Reentry Summit 2019

The NC Department of Public Safety, the Department of Justice, and the Office of the Governor hosted a reentry summit March 12, 2019 with the theme “Harnessing Hope for People Returning from Incarceration.” The summit focused on sharing information and advice on how non-profit and faith-based organizations can effectively serve and support those returning to their communities after incarceration. The summit featured discussions and speakers from a diverse range of backgrounds and communities. More than 400 people from across the state met, networked, and learned from others who are involved with reentry to address solutions to challenges that justice-involved individuals face after incarceration.  

2019 Reentry Summit Resources 
Summit Booklet (includes schedule, speaker bios and welcome letters from Governor Roy Cooper , Attorney General Josh Stein and Department of Public Safety Secretary Erik Hooks)
Reentry Summit Resource List - additional resources to supplement the information shared at the Reentry Summit. 
Summit Participant List  
Call to Action Groups and Contacts - Get in touch with your Call to Action group. Send updates to Irene Lawrence  

Speaker Presentations and Other Resources *
An Intro to Jobs for Life - Shay Bethea
Building a Strong Foundation for a Reentry Council - Rebecca Sauter
Collateral Consequences Related to CJ Involvement - Lettisha Boyd
Concrete Methods for Advancing Equity and Opportunity - Lettisha Boyd
Interfaith Prison Ministry for Women Frequently Asked Questions - Jennifer Jackson
NEW Reentry Council - Sharon Goodson
Relief from a Criminal Conviction in North Carolina - John Rubin
Renting with a Criminal History
Transition for Special Populations - Dr. Jean Steinberg
TROSA - Jesse Battle

This summit was made possible by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, North Carolina Correction Enterprises, the Department of Justice, the Office of the Governor, the State Reentry Council Collaborative, and the SRCC Faith/Community-based Workgroup, as well as the generous contributions of the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation.