State Reentry Council Collaborative

The State Reentry Council Collaborative (SRCC) was established by Gov. Roy Cooper and the North Carolina General Assembly in 2017 and is managed by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety. The SRCC is comprised of stakeholders from various community sectors, as well as representatives from the following state and local government agencies, whose responsibilities intersect with the incarceration or reentry process for people in North Carolina:

  • NC Department of Justice
  • NC Administrative Office of the Courts
  • NC Department of Health and Human Services
  • NC Department of Commerce Division of Workforce Solutions
  • NC Community College System
  • NC Department of Transportation Division of Motor Vehicles
  • NC Office of the Governor
  • NC Department of Military and Veterans Affairs
  • NC Department of Environmental Quality
  • NC Office of State Human Resources

Stakeholders represented on the SRCC include nonprofit organizations, community-based service providers, faith-based organizations and fair-chance employers. This cross-representation of government and community stakeholders helps the SRCC develop a comprehensive approach to addressing reentry issues.

The SRCC works to ease transition back into society for people leaving prison, jail or any other form of incarceration by:

  • Coordinating existing local and statewide resources,
  • Identifying and working to address gaps in resources and policy, and
  • Advocating to remove stigmas and reduce the barriers to successful reentry.
State Reentry Council Collaborative Membership Roster

State Reentry Council Collaborative Membership Roster

State Reentry Council Collaborative Membership Roster
Arthur Anderson, Jr.
Inter-agency Coordinator
Dept. of Military and Veterans Affairs
LaShauna Austria
Executive Director
Benevolence Farm
Judge Allen Baddour
North Carolina Superior Court
Brent Bailey
Local Reentry Coordinator
Buncombe County Local Reentry Coordinator
Karen Brown
Deputy Commissioner
Division of Motor Vehicles
Sonya Brown
Social Work Program Administrator
Dept. of Public Safety
Pam Cashwell
Chief Deputy Secretary 
Dept. of Public Safety
Darryl Childers
Policy Advisor
Office of the Governor
Angela Coleman
Director of Adult Programs
StepUp Ministry
Secretary Anthony Copeland
Dept. of Commerce
Linda Davis
Alpha for Prisons/Kairos Outside
Bessie Elmore
Executive Director
Straight Talk Support Group
Wendi Eure
Reentry Initiative Program Coordinator
Dept. of Commerce
Dennis Gaddy
Executive Director
Community Success Initiative
Rick Glazier
Executive Director
NC Justice Center
Danny Hampton
Local Reentry Coordinator
Freedom Life Ministries
Dr. Peter Hans, President
NC Community College System
Secretary Erik Hooks, Chair
Dept. of Public Safety
Dr. Melody Isaak
Deputy HR Director for Operations
Dept. of Environmental Quality
Todd Ishee
Commissioner of Prisons
Dept. of Public Safety
Joyce Jones
Reentry Consultant
Dept. of Public Safety
Kody Kinsley
Deputy Secretary for Behavioral Health & IDD
Dept. of Health & Human Services
William Lassiter
Deputy Secretary
Dept. of Public Safety
Tracy Little
Deputy Secretary
Dept. of Public Safety
Jasmine McGhee
Special Deputy Attorney General
Dept. of Justice
Bernice McPhatter
Local Reentry Coordinator
Local Reentry Council
Timothy Moose
Chief Deputy Secretary
Dept. of Public Safety
Dave Nash
Chief Operating Officer
Asheville Housing Authority
Beth Nelson
Justice Innovations Innovation Section Chief
Dept. of Health & Human Services
Ophelia Ray
Executive Director
Maggie’s Outreach
Frankie Roberts
Executive Director
Mildred Spearman
Legislative Liaison
Administrative Office of the Courts
Kristin Siemek
Recruitment Manager
NC Office of State Human Resources
Nicole Sullivan
Director, Reentry, Programs & Services
Dept. of Public Safety
Attorney General Josh Stein
Dept. of Justice
Lucas Vrbsky
Veterans Incarcerated Reentry Specialist
Veterans Administration
Karen Tikkanen
Director for Workforce Continuing Education Training & Standards
NC Community College System
McKinley Wooten
Deputy Director of Court Program
Administrative Office of the Courts
Kristie Puckett Williams
Regional Field Organizer, Campaign for Smart Justice
SRCC Work Groups and Final Report

SRCC Work Groups and Final Report

Ten SRCC work groups were created to address specific areas of concern.

  • Advocacy  
  • Education and Vocational Training  
  • Employment  
  • Faith/Community-based Organizations  
  • Family Reunification 
  • Housing  
  • Legal  
  • Mental Health, Substance Misuse and Medical  
  • Transportation  
  • Women and Incarceration  

Work group recommendations formed the basis of the SRCC final report, which contains the final SRCC recommendations and explains the SRCC’s process, outcomes and future direction

There are currently four implementation teams that are working on implementing some of the recommendations: 

  • Legislative 
  • Executive
  • Communications/Awareness
  • Local/Community