor finds reasonable grounds to believe that the 
juvenile has committed one of the following nondivertible offenses: 

(1) Murder; 
(2) First-degree rape or second degree rape; 
(3) First-degree sexual offense or second degree sexual offense; 
(4) Arson; 
(5) Any violation of Article 5, Chapter 90 of the General Statutes that would 

constitute a felony if committed by an adult; 
(6) First degree burglary; 
(7) Crime against nature; or 
(8) Any felony which involves the willful infliction of serious bodily injury upon 

another or which was committed by use of a deadly weapon. 
 
§ 7B-1702.  Evaluation. 

Upon a finding of legal sufficiency, except in cases involving nondivertible offenses set out 
in G.S. 7B-1701, the juvenile court counselor shall determine whether a complaint should be 
filed as a petition, the juvenile diverted pursuant to G.S. 7B-1706, or the case resolved without 
further action. In making the decision, the counselor shall consider criteria provided by the 
Department. The intake process shall include the following steps if practicable: 

(1) Interviews with the complainant and the victim if someone other than the 
complainant; 
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(2) Interviews with the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian; 
(3) Interviews with persons known to have relevant information about the 

juvenile or the juvenile’s family. 
Interviews required by this section shall be conducted in person unless it is necessary to conduct 
them by telephone. 
 
§ 7B-1703.  Evaluation decision. 

(a) The juvenile court counselor shall complete evaluation of a complaint within 15 days 
of receipt of the complaint, with an extension for a maximum of 15 additional days at the 
discretion of the chief court counselor. The juvenile court counselor shall decide within this time 
period whether a complaint shall be filed as a juvenile petition. 

(b) Except as provided in G.S. 7B-1706, if the juvenile court counselor determines that a 
complaint should be filed as a petition, the counselor shall file the petition as soon as practicable, 
but in any event within 15 days after the complaint is received, with an extension for a maximum 
of 15 additional days at the discretion of the chief court counselor. The juvenile court counselor 
shall assist the complainant when necessary with the preparation and filing of the petition, shall 
include on it the date and the words “Approved for Filing”, shall sign it, and shall transmit it to 
the clerk of superior court. 

(c) If the juvenile court counselor determines that a petition should not be filed, the 
juvenile court counselor shall notify the complainant immediately in writing with reasons for the 
decision and shall include notice of the complainant’s right to have the decision reviewed by the 
prosecutor. The juvenile court counselor shall sign the complaint after indicating on it: 

(1) The date of the determination; 
(2) The words “Not Approved for Filing”; and 
(3) Whether the matter is “Closed” or “Diverted and Retained”. 

Except as provided in G.S. 7B-1706, any complaint not approved for filing as a juvenile 
petition shall be destroyed by the juvenile court counselor after holding the complaint for a 
temporary period to allow review as provided in G.S. 7B-1705.  
 
§ 7B-1704.  Request for review by prosecutor. 

The complainant has five calendar days, from receipt of the juvenile court counselor’s 
decision not to approve the filing of a petition, to request review by the prosecutor. The juvenile 
court counselor shall notify the prosecutor immediately of such request and shall transmit to the 
prosecutor a copy of the complaint. The prosecutor shall notify the complainant and the juvenile 
court counselor of the time and place for the review.  
§ 7B-1705.  Review of determination that petition should not be filed. 

No later than 20 days after the complainant is notified, the prosecutor shall review the 
juvenile court counselor’s determination that a juvenile petition should not be filed. Review shall 
include conferences with the complainant and the juvenile court counselor. At the conclusion of 
the review, the prosecutor shall: (i) affirm the decision of the juvenile court counselor or direct 
the filing of a petition and (ii) notify the complainant of the prosecutor’s action. 
 
§ 7B-1706.  Diversion plans and referral. 

(a) Unless the offense is one in which a petition is required by G.S. 7B-1701, upon a 
finding of legal sufficiency the juvenile court counselor may divert the juvenile pursuant to a 
diversion plan, which may include referring the juvenile to any of the following resources: 
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(1) An appropriate public or private resource; 
(2) Restitution; 
(3) Community service; 
(4) Victim-offender mediation; 
(5) Regimented physical training; 
(6) Counseling; 
(7) A teen court program, as set forth in subsection (c) of this section. 

As part of a diversion plan, the juvenile court counselor may enter into a diversion contract 
with the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian. 

(b) Unless the offense is one in which a petition is required by G.S. 7B-1701, upon a 
finding of legal sufficiency the juvenile court counselor may enter into a diversion contract with 
the juvenile and the parent, guardian, or custodian; provided, a diversion contract requires the 
consent of the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian. A diversion contract 
shall: 

(1) State conditions by which the juvenile agrees to abide and any actions the 
juvenile agrees to take; 

(2) State conditions by which the parent, guardian, or custodian agrees to abide 
and any actions the parent, guardian, or custodian agrees to take; 

(3) Describe the role of the juvenile court counselor in relation to the juvenile and 
the parent, guardian, or custodian; 

(4) Specify the length of the contract, which shall not exceed six months; 
(5) Indicate that all parties understand and agree that: 

a. The juvenile’s violation of the contract may result in the filing of the 
complaint as a petition; and 

b. The juvenile’s successful completion of the contract shall preclude the 
filing of a petition. 

After a diversion contract is signed by the parties, the juvenile court counselor shall provide 
copies of the contract to the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian. The 
juvenile court counselor shall notify any agency or other resource from which the juvenile or the 
juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian will be seeking services or treatment pursuant to the 
terms of the contract. At any time during the term of the contract if the juvenile court counselor 
determines that the juvenile has failed to comply substantially with the terms of the contract, the 
juvenile court counselor may file the complaint as a petition. Unless the juvenile court counselor 
has filed the complaint as a petition, the juvenile court counselor shall close the juvenile’s file in 
regard to the diverted matter within six months after the date of the contract. 

(c) If a teen court program has been established in the district, the juvenile court 
counselor, upon a finding of legal sufficiency, may refer to a teen court program, any case in 
which a juvenile has allegedly committed an offense that would be an infraction or misdemeanor 
if committed by an adult. However, the juvenile court counselor shall not refer a case to a teen 
court program (i) if the juvenile has been referred to a teen court program previously, or (ii) if 
the juvenile is alleged to have committed any of the following offenses: 

(1) Driving while impaired under G.S. 20-138.1, 20-138.2, 20-138.3, 20-138.5, or 
20-138.7, or any other motor vehicle violation; 

(2) A Class A1 misdemeanor; 
(3) An assault in which a weapon is used; or 
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(4) A controlled substance offense under Article 5 of Chapter 90 of the General 
Statutes, other than simple possession of a Schedule VI drug or alcohol. 

(d) The juvenile court counselor shall maintain diversion plans and contracts entered into 
pursuant to this section to allow juvenile court counselors to determine when a juvenile has had a 
complaint diverted previously. Diversion plans and contracts are not public records under 
Chapter 132 of the General Statutes, shall not be included in the clerk’s record pursuant to G.S. 
7B-3000, and shall be withheld from public inspection or examination. Diversion plans and 
contracts shall be destroyed when the juvenile reaches the age of 18 20 years or when the 
juvenile is no longer under the jurisdiction of the court, whichever is longer. 

(e) No later than 60 days after the juvenile court counselor diverts a juvenile, the juvenile 
court counselor shall determine whether the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or 
custodian have complied with the terms of the diversion plan or contract. In making this 
determination, the juvenile court counselor shall contact any referral resources to determine 
whether the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian complied with any 
recommendations for treatment or services made by the resource. If the juvenile and the 
juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian have not complied, the juvenile court counselor shall 
reconsider the decision to divert and may authorize the filing of the complaint as a petition 
within 10 days after making the determination. If the juvenile court counselor does not file a 
petition, the juvenile court counselor may continue to monitor the case for up to six months from 
the date of the diversion plan or contract. At any point during that time period if the juvenile and 
the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian fail to comply, the juvenile court counselor shall 
reconsider the decision to divert and may authorize the filing of the complaint as a petition. After 
six months, the juvenile court counselor shall close the diversion plan or contract file.  
 
§ 7B-1707.  Direct contempt by juvenile. 

The preceding sections of this Article do not apply when a juvenile is ordered pursuant to 
G.S. 5A-32(b) to appear and show cause why the juvenile should not be held in contempt. 
 

Article 18. 

Venue; Petition; Summons. 

§ 7B-1800.  Venue. 
(a) A proceeding in which a juvenile is alleged to be delinquent or undisciplined shall be 

commenced and adjudicated in the district in which the offense is alleged to have occurred. 
When a proceeding is commenced in a district other than that of the juvenile’s residence, the 
court shall proceed to adjudication in that district and, if the juvenile is in residential treatment or 
foster care in that district, the court shall conduct the dispositional hearing in that district as well, 
unless the judge enters an order, supported by findings of fact, that a transfer would serve the 
ends of justice or is in the best interests of the juvenile. 

(b) Except as provided in subsection (a) of this section, after adjudication, the following 
procedures shall be available to the court: 

(1) The court may transfer the proceeding to the court in the district where the 
juvenile resides for disposition. 

(2) Where the proceeding is not transferred under subdivision (1) of this section, 
the court shall immediately notify the chief district court judge in the district 
in which the juvenile resides. If the chief district court judge requests a 
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transfer within five days after receipt of notification, the court shall transfer 
the proceeding. 

(3) Where the proceeding is not transferred under subdivision (1) or (2) of this 
section, the court, upon motion of the juvenile, shall transfer the proceeding to 
the court in the district where the juvenile resides for disposition. The court 
shall advise the juvenile of the juvenile’s right to transfer under this section. 

 
§ 7B-1801.  Pleading and process. 

The pleading in a juvenile action is the petition. The process in a juvenile action is the 
summons. 
 
§ 7B-1802.  Petition. 

The petition shall contain the name, date of birth, and address of the juvenile and the name 
and last known address of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian. The petition shall allege 
the facts that invoke jurisdiction over the juvenile. The petition shall not contain information on 
more than one juvenile. 

A petition in which delinquency is alleged shall contain a plain and concise statement, 
without allegations of an evidentiary nature, asserting facts supporting every element of a 
criminal offense and the juvenile’s commission thereof with sufficient precision clearly to 
apprise the juvenile of the conduct which is the subject of the allegation. 

Sufficient copies of the petition shall be prepared so that copies will be available for the 
juvenile, for each parent if living separate and apart, for the guardian or custodian if any, for the 
juvenile court counselor, for the prosecutor, and for any person determined by the court to be a 
necessary party.  
 
§ 7B-1803.  Receipt of complaints; filing of petition. 

(a) All complaints concerning a juvenile alleged to be delinquent or undisciplined shall 
be referred to the juvenile court counselor for screening and evaluation. Thereafter, if the 
juvenile court counselor determines that a petition should be filed, the petition shall be drawn by 
the juvenile court counselor or the clerk, signed by the complainant, and verified before an 
official authorized to administer oaths. If the circumstances indicate a need for immediate 
attachment of jurisdiction and if the juvenile court counselor is out of the county or otherwise 
unavailable to receive a complaint and to draw a petition when it is needed, the clerk shall assist 
the complainant in communicating the complaint to the juvenile court counselor by telephone 
and, with the approval of the juvenile court counselor, shall draw a petition and file it when 
signed and verified. A copy of the complaint and petition shall be transmitted to the juvenile 
court counselor. Procedures for receiving delinquency and undisciplined complaints and drawing 
petitions thereon, consistent with this Article and Article 17 of this Chapter, shall be established 
by administrative order of the chief judge in each judicial district. 

(b) If review is requested pursuant to G.S. 7B-1704, the prosecutor shall review a 
complaint and any decision of the juvenile court counselor not to authorize that the complaint be 
filed as a petition. If the prosecutor, after review, authorizes a complaint to be filed as a petition, 
the prosecutor shall prepare the complaint to be filed by the clerk as a petition, recording the day 
of filing. 
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§ 7B-1804.  Commencement of action. 
(a) An action is commenced by the filing of a petition in the clerk’s office when that 

office is open, or by a magistrate’s acceptance of a petition for filing pursuant to subsection (b) 
of this section when the clerk’s office is closed. 

(b) When the office of the clerk is closed and the juvenile court counselor requests a 
petition alleging a juvenile to be delinquent or undisciplined, a magistrate may draw and verify 
the petition and accept it for filing, which acceptance shall constitute filing. The magistrate’s 
authority under this subsection is limited to emergency situations when a petition is required in 
order to obtain a secure or nonsecure custody order. Any petition accepted for filing under this 
subsection shall be delivered to the clerk’s office for processing as soon as that office is open for 
business. 
 
§ 7B-1805.  Issuance of summons. 

(a) Immediately after a petition has been filed alleging that a juvenile is undisciplined or 
delinquent, the clerk shall issue a summons to the juvenile and to the parent, guardian, or 
custodian requiring them to appear for a hearing at the time and place stated in the summons. A 
copy of the petition shall be attached to each summons. 

(b) A summons shall be on a printed form supplied by the Administrative Office of the 
Courts and shall include: 

(1) Notice of the nature of the proceeding and the purpose of the hearing 
scheduled on the summons. 

(2) Notice of any right to counsel and information about how to seek the 
appointment of counsel prior to a hearing. 

(3) Notice that, if the court determines at the adjudicatory hearing that the 
allegations of the petition are true, the court will conduct a dispositional 
hearing and will have jurisdiction to enter orders affecting substantial rights of 
the juvenile and of the parent, guardian, or custodian, including orders that: 
a. Affect the juvenile’s custody; 
b. Impose conditions on the juvenile; 
c. Require that the juvenile receive medical, psychiatric, psychological, 

or other treatment and that the parent participate in the treatment; 
d. Require the parent to undergo psychiatric, psychological, or other 

treatment or counseling; 
e. Order the parent to pay for treatment that is ordered for the juvenile or 

the parent; and 
f. Order the parent to pay support for the juvenile for any period the 

juvenile does not reside with the parent or to pay attorneys’ fees or 
other fees or expenses as ordered by the court. 

(4) Notice that the parent, guardian, or custodian shall be required to attend 
scheduled hearings and that failure without reasonable cause to attend may 
result in proceedings for contempt of court. 

(5) Notice that the parent, guardian, or custodian shall be responsible for bringing 
the juvenile before the court at any hearing the juvenile is required to attend 
and that failure without reasonable cause to bring the juvenile before the court 
may result in proceedings for contempt of court. 
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(c) The summons shall advise the parent, guardian, or custodian that upon service, 
jurisdiction over the parent, guardian, or custodian is obtained and that failure of the parent, 
guardian, or custodian to appear or bring the juvenile before the court without reasonable cause 
or to comply with any order of the court pursuant to Article 27 of this Chapter may cause the 
court to issue a show cause order for contempt. The summons shall contain the following 
language in bold type: 
“TO THE PARENT(S), GUARDIAN(S), OR CUSTODIAN(S): YOUR FAILURE TO 
APPEAR IN COURT FOR A SCHEDULED HEARING OR TO COMPLY WITH AN ORDER 
OF THE COURT MAY RESULT IN A FINDING OF CRIMINAL CONTEMPT. A PERSON 
HELD IN CRIMINAL CONTEMPT MAY BE SUBJECT TO IMPRISONMENT OF UP TO 30 
DAYS, A FINE NOT TO EXCEED FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS ($500.00) OR BOTH.” 

(d) A summons shall be directed to the person summoned to appear and shall be 
delivered to any person authorized to serve process.  
 
§ 7B-1806.  Service of summons. 

The summons and petition shall be personally served upon the parent, the guardian, or 
custodian and the juvenile not less than five days prior to the date of the scheduled hearing. The 
time for service may be waived in the discretion of the court. 

If the parent, guardian, or custodian entitled to receive a summons cannot be found by a 
diligent effort, the court may authorize service of the summons and petition by mail or by 
publication. The cost of the service by publication shall be advanced by the petitioner and may 
be charged as court costs as the court may direct. 

The court may issue a show cause order for contempt against a parent, guardian, or custodian 
who is personally served and fails without reasonable cause to appear and to bring the juvenile 
before the court. 

The provisions of G.S. 15A-301(a), (c), (d), and (e) relating to criminal process apply to 
juvenile process; provided the period of time for return of an unserved summons is 30 days.  
 
§ 7B-1807.  Notice to parent and juvenile of scheduled hearings. 

The clerk shall give to all parties, including both parents of the juvenile, the juvenile’s 
guardian or custodian, and any other person who has assumed the status and obligation of a 
parent without being awarded legal custody of the juvenile by a court, five days’ written notice 
of the date and time of all scheduled hearings unless the party is notified in open court or the 
court orders otherwise.  

 
§ 7B-1808.  First appearance for felony cases. 
 (a) A juvenile who is alleged in the petition to have committed an offense that would be a 
felony if committed by an adult shall be summoned to appear before the court for a first 
appearance within 10 days of the filing of the petition. If the juvenile is in secure or nonsecure 
custody, the first appearance shall take place at the initial hearing required by G.S. 7B-1906. 
Unless the juvenile is in secure or nonsecure custody, the court may continue the first appearance 
to a time certain for good cause. 

(b) At the first appearance, the court shall: 
(1) Inform the juvenile of the allegations set forth in the petition; 
(2) Determine whether the juvenile has retained counsel or has been assigned 

counsel; 
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(3) If applicable, inform the juvenile of the date of the probable cause hearing, 
which shall be within 15 days of the first appearance; and 

(4) Inform the parent, guardian, or custodian that the parent, guardian, or 
custodian is required to attend all hearings scheduled in the matter and may be 
held in contempt of court for failure to attend any scheduled hearing. 

If the juvenile is not represented by counsel, counsel for the juvenile shall be appointed in 
accordance with rules adopted by the Office of Indigent Defense Services.  
 

Article 19. 

Temporary Custody; Secure and Nonsecure Custody; Custody Hearings. 

§ 7B-1900.  Taking a juvenile into temporary custody. 
Temporary custody means the taking of physical custody and providing personal care and 

supervision until a court order for secure or nonsecure custody can be obtained. A juvenile may 
be taken into temporary custody without a court order under the following circumstances: 

(1) By a law enforcement officer if grounds exist for the arrest of an adult in 
identical circumstances under G.S. 15A-401(b). 

(2) By a law enforcement officer or a juvenile court counselor if there are 
reasonable grounds to believe that the juvenile is an undisciplined juvenile. 

(3) By a law enforcement officer, by a juvenile court counselor, by a member of 
the Black Mountain Center, Alcohol Rehabilitation Center, and Juvenile 
Evaluation Center Joint Security Force established pursuant to G.S. 122C-421, 
or by personnel of the Department if there are reasonable grounds to believe 
the juvenile is an absconder from any residential facility operated by the 
Department or from an approved detention facility. 

 
§ 7B-1901.  Duties of person taking juvenile into temporary custody. 

(a) A person who takes a juvenile into custody without a court order under G.S. 
7B-1900(1) or (2) shall proceed as follows: 

(1) Notify the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian that the juvenile has been 
taken into temporary custody and advise the parent, guardian, or custodian of 
the right to be present with the juvenile until a determination is made as to the 
need for secure or nonsecure custody. Failure to notify the parent, guardian, or 
custodian that the juvenile is in custody shall not be grounds for release of the 
juvenile. 

(2) Release the juvenile to the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian if the 
person having the juvenile in temporary custody decides that continued 
custody is unnecessary. In the case of a juvenile unlawfully absent from 
school, if continued custody is unnecessary, the person having temporary 
custody may deliver the juvenile to the juvenile’s school or, if the local city or 
county government and the local school board adopt a policy, to a place in the 
local school administrative unit. 

(3) If the juvenile is not released, request that a petition be drawn pursuant to G.S. 
7B-1803 or G.S. 7B-1804. Once the petition has been drawn and verified, the 
person shall communicate with the juvenile court counselor. If the juvenile 
court counselor approves the filing of the petition, the juvenile court counselor 
shall contact the judge or the person delegated authority pursuant to G.S. 
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7B-1902 if other than the juvenile court counselor, for a determination of the 
need for continued custody. 

(b) A juvenile taken into temporary custody under this Article shall not be held for more 
than 12 hours, or for more than 24 hours if any of the 12 hours falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or 
legal holiday, unless a petition or motion for review has been filed and an order for secure or 
nonsecure custody has been entered. 

(c) If the juvenile is not released, request that a petition be drawn pursuant to G.S. 
7B-1803 or G.S. 7B-1804. Once the petition has been drawn and verified, the person shall 
communicate with the juvenile court counselor. If the juvenile court counselor approves the 
filing of the petition, the juvenile court counselor shall contact the judge or the person delegated 
authority pursuant to G.S. 7B-1902 if other than the juvenile court counselor, for a determination 
of the need for continued custody.   

Note: Subsection (c) is identical to subdivision (a)(3). 
 Should any of these duties be different when the juvenile is 18 or older? 

 
§ 7B-1902.  Authority to issue custody orders; delegation. 

In the case of any juvenile alleged to be within the jurisdiction of the court, when the court 
finds it necessary to place the juvenile in custody, the court may order that the juvenile be placed 
in secure or nonsecure custody pursuant to criteria set out in G.S. 7B-1903. 

Any district court judge may issue secure and nonsecure custody orders pursuant to G.S. 
7B-1903. The chief district court judge may delegate the court’s authority to the chief court 
counselor or the chief court counselor’s counseling staff by administrative order filed in the 
office of the clerk of superior court. The administrative order shall specify which persons may be 
contacted for approval of a secure or nonsecure custody order. The chief district court judge shall 
not delegate the court’s authority to detain or house juveniles in holdover facilities pursuant to 
G.S. 7B-1905 or G.S. 7B-2513. 
 
§ 7B-1903.  Criteria for secure or nonsecure custody. 

(a) When a request is made for nonsecure custody, the court shall first consider release of 
the juvenile to the juvenile’s parent, guardian, custodian, or other responsible adult. An order for 
nonsecure custody shall be made only when there is a reasonable factual basis to believe the 
matters alleged in the petition are true, and that: 

(1) The juvenile is a runaway and consents to nonsecure custody; or 
(2) The juvenile meets one or more of the criteria for secure custody, but the court 

finds it in the best interests of the juvenile that the juvenile be placed in a 
nonsecure placement. 

(b) When a request is made for secure custody, the court may order secure custody only 
where the court finds there is a reasonable factual basis to believe that the juvenile committed the 
offense as alleged in the petition, and that one of the following circumstances exists: 

(1) The juvenile is charged with a felony and has demonstrated that the juvenile is 
a danger to property or persons. 

(2) The juvenile has demonstrated that the juvenile is a danger to persons and is 
charged with either (i) a misdemeanor at least one element of which is assault 
on a person or (ii) a misdemeanor in which the juvenile used, threatened to 
use, or displayed a firearm or other deadly weapon. 
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(2a) The juvenile has demonstrated that the juvenile is a danger to persons and is 
charged with a violation of G.S. 20-138.1 or G.S. 20-138.3. 

(3) The juvenile has willfully failed to appear on a pending delinquency charge or 
on charges of violation of probation or post-release supervision, providing the 
juvenile was properly notified. 

(4) A delinquency charge is pending against the juvenile, and there is reasonable 
cause to believe the juvenile will not appear in court. 

(5) The juvenile is an absconder from (i) any residential facility operated by the 
Department or any detention facility in this State or (ii) any comparable 
facility in another state. 

(6) There is reasonable cause to believe the juvenile should be detained for the 
juvenile’s own protection because the juvenile has recently suffered or 
attempted self-inflicted physical injury. In such case, the juvenile must have 
been refused admission by one appropriate hospital, and the period of secure 
custody is limited to 24 hours to determine the need for inpatient 
hospitalization. If the juvenile is placed in secure custody, the juvenile shall 
receive continuous supervision and a physician shall be notified immediately. 

(7) The juvenile is alleged to be undisciplined by virtue of the juvenile’s being a 
runaway and is inappropriate for nonsecure custody placement or refuses 
nonsecure custody, and the court finds that the juvenile needs secure custody 
for up to 24 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and State holidays, or 
where circumstances require, for a period not to exceed 72 hours to evaluate 
the juvenile’s need for medical or psychiatric treatment or to facilitate reunion 
with the juvenile’s parents, guardian, or custodian. 

(8) The juvenile is alleged to be undisciplined and has willfully failed to appear in 
court after proper notice; the juvenile shall be brought to court as soon as 
possible and in no event should be held more than 24 hours, excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and State holidays or where circumstances require for a 
period not to exceed 72 hours. 

(c) When a juvenile has been adjudicated delinquent, the court may order secure custody 
pending the dispositional hearing or pending placement of the juvenile pursuant to G.S. 7B-2506. 

(d) The court may order secure custody for a juvenile who is alleged to have violated the 
conditions of the juvenile’s probation or post-release supervision, but only if the juvenile is 
alleged to have committed acts that damage property or injure persons. 

(e) If the criteria for secure custody as set out in subsection (b), (c), or (d) of this section 
are met, the court may enter an order directing an officer or other authorized person to assume 
custody of the juvenile and to take the juvenile to the place designated in the order.  
 
§ 7B-1904.  Order for secure or nonsecure custody. 

The custody order shall be in writing and shall direct a law enforcement officer or other 
authorized person to assume custody of the juvenile and to make due return on the order. The 
official executing the order shall give a copy of the order to the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or 
custodian. If the order is for secure custody, copies of the petition and custody order shall 
accompany the juvenile to the detention facility or holdover facility of the jail. A message of the 
Division of Criminal Information, State Bureau of Investigation, stating that a juvenile petition 
and secure custody order relating to a specified juvenile are on file in a particular county shall be 
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authority to detain the juvenile in secure custody until a copy of the juvenile petition and secure 
custody order can be forwarded to the juvenile detention facility. The copies of the juvenile 
petition and secure custody order shall be transmitted to the detention facility no later than 72 
hours after the initial detention of the juvenile. 

An officer receiving an order for custody which is complete and regular on its face may 
execute it in accordance with its terms and need not inquire into its regularity or continued 
validity, nor does the officer incur criminal or civil liability for its execution.   
 
§ 7B-1905.  Place of secure or nonsecure custody. 

(a) A juvenile meeting the criteria set out in G.S. 7B-1903(a), may be placed in 
nonsecure custody with a department of social services or a person designated in the order for 
temporary residential placement in: 

(1) A licensed foster home or a home otherwise authorized by law to provide such 
care; 

(2) A facility operated by a department of social services; or 
(3) Any other home or facility approved by the court and designated in the order. 

Note: Should placement of a juvenile in DSS custody be an option when the 
juvenile is 18 or older?  

In placing a juvenile in nonsecure custody, the court shall first consider whether a relative of 
the juvenile is willing and able to provide proper care and supervision of the juvenile. If the court 
finds that the relative is willing and able to provide proper care and supervision, the court shall 
order placement of the juvenile with the relative unless the court finds that placement with the 
relative would be contrary to the best interest of the juvenile. Placement of a juvenile who is 
under the age of 18 outside of this State shall be in accordance with the Interstate Compact on 
the Placement of Children set forth in Article 38 of this Chapter. 

Note: The Interstate Compact applies only to children who are legally minors. 
(b) Pursuant to G.S. 7B-1903(b), (c), or (d), a juvenile may be temporarily detained in an 

approved detention facility which shall be separate from any jail, lockup, prison, or other adult 
penal institution, except as provided in subsection (c) of this section. It shall be unlawful for a 
county or any unit of government to operate a juvenile detention facility unless the facility meets 
the standards and rules adopted by the Department of Health and Human Services. 

(c) A juvenile who has allegedly committed an offense that would be a Class A, B1, B2, 
C, D, or E felony if committed by an adult may be detained in secure custody in a holdover 
facility up to 72 hours, if the court, based on information provided by the juvenile court 
counselor, determines that no acceptable alternative placement is available and the protection of 
the public requires the juvenile be housed in a holdover facility.  

Note: Regarding subsections (b) and (c), is there a need for any special provisions 
regarding where older juveniles may be placed in secure custody?    

 
§ 7B-1906.  Secure or nonsecure custody hearings. 

(a) No juvenile shall be held under a secure custody order for more than five calendar 
days or under a nonsecure custody order for more than seven calendar days without a hearing on 
the merits or an initial hearing to determine the need for continued custody. A hearing conducted 
under this subsection may not be continued or waived. In every case in which an order has been 
entered by an official exercising authority delegated pursuant to G.S. 7B-1902, a hearing to 
determine the need for continued custody shall be conducted on the day of the next regularly 
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scheduled session of district court in the city or county where the order was entered if the session 
precedes the expiration of the applicable time period set forth in this subsection. If the session 
does not precede the expiration of the time period, the hearing may be conducted at another 
regularly scheduled session of district court in the district where the order was entered. 

(b) As long as the juvenile remains in secure or nonsecure custody, further hearings to 
determine the need for continued secure custody shall be held at intervals of no more than 10 
calendar days. A subsequent hearing on continued nonsecure custody shall be held within seven 
business days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays when the courthouse is closed 
for transactions, of the initial hearing required in subsection (a) of this section and hearings 
thereafter shall be held at intervals of no more than 30 calendar days. In the case of a juvenile 
alleged to be delinquent, further hearings may be waived only with the consent of the juvenile, 
through counsel for the juvenile. 

(c) The court shall determine whether a juvenile who is alleged to be delinquent has 
retained counsel or has been assigned counsel; if the juvenile is not represented by counsel, 
counsel for the juvenile shall be appointed in accordance with rules adopted by the Office of 
Indigent Defense Services. 

(d) At a hearing to determine the need for continued custody, the court shall receive 
testimony and shall allow the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian an 
opportunity to introduce evidence, to be heard in their own behalf, and to examine witnesses. 
The State shall bear the burden at every stage of the proceedings to provide clear and convincing 
evidence that restraints on the juvenile’s liberty are necessary and that no less intrusive 
alternative will suffice. The court shall not be bound by the usual rules of evidence at the 
hearings. 

(e) The court shall be bound by criteria set forth in G.S. 7B-1903 in determining whether 
continued custody is warranted. 

(f) The court may impose appropriate restrictions on the liberty of a juvenile who is 
released from secure custody, including: 

(1) Release on the written promise of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian 
to produce the juvenile in court for subsequent proceedings; 

(2) Release into the care of a responsible person or organization; 
(3) Release conditioned on restrictions on activities, associations, residence, or 

travel if reasonably related to securing the juvenile’s presence in court; or 
(4) Any other conditions reasonably related to securing the juvenile’s presence in 

court. 
(g) If the court determines that the juvenile meets the criteria in G.S. 7B-1903 and should 

continue in custody, the court shall issue an order to that effect. The order shall be in writing 
with appropriate findings of fact. The findings of fact shall include the evidence relied upon in 
reaching the decision and the purposes which continued custody is to achieve. 

(h) The hearing to determine the need to continue custody may be conducted by audio 
and video transmission which allows the court and the juvenile to see and hear each other. If the 
juvenile has counsel, the juvenile may communicate fully and confidentially with the juvenile’s 
attorney during the proceeding. Prior to the use of audio and video transmission, the procedures 
and type of equipment for audio and video transmission shall be submitted to the Administrative 
Office of the Courts by the chief district court judge and approved by the Administrative Office 
of the Courts.  
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§ 7B-1907.  Telephonic communication authorized. 
All communications, notices, orders, authorizations, and requests authorized or required by 

G.S. 7B-1901, 7B-1903, and 7B-1904 may be made by telephone when other means of 
communication are impractical. All written orders pursuant to telephonic communication shall 
bear the name and the title of the person communicating by telephone, the signature and the title 
of the official entering the order, and the hour and the date of the authorization. 
 

Article 20. 

Basic Rights. 

§ 7B-2000.  Juvenile’s right to counsel; presumption of indigence. 
(a) A juvenile alleged to be within the jurisdiction of the court has the right to be 

represented by counsel in all proceedings. Counsel for the juvenile shall be appointed in 
accordance with rules adopted by the Office of Indigent Defense Services, unless counsel is 
retained for the juvenile, in any proceeding in which the juvenile is alleged to be (i) delinquent or 
(ii) in contempt of court when alleged or adjudicated to be undisciplined. 

(b) All juveniles shall be conclusively presumed to be indigent, and it shall not be 
necessary for the court to receive from any juvenile an affidavit of indigency.  

Note: Should all juveniles over the age of 18 be conclusively presumed to be indigent?  
 
§ 7B-2001.  Appointment of guardian. 

In any case when no parent, guardian, or custodian appears in a hearing with the juvenile or 
when the court finds it would be in the best interests of the juvenile, the court may appoint a 
guardian of the person for the juvenile. The guardian shall operate under the supervision of the 
court with or without bond and shall file only such reports as the court shall require. Unless the 
court orders otherwise, the guardian: 

(1) Shall have the care, custody, and control of the juvenile or may arrange a 
suitable placement for the juvenile. 

(2) May represent the juvenile in legal actions before any court. 
(3) May consent to certain actions on the part of the juvenile in place of the parent 

or custodian, including (i) marriage, (ii) enlisting in the armed forces, and (iii) 
enrollment in school. 

(4) May consent to any necessary remedial, psychological, medical, or surgical 
treatment for the juvenile. 

The authority of the guardian shall continue until the guardianship is terminated by court order, 
until the juvenile is emancipated pursuant to Subchapter IV of this Chapter, or until the juvenile 
reaches the age of majority. 
 

Article 21. 

Law Enforcement Procedures in Delinquency Proceedings. 

§ 7B-2100.  Role of the law enforcement officer. 
A law enforcement officer who takes a juvenile into temporary custody should select the 

most appropriate course of action to the situation, the needs of the juvenile, and the protection of 
the public safety. The officer may: 

(1) Release the juvenile, with or without first counseling the juvenile; 
(2) Release the juvenile to the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian; 
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(3) Refer the juvenile to community resources; 
(4) Seek a petition; or 
(5) Seek a petition and request a custody order.  
 

§ 7B-2101.  Interrogation procedures. 
(a) Any juvenile in custody must be advised prior to questioning: 

(1) That the juvenile has a right to remain silent; 
(2) That any statement the juvenile does make can be and may be used against the 

juvenile; 
(3) That the juvenile has a right to have a parent, guardian, or custodian present 

during questioning; and 
(4) That the juvenile has a right to consult with an attorney and that one will be 

appointed for the juvenile if the juvenile is not represented and wants 
representation. 

Note: If the juvenile is 18 or older, should the right to have a parent 
present during questioning continue and should indigency be a factor with 
respect to the appointment of counsel?  

(b) When the juvenile is less than 14 years of age, no in-custody admission or confession 
resulting from interrogation may be admitted into evidence unless the confession or admission 
was made in the presence of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, custodian, or attorney. If an attorney 
is not present, the parent, guardian, or custodian as well as the juvenile must be advised of the 
juvenile’s rights as set out in subsection (a) of this section; however, a parent, guardian, or 
custodian may not waive any right on behalf of the juvenile. 

(c) If the juvenile indicates in any manner and at any stage of questioning pursuant to this 
section that the juvenile does not wish to be questioned further, the officer shall cease 
questioning. 

(d) Before admitting into evidence any statement resulting from custodial interrogation, 
the court shall find that the juvenile knowingly, willingly, and understandingly waived the 
juvenile’s rights.  
 
§ 7B-2102.  Fingerprinting and photographing juveniles. 

(a) A law enforcement officer or agency shall fingerprint and photograph a juvenile who 
was 10 years of age or older at the time the juvenile allegedly committed a nondivertible offense 
as set forth in G.S. 7B-1701, when a complaint has been prepared for filing as a petition and the 
juvenile is in physical custody of law enforcement or the Department. 

(a1) A county juvenile detention facility shall photograph a juvenile who has been 
committed to that facility. The county detention facility shall release any photograph it makes or 
receives pursuant to this section to the Department, upon the Department’s request. The duty of 
confidentiality in subsection (d) of this section applies to the Department, except as provided in 
G.S. 7B-3102. 

(b) If a law enforcement officer or agency does not take the fingerprints or a photograph 
of the juvenile pursuant to subsection (a) of this section or the fingerprints or photograph have 
been destroyed pursuant to subsection (e) of this section, a law enforcement officer or agency 
shall fingerprint and photograph a juvenile who has been adjudicated delinquent if the juvenile 
was 10 years of age or older at the time the juvenile committed an offense that would be a felony 
if committed by an adult. 
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(c) A law enforcement officer, facility, or agency who fingerprints or photographs a 
juvenile pursuant to this section shall do so in a proper format for transfer to the State Bureau of 
Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. After the juvenile, who was 10 years of 
age or older at the time of the offense, is adjudicated delinquent of an offense that would be a 
felony if committed by an adult, fingerprints obtained pursuant to this section shall be transferred 
to the State Bureau of Investigation and placed in the Automated Fingerprint Identification 
System (AFIS) to be used for all investigative and comparison purposes. Photographs obtained 
pursuant to this section shall be placed in a format approved by the State Bureau of Investigation 
and may be used for all investigative or comparison purposes. The State Bureau of Investigation 
shall release any photograph it receives pursuant to this section to the Department, upon the 
Department’s request. The duty of confidentiality in subsection (d) of this section applies to the 
Department, except as provided in G.S. 7B-3102. 

(d) Fingerprints and photographs taken pursuant to this section are not public records 
under Chapter 132 of the General Statutes, shall not be included in the clerk’s record pursuant to 
G.S. 7B-3000, shall be withheld from public inspection or examination, and shall not be eligible 
for expunction pursuant to G.S. 7B-3200. Fingerprints and photographs taken pursuant to this 
section shall be maintained separately from any juvenile record, other than the electronic file 
maintained by the State Bureau of Investigation. 

(d1) Repealed by Session Laws 2007-458, s. 1, effective October 1, 2007. 
(e) If a juvenile is fingerprinted and photographed pursuant to subsection (a) of this 

section, the custodian of records shall destroy all fingerprints and photographs at the earlier of 
the following: 

(1) The juvenile court counselor or prosecutor does not file a petition against the 
juvenile within one year of fingerprinting and photographing the juvenile 
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section; 

(2) The court does not find probable cause pursuant to G.S. 7B-2202; or 
(3) The juvenile is not adjudicated delinquent of any offense that would be a 

felony or a misdemeanor if committed by an adult. 
The chief court counselor shall notify the local custodian of records, and the local custodian of 
records shall notify any other record-holding agencies, when a decision is made not to file a 
petition, the court does not find probable cause, or the court does not adjudicate the juvenile 
delinquent.  
 
§ 7B-2103.  Authority to issue nontestimonial identification order where juvenile alleged to 

be delinquent. 
Except as provided in G.S. 7B-2102, nontestimonial identification procedures shall not be 

conducted on any juvenile without a court order issued pursuant to this Article unless the 
juvenile has been charged as an adult or transferred to superior court for trial as an adult in which 
case procedures applicable to adults, as set out in Articles 14 and 23 of Chapter 15A of the 
General Statutes, shall apply. A nontestimonial identification order authorized by this Article 
may be issued by any judge of the district court or of the superior court upon request of a 
prosecutor. As used in this Article, “nontestimonial identification” means identification by 
fingerprints, palm prints, footprints, measurements, blood specimens, urine specimens, saliva 
samples, hair samples, or other reasonable physical examination, handwriting exemplars, voice 
samples, photographs, and lineups or similar identification procedures requiring the presence of a 
juvenile.  
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§ 7B-2104.  Time of application for nontestimonial identification order. 
A request for a nontestimonial identification order may be made prior to taking a juvenile 

into custody or after custody and prior to the adjudicatory hearing.  
 
§ 7B-2105.  Grounds for nontestimonial identification order. 

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, a nontestimonial identification 
order may issue only on affidavit or affidavits sworn to before the court and establishing the 
following grounds for the order: 

(1) That there is probable cause to believe that an offense has been committed 
that would be a felony if committed by an adult; 

(2) That there are reasonable grounds to suspect that the juvenile named or 
described in the affidavit committed the offense; and 

(3) That the results of specific nontestimonial identification procedures will be of 
material aid in determining whether the juvenile named in the affidavit 
committed the offense. 

(b) A nontestimonial identification order to obtain a blood specimen from a juvenile may 
issue only on affidavit or affidavits sworn to before the court and establishing the following 
grounds for the order: 

(1) That there is probable cause to believe that an offense has been committed 
that would be a felony if committed by an adult; 

(2) That there is probable cause to believe that the juvenile named or described in 
the affidavit committed the offense; and 

(3) That there is probable cause to believe that obtaining a blood specimen from 
the juvenile will be of material aid in determining whether the juvenile named 
in the affidavit committed the offense. 

 
§ 7B-2106.  Issuance of order. 

Upon a showing that the grounds specified in G.S. 7B-2105 exist, the judge may issue an 
order following the same procedure as in the case of adults under G.S. 15A-274, 15A-275, 
15A-276, 15A-277, 15A-278, 15A-279, 15A-280, and 15A-282.  
 
§ 7B-2107.  Nontestimonial identification order at request of juvenile. 

A juvenile in custody for or charged with an offense which if committed by an adult would 
be a felony offense may request that nontestimonial identification procedures be conducted. If it 
appears that the results of specific nontestimonial identification procedures will be of material 
aid to the juvenile’s defense, the judge to whom the request was directed must order the State to 
conduct the identification procedures. 
 
§ 7B-2108.  Destruction of records resulting from nontestimonial identification procedures. 

The results of any nontestimonial identification procedures shall be retained or disposed of as 
follows: 

(1) If a petition is not filed against a juvenile who has been the subject of 
nontestimonial identification procedures, all records of the evidence shall be 
destroyed. 

(2) If the juvenile is not adjudicated delinquent or convicted in superior court 
following transfer, all records resulting from a nontestimonial order shall be 
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destroyed. Further, in the case of a juvenile who is under 13 years of age and 
who is adjudicated delinquent for an offense that would be less than a felony 
if committed by an adult, all records shall be destroyed. 

(3) If a juvenile 13 years of age or older is adjudicated delinquent for an offense 
that would be a felony if committed by an adult, all records resulting from a 
nontestimonial order may be retained in the court file. Special precautions 
shall be taken to ensure that these records will be maintained in a manner and 
under sufficient safeguards to limit their use to inspection by law enforcement 
officers for comparison purposes in the investigation of a crime. 

(4) If the juvenile is transferred to and convicted in superior court, all records 
resulting from nontestimonial identification procedures shall be processed as 
in the case of an adult. 

(5) Any evidence seized pursuant to a nontestimonial order shall be retained by 
law enforcement officers until further order is entered by the court. 

(6) Destruction of nontestimonial identification records pursuant to this section 
shall be performed by the law enforcement agency having possession of the 
records. Following destruction, the law enforcement agency shall make 
written certification to the court of the destruction. 

 
§ 7B-2109.  Penalty for willful violation. 

Any person who willfully violates provisions of this Article which prohibit conducting 
nontestimonial identification procedures without an order issued by the court shall be guilty of a 
Class 1 misdemeanor.  
 

Article 22. 

Probable Cause Hearing and Transfer Hearing. 

§ 7B-2200.  Transfer of jurisdiction of juvenile to superior court. 
After notice, hearing, and a finding of probable cause the court may, upon motion of the 

prosecutor or the juvenile’s attorney or upon its own motion, transfer jurisdiction over a juvenile 
to superior court if the juvenile was 13 years of age or older at the time the juvenile allegedly 
committed an offense that would be a felony if committed by an adult. If the alleged felony 
constitutes a Class A felony and the court finds probable cause, the court shall transfer the case 
to the superior court for trial as in the case of adults.  
 
§ 7B-2201.  Fingerprinting juvenile transferred to superior court. 

When jurisdiction over a juvenile is transferred to the superior court, the juvenile shall be 
fingerprinted and the juvenile’s fingerprints shall be sent to the State Bureau of Investigation.  
 
§ 7B-2202.  Probable cause hearing. 

(a) The court shall conduct a hearing to determine probable cause in all felony cases in 
which a juvenile was 13 years of age or older when the offense was allegedly committed. The 
hearing shall be conducted within 15 days of the date of the juvenile’s first appearance. The 
court may continue the hearing for good cause. 

 (b) At the probable cause hearing: 
(1) A prosecutor shall represent the State; 
(2) The juvenile shall be represented by counsel; 
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Note: Should a juvenile who is 18 or older be able to waive the right to 
counsel? 

(3) The juvenile may testify, call, and examine witnesses, and present evidence; 
and 

(4) Each witness shall testify under oath or affirmation and be subject to 
cross-examination. 

(c) The State shall by nonhearsay evidence, or by evidence that satisfies an exception to 
the hearsay rule, show that there is probable cause to believe that the offense charged has been 
committed and that there is probable cause to believe that the juvenile committed it, except: 

(1) A report or copy of a report made by a physicist, chemist, firearms 
identification expert, fingerprint technician, or an expert or technician in some 
other scientific, professional, or medical field, concerning the results of an 
examination, comparison, or test performed in connection with the case in 
issue, when stated in a report by that person, is admissible in evidence; 

(2) If there is no serious contest, reliable hearsay is admissible to prove value, 
ownership of property, possession of property in a person other than the 
juvenile, lack of consent of the owner, possessor, or custodian of property to 
the breaking or entering of premises, chain of custody, and authenticity of 
signatures. 

(d) Counsel for the juvenile may waive in writing the right to the hearing and stipulate to 
a finding of probable cause. 

(e) If probable cause is found and transfer to superior court is not required by G.S. 
7B-2200, upon motion of the prosecutor or the juvenile’s attorney or upon its own motion, the 
court shall either proceed to a transfer hearing or set a date for that hearing. If the juvenile has 
not received notice of the intention to seek transfer at least five days prior to the probable cause 
hearing, the court, at the request of the juvenile, shall continue the transfer hearing. 

(f) If the court does not find probable cause for a felony offense, the court shall: 
(1) Dismiss the proceeding, or 
(2) If the court finds probable cause to believe that the juvenile committed a 

lesser included offense that would constitute a misdemeanor if committed by 
an adult, either proceed to an adjudicatory hearing or set a date for that 
hearing.  

Note: If any juveniles are allowed to waive the right to counsel, the 
references in this section to the juvenile’s attorney should be changed to 
refer to the juvenile. G.S. 7B-1501(17) states that “[w]herever the term 
‘juvenile’ is used with reference to rights and privileges, that term 
encompasses the attorney for the juvenile as well.” 

 
 
§ 7B-2203.  Transfer hearing. 

(a) At the transfer hearing, the prosecutor and the juvenile may be heard and may offer 
evidence, and the juvenile’s attorney may examine any court or probation records, or other 
records the court may consider in determining whether to transfer the case. 

(b) In the transfer hearing, the court shall determine whether the protection of the public 
and the needs of the juvenile will be served by transfer of the case to superior court and shall 
consider the following factors: 



 

163 

(1) The age of the juvenile; 
(2) The maturity of the juvenile; 
(3) The intellectual functioning of the juvenile; 
(4) The prior record of the juvenile; 
(5) Prior attempts to rehabilitate the juvenile; 
(6) Facilities or programs available to the court prior to the expiration of the 

court’s jurisdiction under this Subchapter and the likelihood that the juvenile 
would benefit from treatment or rehabilitative efforts; 

(7) Whether the alleged offense was committed in an aggressive, violent, 
premeditated, or willful manner; and 

(8) The seriousness of the offense and whether the protection of the public 
requires that the juvenile be prosecuted as an adult. 

(c) Any order of transfer shall specify the reasons for transfer. When the case is 
transferred to superior court, the superior court has jurisdiction over that felony, any offense 
based on the same act or transaction or on a series of acts or transactions connected together or 
constituting parts of a single scheme or plan of that felony, and any greater or lesser included 
offense of that felony. 

(d) If the court does not transfer the case to superior court, the court shall either proceed 
to an adjudicatory hearing or set a date for that hearing.  
 
§ 7B-2204.  Right to pretrial release; detention. 

Once the order of transfer has been entered, the juvenile has the right to pretrial release as 
provided in G.S. 15A-533 and G.S. 15A-534. The release order shall specify the person or 
persons to whom the juvenile may be released. Pending release, the court shall order that the 
juvenile be detained in a detention facility while awaiting trial. The court may order the juvenile 
to be held in a holdover facility at any time the presence of the juvenile is required in court for 
pretrial hearings or trial, if the court finds that it would be inconvenient to return the juvenile to 
the detention facility. 

Note: There is no upper age limit for persons who may be subject to probable cause and 
transfer proceedings for offenses they are alleged to have committed as juveniles. Should 
there be an age after which someone whose case has been transferred to superior court 
should not be held in a juvenile detention facility? If so, where should the person be 
held?  

Should the juvenile be found guilty, or enter a plea of guilty or no contest to a criminal 
offense in superior court and receive an active sentence, then immediate transfer to the 
Department of Correction shall be ordered. Until such time as the juvenile is transferred to the 
Department of Correction, the juvenile may be detained in a holdover facility. The juvenile may 
not be detained in a detention facility pending transfer to the Department of Correction. 

The juvenile may be kept by the Department of Correction as a safekeeper until the juvenile 
is placed in an appropriate correctional program.  
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Article 23. 

Discovery. 

§ 7B-2300.  Disclosure of evidence by petitioner. 
(a) Statement of the Juvenile. – Upon motion of a juvenile alleged to be delinquent, the 

court shall order the petitioner: 
(1) To permit the juvenile to inspect and copy any relevant written or recorded 

statements within the possession, custody, or control of the petitioner made by 
the juvenile or any other party charged in the same action; and 

(2) To divulge, in written or recorded form, the substance of any oral statement 
made by the juvenile or any other party charged in the same action. 

(b) Names of Witnesses. – Upon motion of the juvenile, the court shall order the 
petitioner to furnish the names of persons to be called as witnesses. A copy of the record of 
witnesses under the age of 16 18 shall be provided by the petitioner to the juvenile upon the 
juvenile’s motion if accessible to the petitioner. 

(c) Documents and Tangible Objects. – Upon motion of the juvenile, the court shall order 
the petitioner to permit the juvenile to inspect and copy books, papers, documents, photographs, 
motion pictures, mechanical or electronic recordings, tangible objects, or portions thereof: 

(1) Which are within the possession, custody, or control of the petitioner, the 
prosecutor, or any law enforcement officer conducting an investigation of the 
matter alleged; and 

(2) Which are material to the preparation of the defense, are intended for use by 
the petitioner as evidence, or were obtained from or belong to the juvenile. 

(d) Reports of Examinations and Tests. – Upon motion of a juvenile, the court shall order 
the petitioner to permit the juvenile to inspect and copy results of physical or mental 
examinations or of tests, measurements, or experiments made in connection with the case, within 
the possession, custody, or control of the petitioner. In addition upon motion of a juvenile, the 
court shall order the petitioner to permit the juvenile to inspect, examine, and test, subject to 
appropriate safeguards, any physical evidence or a sample of it or tests or experiments made in 
connection with the evidence in the case if it is available to the petitioner, the prosecutor, or any 
law enforcement officer conducting an investigation of the matter alleged, and if the petitioner 
intends to offer the evidence at trial. 

(e) Except as provided in subsections (a) through (d) of this section, this Article does not 
require the production of reports, memoranda, or other internal documents made by the 
petitioner, law enforcement officers, or other persons acting on behalf of the petitioner in 
connection with the investigation or prosecution of the case or of statements made by witnesses 
or the petitioner to anyone acting on behalf of the petitioner. 

(f) Nothing in this section prohibits a petitioner from making voluntary disclosures in the 
interest of justice.  
 
§ 7B-2301.  Disclosure of evidence by juvenile. 

(a) Names of Witnesses. – Upon motion of the petitioner, the court shall order the 
juvenile to furnish to the petitioner the names of persons to be called as witnesses. 

(b) Documents and Tangible Objects. – If the court grants any relief sought by the 
juvenile under G.S. 7B-2300, upon motion of the petitioner, the court shall order the juvenile to 
permit the petitioner to inspect and copy books, papers, documents, photographs, motion 
pictures, mechanical or electronic recordings, tangible objects, or portions thereof which are 
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within the possession, custody, or control of the juvenile and which the juvenile intends to 
introduce in evidence. 

(c) Reports of Examinations and Tests. – If the court grants any relief sought by the 
juvenile under G.S. 7B-2300, upon motion of the petitioner, the court shall order the juvenile to 
permit the petitioner to inspect and copy results of physical or mental examinations or of tests, 
measurements, or experiments made in connection with the case within the possession and 
control of the juvenile which the juvenile intends to introduce in evidence or which were 
prepared by a witness whom the juvenile intends to call if the results relate to the witness’s 
testimony. In addition, upon motion of a petitioner, the court shall order the juvenile to permit 
the petitioner to inspect, examine, and test, subject to appropriate safeguards, any physical 
evidence or a sample of it if the juvenile intends to offer the evidence or tests or experiments 
made in connection with the evidence in the case.  
 
§ 7B-2302.  Regulation of discovery; protective orders. 

(a) Upon written motion of a party and a finding of good cause, the court may at any time 
order that discovery or inspection be denied, restricted, or deferred. 

(b) The court may permit a party seeking relief under subsection (a) of this section to 
submit supporting affidavits or statements to the court for in camera inspection. If thereafter the 
court enters an order granting relief under subsection (a) of this section, the material submitted in 
camera must be available to the Court of Appeals in the event of an appeal.  
 
§ 7B-2303.  Continuing duty to disclose. 

If a party, subject to compliance with an order issued pursuant to this Article, discovers 
additional evidence prior to or during the hearing or decides to use additional evidence, and if the 
evidence is or may be subject to discovery or inspection under this Article, the party shall 
promptly notify the other party of the existence of the additional evidence or of the name of each 
additional witness. 

 

Article 24. 

Hearing Procedures. 

 
§ 7B-2400.  Amendment of petition. 

The court may permit a petition to be amended when the amendment does not change 
the nature of the offense alleged. If a motion to amend is allowed, the juvenile shall be 
given a reasonable opportunity to prepare a defense to the amended allegations.  
§ 7B-2401.  Determination of incapacity to proceed; evidence; temporary commitment; 

temporary orders. 
The provisions of G.S. 15A-1001, 15A-1002, and 15A-1003 apply to all cases in which a 

juvenile is alleged to be delinquent. No juvenile committed under this section may be placed in a 
situation where the juvenile will come in contact with adults committed for any purpose.  
 
§ 7B-2402.  Open hearings. 

All hearings authorized or required pursuant to this Subchapter shall be open to the public 
unless the court closes the hearing or part of the hearing for good cause, upon motion of a party 
or its own motion. If the court closes the hearing or part of the hearing to the public, the court 
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may allow any victim, member of a victim’s family, law enforcement officer, witness or any 
other person directly involved in the hearing to be present at the hearing. 

In determining good cause to close a hearing or part of a hearing, the court shall consider the 
circumstances of the case, including, but not limited to, the following factors: 

(1) The nature of the allegations against the juvenile; 
(2) The age and maturity of the juvenile; 
(3) The benefit to the juvenile of confidentiality; 
(4) The benefit to the public of an open hearing; and 
(5) The extent to which the confidentiality of the juvenile’s file will be 

compromised by an open hearing. 
No hearing or part of a hearing shall be closed by the court if the juvenile requests that it remain 
open.  
 
§ 7B-2402.1.  Restraint of juveniles in courtroom. 

At any hearing authorized or required by this Subchapter, the judge may subject a juvenile to 
physical restraint in the courtroom only when the judge finds the restraint to be reasonably 
necessary to maintain order, prevent the juvenile’s escape, or provide for the safety of the 
courtroom. Whenever practical, the judge shall provide the juvenile and the juvenile’s attorney 
an opportunity to be heard to contest the use of restraints before the judge orders the use of 
restraints. If restraints are ordered, the judge shall make findings of fact in support of the order.  
 
§ 7B-2403.  Adjudicatory hearing. 

The adjudicatory hearing shall be held within a reasonable time in the district at the time and 
place the chief district court judge designates. 
 
§ 7B-2404.  Participation of the prosecutor. 

A prosecutor shall represent the State in contested delinquency hearings including first 
appearance, detention, probable cause, transfer, adjudicatory, dispositional, probation revocation, 
post-release supervision, and extended jurisdiction hearings.  

 

§ 7B-2405.  Conduct of the adjudicatory hearing. 
The adjudicatory hearing shall be a judicial process designed to determine whether the 

juvenile is undisciplined or delinquent. In the adjudicatory hearing, the court shall protect the 
following rights of the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian to assure due 
process of law: 

(1) The right to written notice of the facts alleged in the petition; 
(2) The right to counsel; 
(3) The right to confront and cross-examine witnesses; 
(4) The privilege against self-incrimination; 
(5) The right of discovery; and 
(6) All rights afforded adult offenders except the right to bail, the right of 

self-representation, and the right of trial by jury.  
 

§ 7B-2406.  Continuances. 
The court for good cause may continue the hearing for as long as is reasonably required to 

receive additional evidence, reports, or assessments that the court has requested, or other 
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information needed in the best interests of the juvenile and to allow for a reasonable time for the 
parties to conduct expeditious discovery. Otherwise, continuances shall be granted only in 
extraordinary circumstances when necessary for the proper administration of justice or in the 
best interests of the juvenile. 
 
§ 7B-2407.  When admissions by juvenile may be accepted. 

(a) The court may accept an admission from a juvenile only after first addressing the 
juvenile personally and: 

(1) Informing the juvenile that the juvenile has a right to remain silent and that 
any statement the juvenile makes may be used against the juvenile; 

(2) Determining that the juvenile understands the nature of the charge; 
(3) Informing the juvenile that the juvenile has a right to deny the allegations; 
(4) Informing the juvenile that by the juvenile’s admissions the juvenile waives 

the juvenile’s right to be confronted by the witnesses against the juvenile; 
(5) Determining that the juvenile is satisfied with the juvenile’s representation; 

and 
(6) Informing the juvenile of the most restrictive disposition on the charge. 

(b) By inquiring of the prosecutor, the juvenile’s attorney, and the juvenile personally, 
the court shall determine whether there were any prior discussions involving admissions, 
whether the parties have entered into any arrangement with respect to the admissions and the 
terms thereof, and whether any improper pressure was exerted. The court may accept an 
admission from a juvenile only after determining that the admission is a product of informed 
choice. 

(c) The court may accept an admission only after determining that there is a factual basis 
for the admission. This determination may be based upon any of the following information: a 
statement of the facts by the prosecutor; a written statement of the juvenile; sworn testimony 
which may include reliable hearsay; or a statement of facts by the juvenile’s attorney.  
 
§ 7B-2408.  Rules of evidence. 

If the juvenile denies the allegations of the petition, the court shall proceed in accordance 
with the rules of evidence applicable to criminal cases. In addition, no statement made by a 
juvenile to the juvenile court counselor during the preliminary inquiry and evaluation process 
shall be admissible prior to the dispositional hearing. 
 
§ 7B-2409.  Quantum of proof in adjudicatory hearing. 

The allegations of a petition alleging the juvenile is delinquent shall be proved beyond a 
reasonable doubt. The allegations in a petition alleging undisciplined behavior shall be proved by 
clear and convincing evidence.  
 
§ 7B-2410.  Record of proceedings. 

All adjudicatory and dispositional hearings and hearings on probable cause and transfer to 
superior court shall be recorded by stenographic notes or by electronic or mechanical means. 
Records shall be reduced to a written transcript only when timely notice of appeal has been 
given. The court may order that other hearings be recorded.  

 
 



 

168 

§ 7B-2411.  Adjudication. 
If the court finds that the allegations in the petition have been proved as provided in G.S. 

7B-2409, the court shall so state. If the court finds that the allegations have not been proved, the 
court shall dismiss the petition with prejudice and the juvenile shall be released from secure or 
nonsecure custody if the juvenile is in custody.  
 
§ 7B-2412.  Legal effect of adjudication of delinquency. 

An adjudication that a juvenile is delinquent or commitment of a juvenile to the Department 
for placement in a youth development center shall neither be considered conviction of any 
criminal offense nor cause the juvenile to forfeit any citizenship rights. 
 
§ 7B-2413.  Predisposition investigation and report. 

The court shall proceed to the dispositional hearing upon receipt of the predisposition report. 
A risk and needs assessment, containing information regarding the juvenile’s social, medical, 
psychiatric, psychological, and educational history, as well as any factors indicating the 
probability of the juvenile committing further delinquent acts, shall be conducted for the juvenile 
and shall be attached to the predisposition report. In cases where no predisposition report is 
available and the court makes a written finding that a report is not needed, the court may proceed 
with the dispositional hearing. No predisposition report or risk and needs assessment of any child 
juvenile alleged to be delinquent or undisciplined shall be made prior to an adjudication that the 
juvenile is within the juvenile jurisdiction of the court unless the juvenile, the juvenile’s parent, 
guardian, or custodian, or the juvenile’s attorney files a written statement with the juvenile court 
counselor granting permission and giving consent to the predisposition report or risk and needs 
assessment. No predisposition report shall be submitted to or considered by the court prior to the 
completion of the adjudicatory hearing. The court shall permit the juvenile to inspect any 
predisposition report, including any attached risk and needs assessment, to be considered by the 
court in making the disposition unless the court determines that disclosure would seriously harm 
the juvenile’s treatment or rehabilitation or would violate a promise of confidentiality. 
Opportunity to offer evidence in rebuttal shall be afforded the juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, 
guardian, or custodian at the dispositional hearing. The court may order counsel not to disclose 
parts of the report to the juvenile or the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian if the court finds 
that disclosure would seriously harm the treatment or rehabilitation of the juvenile or would 
violate a promise of confidentiality given to a source of information.  
 
§ 7B-2414.  When jeopardy attaches. 

Jeopardy attaches in an adjudicatory hearing when the court begins to hear evidence.  
 

Article 25. 

Dispositions. 

 
§ 7B-2500.  Purpose. 

The purpose of dispositions in juvenile actions is to design an appropriate plan to meet the 
needs of the juvenile and to achieve the objectives of the State in exercising jurisdiction, 
including the protection of the public. The court should develop a disposition in each case that: 

(1) Promotes public safety; 
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(2) Emphasizes accountability and responsibility of both the parent, guardian, or 
custodian and the juvenile for the juvenile’s conduct; and 

(3) Provides the appropriate consequences, treatment, training, and rehabilitation 
to assist the juvenile toward becoming a nonoffending, responsible, and 
productive member of the community.  

 
§ 7B-2501.  Dispositional hearing. 

(a) The dispositional hearing may be informal, and the court may consider written reports 
or other evidence concerning the needs of the juvenile. The court may consider any evidence, 
including hearsay evidence as defined in G.S. 8C-1, Rule 801, that the court finds to be relevant, 
reliable, and necessary to determine the needs of the juvenile and the most appropriate 
disposition. 

(b) The juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian shall have an 
opportunity to present evidence, and they may advise the court concerning the disposition they 
believe to be in the best interests of the juvenile. 

(c) In choosing among statutorily permissible dispositions, the court shall select the most 
appropriate disposition both in terms of kind and duration for the delinquent juvenile. Within the 
guidelines set forth in G.S. 7B-2508, the court shall select a disposition that is designed to 
protect the public and to meet the needs and best interests of the juvenile, based upon: 

(1) The seriousness of the offense; 
(2) The need to hold the juvenile accountable; 
(3) The importance of protecting the public safety; 
(4) The degree of culpability indicated by the circumstances of the particular 

case; and 
(5) The rehabilitative and treatment needs of the juvenile indicated by a risk and 

needs assessment. 
(d) The court may dismiss the case, or continue the case for no more than six months in 

order to allow the family an opportunity to meet the needs of the juvenile through more adequate 
home supervision, through placement in a private or specialized school or agency, through 
placement with a relative, or through some other plan approved by the court.  
 
§ 7B-2502.  Evaluation and treatment of undisciplined and delinquent juveniles. 

(a) In any case, the court may order that the juvenile be examined by a physician, 
psychiatrist, psychologist, or other qualified expert as may be needed for the court to determine 
the needs of the juvenile. In the case of a juvenile adjudicated delinquent for committing an 
offense that involves the possession, use, sale, or delivery of alcohol or a controlled substance, 
the court shall require the juvenile to be tested for the use of controlled substances or alcohol 
within 30 days of the adjudication. In the case of any juvenile adjudicated delinquent, the court 
may, if it deems it necessary, require the juvenile to be tested for the use of controlled substances 
or alcohol. The results of these initial tests conducted pursuant to this subsection shall be used 
for evaluation and treatment purposes only. In placing a juvenile in out-of-home care under this 
section, the court shall also consider whether it is in the juvenile’s best interest to remain in the 
juvenile’s community of residence. 

(b) Upon completion of the examination, the court shall conduct a hearing to determine 
whether the juvenile is in need of medical, surgical, psychiatric, psychological, or other 
evaluation or treatment and who should pay the cost of the evaluation or treatment. The county 
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manager, or any other person who is designated by the chair of the board of county 
commissioners, of the county of the juvenile’s residence shall be notified of the hearing, and 
allowed to be heard. If the court finds the juvenile to be in need of medical, surgical, psychiatric, 
psychological, or other evaluation or treatment, the court shall permit the parent, guardian, 
custodian, or other responsible persons to arrange for evaluation or treatment. If the parent, 
guardian, or custodian declines or is unable to make necessary arrangements, the court may order 
the needed evaluation or treatment, surgery, or care, and the court may order the parent to pay 
the cost of the care pursuant to Article 27 of this Chapter. If the court finds the parent is unable 
to pay the cost of evaluation or treatment, the court shall order the county to arrange for 
evaluation or treatment of the juvenile and to pay for the cost of the evaluation or treatment. The 
county department of social services shall recommend the facility that will provide the juvenile 
with evaluation or treatment. 

(c) If the court believes, or if there is evidence presented to the effect that the juvenile is 
mentally ill or is developmentally disabled, the court shall refer the juvenile to the area mental 
health, developmental disabilities, and substance abuse services director for appropriate action. A 
juvenile shall not be committed directly to a State hospital or mental retardation center; and 
orders purporting to commit a juvenile directly to a State hospital or mental retardation center 
except for an examination to determine capacity to proceed shall be void and of no effect. The 
area mental health, developmental disabilities, and substance abuse director shall be responsible 
for arranging an interdisciplinary evaluation of the juvenile and mobilizing resources to meet the 
juvenile’s needs. If institutionalization is determined to be the best service for the juvenile, 
admission shall be with the voluntary consent of the parent, guardian, or custodian. If the parent, 
guardian, or custodian refuses to consent to a mental hospital or retardation center admission 
after such institutionalization is recommended by the area mental health, developmental 
disabilities, and substance abuse director, the signature and consent of the court may be 
substituted for that purpose. In all cases in which a regional mental hospital refuses admission to 
a juvenile referred for admission by the court and an area mental health, developmental 
disabilities, and substance abuse director or discharges a juvenile previously admitted on court 
referral prior to completion of the juvenile’s treatment, the hospital shall submit to the court a 
written report setting out the reasons for denial of admission or discharge and setting out the 
juvenile’s diagnosis, indications of mental illness, indications of need for treatment, and a 
statement as to the location of any facility known to have a treatment program for the juvenile in 
question.  

Note: Should there be exceptions, here or elsewhere in the Code, to the provisions 
relating to parents when a juvenile is 18 or older? See also G.S. 7B-2506(1) and Article 
27, below. 

 
§ 7B-2503.  Dispositional alternatives for undisciplined juveniles. 

The following alternatives for disposition shall be available to the court exercising 
jurisdiction over a juvenile who has been adjudicated undisciplined. In placing a juvenile in 
out-of-home care under this section, the court shall also consider whether it is in the juvenile’s 
best interest to remain in the juvenile’s community of residence. The court may combine any of 
the applicable alternatives when the court finds it to be in the best interests of the juvenile: 

(1) In the case of any juvenile who needs more adequate care or supervision or 
who needs placement, the judge may: 
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a. Require that the juvenile be supervised in the juvenile’s own home by 
a department of social services in the juvenile’s county of residence, a 
juvenile court counselor, or other personnel as may be available to the 
court, subject to conditions applicable to the parent, guardian, or 
custodian or the juvenile as the judge may specify; or 

b. Place the juvenile in the custody of a parent, guardian, custodian, 
relative, private agency offering placement services, or some other 
suitable person; or 

c. Place the juvenile in the custody of a department of social services in 
the county of the juvenile’s residence, or in the case of a juvenile who 
has legal residence outside the State, in the physical custody of a 
department of social services in the county where the juvenile is found 
so that agency may return the juvenile to the responsible authorities in 
the juvenile’s home state. An order placing a juvenile in the custody or 
placement responsibility of a county department of social services 
shall contain a finding that the juvenile’s continuation in the juvenile’s 
own home would be contrary to the juvenile’s best interest. This 
placement shall be reviewed in accordance with G.S. 7B-906. The 
director may, unless otherwise ordered by the judge, arrange for, 
provide, or consent to, needed routine or emergency medical or 
surgical care or treatment. In the case where the parent is unknown, 
unavailable, or unable to act on behalf of the juvenile or juveniles, the 
director may, unless otherwise ordered by the judge, arrange for, 
provide or consent to any psychiatric, psychological, educational, or 
other remedial evaluations or treatment for the juvenile placed by a 
judge or the judge’s designee in the custody or physical custody of a 
county department of social services under the authority of this or any 
other Chapter of the General Statutes. Prior to exercising this 
authority, the director shall make reasonable efforts to obtain consent 
from a parent, guardian, or custodian of the affected juvenile. If the 
director cannot obtain consent, the director shall promptly notify the 
parent, guardian, or custodian that care or treatment has been provided 
and shall give the parent, guardian, or custodian frequent status reports 
on the circumstances of the juvenile. Upon request of a parent, 
guardian, or custodian of the affected juvenile, the results or records of 
the aforementioned evaluations, findings, or treatment shall be made 
available to the parent, guardian, or custodian by the director unless 
prohibited by G.S. 122C-53(d). 

(2) Place the juvenile under the protective supervision of a juvenile court 
counselor for a period of up to three months, with an extension of an 
additional three months in the discretion of the court. 

(3) Excuse the juvenile from compliance with the compulsory school attendance 
law when the court finds that suitable alternative plans can be arranged by the 
family through other community resources for one of the following: 
a. An education related to the needs or abilities of the juvenile including 

vocational education or special education; 
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b. A suitable plan of supervision or placement; or 
c. Some other plan that the court finds to be in the best interests of the 

juvenile. 
 
§ 7B-2504.  Conditions of protective supervision for undisciplined juveniles. 

The court may place a juvenile on protective supervision pursuant to G.S. 7B-2503 so that 
the juvenile court counselor may (i) assist the juvenile in securing social, medical, and 
educational services and (ii) visit and work with the family as a unit to ensure the juvenile is 
provided proper supervision and care. The court may impose any combination of the following 
conditions of protective supervision that are related to the needs of the juvenile, including: 

(1) That the juvenile shall remain on good behavior and not violate any laws; 
(2) That the juvenile attend school regularly; 
(3) That the juvenile maintain passing grades in up to four courses during each 

grading period and meet with the juvenile court counselor and a representative 
of the school to make a plan for how to maintain those passing grades; 

(4) That the juvenile not associate with specified persons or be in specified 
places; 

(5) That the juvenile abide by a prescribed curfew; 
(6) That the juvenile report to a juvenile court counselor as often as required by a 

juvenile court counselor; 
(7) That the juvenile be employed regularly if not attending school; and 
(8) That the juvenile satisfy any other conditions determined appropriate by the 

court.  
 
§ 7B-2505.  Contempt of court for undisciplined juveniles. 

Upon motion of the juvenile court counselor or on the court’s own motion, the court may 
issue an order directing a juvenile who has been adjudicated undisciplined to appear and show 
cause why the juvenile should not be held in contempt for willfully failing to comply with an 
order of the court. The first time the juvenile is held in contempt, the court may order the 
juvenile confined in an approved detention facility for a period not to exceed 24 hours. The 
second time the juvenile is held in contempt, the court may order the juvenile confined in an 
approved detention facility for a period not to exceed three days. The third time and all 
subsequent times the juvenile is held in contempt, the court may order the juvenile confined in an 
approved detention facility for a period not to exceed five days. The timing of any confinement 
under this section shall be determined by the court in its discretion. In no event shall a juvenile 
held in contempt pursuant to this section be confined for more than 14 days in one 12-month 
period.  
 
§ 7B-2506.  Dispositional alternatives for delinquent juveniles. 

The court exercising jurisdiction over a juvenile who has been adjudicated delinquent may 
use the following alternatives in accordance with the dispositional structure set forth in G.S. 
7B-2508: 

(1) In the case of any juvenile who needs more adequate care or supervision or 
who needs placement, the judge may: 
a. Require that a juvenile be supervised in the juvenile’s own home by 

the department of social services in the juvenile’s county, a juvenile 
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court counselor, or other personnel as may be available to the court, 
subject to conditions applicable to the parent, guardian, or custodian or 
the juvenile as the judge may specify; or 

Note:  
 Should there be exceptions, here or elsewhere in the Code, to 

the provisions relating to parents when a juvenile is 18 or 
older? See also Article 27, below. 

 Is supervision by DSS a feasible option for juveniles who are 
18 or older? 

b. Place the juvenile in the custody of a parent, guardian, custodian, 
relative, private agency offering placement services, or some other 
suitable person; or 

Note: When the juvenile is emancipated, by age or otherwise, can 
the juvenile be placed in custody as provided here?  

c. Place the juvenile in the custody of the department of social services in 
the county of his residence, or in the case of a juvenile who has legal 
residence outside the State, in the physical custody of a department of 
social services in the county where the juvenile is found so that agency 
may return the juvenile to the responsible authorities in the juvenile’s 
home state.  

Note: Should placement in the custody of DSS be an option 
when the juvenile is 18 or older?   

An order placing a juvenile in the custody or placement responsibility 
of a county department of social services shall contain a finding that 
the juvenile’s continuation in the juvenile’s own home would be 
contrary to the juvenile’s best interest. This placement shall be 
reviewed in accordance with G.S. 7B-906. The director may, unless 
otherwise ordered by the judge, arrange for, provide, or consent to, 
needed routine or emergency medical or surgical care or treatment. In 
the case where the parent is unknown, unavailable, or unable to act on 
behalf of the juvenile or juveniles, the director may, unless otherwise 
ordered by the judge, arrange for, provide, or consent to any 
psychiatric, psychological, educational, or other remedial evaluations 
or treatment for the juvenile placed by a judge or his designee in the 
custody or physical custody of a county department of social services 
under the authority of this or any other Chapter of the General 
Statutes. Prior to exercising this authority, the director shall make 
reasonable efforts to obtain consent from a parent, guardian, or 
custodian of the affected juvenile. If the director cannot obtain 
consent, the director shall promptly notify the parent, guardian, or 
custodian that care or treatment has been provided and shall give the 
parent, guardian, or custodian frequent status reports on the 
circumstances of the juvenile. Upon request of a parent, guardian, or 
custodian of the affected juvenile, the results or records of the 
aforementioned evaluations, findings, or treatment shall be made 
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available to the parent, guardian, or custodian by the director unless 
prohibited by G.S. 122C-53(d). 

(2) Excuse the juvenile from compliance with the compulsory school attendance 
law when the court finds that suitable alternative plans can be arranged by the 
family through other community resources for one of the following: 
a. An education related to the needs or abilities of the juvenile including 

vocational education or special education; 
b. A suitable plan of supervision or placement; or 
c. Some other plan that the court finds to be in the best interests of the 

juvenile. 
(3) Order the juvenile to cooperate with a community-based program, an 

intensive substance abuse treatment program, or a residential or nonresidential 
treatment program. Participation in the programs shall not exceed 12 months. 

(4) Require restitution, full or partial, up to five hundred dollars ($500.00), 
payable within a 12-month period to any person who has suffered loss or 
damage as a result of the offense committed by the juvenile. The court may 
determine the amount, terms, and conditions of the restitution. If the juvenile 
participated with another person or persons, all participants should be jointly 
and severally responsible for the payment of restitution; however, the court 
shall not require the juvenile to make restitution if the juvenile satisfies the 
court that the juvenile does not have, and could not reasonably acquire, the 
means to make restitution. 

(5) Impose a fine related to the seriousness of the juvenile’s offense. If the 
juvenile has the ability to pay the fine, it shall not exceed the maximum fine 
for the offense if committed by an adult. 

(6) Order the juvenile to perform up to 100 hours supervised community service 
consistent with the juvenile’s age, skill, and ability, specifying the nature of 
the work and the number of hours required. The work shall be related to the 
seriousness of the juvenile’s offense and in no event may the obligation to 
work exceed 12 months. 

(7) Order the juvenile to participate in the victim-offender reconciliation program. 
(8) Place the juvenile on probation under the supervision of a juvenile court 

counselor, as specified in G.S. 7B-2510. 
(9) Order that the juvenile shall not be licensed to operate a motor vehicle in the 

State of North Carolina for as long as the court retains jurisdiction over the 
juvenile or for any shorter period of time. The clerk of court shall notify the 
Division of Motor Vehicles of that order. 

(10) Impose a curfew upon the juvenile. 
(11) Order that the juvenile not associate with specified persons or be in specified 

places. 
(12) Impose confinement on an intermittent basis in an approved detention facility. 

Confinement shall be limited to not more than five 24-hour periods, the timing 
of which is determined by the court in its discretion. 

(13) Order the juvenile to cooperate with placement in a wilderness program. 
(14) Order the juvenile to cooperate with placement in a residential treatment 

facility, an intensive nonresidential treatment program, an intensive substance 
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abuse program, or in a group home other than a multipurpose group home 
operated by a State agency. 

(15) Place the juvenile on intensive probation under the supervision of a juvenile 
court counselor. 

(16) Order the juvenile to cooperate with a supervised day program requiring the 
juvenile to be present at a specified place for all or part of every day or of 
certain days. In determining whether to order a juvenile to a particular 
supervised day program, the court shall consider the structure and operations 
of the program and whether that program will meet the needs of the juvenile. 
The court also may require the juvenile to comply with any other reasonable 
conditions specified in the dispositional order that are designed to facilitate 
supervision. 

(17) Order the juvenile to participate in a regimented training program. 
(18) Order the juvenile to submit to house arrest. 
(19) Suspend imposition of a more severe, statutorily permissible disposition with 

the provision that the juvenile meet certain conditions agreed to by the 
juvenile and specified in the dispositional order. The conditions shall not 
exceed the allowable dispositions for the level under which disposition is 
being imposed. 

(20) Order that the juvenile be confined in an approved juvenile detention facility 
for a term of up to 14 24-hour periods, which confinement shall not be 
imposed consecutively with intermittent confinement pursuant to subdivision 
(12) of this section at the same dispositional hearing. The timing of this 
confinement shall be determined by the court in its discretion. 

(21) Order the residential placement of a juvenile in a multipurpose group home 
operated by a State agency. 

(22) Require restitution of more than five hundred dollars ($500.00), full or partial, 
payable within a 12-month period to any person who has suffered loss or 
damage as a result of an offense committed by the juvenile. The court may 
determine the amount, terms, and conditions of restitution. If the juvenile 
participated with another person or persons, all participants should be jointly 
and severally responsible for the payment of the restitution; however, the 
court shall not require the juvenile to make restitution if the juvenile satisfies 
the court that the juvenile does not have, and could not reasonably acquire, the 
means to make restitution. 

(23) Order the juvenile to perform up to 200 hours supervised community service 
consistent with the juvenile’s age, skill, and ability, specifying the nature of 
work and the number of hours required. The work shall be related to the 
seriousness of the juvenile’s offense. 

(24) Commit the juvenile to the Department for placement in a youth development 
center in accordance with G.S. 7B-2513 for a period of not less than six 
months.  

Note:  
 Should any dispositional options be amended or added to reflect the 

needs and circumstances of older juveniles?  
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 Are these dispositional options sufficient to respond appropriately to 
motor vehicle offenses committed by older juveniles?  

 
§ 7B-2507.  Delinquency history levels. 

(a) Generally. – The delinquency history level for a delinquent juvenile is determined by 
calculating the sum of the points assigned to each of the juvenile’s prior adjudications and to the 
juvenile’s probation status, if any, that the court finds to have been proved in accordance with 
this section. 

(b) Points. – Points are assigned as follows: 
(1) For each prior adjudication of a Class A through E felony offense, 4 points. 
(2) For each prior adjudication of a Class F through I felony offense or Class A1 

misdemeanor offense, 2 points. 
(3) For each prior adjudication of a Class 1, 2, or 3 misdemeanor offense, 1 point. 
(4) If the juvenile was on probation at the time of offense, 2 points. 

No points shall be assigned for a prior adjudication that a juvenile is in direct contempt of 
court or indirect contempt of court. 

 (c) Delinquency History Levels. – The delinquency history levels are: 
(1) Low – No more than 1 point. 
(2) Medium – At least 2, but not more than 3 points. 
(3) High – At least 4 points. 

In determining the delinquency history level, the classification of a prior offense is the 
classification assigned to that offense at the time the juvenile committed the offense for which 
disposition is being ordered. 

(d) Multiple Prior Adjudications Obtained in One Court Session. – For purposes of 
determining the delinquency history level, if a juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for more than 
one offense in a single session of district court, only the adjudication for the offense with the 
highest point total is used. 

(e) Classification of Prior Adjudications From Other Jurisdictions. – Except as otherwise 
provided in this subsection, an adjudication occurring in a jurisdiction other than North Carolina 
is classified as a Class I felony if the jurisdiction in which the offense occurred classifies the 
offense as a felony, or is classified as a Class 3 misdemeanor if the jurisdiction in which the 
offense occurred classifies the offense as a misdemeanor. If the juvenile proves by the 
preponderance of the evidence that an offense classified as a felony in the other jurisdiction is 
substantially similar to an offense that is a misdemeanor in North Carolina, the conviction is 
treated as that class of misdemeanor for assigning delinquency history level points. If the State 
proves by the preponderance of the evidence that an offense classified as either a misdemeanor 
or a felony in the other jurisdiction is substantially similar to an offense in North Carolina that is 
classified as a Class I felony or higher, the conviction is treated as that class of felony for 
assigning delinquency history level points. If the State proves by the preponderance of the 
evidence that an offense classified as a misdemeanor in the other jurisdiction is substantially 
similar to an offense classified as a Class A1 misdemeanor in North Carolina, the adjudication is 
treated as a Class A1 misdemeanor for assigning delinquency history level points. 

(f) Proof of Prior Adjudications. – A prior adjudication shall be proved by any of the 
following methods: 

(1) Stipulation of the parties. 
(2) An original or copy of the court record of the prior adjudication. 
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(3) A copy of records maintained by the Division of Criminal Information or by 
the Department. 

(4) Any other method found by the court to be reliable. 
The State bears the burden of proving, by a preponderance of the evidence, that a prior 

adjudication exists and that the juvenile before the court is the same person as the juvenile named 
in the prior adjudication. The original or a copy of the court records or a copy of the records 
maintained by the Division of Criminal Information or of the Department, bearing the same 
name as that by which the juvenile is charged, is prima facie evidence that the juvenile named is 
the same person as the juvenile before the court, and that the facts set out in the record are true. 
For purposes of this subsection, “a copy” includes a paper writing containing a reproduction of a 
record maintained electronically on a computer or other data processing equipment, and a 
document produced by a facsimile machine. The prosecutor shall make all feasible efforts to 
obtain and present to the court the juvenile’s full record. Evidence presented by either party at 
trial may be utilized to prove prior adjudications. If asked by the juvenile, the prosecutor shall 
furnish the juvenile’s prior adjudications to the juvenile within a reasonable time sufficient to 
allow the juvenile to determine if the record available to the prosecutor is accurate.  
 
§ 7B-2508.  Dispositional limits for each class of offense and delinquency history level. 

(a) Offense Classification. – The offense classifications are as follows: 
(1) Violent – Adjudication of a Class A through E felony offense; 
(2) Serious – Adjudication of a Class F through I felony offense or a Class A1 

misdemeanor; 
(3) Minor – Adjudication of a Class 1, 2, or 3 misdemeanor or adjudication of 

indirect contempt by a juvenile. 
(b) Delinquency History Levels. – A delinquency history level shall be determined for 

each delinquent juvenile as provided in G.S. 7B-2507. 
(c) Level 1 – Community Disposition. – A court exercising jurisdiction over a juvenile 

who has been adjudicated delinquent and for whom the dispositional chart in subsection (f) of 
this section prescribes a Level 1 disposition may provide for evaluation and treatment under G.S. 
7B-2502 and for any of the dispositional alternatives contained in subdivisions (1) through (13) 
and (16) of G.S. 7B-2506. In determining which dispositional alternative is appropriate, the court 
shall consider the needs of the juvenile as indicated by the risk and needs assessment contained 
in the predisposition report, the appropriate community resources available to meet those needs, 
and the protection of the public. 

(d) Level 2 – Intermediate Disposition. – A court exercising jurisdiction over a juvenile 
who has been adjudicated delinquent and for whom the dispositional chart in subsection (f) of 
this section prescribes a Level 2 disposition may provide for evaluation and treatment under G.S. 
7B-2502 and for any of the dispositional alternatives contained in subdivisions (1) through (23) 
of G.S. 7B-2506, but shall provide for at least one of the intermediate dispositions authorized in 
subdivisions (13) through (23) of G.S. 7B-2506. However, notwithstanding any other provision 
of this section, a court may impose a Level 3 disposition if the juvenile has previously received a 
Level 3 disposition in a prior juvenile action. In determining which dispositional alternative is 
appropriate, the court shall consider the needs of the juvenile as indicated by the risk and needs 
assessment contained in the predisposition report, the appropriate community resources available 
to meet those needs, and the protection of the public. 
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(e) Level 3 – Commitment. – A court exercising jurisdiction over a juvenile who has 
been adjudicated delinquent and for whom the dispositional chart in subsection (f) of this section 
prescribes a Level 3 disposition shall commit the juvenile to the Department for placement in a 
youth development center in accordance with G.S. 7B-2506(24). However, a court may impose a 
Level 2 disposition rather than a Level 3 disposition if the court submits written findings on the 
record that substantiate extraordinary needs on the part of the offending juvenile. 

(f) Dispositions for Each Class of Offense and Delinquency History Level; Disposition 
Chart Described. – The authorized disposition for each class of offense and delinquency history 
level is as specified in the chart below. Delinquency history levels are indicated horizontally on 
the top of the chart. Classes of offense are indicated vertically on the left side of the chart. Each 
cell on the chart indicates which of the dispositional levels described in subsections (c) through 
(e) of this section are prescribed for that combination of offense classification and delinquency 
history level:    

 
DELINQUENCY HISTORY OFFENSE 

 LOW  MEDIUM  HIGH   
VIOLENT  Level 2 or 3  Level 3  Level 3   
SERIOUS  Level 1 or 2  Level 2  Level 2 or 3   
MINOR  Level 1  Level 1 or 2  Level 2.  
 

(g) Notwithstanding subsection (f) of this section, a juvenile who has been adjudicated 
for a minor offense may be committed to a Level 3 disposition if the juvenile has been 
adjudicated of four or more prior offenses. For purposes of determining the number of prior 
offenses under this subsection, each successive offense is one that was committed after 
adjudication of the preceding offense. 

(h) If a juvenile is adjudicated of more than one offense during a session of juvenile 
court, the court shall consolidate the offenses for disposition and impose a single disposition for 
the consolidated offenses. The disposition shall be specified for the class of offense and 
delinquency history level of the most serious offense.  

 
§ 7B-2509.  Registration of certain delinquent juveniles. 

In any case in which a juvenile, who was at least 11 years of age at the time of the offense, is 
adjudicated delinquent for committing a violation of G.S. 14-27.2 (first-degree rape), G.S. 
14-27.3 (second degree rape), G.S. 14-27.4 (first-degree sexual offense), G.S. 14-27.5 (second 
degree sexual offense), or G.S. 14-27.6 (attempted rape or sexual offense), the judge, upon a 
finding that the juvenile is a danger to the community, may order that the juvenile register in 
accordance with Part 4 of Article 27A of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes.  
 
 
§ 7B-2510.  Conditions of probation; violation of probation. 

(a) In any case where a juvenile is placed on probation pursuant to G.S. 7B-2506(8) or 
(15), the juvenile court counselor shall have the authority to visit the juvenile where the juvenile 
resides. The court may impose conditions of probation that are related to the needs of the 
juvenile and that are reasonably necessary to ensure that the juvenile will lead a law-abiding life, 
including: 

(1) That the juvenile shall remain on good behavior. 
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(2) That the juvenile shall not violate any laws. 
(3) That the juvenile shall not violate any reasonable and lawful rules of a parent, 

guardian, or custodian. 
(4) That the juvenile attend school regularly. 
(5) That the juvenile maintain passing grades in up to four courses during each 

grading period and meet with the juvenile court counselor and a representative 
of the school to make a plan for how to maintain those passing grades. 

(6) That the juvenile not associate with specified persons or be in specified 
places. 

(7) That the juvenile: 
a. Refrain from use or possession of any controlled substance included in 

any schedule of Article 5 of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes, the 
Controlled Substances Act; 

b. Refrain from use or possession of any alcoholic beverage regulated 
under Chapter 18B of the General Statutes; and 

c. Submit to random drug testing. 
(8) That the juvenile abide by a prescribed curfew. 
(9) That the juvenile submit to a warrantless search at reasonable times. 
(10) That the juvenile possess no firearm, explosive device, or other deadly 

weapon. 
(11) That the juvenile report to a juvenile court counselor as often as required by 

the juvenile court counselor. 
(12) That the juvenile make specified financial restitution or pay a fine in 

accordance with G.S. 7B-2506(4), (5), and (22). 
(13) That the juvenile be employed regularly if not attending school. 
(14) That the juvenile satisfy any other conditions determined appropriate by the 

court. 
(b) In addition to the regular conditions of probation specified in subsection (a) of this 

section, the court may, at a dispositional hearing or any subsequent hearing, order the juvenile to 
comply, if directed to comply by the chief court counselor, with one or more of the following 
conditions: 

(1) Perform up to 20 hours of community service; 
(2) Submit to substance abuse monitoring and treatment; 
(3) Participate in a life skills or an educational skills program administered by the 

Department; 
(4) Cooperate with electronic monitoring; and 
(5) Cooperate with intensive supervision. 

However, the court shall not give the chief court counselor discretion to impose the conditions of 
either subsection (4) or (5) of this section unless the juvenile is subject to Level 2 dispositions 
pursuant to G.S. 7B-2508 or subsection (d) of this section. 

Note: In subsections (a) and (b), should any authorized conditions of probation be 
amended or added to reflect the circumstances of older juveniles?  

(c) An order of probation shall remain in force for a period not to exceed one year from 
the date entered. Prior to expiration of an order of probation, the court may extend it for an 
additional period of one year after a hearing, if the court finds that the extension is necessary to 
protect the community or to safeguard the welfare of the juvenile.   
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(d) On motion of the juvenile court counselor or the juvenile, or on the court’s own 
motion, the court may review the progress of any juvenile on probation at any time during the 
period of probation or at the end of probation. The conditions or duration of probation may be 
modified only as provided in this Subchapter and only after notice and a hearing. 

(e) If the court, after notice and a hearing, finds by the greater weight of the evidence that 
the juvenile has violated the conditions of probation set by the court, the court may continue the 
original conditions of probation, modify the conditions of probation, or, except as provided in 
subsection (f) of this section, order a new disposition at the next higher level on the disposition 
chart in G.S. 7B-2508. In the court’s discretion, part of the new disposition may include an order 
of confinement in a secure juvenile detention facility for up to twice the term authorized by G.S. 
7B-2508. 

(f) A court shall not order a Level 3 disposition for violation of the conditions of 
probation by a juvenile adjudicated delinquent for an offense classified as minor under G.S. 
7B-2508. 
 
§ 7B-2511.  Termination of probation. 

At the end of or at any time during probation, the court may terminate probation by written 
order upon finding that there is no further need for supervision. The finding and order 
terminating probation may be entered in chambers in the absence of the juvenile and may be 
based on a report from the juvenile court counselor or, at the election of the court, the order may 
be entered with the juvenile present after notice and a hearing.  
 
§ 7B-2512.  Dispositional order. 

The dispositional order shall be in writing and shall contain appropriate findings of fact and 
conclusions of law. The court shall state with particularity, both orally and in the written order of 
disposition, the precise terms of the disposition including the kind, duration, and the person who 
is responsible for carrying out the disposition and the person or agency in whom custody is 
vested.  
 
§ 7B-2513.  Commitment of delinquent juvenile to Department. 

(a) Pursuant to G.S. 7B-2506 and G.S. 7B-2508, the court may commit a delinquent 
juvenile who is at least 10 years of age to the Department for placement in a youth development 
center.  
Commitment shall be for an indefinite term of at least six months. In no event shall the term 
exceed: 

(1) The twenty-first          birthday of the juvenile if the juvenile has been 
committed to the Department for an offense that would be first-degree murder 
pursuant to G.S. 14-17, first-degree rape pursuant to G.S. 14-27.2, or 
first-degree sexual offense pursuant to G.S. 14-27.4 if committed by an adult; 

(2) The nineteenth          birthday of the juvenile if the juvenile has been 
committed to the Department for an offense that would be a Class A, B1, B2, 
C, D, or E felony if committed by an adult, other than an offense set forth in 
subdivision (1) of this subsection; or 

(3) The eighteenth twentieth birthday of the juvenile if the juvenile has been 
committed to the Department for an offense other than an offense that would 
be a Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E felony if committed by an adult. 
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Note: Subdivisions (1) and (2) would need to be rewritten to conform to 
earlier provisions about extended jurisdiction. The change to subdivision 
(3) reflects an increase in the court’s general dispositional jurisdiction. 

No juvenile shall be committed to a youth development center beyond the minimum six-month 
commitment for a period of time in excess of the maximum term of imprisonment for which an 
adult in prior record level VI for felonies or in prior conviction level III for misdemeanors could 
be sentenced for the same offense, except when the Department pursuant to G.S. 7B-2515 
determines that the juvenile’s commitment needs to be continued for an additional period of time 
to continue care or treatment under the plan of care or treatment developed under subsection (f) 
of this section. At the time of commitment to a youth development center, the court shall 
determine the maximum period of time the juvenile may remain committed before a 
determination must be made by the Department pursuant to G.S. 7B-2515 and shall notify the 
juvenile of that determination. 

(b) The court may commit a juvenile to a definite term of not less than six months and 
not more than two years if the court finds that the juvenile is 14 years of age or older, has been 
previously adjudicated delinquent for two or more felony offenses, and has been previously 
committed to a youth development center. 

(c) The chief court counselor shall have the responsibility for transporting the juvenile to 
the youth development center designated by the Department. The juvenile shall be accompanied 
to the youth development center by a person of the same sex. 

(d) The chief court counselor shall ensure that the records requested by the Department 
accompany the juvenile upon transportation for admittance to a youth development center or, if 
not obtainable at the time of admission, are sent to the youth development center within 15 days 
of the admission. If records requested by the Department for admission do not exist, to the best 
knowledge of the chief court counselor, the chief court counselor shall so stipulate in writing to 
the youth development center. If such records do exist, but the chief court counselor is unable to 
obtain copies of them, a district court may order that the records from public agencies be made 
available to the youth development center. Records that are confidential by law shall remain 
confidential and the Department shall be bound by the specific laws governing the 
confidentiality of these records. All records shall be used in a manner consistent with the best 
interests of the juvenile. 

(e) A commitment order accompanied by information requested by the Department shall 
be forwarded to the Department. The Department shall place the juvenile in the youth 
development center that would best provide for the juvenile’s needs and shall notify the 
committing court. The Department may assign a juvenile committed for delinquency to any 
institution of the Department or licensed by the Department, which program is appropriate to the 
needs of the juvenile. 

The Department, after assessment of the juvenile, may provide commitment services to the 
juvenile in a program not located in a youth development center or detention facility. If the 
Department recommends that commitment services for the juvenile are to be provided in a 
setting that is not located in a youth development center or detention facility, the Department 
shall file a motion, along with information about the recommended services for the juvenile, with 
the committing court prior to placing the juvenile in the identified commitment program. The 
Department shall send notice of the motion to the District Attorney, the juvenile, and the 
juvenile’s attorney. Upon receipt of the motion filed by the Department, the court may enter an 
order without the appearance of witnesses and without hearing if the court determines that the 
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identified commitment program is appropriate and a hearing is not necessary. The court must 
hold a hearing if the juvenile or the juvenile’s attorney requests a hearing. If the court notifies the 
Department of its intent to hold a hearing, the date for that hearing shall be set by the court and 
the Department shall place the juvenile in a youth development center or detention facility until 
the determination of the court at that hearing. 

(f) When the court commits a juvenile to the Department for placement in a youth 
development center, the Department shall prepare a plan for care or treatment within 30 days 
after assuming custody of the juvenile. 

(g) Commitment of a juvenile to the Department for placement in a youth development 
center does not terminate the court’s continuing jurisdiction over the juvenile and the juvenile’s 
parent, guardian, or custodian. Commitment of a juvenile to the Department for placement in a 
youth development center transfers only physical custody of the juvenile. Legal custody remains 
with the parent, guardian, custodian, agency, or institution in whom it was vested. 

(h) Pending placement of a juvenile with the Department, the court may house a juvenile 
who has been adjudicated delinquent for an offense that would be a Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E 
felony if committed by an adult in a holdover facility up to 72 hours if the court, based on the 
information provided by the juvenile court counselor, determines that no acceptable alternative 
placement is available and the protection of the public requires that the juvenile be housed in a 
holdover facility. 

(i) A juvenile who is committed to the Department for placement in a youth 
development center shall be tested for the use of controlled substances or alcohol. The results of 
this initial test shall be incorporated into the plan of care as provided in subsection (f) of this 
section and used for evaluation and treatment purposes only. 

(j) When a juvenile is committed to the Department for placement in a youth 
development center for an offense that would have been a Class A or B1 felony if committed by 
an adult, the chief court counselor shall notify the victim and members of the victim’s immediate 
family that the victim, or the victim’s immediate family members may request in writing to be 
notified in advance of the juvenile’s scheduled release date in accordance with G.S. 7B-2514(d).  
 
§ 7B-2514.  Post-release supervision planning; release. 

(a) The Department shall be responsible for evaluation of the progress of each juvenile at 
least once every six months as long as the juvenile remains in the care of the Department. Any 
determination that the juvenile should remain in the care of the Department for an additional 
period of time shall be based on the Department’s determination that the juvenile requires 
additional treatment or rehabilitation pursuant to G.S. 7B-2515. If the Department determines 
that a juvenile is ready for release, the Department shall initiate a post-release supervision 
planning process. The post-release supervision planning process shall be defined by rules and 
regulations of the Department, but shall include the following: 

(1) Written notification shall be given to the court that ordered commitment. 
(2) A post-release supervision planning conference shall be held involving as 

many as possible of the following: the juvenile, the juvenile’s parent, 
guardian, or custodian, juvenile court counselors who have supervised the 
juvenile on probation or will supervise the juvenile on post-release 
supervision, and staff of the facility that found the juvenile ready for release. 
The planning conference shall include personal contact and evaluation rather 
than telephonic notification. 
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(3) The planning conference participants shall consider, based on the individual 
needs of the juvenile and pursuant to rules adopted by the Department, 
placement of the juvenile in any program under the auspices of the 
Department, including the juvenile court services programs that, in the 
judgment of the Department, would be appropriate transitional placement, 
pending release under G.S. 7B-2513. 

(b) The Department shall develop the plan in writing and base the terms on the needs of 
the juvenile and the protection of the public. Every plan shall require the juvenile to complete at 
least 90 days, but not more than one year, of post-release supervision. 

(c) The Department shall release a juvenile under a plan of post-release supervision at 
least 90 days prior to: 

(1) Completion of the juvenile’s definite term of commitment; or 
(2) The juvenile’s twenty-first birthday if the juvenile has been committed to the 

Department for an offense that would be first-degree murder pursuant to G.S. 
14-17, first-degree rape pursuant to G.S. 14-27.2, or first-degree sexual 
offense pursuant to G.S. 14-27.4 if committed by an adult. 

(3) The juvenile’s nineteenth birthday if the juvenile has been committed to the 
Department for an offense that would be a Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E felony 
if committed by an adult, other than an offense set forth in G.S. 7B-1602(a). 

(4) The juvenile’s eighteenth twentieth birthday if the juvenile has been 
committed to the Department for an offense other than an offense that would 
be a Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E felony if committed by an adult. 

Note: Subdivisions (2) and (3) would need to be rewritten to conform to 
earlier provisions about extended jurisdiction. The change to subdivision 
(4) reflects an increase in the court’s general dispositional jurisdiction.  

(d) Notwithstanding Articles 30 and 31 of Subchapter III of this Chapter, at least 45 days 
before releasing to post-release supervision a juvenile who was committed for a Class A or B1 
felony, the Department shall notify, by first-class mail at the last known address: 

(1) The juvenile; 
(2) The juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian; 
(3) The district attorney of the district where the juvenile was adjudicated; 
(4) The head of the enforcement agency that took the juvenile into custody; and 
(5) The victim and any of the victim’s immediate family members who have 

requested in writing to be notified. 
The notification shall include only the juvenile’s name, offense, date of commitment, and 

date proposed for release. A copy of the notice shall be sent to the appropriate clerk of superior 
court for placement in the juvenile’s court file. 

(e) The Department may release a juvenile under an indefinite commitment to 
post-release supervision only after the juvenile has been committed to the Department for 
placement in a youth development center for a period of at least six months. 

(f) A juvenile committed to the Department for placement in a youth development center 
for a definite term shall receive credit toward that term for the time the juvenile spends on 
post-release supervision. 

(g) A juvenile on post-release supervision shall be supervised by a juvenile court 
counselor. Post-release supervision shall be terminated by order of the court. 
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§ 7B-2515.  Notification of extended commitment; plan of treatment. 
(a) In determining whether a juvenile should be released before the juvenile’s 18th 20th 

birthday, the Department shall consider the protection of the public and the likelihood that 
continued placement will lead to further rehabilitation. If the Department does not intend to 
release the juvenile prior to the juvenile’s eighteenth twentieth birthday, or if the Department 
determines that the juvenile’s commitment should be continued beyond the maximum 
commitment period as set forth in G.S. 7B-2513(a), the Department shall notify the juvenile and 
the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian in writing at least 30 days in advance of the 
juvenile’s eighteenth twentieth birthday or the end of the maximum commitment period, of the 
additional specific commitment period proposed by the Department, the basis for extending the 
commitment period, and the plan for future care or treatment. 

(b) The Department shall modify the plan of care or treatment developed pursuant to G.S. 
7B-2513(f) to specify (i) the specific goals and outcomes that require additional time for care or 
treatment of the juvenile; (ii) the specific course of treatment or care that will be implemented to 
achieve the established goals and outcomes; and (iii) the efforts that will be taken to assist the 
juvenile’s family in creating an environment that will increase the likelihood that the efforts to 
treat and rehabilitate the juvenile will be successful upon release. If appropriate, the Department 
may place the juvenile in a setting other than a youth development center. 

(c) The juvenile and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian may request a review 
by the court of the Department’s decision to extend the juvenile’s commitment beyond the 
juvenile’s eighteenth twentieth birthday or maximum commitment period, in which case the 
court shall conduct a review hearing. The court may modify the Department’s decision and the 
juvenile’s maximum commitment period. If the juvenile or the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or 
custodian does not request a review of the Department’s decision, the Department’s decision 
shall become the juvenile’s new maximum commitment period.  
 
§ 7B-2516.  Revocation of post-release supervision. 

(a) On motion of the juvenile court counselor providing post-release supervision or 
motion of the juvenile, or on the court’s own motion, and after notice, the court may hold a 
hearing to review the progress of any juvenile on post-release supervision at any time during the 
period of post-release supervision. With respect to any hearing involving allegations that the 
juvenile has violated the terms of post-release supervision, the juvenile: 

(1) Shall have reasonable notice in writing of the nature and content of the 
allegations in the motion, including notice that the purpose of the hearing is to 
determine whether the juvenile has violated the terms of post-release 
supervision to the extent that post-release supervision should be revoked; 

(2) Shall be represented by an attorney at the hearing; 

Note: Should there be an age at which the juvenile may waive the right to 
an attorney? 

(3) Shall have the right to confront and cross-examine witnesses; and 
(4) May admit, deny, or explain the violation alleged and may present proof, 

including affidavits or other evidence, in support of the juvenile’s contentions. 
A record of the proceeding shall be made and preserved in the juvenile’s 
record. 
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(b) If the court determines by the greater weight of the evidence that the juvenile has 
violated the terms of post-release supervision, the court may revoke the post-release supervision 
or make any other disposition authorized by this Subchapter. 

(c) If the court revokes post-release supervision, the juvenile shall be returned to the 
Department for placement in a youth development center for an indefinite term of at least 90 
days, provided, however, that no juvenile shall remain committed to the Department for 
placement in a youth development center past: 

(1) The juvenile’s twenty-first birthday if the juvenile has been committed to the 
Department for an offense that would be first-degree murder pursuant to G.S. 
14-17, first-degree rape pursuant to G.S. 14-27.2, or first-degree sexual 
offense pursuant to G.S. 14-27.4 if committed by an adult. 

(2) The juvenile’s nineteenth birthday if the juvenile has been committed to the 
Department for an offense that would be a Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E felony 
if committed by an adult, other than an offense set forth in G.S. 7B-1602(a). 

(3) The juvenile’s eighteenth twentieth birthday if the juvenile has been 
committed to the Department for an offense other than an offense that would 
be a Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E felony if committed by an adult.  

Note: Subdivisions (1) and (2) would need to be rewritten to conform to 
earlier provisions about extended jurisdiction. The change to subdivision 
(3) reflects an increase in the court’s general dispositional jurisdiction.  

 
§ 7B-2517.  Transfer authority of Governor. 

The Governor may order transfer of any person less than 18 20 years of age from any jail or 
penal facility of the State to one of the residential facilities operated by the Department in 
appropriate circumstances, provided the Governor shall consult with the Department concerning 
the feasibility of the transfer in terms of available space, staff, and suitability of program. 

When an inmate, committed to the Department of Correction, is transferred by the Governor 
to a residential program operated by the Department, the Department may release the juvenile 
based on the needs of the juvenile and the best interests of the State. Transfer shall not divest the 
probation or parole officer of the officer’s responsibility to supervise the inmate on release.  

 

Article 26. 

Modification and Enforcement of Dispositional Orders; Appeals. 

§ 7B-2600.  Authority to modify or vacate. 
(a) Upon motion in the cause or petition, and after notice, the court may conduct a review 

hearing to determine whether the order of the court is in the best interests of the juvenile, and the 
court may modify or vacate the order in light of changes in circumstances or the needs of the 
juvenile. 

(b) In a case of delinquency, the court may reduce the nature or the duration of the 
disposition on the basis that it was imposed in an illegal manner or is unduly severe with 
reference to the seriousness of the offense, the culpability of the juvenile, or the dispositions 
given to juveniles convicted of similar offenses. 

(c) In any case where the court finds the juvenile to be delinquent or undisciplined, the 
jurisdiction of the court to modify any order or disposition made in the case shall continue (i) 
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during the minority of the juvenile, until the juvenile reaches the age of 18 years or is otherwise 
emancipated, or (ii) until terminated by order of the court. 

(d) In any case where the court finds the juvenile to be delinquent, the jurisdiction of the 
court to modify any order or disposition made in the case shall continue (i) until the juvenile 
reaches the age of 20 years, (ii) until the juvenile reaches the age of 19 ___ years if the juvenile 
has been adjudicated delinquent and committed to the Department for an offense that would be a 
Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E felony if committed by an adult, other than an offense set forth in 
G.S. 7B-1602(a), (iii) until the juvenile reaches the age of 21 ___ years if the juvenile has been 
adjudicated delinquent and committed for an offense that would be first-degree murder pursuant 
to G.S. 14-17, first-degree rape pursuant to G.S. 14-27.2, or first-degree sexual offense pursuant 
to G.S. 14-27.4 if committed by an adult, or (iv) until terminated by order of the court.  

Note: The blank spaces in subsection (d) would need to conform to whatever earlier 
provisions say about extended jurisdiction.  

 
§ 7B-2601.  Request for modification for lack of suitable services. 

If the Department finds that any juvenile committed to the Department's care is not suitable 
for its program, the Department may make a motion in the cause so that the court may make an 
alternative disposition that is consistent with G.S. 7B-2508. 
 
§ 7B-2602.  Right to appeal. 

Upon motion of a proper party as defined in G.S. 7B-2604, review of any final order of the 
court in a juvenile matter under this Article shall be before the Court of Appeals. Notice of 
appeal shall be given in open court at the time of the hearing or in writing within 10 days after 
entry of the order. However, if no disposition is made within 60 days after entry of the order, 
written notice of appeal may be given within 70 days after such entry. A final order shall include: 

(1) Any order finding absence of jurisdiction; 
(2) Any order which in effect determines the action and prevents a judgment from 

which appeal might be taken; 
(3) Any order of disposition after an adjudication that a juvenile is delinquent or 

undisciplined; or 
(4) Any order modifying custodial rights. 

 
§ 7B-2603.  Right to appeal transfer decision. 

(a) Notwithstanding G.S. 7B-2602, any order transferring jurisdiction of the district court 
in a juvenile matter to the superior court may be appealed to the superior court for a hearing on 
the record. Notice of the appeal must be given in open court or in writing within 10 days after 
entry of the order of transfer in district court.  Entry of an order shall be treated in the same 
manner as entry of a judgment under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 58 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil 
Procedure. The clerk of superior court shall provide the district attorney with a copy of any 
written notice of appeal filed by the attorney for the juvenile. Upon expiration of the 10 day 
period in which an appeal may be entered, if an appeal has been entered and not withdrawn, the 
clerk shall transfer the case to the superior court docket. The superior court shall, within a 
reasonable time, review the record of the transfer hearing for abuse of discretion by the juvenile 
court in the issue of transfer. The superior court shall not review the findings as to probable 
cause for the underlying offense. 
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(b) Once an order of transfer has been entered by the district court, the juvenile has the 
right to be considered for pretrial release as provided in G.S. 15A-533 and G.S. 15A-534. The 
release order shall specify the person or persons to whom the juvenile may be released. Pending 
release, the court shall order that the juvenile be detained in a detention facility while awaiting 
trial. The court may order the juvenile to be held in a holdover facility as defined by G.S. 
7B-1501 at any time the presence of the juvenile is required in court for pretrial hearings or trial, 
if the court finds that it would be inconvenient to return the juvenile to the detention facility. 

Note: There is no upper age limit for persons who may be subject to probable cause and 
transfer proceedings for offenses they are alleged to have committed while juveniles. Is 
there an age after which someone whose case has been transferred to superior court 
should not be held in a juvenile detention facility?  

(c) If an appeal of the transfer order is taken, the superior court shall enter an order either 
(i) remanding the case to the juvenile court for adjudication or (ii) upholding the transfer order. If 
the superior court remands the case to juvenile court for adjudication and the juvenile has been 
granted pretrial release provided in G.S 15A-533 and G.S. 15A-534, the obligor shall be released 
from the juvenile’s bond upon the district court’s review of whether the juvenile shall be placed 
in secure or nonsecure custody as provided in G.S. 7B-1903. 

(d) The superior court order shall be an interlocutory order, and the issue of transfer may 
be appealed to the Court of Appeals only after the juvenile has been convicted in superior court.  
 
§ 7B-2604.  Proper parties for appeal. 

(a) An appeal may be taken by the juvenile, the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian, 
a county, or the State. 

(b) The State’s appeal is limited to the following orders in delinquency or undisciplined 
cases: 

(1) An order finding a State statute to be unconstitutional; and 
(2) Any order which terminates the prosecution of a petition by upholding the 

defense of double jeopardy, by holding that a cause of action is not stated 
under a statute, or by granting a motion to suppress. 

(c) A county’s appeal is limited to orders in which the county has been ordered to pay for 
medical, surgical, psychiatric, psychological, or other evaluation or treatment of a juvenile 
pursuant to G.S. 7B-2502, or other medical, psychiatric, psychological, or other evaluation or 
treatment of a parent pursuant to G.S. 7B-2702.  

 
§ 7B-2605.  Disposition pending appeal. 

Pending disposition of an appeal, the release of the juvenile, with or without conditions, 
should issue in every case unless the court orders otherwise. For compelling reasons which must 
be stated in writing, the court may enter a temporary order affecting the custody or placement of 
the juvenile as the court finds to be in the best interests of the juvenile or the State. 
 
§ 7B-2606.  Disposition after appeal. 

Upon the affirmation of the order of adjudication or disposition of the court by the Court of 
Appeals or by the Supreme Court in the event of an appeal, the court shall have authority to 
modify or alter the original order of adjudication or disposition as the court finds to be in the best 
interests of the juvenile to reflect any adjustment made by the juvenile or change in 
circumstances during the period of time the appeal was pending. If the modifying order is 
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entered ex parte, the court shall give notice to interested parties to show cause within 10 days 
thereafter as to why the modifying order should be vacated or altered.  
 

Article 27. 

Authority over Parents of Juveniles Adjudicated Delinquent or Undisciplined. 

Note: This Article needs to be reviewed and decisions need to be made about any 
exceptions to or differences in these provisions relating to parents, for cases in which a 
juvenile has reached age 18 or is otherwise emancipated.  

 
§ 7B-2700.  Appearance in court. 

The parent, guardian, or custodian of a juvenile under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court 
shall attend the hearings of which the parent, guardian, or custodian receives notice. The court 
may excuse the appearance of either or both parents or the guardian or custodian at a particular 
hearing or all hearings. Unless so excused, the willful failure of a parent, guardian, or custodian 
to attend a hearing of which the parent, guardian, or custodian has notice shall be grounds for 
contempt.  
 
§ 7B-2701.  Parental responsibility classes. 

The court may order the parent, guardian, or custodian of a juvenile who has been 
adjudicated undisciplined or delinquent to attend parental responsibility classes if those classes 
are available in the judicial district in which the parent, guardian, or custodian resides.  
 
§ 7B-2702.  Medical, surgical, psychiatric, or psychological evaluation or treatment of 

juvenile or parent. 
(a) If the court orders medical, surgical, psychiatric, psychological, or other evaluation or 

treatment pursuant to G.S. 7B-2502, the court may order the parent or other responsible parties to 
pay the cost of the treatment or care ordered. 

(b) At the dispositional hearing or a subsequent hearing, if the court finds that it is in the 
best interests of the juvenile for the parent to be directly involved in the juvenile’s evaluation or 
treatment, the court may order that person to participate in medical, psychiatric, psychological, 
or other evaluation or treatment of the juvenile. The cost of the evaluation or treatment shall be 
paid pursuant to G.S. 7B-2502. 

(c) At the dispositional hearing or a subsequent hearing, the court may determine 
whether the best interests of the juvenile require that the parent undergo psychiatric, 
psychological, or other evaluation or treatment or counseling directed toward remedying 
behaviors or conditions that led to or contributed to the juvenile’s adjudication or to the court’s 
decision to remove custody of the juvenile from the parent. If the court finds that the best 
interests of the juvenile require the parent undergo evaluation or treatment, it may order that 
person to comply with a plan of evaluation or treatment approved by the court or condition legal 
custody or physical placement of the juvenile with the parent upon that person’s compliance with 
the plan of evaluation or treatment. 

(d) In cases in which the court has ordered the parent of the juvenile to comply with or 
undergo evaluation or treatment, the court may order the parent to pay the cost of evaluation or 
treatment ordered pursuant to this subsection. In cases in which the court has conditioned legal 
custody or physical placement of the juvenile with the parent upon the parent’s compliance with 
a plan of evaluation or treatment, the court may charge the cost of the evaluation or treatment to 
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the county of the juvenile’s residence if the court finds the parent is unable to pay the cost of the 
evaluation or treatment. In all other cases, if the court finds the parent is unable to pay the cost of 
the evaluation or treatment ordered pursuant to this subsection, the court may order the parent to 
receive evaluation or treatment currently available from the area mental health program that 
serves the parent’s catchment area.  
 
§ 7B-2703.  Compliance with orders of court. 

(a) The court may order the parent, guardian, or custodian, to the extent that person is 
able to do so, to provide transportation for a juvenile to keep an appointment with a juvenile 
court counselor or to comply with other orders of the court. 

(b) The court may order a parent, guardian, or custodian to cooperate with and assist the 
juvenile in complying with the terms and conditions of probation or other orders of the court.  
 
§ 7B-2704.  Payment of support or other expenses; assignment of insurance coverage. 

At the dispositional hearing or a subsequent hearing, if the court finds that the parent is able 
to do so, the court may order the parent to: 

(1) Pay a reasonable sum that will cover in whole or in part the support of the 
juvenile. If the court requires the payment of child support, the amount of the 
payments shall be determined as provided in G.S. 50-13.4; 

(2) Pay a fee for probation supervision or residential facility costs; 
(3) Assign private insurance coverage to cover medical costs while the juvenile is 

in secure detention, youth development center, or other out-of-home 
placement; and 

(4) Pay appointed attorneys’ fees. 
All money paid by a parent pursuant to this section shall be paid into the office of the clerk of 

superior court. 
If the court places a juvenile in the custody of a county department of social services and if 

the court finds that the parent is unable to pay the cost of the support required by the juvenile, the 
cost shall be paid by the county department of social services in whose custody the juvenile is 
placed, provided the juvenile is not receiving care in an institution owned or operated by the 
State or federal government or any subdivision thereof.  

 
§ 7B-2705.  Employment discrimination unlawful. 

No employer may discharge, demote, or deny a promotion or other benefit of employment to 
any employee because the employee complies with the provisions of this Article. The 
Commissioner of Labor shall enforce the provisions of this section according to Article 21 of 
Chapter 95 of the General Statutes, including the rules and regulations issued pursuant to that 
Article.  
 
§ 7B-2706.  Contempt for failure to comply. 

Upon motion of the juvenile court counselor or prosecutor or upon the court’s own motion, 
the court may issue an order directing the parent, guardian, or custodian to appear and show 
cause why the parent, guardian, or custodian should not be found or held in civil or criminal 
contempt for willfully failing to comply with an order of the court. Chapter 5A of the General 
Statutes shall govern contempt proceedings initiated pursuant to this Article.  
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Article 28. 

Interstate Compact on Juveniles. 

Note: This compact provides for cooperative arrangements among states for the return of 
runaways or escapees, and for the supervision of juveniles who are subject to court orders in 
other states. No change in the compact would be required in order to accommodate the increase 
in the age of juvenile court jurisdiction, because the compact defines “delinquent juvenile” in 
relation to each state’s definition.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

APPENDIX B: DRAFT CHANGES TO STATUTES OTHER 
THAN JUVENILE CODE   

 

Changes that would be required or that seem likely as a result of raising the juvenile age are 
shown with underlining and strike-through. Italicized notes after some sections explain the 
changes or identify issues that could affect the wording of the statute. Shaded areas represent 
issues for consideration; language in the shaded area is unchanged from the original source.   
 
Chapter 5A.   Contempt. 
         Article 3. Contempt by Juveniles. 
 
Chapter 14.  Criminal Law 

   Article 2A.   Habitual Felons. 
   Article 4A.   Prohibited Secret Societies and Activities.  

Article 10.    Kidnapping and Abduction. 
Article 13A. North Carolina Street Gang Suppression Act. 
Article 16.    Larceny. 
Article 18.    Embezzlement. 
Article 26.    Offenses against Public Morality and Decency.  
Article 27A.  Sex Offender and Public Protection Registration Programs. 
Article 39.     Protection of Minors. 
Article 54.     Sale, etc., of Pyrotechnics. 

 
Chapter 15A.  Criminal Procedure Act.  

Article 5.       Expunction of Records. 
Article 23.     Police Processing and Duties upon Arrest. 
Article 81B.  Structured Sentencing of Persons Convicted of Crimes. 

 
Chapter 50B.  Domestic Violence. 

 
Chapter 90.   Medicine and Allied Occupations.  
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Article 5.     North Carolina Controlled Substances Act.  
 
Chapter 143B.  Executive Organization. 

Article 3.   Department of Health and Human Services 
       Part 4A. Family Preservation Act. 
 
Chapter 148.  State Prison System 

Article 3.     Labor of Prisoners. 
Article 4B.  Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision. 
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Chapter 5A. 

Contempt. 

Article 3. 

Contempt by Juveniles. 
 
§ 5A-31.  Contempt by a juvenile. 

(a) Each of the following, when done by an unemancipated minor who (i) is at least six 
years of age, (ii) is not yet 16 18 years of age, and (iii) has not been convicted of any crime in 
superior court, is contempt by a juvenile: 

(1) Willful behavior committed during the sitting of a court and directly tending 
to interrupt its proceedings. 

(2) Willful behavior committed during the sitting of a court in its immediate view 
and presence and directly tending to impair the respect due its authority. 

(3) Willful disobedience of, resistance to, or interference with a court’s lawful 
process, order, directive, or instruction or its execution. 

(4) Willful refusal to be sworn or affirmed as a witness, or, when so sworn or 
affirmed, willful refusal to answer any legal and proper question when the 
refusal is not legally justified. 

(5) Willful or grossly negligent failure to comply with schedules and practices of 
the court resulting in substantial interference with the business of the court. 

(6) Willful refusal to testify or produce other information upon the order of a 
judge acting pursuant to Article 61 of Chapter 15A of the General Statutes, 
Granting of Immunity to Witnesses. 

(7) Willful communication with a juror in an improper attempt to influence the 
juror’s deliberations. 

(8) Any other act or omission specified in another Chapter of the General Statutes 
as grounds for criminal contempt. 

(b) Contempt by a juvenile is direct contempt by a juvenile when each of the following 
conditions is met: 

(1) The act is committed within the sight or hearing of a presiding judicial 
official. 

(2) The act is committed in, or in the immediate proximity to, the room where 
proceedings are being held before the court. 

(3) The act is likely to interrupt or interfere with matters then before the court. 
(c) Contempt by a juvenile that is not direct contempt by a juvenile is indirect contempt 

by a juvenile.  
 
§ 5A-32.  Direct contempt by a juvenile. 

(a) A presiding judicial official may summarily impose measures in response to direct 
contempt by a juvenile when necessary to restore order or maintain the dignity and authority of 
the court and when the measures are imposed substantially contemporaneously with the 
contempt. Before imposing measures summarily, the judicial official shall do all of the 
following: 

(1) Give the juvenile summary notice of the contempt allegation and a summary 
opportunity to respond. 
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(2) Appoint an attorney to represent the juvenile and allow time for the juvenile 
and attorney to confer. 

(3) Find facts supporting the summary imposition of measures in response to 
contempt by a juvenile. The facts shall be established beyond a reasonable 
doubt. 

(b) When a judicial official chooses not to proceed summarily, the official may enter an 
order appointing counsel for the juvenile and directing the juvenile to appear before a judge in a 
juvenile proceeding at a reasonable time specified in the order and show cause why the juvenile 
should not be held in contempt. A copy of the order shall be furnished to the juvenile and to the 
juvenile’s attorney. If the direct contempt by a juvenile is based on acts before a judge that so 
involve the judge that the judge’s objectivity may reasonably be questioned, the order shall be 
returned before a different judge presiding in juvenile court. 

(c) After a determination is made pursuant to subsection (a) or (b) of this section that a 
juvenile has committed direct contempt, the court may order any or all of the following: 

(1) That the juvenile be detained in a juvenile detention facility for up to five 
days. 

(2) That the juvenile perform up to 30 hours of supervised community service as 
arranged by a juvenile court counselor. 

(3) That the juvenile be required to undergo any evaluation necessary for the 
court to determine the needs of the juvenile. 

The court shall not impose any of these sanctions without finding first that the juvenile’s act 
or omission was willfully contemptuous or that the act or omission was preceded by a clear 
warning by the court that the conduct is improper. 

(d) A judicial official who finds a juvenile in direct contempt may at any time terminate 
or reduce a sanction of detention or eliminate or reduce the number of hours of community 
service ordered if warranted by the juvenile’s conduct and the ends of justice. 

(e) A judicial official may orally order that a juvenile the official is charging with direct 
contempt be taken into custody and restrained to the extent necessary to assure the juvenile’s 
presence for summary proceedings or notice of plenary proceedings. 

(f) The clerk shall place a copy of any order or other paper issued pursuant to this section 
in the juvenile’s juvenile file, if one exists, or in a new juvenile file. 

(g) Appeal from an order finding a juvenile in direct contempt is to the Court of Appeals.  
 
§ 5A-33.  Indirect contempt by a juvenile. 

Indirect contempt by a juvenile may be adjudged and sanctioned only pursuant to the 
procedures in Subchapter II of Chapter 7B of the General Statutes.  
 
§ 5A-34.  When minor can be in contempt. 

(a) No act or omission by a minor younger than six years of age constitutes contempt. 
(b) The provisions of Article 1 and Article 2 of this Chapter apply to acts or omissions by 

a minor who: 
(1) Is 16 years of age or older; 
(2 1) Is married or otherwise emancipated; or 
(3 2) Before the act or omission, was convicted in superior court of any criminal 

offense.  
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Chapter 14.  

Criminal Law.  

Article 2A. 

Habitual Felons. 

§ 14-7.1.  Persons defined as habitual felons. 
Any person who has been convicted of or pled guilty to three felony offenses in any 

federal court or state court in the United States or combination thereof is declared to be an 
habitual felon. For the purpose of this Article, a felony offense is defined as an offense which is a 
felony under the laws of the State or other sovereign wherein a plea of guilty was entered or a 
conviction was returned regardless of the sentence actually imposed. Provided, however, that 
federal offenses relating to the manufacture, possession, sale and kindred offenses involving 
intoxicating liquors shall not be considered felonies for the purposes of this Article. For the 
purposes of this Article, felonies committed before a person attains the age of 18 years shall not 
constitute more than one felony. The commission of a second felony shall not fall within the 
purview of this Article unless it is committed after the conviction of or plea of guilty to the first 
felony. The commission of a third felony shall not fall within the purview of this Article unless it 
is committed after the conviction of or plea of guilty to the second felony. Pleas of guilty to or 
convictions of felony offenses prior to July 6, 1967, shall not be felony offenses within the 
meaning of this Article. Any felony offense to which a pardon has been extended shall not for 
the purpose of this Article constitute a felony. The burden of proving such pardon shall rest with 
the defendant and the State shall not be required to disprove a pardon. 

 
Article 4A.  

Prohibited Secret Societies and Activities.  

§ 14-12.7.  Wearing of masks, hoods, etc., on public ways. 
No person or persons at least 16 years of age shall, while wearing any mask, hood or 

device whereby the person, face or voice is disguised so as to conceal the identity of the wearer, 
enter, be or appear upon any lane, walkway, alley, street, road, highway or other public way in 
this State. 
 
§ 14-12.9.  Entry, etc., upon premises of another while wearing mask, hood or other 

disguise. 
No person or persons at least 16 years of age shall, while wearing a mask, hood or device 

whereby the person, face or voice is disguised so as to conceal the identity of the wearer, demand 
entrance or admission, enter or come upon or into, or be upon or in the premises, enclosure or 
house of any other person in any municipality or county of this State. 
 
§ 14-12.10.  Holding meetings or demonstrations while wearing masks, hoods, etc. 

No person or persons at least 16 years of age shall while wearing a mask, hood or device 
whereby the person, face or voice is disguised so as to conceal the identity of the wearer, hold 
any manner of meeting, or make any demonstration upon the private property of another unless 
such person or persons shall first obtain from the owner or occupier of the property his or her 
written permission to do so, which said written permission shall be recorded in the office of the 
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register of deeds of the county in which said property is located  before the beginning of such 
meeting or demonstration. 

 
Article 10. 

Kidnapping and Abduction. 
 
§ 14-39.  Kidnapping. 

(a) Any person who shall unlawfully confine, restrain, or remove from one place to 
another, any other person 16 years of age or over without the consent of such person, or any 
other person under the age of 16 years without the consent of a parent or legal custodian of such 
person, shall be guilty of kidnapping if such confinement, restraint or removal is for the purpose 
of: 

(1) Holding such other person for a ransom or as a hostage or using such other 
person as a shield; or 

(2) Facilitating the commission of any felony or facilitating flight of any person 
following the commission of a felony; or 

(3) Doing serious bodily harm to or terrorizing the person so confined, restrained 
or removed or any other person; or 

(4) Holding such other person in involuntary servitude in violation of G.S. 
14-43.12. 

(5) Trafficking another person with the intent that the other person be held in 
involuntary servitude or sexual servitude in violation of G.S. 14-43.11. 

(6) Subjecting or maintaining such other person for sexual servitude in violation 
of G.S. 14-43.13. 

. . .  . 
 

§ 14-43.3.  Felonious restraint. 
A person commits the offense of felonious restraint if he unlawfully restrains another 

person without that person’s consent, or the consent of the person’s parent or legal custodian if 
the person is less than 16 years old, and moves the person from the place of the initial restraint 
by transporting him in a motor vehicle or other conveyance.  Violation of this section is a Class F 
felony.  Felonious restraint is considered a lesser included offense of kidnapping. 
 

Article 13A. 

North Carolina Street Gang Suppression Act. 

§ 14-50.17.  Soliciting; encouraging participation. 
 (a)   It is unlawful for any person to cause, encourage, solicit, or coerce a person 16 
years of age or older to participate in criminal street gang activity. 
 (b)   A violation of this section is a Class H felony. 

 
§ 14-50.18.  Soliciting; encouraging participation; minor. 

(a) It is unlawful for any person to cause, encourage, solicit, or coerce a person under 16 
years of age to participate in criminal street gang activity. 

(b) A violation of this section is a Class F felony. 
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(c) Nothing in this section shall preclude a person who commits a violation of this 
section from criminal culpability for the underlying offense committed by the minor under any 
other provision of law.   
 
§ 14-50.22.  Enhanced offense for criminal gang activity. 

A person age 15 or older who is convicted of a misdemeanor offense or adjudicated 
delinquent for a misdemeanor offense that is committed for the benefit of, at the direction of, or 
in association with, any criminal street gang is guilty of or is delinquent for an offense that is one 
class higher than the offense committed. A Class A1 misdemeanor shall be enhanced to a Class I 
felony under this section.   

Note: Because this section provides for an enhanced offense, not an enhanced 
sentence,  the changes would make that enhancement clear in juvenile cases. It is 
not clear why age 15 is specified or whether it should change. 

 
§ 14-50.28.  Applicability to juveniles under the age of 16 18. 

Except as provided in G.S. 14-50.22, 14-50.29, and 14-50.30, the provisions of this 
Article shall not apply to juveniles under the age of 16 18.   

 
§ 14-50.29.  Conditional discharge for first offenders under the age of 18 20. 

(a) Whenever any person who has not yet attained the age of 18 20 years, and has not 
previously been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor other than a traffic violation under the 
laws of the United States or the laws of this State or any other state, pleads guilty to or is guilty 
of (i) a Class H felony under this Article or (ii) an enhanced offense under G.S. 14-50.22, the 
court may, without entering a judgment of guilt and with the consent of the defendant, defer 
further proceedings and place the defendant on probation upon such reasonable terms and 
conditions as the court may require. 

(b) If the court, in its discretion, defers proceedings pursuant to this section, it shall place 
the defendant on supervised probation for not less than one year, in addition to any other 
conditions. Prior to taking any action to discharge and dismiss under this section, the court shall 
make a finding that the defendant has no previous criminal convictions. Upon fulfillment of the 
terms and conditions of the probation provided for in this section, the court shall discharge the 
defendant and dismiss the proceedings against the defendant. 

(c) Discharge and dismissal under this section shall be without court adjudication of guilt 
and shall not be deemed a conviction for purposes of this section or for purposes of 
disqualifications or disabilities imposed by law upon conviction of a crime. Discharge and 
dismissal under this section may occur only once with respect to any person. Disposition of a 
case to determine discharge and dismissal under this section at the district court division of the 
General Court of Justice shall be final for the purpose of appeal. Upon violation of a term or 
condition of the probation provided for in this section, the court may enter an adjudication of 
guilt and proceed as otherwise provided. 

