Mitigation Programs

North Carolina Emergency Management  administers several programs to support help reduce the impacts of natural hazards on homes, businesses and communities throughout the state. Programs include the federally-funded Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP), Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program, Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) program, Repetitive Flood Claims (RFC) program, and Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL) pilot program. 

Who is eligible?

State and local governments, certain private nonprofit organizations or institutions that serve a public function, Indian tribes and authorized tribal organizations may apply for project funding on behalf of their citizens. Applicants must work through the state, who sets funding priorities and administers the program. NCEM works closely with local officials' to provide technical assistance including face-to-face project implementation meetings and site visits, as well as the dissemination of pertinent policy memos and Standard Operating Procedures.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program

The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program assists states and local communities in implementing long-term mitigation measures following a Presidential Disaster Declaration.

 To meet these objectives, FEMA can fund up to 75 percent of the eligible costs of each project. Federal funding under the HMGP is based on 15 percent of the federal funds spent on the Public and Individual Assistance programs (minus administrative expenses) for each disaster declaration. 

 The HMGP can be used to fund projects to protect either public or private property so long as the projects in question fit within the State and local government's overall mitigation strategy (e.g. local mitigation plans) for the disaster area. The project must also comply with program guidelines. Eligible activities under the HMGP include the acquisition or relocation of structures from hazard-prone areas, the retrofitting of existing structures, and the development of state or local standards designed to protect buildings from future damages (Source: FEMA). 

FEMA Hazard Mitigation Grant Program

HMGP Process

 After a presidential disaster declaration, local governments conduct community outreach meetings. Federal and state officials attend these meetings to provide information and answer questions about state and federal assistance. Property owners interested in acquisition, elevation, or relocation projects must submit a completed owner interest form to the local government. The local government then forwards the forms, along with a completed application, to the Hazard Mitigation Section of North Carolina Emergency Management.

 After the division receives the necessary forms and records, the application is reviewed for eligibility. Included in this review is a check of any environmental concerns that may be present. Once the review process is complete, North Carolina Emergency Management submits the application to FEMA for review and final approval. 

Eligible HMGP Projects may be of any nature that will result in protection of public or private property from natural hazards. Some types of projects that may be eligible include: 

  • Acquisition of hazard-prone property and conversion to open space
  • Retrofitting existing buildings and facilities
  • Elevation of flood-prone structures
  • Vegetative management/soil stabilization
  • Infrastructure protection measures
  • Stormwater management
  • Minor structural flood control projects
  • Post-disaster code enforcement activities
  • Development or improvement of warning systems

Flood Mitigation Assistance

The Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program uses cost-effective measures to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to buildings, manufactured homes, and other structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program. Eligible activities include acquisition, structure demolition, or structure relocation with the property deed restricted for open space uses in perpetuity. Elevating structures, dry flood-proofing of non-residential structures, and minor structural flood control activities are also eligible. Properties must be insured at the time of application.

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)

Pre-Disaster Mitigation

The Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) provides funds for hazard mitigation planning and implementing mitigation projects prior to a disaster. Such projects reduce overall risks for people and property and reduce reliance on disaster recovery funds. Eligible activities include: acquiring property (i.e. structures and land, where necessary) for open space conversion; relocating public or private structures; elevating existing public or private structures to avoid flooding; retrofitting structures e.g., storm shutters, hurricane clips, bracing systems) to meet/exceed applicable building codes; constructing;safe rooms (tornado and severe wind shelters) that meet FEMA requirements; conducting hydrologic and hydraulic studies/analyses, engineering studies and drainage studies related to a mitigation project; and managing vegetation management to restore dunes, wildfire, or snow avalanche. 

Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM)

Standard Operating Procedures for Hazard Mitigation

The following chapters explain the Standard Operating Procedures that will be followed by the Mitigation Branch when reviewing, implementing and closing out mitigation projects or plans.

Hazard Mitigation - Standard Operating Procedures Guide