Commission Members

Robert A. Evans Nash County District Attorney, Chair

Calvin J. Cunningham Private Citizen, Speaker of the House Appointee, Vice Chair

Erik A. Hooks Secretary of Public Safety

Chief Patrice V. Andrews Mooresville Police Department

Michael A. Becketts Deputy Secretary of Health and Human Services

Sheriff Charles Blackwood Orange County Sheriff’s Office

Judge Marvin K. Blount III Superior Court Judge, Pitt County

Sheriff Alan G. Cloninger Gaston County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Ernie L. Coleman Beaufort County Sheriff’s Office

Mayor Mitch Colvin City of Fayetteville

Matthew J. Cooper Raleigh Police Department

Leto Copeley National Crime Victim Bar Association

Judge Julius H. Corpening II Chief District Court Judge, New Hanover County

Benjamin J. Curtis Private Citizen, Senate Pro Tempore Appointee

Justice Samuel J. Ervin IV North Carolina Supreme Court

Susan S. Frye Clerk of Superior Court, Forsyth County

Chief Dan L. House Wrightsville Beach Police Department

Karen Howard Chatham County Commissioner

Judge Thomas H. Jarrell Chief District Court Judge, Guilford County

Virginia Jicha President of the NC Parent Teacher Association

Robert Trumbo Department of Public Instruction

Robert C. Kemp III Chief Public Defender, Pitt County

Kenneth Lassiter Director of Prisons

William L. Lassiter Deputy Secretary of Juvenile Justice

Patricia P. Lawler Private Citizen, Governor’s Appointee

Tracy Lee Director of Community Corrections

James Mitchell Mecklenburg City Council

Sheriff Hubert Peterkin Hoke County Sheriff’s Office

Judge Beverly A. Scarlett District Court Judge, Orange County

Robert Schurmeier Jr. Director, State Bureau of Investigation

Matthew C. Scott Robeson County District Attorney

Lauren Smith Private Citizen, Governor’s Appointee

James Speight Director of Youth Development Centers

Rev. Bruce E. Stanley Private Citizen, Governor’s Appointee

Hon. Josh Stein Attorney General

Sheriff Keith J. Stone Nash County Sheriff’s Office

Christopher J. Suggs Private Citizen, Governor’s Appointee

James D. Williams Jr. Criminal Defense Attorney, Governor’s Appointee

Mary Williams-Stover North Carolina Council for Women

McKinley Wooten Interim Director, Administrative Office of the Courts

Chief Michael G. Yaniero Jacksonville Police Department