(d) Upon discharge and dismissal pursuant to this section, the person may apply for an 
order to expunge the complete record of the proceedings resulting in the dismissal and discharge, 
pursuant to the procedures and requirements set forth in G.S. 14-50.30(a). If the court 
determines, after hearing, that such person was dismissed and the proceedings against the person 
discharged and that the person had not yet attained 18 20 years of age at the time of the offense, 
it shall enter such order. The effect of such order shall be to restore such person in the 
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contemplation of the law to the status the person occupied before such arrest or indictment or 
information. 

(e) The clerk of superior court in each county in North Carolina shall, as soon as 
practicable after each term of court in his county, file with the Administrative Office of the 
Courts the names of those persons granted a discharge under the provisions of this section, and 
the Administrative Office of the Courts shall maintain a confidential file containing the names of 
persons granted conditional discharges. The information contained in such file shall be disclosed 
only to judges of the General Court of Justice of North Carolina for the purpose of ascertaining 
whether any person charged with an offense has been previously granted a discharge.   
 
§ 14-50.30.  Expunction of records. 

(a) Whenever any person who has not yet attained the age of 18 20 years and has not 
previously been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor other than a traffic violation under the 
laws of the United States or the laws of this State or any other state, pleads guilty to or is guilty 
of (i) a Class H felony under this Article or (ii) an enhanced offense under G.S. 14-50.22, the 
person may file a petition in the court where the person was convicted for expunction of the 
offense from the person’s criminal record. Except as provided in G.S. 14-50.29 upon discharge 
and dismissal, the petition cannot be filed earlier than (i) two years after the date of the 
conviction or (ii) the completion of any period of probation, whichever occurs later. The petition 
shall contain, but not be limited to, the following: 

(1) An affidavit by the petitioner that the petitioner has been of good behavior (i) 
during the period of probation since the decision to defer further proceedings 
on the offense in question pursuant to G.S. 14-50.29 or (ii) during the 
two-year period since the date of conviction of the offense in question, 
whichever applies, and has not been convicted of any felony, or misdemeanor 
other than a traffic violation, under the laws of the United States or the laws of 
this State or any other state. 

(2) Verified affidavits of two persons who are not related to the petitioner or to 
each other by blood or marriage, that they know the character and reputation 
of the petitioner in the community in which the petitioner lives, and that the 
petitioner’s character and reputation are good. 

(3) If the petition is filed subsequent to conviction of the offense in question, a 
statement that the petition is a motion in the cause in the case wherein the 
petitioner was convicted. 

(4) Affidavits of the clerk of superior court, chief of police, where appropriate, 
and sheriff of the county in which the petitioner was convicted and, if 
different, the county of which the petitioner is a resident, showing that the 
petitioner has not been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor other than a 
traffic violation under the laws of this State (i) during the period of probation 
since the decision to defer further proceedings on the offense in question 
pursuant to G.S. 14-50.29 or (ii) at any time prior to the conviction for the 
offense in question or during the two-year period following that conviction, 
whichever applies. 

(5) An affidavit by the petitioner that no restitution orders or civil judgments 
representing amounts ordered for restitution entered against the petitioner are 
outstanding. 
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The petition shall be served upon the district attorney of the court wherein the case was tried 
resulting in conviction. The district attorney shall have 10 days thereafter in which to file any 
objection thereto and shall be duly notified as to the date of the hearing of the petition. 

The judge to whom the petition is presented is authorized to call upon a probation officer for 
any additional investigation or verification of the petitioner’s conduct during the probationary 
period or during the two-year period after conviction. 

(b) If the court, after hearing, finds that the petitioner has remained of good behavior and 
been free of conviction of any felony or misdemeanor, other than a traffic violation, for two 
years from the date of conviction of the offense in question, the petitioner has no outstanding 
restitution orders or civil judgments representing amounts ordered for restitution entered against 
him, and the petitioner had not attained the age of 18 20 years at the time of the conviction in 
question, it shall order that such person be restored, in the contemplation of the law, to the status 
occupied by the petitioner before such arrest or indictment or information. No person as to whom 
such order has been entered shall be held thereafter under any provision of any laws to be guilty 
of perjury or otherwise giving a false statement by reason of the person’s failure to recite or 
acknowledge such arrest, or indictment, information, or trial, or response to any inquiry made of 
the person for any purpose. The court shall also order that the said conviction be expunged from 
the records of the court, and direct all law enforcement agencies bearing record of the same to 
expunge their records of the conviction as the result of a criminal charge. The clerk shall forward 
a certified copy of the order to the sheriff, chief of police, or other arresting agency. The sheriff, 
chief, or head of such other arresting agency shall then transmit the copy of the order with a form 
supplied by the State Bureau of Investigation to the State Bureau of Investigation, and the State 
Bureau of Investigation shall forward the order to the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

(c) This section is supplemental and in addition to existing law and shall not be construed 
so as to repeal any existing provision contained in the General Statutes of North Carolina.   
 

Article 16. 

Larceny. 

§ 14-74.  Larceny by servants and other employees. 
If any servant or other employee, to whom any money, goods or other chattels, or any of 

the articles, securities or choses in action mentioned in G.S. 14-75, by his master shall be 
delivered safely to be kept to the use of his master, shall withdraw himself from his master and 
go away with such money, goods or other chattels, or any of the articles, securities or choses in 
action mentioned as aforesaid, or any part thereof, with intent to steal the same and defraud his 
master thereof, contrary to the trust and confidence in him reposed by his said master; or if any 
servant, being in the service of his master, without the assent of his master, shall embezzle such 
money, goods or other chattels, or any of the articles, securities or choses in action mentioned as 
aforesaid, or any part thereof, or otherwise convert the same to his own use, with like purpose to 
steal them, or to defraud his master thereof, the servant so offending shall be guilty of a felony: 
Provided, that nothing contained in this section shall extend to apprentices or servants within the 
age of 16 years. If the value of the money, goods, or other chattels, or any of the articles, 
securities, or choses in action mentioned in G.S. 14-75, is one hundred thousand dollars 
($100,000) or more, the person is guilty of a Class C felony. If the value of the money, goods, or 
other chattels, or any of the articles, securities, or choses in action mentioned in G.S. 14-75, is 
less than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000), the person is guilty of a Class H felony.   
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Article 18. 

Embezzlement. 

§ 14-90.  Embezzlement of property received by virtue of office or employment. 
If any person exercising a public trust or holding a public office, or any guardian, 

administrator, executor, trustee, or any receiver, or any other fiduciary, or any officer or agent of 
a corporation, or any agent, consignee, clerk, bailee or servant, except persons under the age of 
16 years, of any person, shall embezzle or fraudulently or knowingly and willfully misapply or 
convert to his own use, or shall take, make away with or secrete, with intent to embezzle or 
fraudulently or knowingly and willfully misapply or convert to his own use any money, goods or 
other chattels, bank note, check or order for the payment of money issued by or drawn on any 
bank or other corporation, or any treasury warrant, treasury note, bond or obligation for the 
payment of money issued by the United States or by any state, or any other valuable security 
whatsoever belonging to any other person or corporation, unincorporated association or 
organization which shall have come into his possession or under his care, he shall be guilty of a 
felony. If the value of the property is one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) or more, the 
person is guilty of a Class C felony. If the value of the property is less than one hundred 
thousand dollars ($100,000), the person is guilty of a Class H felony. 

Article 26. 

Offenses against Public Morality and Decency.  

§ 14-178.  Incest. 
(a) Offense. – A person commits the offense of incest if the person engages in carnal 

intercourse with the person’s (i) grandparent or grandchild, (ii) parent or child or stepchild or 
legally adopted child, (iii) brother or sister of the half or whole blood, or (iv) uncle, aunt, 
nephew, or niece. 

(b) Punishment and Sentencing. – 
(1) A person is guilty of a Class B1 felony if either of the following occurs: 

a. The person commits incest against a child under the age of 13 and the 
person is at least 12 years old and is at least four years older than the 
child when the incest occurred. 

b. The person commits incest against a child who is 13, 14, or 15 years 
old and the person is at least six years older than the child when the 
incest occurred. 

(2) A person is guilty of a Class C felony if the person commits incest against a 
child who is 13, 14, or 15 and the person is more than four but less than six 
years older than the child when the incest occurred. 

(3) In all other cases of incest, the parties are guilty of a Class F felony. 
(c) No Liability for Children Under 16. – No child under the age of 16 is liable under 

this section if the other person is at least four years older when the incest occurred. 
 

§ 14-190.6.  Employing or permitting minor to assist in offense under Article. 
Every person 18 years of age or older who intentionally, in any manner, hires, employs, uses 

or permits any minor under the age of 16 years to do or assist in doing any act or thing 
constituting an offense under this Article and involving any material, act or thing he knows or 



 

200 

reasonably should know to be obscene within the meaning of G.S. 14-190.1, shall be guilty of a 
Class I felony.  
 
§ 14-190.7.  Dissemination to minors under the age of 16 years. 

Every person 18 years of age or older who knowingly disseminates to any minor under the 
age of 16 years any material which he knows or reasonably should know to be obscene within 
the meaning of G.S. 14-190.1 shall be guilty of a Class I felony.  
 
§ 14-190.9.  Indecent exposure. 

(a) Unless the conduct is punishable under subsection (a1) of this section, any person 
who shall willfully expose the private parts of his or her person in any public place and in the 
presence of any other person or persons, except for those places designated for a public purpose 
where the same sex exposure is incidental to a permitted activity, or aids or abets in any such act, 
or who procures another to perform such act; or any person, who as owner, manager, lessee, 
director, promoter or agent, or in any other capacity knowingly hires, leases or permits the land, 
building, or premises of which he is owner, lessee or tenant, or over which he has control, to be 
used for purposes of any such act, shall be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. 

(a1) Unless the conduct is prohibited by another law providing greater punishment, any 
person at least 18 years of age who shall willfully expose the private parts of his or her person in 
any public place in the presence of any other person less than 16 years of age for the purpose of 
arousing or gratifying sexual desire shall be guilty of a Class H felony. An offense committed 
under this subsection shall not be considered to be a lesser included offense under G.S. 14-202.1. 

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a woman may breast feed in any public 
or private location where she is otherwise authorized to be, irrespective of whether the nipple of 
the mother’s breast is uncovered during or incidental to the breast feeding. 
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a local government may regulate the 
location and operation of sexually oriented businesses. Such local regulation may restrict or 
prohibit nude, seminude, or topless dancing to the extent consistent with the constitutional 
protection afforded free speech. 
 
§ 14-202.1.  Taking indecent liberties with children. 

(a) A person is guilty of taking indecent liberties with children if, being 16 years of age 
or more and at least five years older than the child in question, he either: 

(1) Willfully takes or attempts to take any immoral, improper, or indecent 
liberties with any child of either sex under the age of 16 years for the purpose 
of arousing or gratifying sexual desire; or 

(2) Willfully commits or attempts to commit any lewd or lascivious act upon or 
with the body or any part or member of the body of any child of either sex 
under the age of 16 years. 

(b) Taking indecent liberties with children is punishable as a Class F felony. 

 
§ 14-202.2.  Indecent liberties between children. 

(a) A person who is under the age of 16 years is guilty of taking indecent liberties with 
children if the person either: 
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(1) Willfully takes or attempts to take any immoral, improper, or indecent 
liberties with any child of either sex who is at least three years younger than 
the defendant for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual desire; or 

(2) Willfully commits or attempts to commit any lewd or lascivious act upon or 
with the body or any part or member of the body of any child of either sex 
who is at least three years younger than the defendant for the purpose of 
arousing or gratifying sexual desire. 

(b) A violation of this section is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. 
 

§ 14-202.3.  Solicitation of child by computer to commit an unlawful sex act. 
(a) Offense. – A person is guilty of solicitation of a child by a computer if the person is 

16 years of age or older and the person knowingly, with the intent to commit an unlawful sex act, 
entices, advises, coerces, orders, or commands, by means of a computer, a child who is less than 
16 years of age and at least 3 years younger than the defendant, or a person the defendant 
believes to be a child who is less than 16 years of age and who the defendant believes to be at 
least 3 years younger than the defendant, to meet with the defendant or any other person for the 
purpose of committing an unlawful sex act. Consent is not a defense to a charge under this 
section. 

(b) Jurisdiction. – The offense is committed in the State for purposes of determining 
jurisdiction, if the transmission that constitutes the offense either originates in the State or is 
received in the State. 

(c) Punishment. – A violation of this section is punishable as follows: 
(1) A violation is a Class H felony except as provided by subdivision (2) of this 

subsection. 
  (2)  If either the defendant, or any other person for whom the defendant was 

arranging the meeting in violation of this section, actually appears at the 
meeting location, then the violation is a Class G felony.   

 
Article 27A. 

Sex Offender and Public Protection Registration Programs. 

Part 4.  Registration of Certain Juveniles Adjudicated for Committing Certain Offenses.  

Note:  Does raising the juvenile age require any changes in the sex offender 
registration provisions relating to juveniles? 

§ 14-208.26.  Registration of certain juveniles adjudicated delinquent for committing 
certain offenses. 

(a) When a juvenile is adjudicated delinquent for a violation of G.S. 14-27.2 (first degree 
rape), G.S. 14-27.3 (second degree rape), G.S. 14-27.4 (first degree sexual offense), G.S. 14-27.5 
(second degree sexual offense), or G.S. 14-27.6 (attempted rape or sexual offense), and the 
juvenile was at least eleven years of age at the time of the commission of the offense, the court 
shall consider whether the juvenile is a danger to the community. If the court finds that the 
juvenile is a danger to the community, then the court shall consider whether the juvenile should 
be required to register with the county sheriff in accordance with this Part. The determination as 
to whether the juvenile is a danger to the community and whether the juvenile shall be ordered to 
register shall be made by the presiding judge at the dispositional hearing. If the judge rules that 
the juvenile is a danger to the community and that the juvenile shall register, then an order shall 
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be entered requiring the juvenile to register. The court’s findings regarding whether the juvenile 
is a danger to the community and whether the juvenile shall register shall be entered into the 
court record. No juvenile may be required to register under this Part unless the court first finds 
that the juvenile is a danger to the community. 

A juvenile ordered to register under this Part shall register and maintain that registration as 
provided by this Part. 

(a1) For purposes of this section, a violation of any of the offenses listed in subsection (a) 
of this section includes all of the following: (i) the commission of any of those offenses, (ii) the 
attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation of another to commit any of those offenses, (iii) aiding and 
abetting any of those offenses. 

(b) If the court finds that the juvenile is a danger to the community and must register, the 
presiding judge shall conduct the notification procedures specified in G.S. 14-208.8. The chief 
court counselor of that district shall file the registration information for the juvenile with the 
appropriate sheriff.  
 
§ 14-208.27.  Change of address. 

If a juvenile who is adjudicated delinquent and required to register changes address, the 
juvenile court counselor for the juvenile shall provide written notice of the new address not later 
than the third business day after the change to the sheriff of the county with whom the juvenile 
had last registered. Upon receipt of the notice, the sheriff shall immediately forward this 
information to the Division. If the juvenile moves to another county in this State, the Division 
shall inform the sheriff of the new county of the juvenile’s new residence.   
 
§ 14-208.28.  Verification of registration information. 

The information provided to the sheriff shall be verified semiannually for each juvenile 
registrant as follows: 

(1) Every year on the anniversary of a juvenile’s initial registration date and six 
months after that date, the sheriff shall mail a verification form to the juvenile 
court counselor assigned to the juvenile. 

(2) The juvenile court counselor for the juvenile shall return the verification form 
to the sheriff within three business days after the receipt of the form. 

(3) The verification form shall be signed by the juvenile court counselor and the 
juvenile and shall indicate whether the juvenile still resides at the address last 
reported to the sheriff. If the juvenile has a different address, then that fact and 
the new address shall be indicated on the form.   

 
§ 14-208.29.  Registration information is not public record; access to registration 

information available only to law enforcement agencies and local boards of 
education. 

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the information regarding a juvenile 
required to register under this Part is not public record and is not available for public inspection. 

(b) The registration information of a juvenile adjudicated delinquent and required to 
register under this Part shall be maintained separately by the sheriff and released only to law 
enforcement agencies and local boards of education. Registry information for any juvenile 
enrolled in the local school administrative unit shall be forwarded to the local board of education. 
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Under no circumstances shall the registration of a juvenile adjudicated delinquent be included in 
the county or statewide registries, or be made available to the public via internet.   
 
§ 14-208.30.  Termination of registration requirement. 

The requirement that a juvenile adjudicated delinquent register under this Part automatically 
terminates on the juvenile’s eighteenth twentieth birthday or when the jurisdiction of the juvenile 
court with regard to the juvenile ends, whichever occurs first.  
 
§ 14-208.31.  File with Police Information Network. 

(a) The Division shall include the registration information in the Police Information 
Network as set forth in G.S. 114-10.1. 

(b) The Division shall maintain the registration information permanently even after the 
registrant’s reporting requirement expires; however, the records shall remain confidential in 
accordance with Article 32 of Chapter 7B of the General Statutes.  
 

Article 39. 

Protection of Minors. 

§ 14-316.1.  Contributing to delinquency and neglect by parents and others. 
Any person who is at least 16 18 years old who knowingly or willfully causes, encourages, or 

aids any juvenile within the jurisdiction of the court to be in a place or condition, or to commit an 
act whereby the juvenile could be adjudicated delinquent, undisciplined, abused, or neglected as 
defined by G.S. 7B-101 and G.S. 7B-1501 shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

It is not necessary for the district court exercising juvenile jurisdiction to make an 
adjudication that any juvenile is delinquent, undisciplined, abused, or neglected in order to 
prosecute a parent or any person, including an employee of the Department of Juvenile Justice 
and Delinquency Prevention under this section. An adjudication that a juvenile is delinquent, 
undisciplined, abused, or neglected shall not preclude a subsequent prosecution of a parent or 
any other person including an employee of the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 
Prevention, who contributes to the delinquent, undisciplined, abused, or neglected condition of 
any juvenile. 

 
§ 14-318.4.  Child abuse a felony. 

(a) A parent or any other person providing care to or supervision of a child less than 16 
years of age who intentionally inflicts any serious physical injury upon or to the child or who 
intentionally commits an assault upon the child which results in any serious physical injury to the 
child is guilty of a Class E felony, except as otherwise provided in subsection (a3) of this section. 

(a1) Any parent of a child less than 16 years of age, or any other person providing care to 
or supervision of the child, who commits, permits, or encourages any act of prostitution with or 
by the child is guilty of child abuse and shall be punished as a Class E felon. 

(a2) Any parent or legal guardian of a child less than 16 years of age who commits or 
allows the commission of any sexual act upon the child is guilty of a Class E felony. 

(a3) A parent or any other person providing care to or supervision of a child less than 16 
years of age who intentionally inflicts any serious bodily injury to the child or who intentionally 
commits an assault upon the child which results in any serious bodily injury to the child, or 
which results in permanent or protracted loss or impairment of any mental or emotional function 
of the child, is guilty of a Class C felony. 
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(a4) A parent or any other person providing care to or supervision of a child less than 16 
years of age whose willful act or grossly negligent omission in the care of the child shows a 
reckless disregard for human life is guilty of a Class E felony if the act or omission results in 
serious bodily injury to the child. 

(a5) A parent or any other person providing care to or supervision of a child less than 16 
years of age whose willful act or grossly negligent omission in the care of the child shows a 
reckless disregard for human life is guilty of a Class H felony if the act or omission results in 
serious physical injury to the child. 

. . .  . 
 

§ 14-320.1.  Transporting child outside the State with intent to violate custody order. 
 When any federal court or state court in the United States shall have awarded custody of a 
child under the age of 16 years, it shall be a felony for any person with the intent to violate the 
court order to take or transport, or cause to be taken or transported, any such child from any point 
within this State to any point outside the limits of this State or to keep any such child outside the 
limits of this State.  Such crime shall be punishable as a Class I felony.  Provided that keeping a 
child outside the limits of the State in violation of a court order for a period in excess of 72 hours 
shall be prima facie evidence that the person charged intended to violate the order at the time of 
taking.  
 

Article 54. 

Sale, etc., of Pyrotechnics. 

§ 14-410.  Manufacture, sale and use of pyrotechnics prohibited; exceptions; sale to persons 
under the age of 16 prohibited. 

      . . .  . 
  (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 14-414, it shall be unlawful for any 
individual, firm, partnership, or corporation to sell pyrotechnics as defined in G.S. 14-414(2), 
(3), (4)c., (5), or (6) to persons under the age of 16.  
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Chapter 15A. 

Criminal Procedure Act.  

Article 5. 

Expunction of Records. 

§ 15A-145.  Expunction of records for first offenders under the age of 18 at the time of 
conviction of misdemeanor; expunction of certain other misdemeanors. 

 (a) Whenever any person who has (i) not yet attained the age of 18 20 years and has not 
previously been convicted of any felony, or misdemeanor other than a traffic violation, under the 
laws of the United States, the laws of this State or any other state, pleads guilty to or is guilty of 
a misdemeanor other than a traffic violation, or (ii) not yet attained the age of 21 years and has 
not previously been convicted of any felony, or misdemeanor other than a traffic violation, under 
the laws of the United States, the laws of this State or any other state, pleads guilty to or is guilty 
of a misdemeanor possession of alcohol pursuant to G.S. 18B-302(b)(1), he may file a petition in 
the court where he was convicted for expunction of the misdemeanor from his criminal record. 
The petition cannot be filed earlier than: (i) two years after the date of the conviction, or (ii) the 
completion of any period of probation, whichever occurs later, and the petition shall contain, but 
not be limited to, the following: 

 . . .  . 
(b) If the court, after hearing, finds that the petitioner had remained of good behavior and 

been free of conviction of any felony or misdemeanor, other than a traffic violation, for two 
years from the date of conviction of the misdemeanor in question, the petitioner has no 
outstanding restitution orders or civil judgments representing amounts ordered for restitution 
entered against him, and (i) petitioner was not 18 20 years old at the time of the conviction in 
question, or (ii) petitioner was not 21 years old at the time of the conviction of possession of 
alcohol pursuant to G.S. 18B-302(b)(1), it shall order that such person be restored, in the 
contemplation of the law, to the status he occupied before such arrest or indictment or 
information. No person as to whom such order has been entered shall be held thereafter under 
any provision of any laws to be guilty of perjury or otherwise giving a false statement by reason 
of his failure to recite or acknowledge such arrest, or indictment, information, or trial, or 
response to any inquiry made of him for any purpose. 

. . .  . 
 

Article 23. 

Police Processing and Duties upon Arrest. 

§ 15A-505.  Notification of parent and school. 

Note:   
 With the extension of the juvenile age, subsections (a) and (b) would apply in very few 

cases. The only minors who would be charged initially as adults would be those who 
have already been convicted of a criminal offense in superior court. 

 Because subsection (c) refers to “persons” and not “minors,” it would apply to those 
who are 18 or older and still in secondary school.   

(a) A law enforcement officer who charges a minor with a criminal offense shall notify 
the minor’s parent or guardian of the charge, as soon as practicable, in person or by telephone. If 
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the minor is taken into custody, the law enforcement officer or the officer’s immediate superior 
shall notify a parent or guardian in writing that the minor is in custody within 24 hours of the 
minor’s arrest. If the parent or guardian of the minor cannot be found, then the officer or the 
officer’s immediate superior shall notify the minor’s next-of-kin of the minor’s arrest as soon as 
practicable. 

(b) The notification provided for by subsection (a) of this section shall not be required if: 
(1) The minor is emancipated; 
(2) The minor is not taken into custody and has been charged with a motor 

vehicle moving violation for which three or fewer points are assessed under 
G.S. 20-16(c), except an offense involving impaired driving, as defined in 
G.S. 20-4.01(24a); or 

(3) The minor has been charged with a motor vehicle offense that is not a moving 
violation. 

(c) A law enforcement officer who charges a person with a criminal offense that is a felony, 
except for a criminal offense under Chapter 20 of the General Statutes, shall notify the principal 
of any school the person attends of the charge as soon as practicable but at least within five days. 
The notification may be made in person or by telephone. If the person is taken into custody, the 
law enforcement officer or the officer’s immediate supervisor shall notify the principal of any 
school the person attends. This notification shall be in writing and shall be made within five days 
of the person’s arrest. If a principal receives notification under this subsection, a representative 
from the district attorney’s office shall notify that principal of the final disposition at the trial 
court level. This notification shall be in writing and shall be made within five days of the 
disposition. As used in this subsection, the term “school” means any public or private school in 
the State that is authorized under Chapter 115C of the General Statutes. 
 

Article 81B. 

Structured Sentencing of Persons Convicted of Crimes. 

§ 15A-1340.16.  Aggravated and mitigated sentences. 

Note:  Should the ages highlighted below relating to aggravating and mitigating 
factors in sentencing be changed from 16 to 18?  

. . .  . 
(d) Aggravating Factors. – The following are aggravating factors: 

. . .  . 
(13) The defendant involved a person under the age of 16 in the commission of the 

crime. 
. . .  . 

(e) Mitigating Factors. – The following are mitigating factors: 
. . .  . 
(6) The victim was more than 16 years of age and was a voluntary participant in 

the defendant’s conduct or consented to it. 
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Chapter 50B. 

Domestic Violence. 

§ 50B-1.  Domestic violence; definition. 
(a) Domestic violence means the commission of one or more of the following acts upon an 

aggrieved party or upon a minor child residing with or in the custody of the aggrieved party by a 
person with whom the aggrieved party has or has had a personal relationship, but does not include 
acts of self-defense: 

(1) Attempting to cause bodily injury, or intentionally causing bodily injury; or 
(2) Placing the aggrieved party or a member of the aggrieved party’s family or 

household in fear of imminent serious bodily injury or continued harassment, 
as defined in G.S. 14-277.3, that rises to such a level as to inflict substantial 
emotional distress; or 

(3) Committing any act defined in G.S. 14-27.2 through G.S. 14-27.7. 
(b) For purposes of this section, the term “personal relationship” means a relationship 

wherein the parties involved: 
(1) Are current or former spouses; 
(2) Are persons of opposite sex who live together or have lived together; 
(3) Are related as parents and children, including others acting in loco parentis to 

a minor child, or as grandparents and grandchildren. For purposes of this 
subdivision, an aggrieved party may not obtain an order of protection against 
a child or grandchild under the age of 16; 

Note: Is this age related to the age of juvenile court jurisdiction? Should it be 
changed to 18? 

(4) Have a child in common; 
(5) Are current or former household members; 
(6) Are persons of the opposite sex who are in a dating relationship or have been 

in a dating relationship. For purposes of this subdivision, a dating relationship 
is one wherein the parties are romantically involved over time and on a 
continuous basis during the course of the relationship. A casual acquaintance 
or ordinary fraternization between persons in a business or social context is 
not a dating relationship. 

(c) As used in this Chapter, the term “protective order” includes any order entered 
pursuant to this Chapter upon hearing by the court or consent of the parties.   
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Chapter 90.  

Medicine and Allied Occupations.  

Article 5. 

North Carolina Controlled Substances Act.  

§ 90-95.  Violations; penalties. 
. . .  . 
(e) The prescribed punishment and degree of any offense under this Article shall be 

subject to the following conditions, but the punishment for an offense may be increased only by 
the maximum authorized under any one of the applicable conditions: 

. . .  .  
(5) Any person 18 years of age or over who violates G.S. 90-95(a)(1) by selling or 

delivering a controlled substance to a person under 16 years of age but more 
than 13 years of age or a pregnant female shall be punished as a Class D felon. 
Any person 18 years of age or over who violates G.S. 90-95(a)(1) by selling or 
delivering a controlled substance to a person who is 13 years of age or younger 
shall be punished as a Class C felon. Mistake of age is not a defense to a 
prosecution under this section. It shall not be a defense that the defendant did 
not know that the recipient was pregnant. 
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Chapter 143B. 
Executive Organization. 

Article 3. 

Department of Health and Human Services 

Part 4A. Family Preservation Act. 

§ 143B-150.5.  Family Preservation Services Program established; purpose. 
(a) There is established the Family Preservation Services Program of the Department of 

Health and Human Services. To the extent that funds are made available, locally-based family 
preservation services shall be available to all 100 counties. The Secretary of the Department of 
Health and Human Services shall be responsible for the development and implementation of the 
Family Preservation Services Program as established in this Part. 

(b) The purpose of the Family Preservation Services Program is, where feasible and in 
the best interests of the child and the family, to keep the family unit intact by providing intensive 
family-centered services that help create, within the family, positive, long-term changes in the 
home environment. 

(c) Family preservation services shall be financed in part through grants to local agencies 
for the development and implementation of locally-based family preservation services. Grants to 
local agencies shall be made in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 143B-150.6. 

(d) The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services shall ensure the 
cooperation of the Division of Social Services, the Division of Mental Health, Developmental 
Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services, and the Division of Medical Assistance, in carrying 
out the provisions of this Part.  
 
§ 143B-150.6.  Program services; eligibility; grants for local projects; fund transfers. 

(a) Services: Services to be provided under the Family Preservation Services Program 
shall include but are not limited to: family assessment, intensive family and individual 
counseling, client advocacy, case management, development and enhancement of parenting 
skills, and referral for other services as appropriate. 

(b) Eligibility: Families eligible for services under the Family Preservation Services 
Program are those with children ages 0-17 years who are at risk of imminent separation through 
placement in public welfare, mental health, or juvenile justice systems. 

Note:  Should the age range of children in eligible families reflect the increased ages 
at which children may be subject to placement in the juvenile justice system?  

(c) Service Delivery: Services delivered to eligible families under the Family 
Preservation Services Program shall be provided in accordance with the following requirements: 

(1) Each eligible family shall receive intensive family preservation services, 
beginning with identification of an imminent risk of out-of-home placement 
for an average of four weeks but not more than six weeks; 

(2) At least one-half of a caseworker’s time spent providing family preservation 
services to each eligible family shall be provided in the family’s home and 
community; 

(3) Family preservation caseworkers shall be available to each eligible family by 
telephone and on call for visits 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 
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(4) Each family preservation caseworker shall provide services to a maximum of 
four families at any given time. 

. . .  . 
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Chapter 148. 

State Prison System 

Article 3. 

Labor of Prisoners. 
 

§ 148-28.  Sentencing prisoners to Central Prison; youthful offenders. 
When a sentenced offender is to be taken to the Central Prison at Raleigh, a sheriff or other 

appropriate officer of the county shall cause such prisoner to be delivered with the proper 
commitment papers to the warden of the Central Prison. A person under 16 18 years of age 
convicted of a felony shall not be imprisoned in the Central Prison at Raleigh unless: 

(1) The person was convicted of a capital felony; or 
(2) He has previously been imprisoned in a county jail or under the authority of 

the Department of Correction upon conviction of a felony. 
This provision shall not limit the authority of the Secretary of Correction from transferring a 
person under 16 18 years of age to Central Prison when in the Secretary’s determination this 
person would not benefit from confinement in separate facilities for youthful offenders or when 
it has been determined that his presence would be detrimental to the implementation of programs 
designed for the benefit of other youthful offenders. Nor shall this provision limit the authority of 
the judges of the superior courts of this State or the Secretary of Correction from committing or 
transferring a person under 16 18 years of age to Central Prison for medical or psychiatric 
treatment. 

 
Note: These changes are consistent with but not required by an increase in the age of 
juvenile court jurisdiction. 

Article 4B. 
 

Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision. 

§ 148-65.5.  Governor to execute compact; form of compact. 
The Governor of North Carolina is authorized and directed to execute a compact on behalf of 

the State of North Carolina with any state of the United States legally joining therein in the form 
substantially as follows: 

. . .  . 
Article II. 

Definitions. 

(a) As used in this compact, unless the context clearly requires a different 
construction: 
(1) “Adult” means both individuals legally classified as adults and 

juveniles treated as adults by court order, statute, or operation of law. 
. . .  . 
 
(9) “Offender” means an adult placed under, or subject to, supervision as 

the result of the commission of a criminal offense and released to the 
community under the jurisdiction of courts, paroling authorities, 
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corrections, or other criminal justice agencies. “Offender” does not 
include a person placed under, or subject to, supervision solely as the 
result of the commission of a delinquent act. 
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APPENDIX C.  ALTERNATIVE TREATMENT OF MOTOR 
VEHICLE OFFENSES   

 
 

The amendments shown below illustrate one alternative to including all motor vehicle offenses 
committed by 16- and 17-year-olds in the juvenile justice system. It rewrites the definition of 
“delinquent juvenile” to exclude infractions and motor vehicle offenses committed by 16- and 
17-year-olds. It amends G.S. 7B-1604, to (1) make those offenses subject to prosecution in adult 
court and (2) authorize the prosecutor or judge in the proceeding to transfer those cases (except 
infractions) to juvenile court. New subsection (d) attempts to give the adult court and juvenile 
court concurrent jurisdiction, so that cases mistakenly filed in the wrong court are not subject to 
dismissal for lack of jurisdiction.  

Chapter 7B. 

Juvenile Code. 
 

SUBCHAPTER II. UNDISCIPLINED AND DELINQUENT JUVENILES. 

 
§ 7B-1501.  Definitions. 

In this Subchapter, unless the context clearly requires otherwise, the following words have 
the listed meanings. The singular includes the plural, unless otherwise specified. 
 . . .  . 

(7) Delinquent juvenile. – Any juvenile who,  

a. while less than 18 years of age but at least 6 years of age, commits a 
crime,  other than a violation of Chapter 20 of the General Statutes, under 
State law or under an ordinance of local government, or who commits 
indirect contempt by a juvenile as defined in G.S. 5A-31, or 

b. while less than 16 years of age but at least 6 years of age, commits an 
infraction or a violation of Chapter 20 of the General Statutes.   

       . . .  . 
   

 
§ 7B-1604.  Limitations on juvenile court jurisdiction. 

(a) Any individual, including one who is under the jurisdiction of the court, who commits 
a criminal offense on or after the individual’s eighteenth birthday is subject to prosecution as an 
adult. A juvenile who is emancipated shall be prosecuted as an adult for the commission of a 
criminal offense. 

(b) A juvenile who is transferred to and convicted in superior court shall be prosecuted as 
an adult for any criminal offense the juvenile commits after the superior court conviction.  

(c) Any juvenile who commits an infraction or a violation of Chapter 20 of the General 
Statutes on or after the juvenile’s sixteenth birthday but before the juvenile’s eighteenth birthday, 
is subject to prosecution as an adult; provided, in the case of a violation of Chapter 20 of the 
General Statutes,     
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  (1) the prosecutor, in his or her discretion, may waive jurisdiction and authorize the 
juvenile court counselor to file a juvenile petition in the matter, and   

 (2) the court, in its discretion, may waive jurisdiction and transfer the matter to 
juvenile court  

  a. for adjudication and disposition or,  
       b. following a conviction, for entry of a juvenile disposition rather than a 

sentence, in which case the conviction shall be treated as an adjudication of 
delinquency. 

(d) For purposes of subsection (c), initiation of the case in the wrong court does not 
deprive the court of jurisdiction. The court in which the matter was filed may transfer the case to 
the proper court or the parties may agree to proceed in the court in which the matter was filed. 
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OVERVIEW OF LAWS RELATING TO THE SHARING OF 
JUVENILE INFORMATION WITH STATE DEPARTMENTS 

AND AGENCIES 
 
 
Confidentiality of Records and Information 

Records and information relating to juveniles involved in the juvenile justice system generally 
are considered confidential.29 The clerk of superior court maintains a record for each juvenile 
involved in the juvenile justice system. Within a single county, a juvenile will have one record, 
(with one file number) that contains all juvenile court documents relating to that juvenile. Thus, a 
juvenile record is not a record of a particular offense, but a record of all of the juvenile’s current 
and previous involvement with the juvenile court in that county. This record may be viewed and 
copied by: 

 the juvenile or the juvenile’s attorney; 
 the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian; 
 an authorized representative of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian; 
 the prosecutor; and 
 juvenile court counselors.30 

 
When the Juvenile Code was rewritten in 1999, there was discussion about whether law 
enforcement officers should be added to that list. They were not. Instead, a provision was added 
authorizing a prosecutor, in his or her discretion, to share information from a juvenile’s record 
with sworn N.C. law enforcement officers. A prosecutor may not, however, allow a law 
enforcement officer to photocopy any part of the record.31 
  
Others may view or obtain copies of a juvenile record only when authorized by a court order to 
do so. The Juvenile Code does not specify procedures for seeking such an order. Nor does it 
provide any criteria to guide the court in determining whether to enter such an order.    
 
Although it is clear that the prosecutor may view and copy the unsealed portions of a juvenile 
record without a court order, it is not altogether clear whether that refers to all prosecutors or just 
the district attorney or prosecutor involved in the juvenile’s case. The Juvenile Code defines 
“prosecutor,” unless the context clearly requires otherwise, as the “district attorney or assistant 
district attorney assigned by the district attorney to juvenile proceedings.”32 It seems unlikely 
that the narrower reading was intended, given that  

1. the definition of “prosecutor” includes the district attorney as well as an assistant district 
attorney assigned to juvenile court; and  

                                                 
      29 See “Confidentiality in Juvenile Delinquency Proceedings,” Special Series No. 19 (Institute of Government, 
October 2004). Available at http://www.sog.unc.edu/pubs/electronicversions/pdfs/ss19.pdf. 
      30 G.S. 7B-3000(b). If the court has ordered any portion of the record “sealed,” no one may view that part of the 
record without a court order. G.S. 7B-3000(c).  
      31 G.S. 7B-3000(b). 
      32 G.S. 7B-1501(23). 
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2. the statute that authorizes the prosecutor to examine the juvenile record includes two 
subsections, G.S. 7B-3000(e) and (f), that use “prosecutor” in contexts that clearly are 
referring to criminal, not juvenile, proceedings.33  

 
The Juvenile Code also restricts access to other records of juveniles in the juvenile justice 
system. Law enforcement records relating to a juvenile may be viewed and copied without a 
court order only by 

 the juvenile or the juvenile’s attorney; 
 the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian; 
 the authorized representative of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian; 
 the district attorney or prosecutor; 
 juvenile court counselors; and 
 law enforcement officers sworn in this State.34 

 
Records maintained by juvenile court counselors or others in the Department of Juvenile Justice 
and Delinquency Prevention may be viewed and copied without a court order only by 

 the juvenile and the juvenile’s attorney; 
 the juvenile’s parent, guardian, custodian;  
 the authorized representative of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian; 
 professionals in the agency who are directly involved in the juvenile’s case; and 
 juvenile court counselors. 

 
The Juvenile Code limits the dissemination of information about juveniles as well as the 
disclosure of court and agency records. G.S. 7B-3100(b) states that “[d]isclosure of information 
concerning any juvenile under investigation or alleged to be within the jurisdiction of the court 
that would reveal the identity of that juvenile is prohibited . . .  .” The statute does not address 
consequences of disclosures that violate the prohibition.  

Authorized or Required Sharing of Records or Information 

The Juvenile Code includes several major exceptions to the restrictions it imposes on the sharing 
of information about juveniles. Specific exceptions to the general prohibition described just 
above are that  

1. pictures of runaways may be published with the permission of the juveniles’ parents, and  
2. when a juvenile escapes from custody, the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 

Prevention is required in some cases and authorized in others to disclose specified 
information about the juvenile.35 

 
 
 
 
                                                 
      33 G.S. 7B-3000(e) allows the prosecutor to use a juvenile’s record of certain adjudications for “plea negotiating 
decisions.” G.S. 7B-3000(e) refers specifically to a motion by the prosecutor in a subsequent criminal proceeding. 
      34 G.S. 7B-3001(b). 
      35 G.S. 7B-3100(b) and 7B-3102. 
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The Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, in consultation with the 
Conference of Chief District Court Judges, is required to adopt rules designating agencies that 
are required to share information about court-involved juveniles in response to requests by other 
designated agencies.36 Those rules are in the North Carolina Administrative Code at 28 NCAC 
01A .0301 and .0302.37 With respect to juveniles in the juvenile justice system, the statute and 
the rules require listed agencies to share information that is relevant to any case in which a 
petition has been filed alleging that a juvenile is delinquent. That duty continues until the 
juvenile is no longer subject to the juvenile court’s jurisdiction.   
 
The designated agencies are 

(a) the Department of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention 
(b) the Office of Guardian Ad Litem Services of the Administrative Office of the 

Courts 
(c) county departments of social services 
(d) area mental health developmental disability and substance abuse authorities 
(e) local law enforcement agencies 
(f)  district attorneys’ offices – however, a district attorney is not required to disclose 

or release any information  
(g) county mental health facilities, developmental disabilities and substance abuse 

programs 
(h) local school administrative units 
(i)  local health departments 
(j)  any local agency designated by an administrative order entered by the chief 

district court judge of the district in which the agency is located38 
 

On one level these information-sharing provisions are quite broad. They are limited, however, by 
any restrictions imposed by federal law – primarily with respect to school, health, and substance 
abuse records and information. In addition, the statute provides that any information shared 
pursuant to the rules may be used “only for the protection of the juvenile and others or to 
improve the educational opportunities of the juvenile.”39   
 
A second major exception requires the disclosure of certain information to the school a juvenile 
attends when the juvenile is alleged or has been found to be delinquent for an offense that would 
be a felony if committed by an adult.40 In those cases, the juvenile court counselor is responsible 
for communicating to the principal, both verbally and in writing, when a petition is filed, the 
court transfers the case to superior court, the petition is dismissed, or the court enters, modifies, 
or vacates a disposition order. The principal may not copy the documents and may share them 
only with those who (1) have direct guidance, teaching, or supervisory responsibilities for the 
juvenile and (2) have a specific need to know in order to protect the safety of the juvenile or 
others. 
 

                                                 
      36 G.S. 7B-3100(a). 
      37 The Administrative Code can be found at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
     38 28 NCAC 01A .0301.   
     39 G.S. 7B-3100(a). 
     40 G.S. 7B-3101 and 115C-404. 
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Use of Records or Information 

As noted above, schools that obtain information from the juvenile court counselor, and 
designated agencies that receive confidential information from other designated agencies, may 
use that information only for specified purposes. In some instances Juvenile Code provisions for 
accessing information and using it are not well aligned. For example, G.S. 7B-3000(e) says that 
the record of a juvenile’s delinquency adjudication for a felony offense “may be used by law 
enforcement, the magistrate, and the prosecutor for pretrial release and plea negotiating 
decisions.”  
 
The prosecutor, as discussed above, probably has access to juvenile records, so using a juvenile’s 
record of felony adjudications for plea negotiating in a criminal case would be feasible. Law 
enforcement officers, though, cannot access juvenile records, and they have information from the 
records only if the prosecutor has shared it. The Juvenile Code does not authorize magistrates to 
access juvenile records. It is not likely, therefore, that a magistrate is capable of using a 
defendant’s record of felony delinquency adjudications in making decisions about pretrial 
release.   
 
In an adult prosecution, a defendant’s juvenile record of a delinquency adjudication for a Class 
A, B1, B2, C, D, or E felony may be used for these purposes: 

 to prove other crimes, wrongs, or acts, under G.S. 8C-1, Rule 404(b) 
 as an aggravating factor at sentencing in a non-capital case, under                                       

G.S. 15A-1340.16(d)(18a)  
 as an aggravating factor at sentencing in a capital case, under G.S. 15A-2000(e)  

However, it may be used only by order of the court in the criminal case, on motion of the 
prosecutor and after an in camera hearing to determine whether the record is admissible.41 
 
In a criminal case, the delinquency adjudication of a witness other than the defendant may be 
used to impeach the witness under G.S. 8C-1, Rule 609, but only if 
1. a conviction of the same offense could be used to impeach an adult, and  
2. the court is satisfied that admission in evidence is necessary for a fair determination of guilt 

or innocence.42  
   
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                 
     41 G.S. 7B-3000(f). 
     42 G.S. 8C-1, Rule 609(d). The only provision relating specifically to witnesses in delinquency cases requires that 
the notice the clerk sends a juvenile whose juvenile record has been expunged inform the juvenile that “upon 
testifying in a delinquency proceeding, the juvenile may be required by a court to disclose that the juvenile was 
adjudicated delinquent.” G.S. 7B-3202. Under G.S. 7B-3200, only adjudications for offenses other than Class A, B1, 
B2, C, D, and E felonies are eligible for expunction. 


