Fifteen State Capitol Police Officers Sworn In


Ten new and five recently promoted officers with the State Capitol Police were sworn in on Wednesday in a formal ceremony at the Justice Building in Raleigh.

Officers Edward Farmer, Brian Alston, Kenneth Blackwell, Jr, Michael Davis, Jr., John Donnelly, Gene Lambert, Michael Mullins, Shawn Smith, Casey Miller and Deputy Chief Terry Green were all welcomed to the agency by Chief R.E. “Chip” Hawley, who provided opening remarks. 

“These officers bring a wealth of training and in some cases decades of experience to our agency,” said Chief Hawley. “I’m proud to welcome them to the State Capitol Police team. I am also proud of our recently promoted supervisors. A police agency is only as good as its first line and intermediate supervisors—the sergeants and lieutenants. Our sergeants and lieutenants are the backbone of State Capitol Police.” 

In addition to the new officers, five supervisors took the oath of office for their new ranks. They were Lt. Philip Capucille, Lt. Thomas Fowler, Sgt. Michele Larson, Sgt. Everett Johnson and Sgt. Kevin Bobbitt.

The oath of office was administered by North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice Cheri Beasley.

Shortly after the ceremony, Chief Justice Beasley and Chief Hawley met with the officers and their families to congratulate them. 
EDITOR'S NOTE: Additional photos available for media broadcasts upon request.
State Capitol Police, a division of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, in addition to providing a safe and secure environment within the North Carolina State Government Complex, investigates crimes within its jurisdiction and monitors emergency alarms at state-owned facilities 24/7 across North Carolina and directs emergency responders as needed. 

This press release is related to: