Governor signs state disaster declaration for Dorian affected counties State assistance follows U.S. Small Business Administration approval of Governor’s request for disaster declaration


Today Governor Roy Cooper signed a state disaster declaration for counties that suffered damages from Hurricane Dorian, making additional assistance available to residents there.   

Recovery Centers Now Open
Mondays - Saturdays
Until October 31

Beaufort, Buxton, Ocracoke & Wilmington

"Today's state disaster declaration will help North Carolinians recovering from Hurricane Dorian get vital assistance necessary to recover," said Governor Cooper.

At the Governor’s request, the U.S. Small Business Administration granted a disaster declaration for Carteret, Dare, Hyde and New Hanover and the contiguous counties of Beaufort, Brunswick, Craven, Currituck, Jones, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Tyrrell and Washington, allowing affected residents to apply for low interest SBA disaster loans. With the signing of the state disaster declaration, state-funded grants become possible for affected individuals in those counties who do not meet the qualifications for an SBA loan.

Recovery centers will open at 11 AM Friday and remain open through October 31 for residents to apply for assistance. Hours will be 9 AM to 6 PM on weekdays and 10 AM to 2 PM on Saturday and closed on Sunday.

Variety Store Parking Lot
950 Irvin Garrish Highway
Ocracoke, NC 27960

Board of Elections Office
1702 Live Oak Street
Beaufort, NC 28516

Old PNC Bank
47013 Buxton Back Road
Buxton, NC 27920

New Hanover Co. Public Library NE Branch
1241 Military Cutoff Road
Wilmington, NC 28405

Applicants may also apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at

Businesses and individuals may also obtain information and loan applications by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or 1-800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing, or by emailing Loan applications can also be downloaded at and brought to the recovery centers.  Residents with questions about state-funded individual assistance can call 919-825-2378.

The SBA disaster request and state disaster declaration follow FEMA’s denial of North Carolina’s request for Individual Assistance on October 8th.

This press release is related to: