Help Still Available for Hurricane Dorian Survivors Disaster Recovery Open through October


North Carolina residents recovering from Hurricane Dorian have one more week to visit one of the four disaster recovery centers. Centers are open in Beaufort, Buxton, Ocracoke and Wilmington so residents can talk with state and federal officials about loans and grants to help them repair and replace storm-damaged property. 

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) granted Governor Cooper’s request for a disaster declaration in Carteret, Dare, Hyde and New Hanover counties. Residents in the contiguous counties of Beaufort, Brunswick, Craven, Currituck, Jones, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Tyrrell and Washington also may apply for funds.  Affected residents can apply in person for low-interest SBA disaster loans at one of the four centers or may apply online using SBA’s secure website at For those residents that don’t qualify for an SBA loan, a state-funded grant may be possible.

Recovery centers are open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. on weekdays and 10 a.m.  to 2 p.m. on Saturday through October 31; the centers are closed on Sunday. 
Hyde - Ocracoke
Variety Store Parking Lot
950 Irvin Garrish Highway
Ocracoke, NC 27960

Board of Elections Office
1702 Live Oak Street
Beaufort, NC 28516

Old PNC Bank
47013 Buxton Back Road
Buxton, NC 27920

New Hanover
New Hanover Co. Public Library NE Branch
1241 Military Cutoff Road
Wilmington, NC 28405
Businesses and individuals may also obtain information and loan applications by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or 1-800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing, or by emailing Loan applications can also be downloaded at and brought to the recovery centers.  Residents with questions about state-funded individual assistance can call 919-825-2378.

The SBA disaster request and state disaster declaration follow FEMA’s denial of North Carolina’s request for Individual Assistance on October 8th.
# # #

This press release is related to: