Advanced Law Enforcement Certificates Awarded

Congratulations to 75 DPS law enforcement professionals who were recently recognized for their professional accomplishments. They were awarded Advanced Law Enforcement Certificates on Friday, Nov. 4 by the N.C. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, during the board’s quarterly meeting. They are among 154 recipients from law enforcement agencies across the state.

The Commission created the Law Enforcement Officers’ Professional Certificate Program in order to recognize the level of competence of law enforcement officers serving governmental agencies within the State, to foster interest in college education and professional law enforcement training programs, and to attract highly qualified people into a law enforcement career.

Under this program, dedicated officers may receive statewide and nationwide recognition for education, professional training, and on-the-job experience. More information is available here.

Also part of the meeting, was the presentation of Resolutions in Memorium to the families of 10 North Carolina law enforcement and correctional officers who died in the line of duty in 2020. This presentation had been delayed by the COVID-19 Pandemic. The commission presented plaques to the families and colleagues of one NC State Highway Patrol member, two local law enforcement officers and seven division of Adult Correction officers.

A true testament to the dedication and professionalism of those in the N.C. Department of Public Safety and law enforcement officers across North Carolina.

NC Alcohol Law Enforcement
Special Agent John Logan Markley
Special Agent Robert Bradley Putnam

NC State Highway Patrol
Sergeant Grant Pless Bowman
Master Trooper Scott Mark Casner

Adult Correction

Albemarle Correctional
Sergeant II Dina Loreese Bruton
Sergeant II Jeremy Lowell Eudy
Sergeant II Mary Ellen Hawkins
Unit Manager II Stephen Ryan Holcomb
Unit Manager I Nicholas Jude Keegan
Lieutenant Thomas Frank Mullins, Jr.

Alexander Correctional
Officer II Keven Dewayne Green

Anson Correctional
Captain III Ronald Keith Harris
Lieutenant III Brett Allen Simmons

Avery-Mitchell Correctional
Lieutenant Tommy David Buchanan
Correctional Officer II Twila Jean Townsend

Bertie Correctional
Food Service Supervisor III Geraldine Bell

Central Prison
Sergeant III Gilbert Brown
Sergeant III Ebony Elisa Estes
Sergeant III Mark John Immler
Correctional Officer III Tijuana Vernette Locus
Sergeant III Barry Elroy Minor
Lieutenant III William Thomas Oates

Craggy Correctional
Sergeant II Philip McGregor Kay

Craven Correctional
Lieutenant II Timothy Michael Sanders
Sergeant Edwin Joseph Watson

Forsyth Correctional
Correctional Officer I Nicholas Paul Margus

Franklin Correctional
Associate Warden of Custody Louis Taylor Southall

Granville Correctional
Unit Manager II Joy Lorita Davis
Sergeant Vincent Edward Nicholson

Harnett Correctional
Warden IV Cathy Faye Judge

Lincoln Correctional
Warden I Jeffrey Scott McGhee
Correctional Officer I Demetrius Angelo Young

Lumberton Correctional
Correctional Officer II James Lynn Bird

Maury Correctional
Lieutenant III Joyce Ann Douglas-Holloway
Associate Warden for Programs Antoine Lamoris Ingram
Sergeant III Reginald Maurice Selby

Mountain View Correctional
Captain Audie Peterson, Jr.
Captain II Kella Jones Phillips
Sergeant Paul Daniel Queen
Sergeant Travis Wayne Sparks
Sergeant Adam Kane Stewart
Sergeant Chris Douglas Thomason
Food Service Officer II Jerry Creed Vance
Correctional Officer Brandon Joel Yelton

NC Correctional Institution for Women
Housing Unit Manager I Adreana Leniece Barnes
Sergeant Sharika Taylor Holden
Captain III Cassandra Worrell Long
Correctional Officer III Robert Melton, Jr.
Sergeant II Latasha Marie Chenille Peters

Neuse Correctional
Programs Supervisor Bernadine Black

Office of Staff Development & Training
Correctional Training Coordinator I Charles Clayton Carter, Jr.

Pamlico Correctional
Associate Warden William Todd Stires

Pasquotank Correctional
Housing Unit Manager III Romell Carroll Overton

Pender Correctional
Captain II Scott Allen Rice

Chief Probation/Parole Officer Tracey Nicole Nelms
Probation/Parole Officer II Marcus Allen Globuschutz
Probation/Parole Officer II Jessica Lynn Sawyer
Probation Parole Officer II Amanda Marie Still

Randall Building
Assistant Superintendent I Christina Arlene Mingo

Richmond Correctional
Case Manager Stephonika Daisette Gladden
Program Supervisor Jody Lamont Knox

Sanford Correctional
Associate Warden I Ramon Rafael Gutierrez

Southern Correctional
Correctional Officer Christopher Lee Adams
Sergeant III Hannah Marie Armenta
Captain III Andre Dockery
Unit Manager III Stonmon Wright Haislip, Jr.
Lieutenant III Jonathan William Hunsucker
Correctional Officer III Veronica Lane Leake
Sergeant III Brian Leander Marshall
Sergeant III Kaleah Shamani McKenzie
Sergeant III Jessie Aaron McNabb
Housing Unit Manager II Berry Mukunayi Mwamba
Correctional Officer I Rhonda Clay Smith

Tabor Correctional
Housing Unit Manager III Shawna Lynn Brown
Lieutenant III Joseph Carson Cribb
Program Coordinator II Amanda Gail Edwards
Captain III James Wallace McPherson
Sergeant Kayla Elizabeth Mercer

Western Foothills Training Center
Associate Warden II Steven Garrett McKinney

NOTE: To view photos of the awardees click here.



Related Topics: