Hurricane Matthew Recovery Committee

Governor Pat McCrory announced on Oct. 19 his establishment of a Hurricane Matthew Recovery Committee to coordinate efforts to rebuild after the storm.


The Hurricane Matthew Recovery Committee will help meet five objectives:

  • to raise money for those in need through the North Carolina Disaster Relief Fund for Hurricane Matthew, particularly in regards to providing permanent housing;
  • reopen and rebuild critical infrastructure as fast and as safe as possible;
  • implement a comprehensive strategy for how to rebuild towns and communities in a sustainable way;
  • assess the storm's financial impact on agriculture, small businesses, commercial fishermen and other industries, and develop an economic recovery plan of action; and
  • implement a plan for any needed legislative action for any additional relief funding.

Committee Membership

Governor McCrory's Chief of Staff, Thomas Stith, serves as the Committee's chairman. Co-chairs include Steve Wordsworth of Rocky Mount representing the business community, Anne Faircloth of Clinton representing the agriculture community and Vanessa Harrison of AT&T representing the utilities. Additional members of the Committee to date include:

  • Mike Alford - Marine Motors, Jacksonville
  • Keith Allison - Systel Business Equipment, Fayetteville
  • Ruben Blackwell - Opportunities Industrialization Center, Rocky Mount
  • Murchison “Bo” Biggs - CPA, Lumberton
  • Kellie Blue - UNC-Pembroke, Pembroke
  • Joel Butler - Vidant Health, Greenville
  • Lynn H. Carlson - Hendrick Companies, Charlotte
  • Lyl M. Clinard - High Point and Lumberton
  • David Courie - Attorney, Fayetteville
  • Walt Crayton - Crayton and Co., New Bern
  • Samuel Dixon - Attorney, Edenton, N.C.
  • Andrea Harris - NC Institute Minority Economic Development, Durham
  • Les High - The News Reporter, Whiteville
  • Frank Holding - First Citizens Bank, Raleigh
  • Montell Irvin, P.E. - Ramey Kemp & Associates, Raleigh
  • Robert Ivey - Maxwell Foods, Goldsboro
  • Kevin Leonard - County Commissioner Association, Raleigh
  • Sidney Locks - Cornerstone Missionary Baptist Church, Greenville
  • Carl Meares, Jr. - Fair Bluff
  • Paul Meyer - NC League of Municipalities, Raleigh
  • Beverly Perdue - Former Governor of North Carolina
  • James S. Perry - Attorney, Kinston
  • Lenny Peters, M.D. - Bethany Medical Center, High Point
  • Art Pope - Variety Wholesalers, Raleigh
  • Jonathan Rhyne, Jr. - Attorney, Lincolnton
  • Margaret Spellings - President, University of North Carolina
  • Jonathan Tribula - Vanceboro Farm Life Elementary School, Vanceboro
  • Theresa Williams-Bethea - Kinston Promise Neighborhood, Inc., Kinston
  • Jimmie Williamson - President, North Carolina Community College System



Robeson County

Edgecombe County

Cumberland County

Pitt County

Lenoir County