Donate to Hurricane Recovery

State Highway Patrol Employees and Retiree Receive Departmental Awards


Colonel Glenn M. McNeill Jr., Commander of the North Carolina State Highway Patrol, and Erik A. Hooks, Secretary of the Department of Public Safety, presented several members and a retiree with awards in a ceremony today. The awards given included the State Highway Patrol Award of Valor, Purple Heart Award, Meritorious Service Award, Colonel’s Appreciation Award, Samaritan Award, Tommy Cheek Award for Collision Reduction and the Humanitarian Service Award.

"We are proud to recognize the tremendous efforts and sacrifices that our members nobly make when called upon," said Colonel Glenn M. McNeill Jr., commander of the State Highway Patrol. "To come together and acknowledge their actions is a joyous occasion for our organization and the State of North Carolina."

Awards and Recipients:

Award of Valor

  • Trooper Matthew C. Eure – Troop A, District 6 – New Bern, N.C.
  • Trooper James C. Toon – Troop I, District 3 – Fayetteville, N.C.

Purple Heart Award

  • Retired First Sergeant Harry J. Latta – Middlesex, N.C.

Meritorious Service Award

  • Trooper Robert O. Melby – Troop A, District 8 – Morehead City, N.C.
  • Captain Jeff D. Gordon – Troop X, District X – Raleigh, N.C.
  • Sergeant Michael D. Baker – Troop X, District 0 – Raleigh, N.C.
  • Sergeant Jorge E. Brewer – Troop X, District 7 – Raleigh, N.C.
  • TSA Julia A. Jordan – Troop X, District X – Raleigh, N.C.

Colonel’s Appreciation Award

  • Mr. Edward Bottum
  • Mr. Lee Queen

Samaritan Service Award

  • Sergeant Robert B. Maynard – Troop C, District 3 – Raleigh, N.C.
  • Trooper Dustin P. Efird – Troop C, District 8 – Roanoke Rapids, N.C.
  • Trooper Mitchell L. Mann – Troop D, District 2 – Greensboro, N.C.
  • Trooper Jason P. Page – Troop E, District 3 – Salisbury, N.C.
  • Trooper Jason S. Ratliff – Troop E, District 7 – Yadkinville, N.C.
  • Trooper Andrew B. Depoyster – Troop G, District 4 – Asheville, N.C.
  • TSS Charlotte H. West – Troop B Communications – Elizabethtown, N.C.
  • Sergeant Jason B. Casteen – Troop B, District 4 – Clinton, N.C.
  • Trooper Jamie D. Duff – Troop B, District 4 – Kenansville, N.C.
  • Trooper Christopher M. Jeffries – Troop G, District 3 – Hendersonville, N.C.
  • Trooper Mark W. Corbin – Troop G, District 9 – Asheville, N.C.

Humanitarian Service Award

  • Sergeant Brent E. Hipp – Troop G, District 3 – Hendersonville, N.C.

Tommy Cheek Award for Collision Reduction

  • Troop H, District 3 – Monroe, N.C.

The Highway Patrol Award of Valor is given to a member who has demonstrated outstanding judgment, courage, personal bravery, and a selfless act of heroism involving risk of life to prevent injury, loss of life, or prevent damage to or loss of property.

The Highway Patrol Purple Heart Award is presented to a member who has been injured or wounded by an act of aggression or assault upon him/her while performing assigned duties

The Highway Patrol Meritorious Service Award is given by the Patrol to a member or members who serve the state of North Carolina in an outstanding manner.

The Highway Patrol Samaritan Award is an award bestowed to a member of the Patrol who went beyond the call of duty to aid or assist a fellow citizen.

The Highway Patrol Humanitarian Service Award is presented in recognition for an employee’s outstanding volunteer public service that significantly contributes to individuals, groups, organizations, or communities in North Carolina.

The Highway Patrol Colonel’s Appreciation Award is given in recognition of a citizen or group who has significantly contributed to the success and mission of the Highway Patrol.

Captain T. L. Cheek Collision Reduction Award is given to the District that has the overall largest percent decrease in reportable collisions over the previous year.

For more detailed information on the individual award recipients, please open the attached narrative.


This press release is related to:

Associated Files