North Carolina Counties Hit by Tropical Storm Michael Eligible for Federal Assistance


The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available for the State of North Carolina to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Tropical Storm Michael between Oct. 10 and 12, 2018. 

President Donald J. Trump granted Gov. Roy Cooper’s request making federal funding available to reimburse state and local governments and eligible private nonprofit organizations at least 75 percent of eligible costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the restoration of infrastructure and facilities to pre-disaster condition. Designated counties are Alamance, Brunswick, Caswell, Chatham, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Granville, Hyde, Iredell, McDowell, Montgomery, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry, Vance and Yadkin. 

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for Hazard Mitigation measures statewide. Hazard Mitigation includes actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. 

Albie Lewis has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. 

For more information on North Carolina’s recovery from Tropical Storm Michael, visit and Follow us on Twitter:
@NCEmergency and @FEMARegion4.


This press release is related to: