A mother has been charged following an North Carolina Alcohol Law Enforcement Division (NC ALE) investigation into a vehicle crash involving a teen driver and teen passenger.
On Friday, March 24, 2023, North Carolina State Highway Patrol (NC SHP) responded to a single-vehicle crash involving a juvenile driver and passenger in Sampson County. At the time of the crash, alcohol was believed to be a factor. NC SHP contacted NC ALE, who began an investigation.
Through the course of the investigation, NC ALE special agents charged the teen driver’s mother, Christy Walsh, 40, of Dunn, NC, with two counts of aid and abet persons less than 21 years of age in possessing an alcoholic beverage, two counts of contributing to the delinquency of a minor and two counts of giving spirituous liquor to persons under the age 21.
NC ALE special agents often work closely with NC SHP members investigating vehicle collisions resulting in personal injury and or death of persons less than 21 years of age when alcohol is believed to be a contributing factor in the collision.
ALE’s 111 specially trained agents have the authority to arrest and take investigatory action throughout North Carolina. Their primary responsibility is the enforcement of Alcoholic Beverage Control, tobacco, state lottery and gambling laws.