Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Community feedback sought to identify Eastern Carolina, Mid-East and Upper Coastal Plain regions’ community climate hazards Regional Resilience Portfolio Program workshop will offer local support for growth and stability

Apr 5, 2022

Community members from the Eastern Carolina council of government regions (Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico and Wayne counties), Mid-East Commission (Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Martin and Pitt counties) and the Upper Coastal Plain council of government regions (Edgecombe, Halifax, Nash, Northampton and Wilson counties) are invited to attend an online public workshop to discuss and identify locations that are subject to damage or loss due to climate hazards. Workshop attendees will also be provided an opportunity to share personal experiences with disaster preparedness and recovery. An initiative of the Regional Resilience Portfolio Program, the workshop is an opportunity for residents to provide direct input on the development of a regional vulnerability assessment. The assessment will be released for public comment before it is finalized and used to create a portfolio of priority community resiliency projects.

The Regional Resilience Portfolio Program is a component of the larger Regions Innovating for Strong Economies & Environment (RISE) Program. RISE is a partnership between the N.C. Office of Recovery and Resiliency (NCORR) and N.C. Rural Center, in collaboration with the N.C. Councils of Governments.

The Regional Resilience Portfolio Program serves the following council of governments regions: Kerr-Tar, Upper Coastal Plain, Albemarle, Mid-Carolina, Mid-East, Lumber River, Cape Fear, Eastern Carolina and Triangle J (except for Wake, Durham and Orange counties). A list of counties for each region can be found on the RISE website, along with a program kickoff announcement.

Members of the public who wish to attend the April meetings should follow the steps below to register online for one of the workshops:

Eastern Carolina Council of Governments Region Public Workshops
April 12: 10–11 a.m. and 6–7 p.m. (online meetings)
April 23: 10–11 a.m. (online meeting)
Register to attend one of the above meetings at: https://form.jotform.com/220795610860154
Deadline: April 8

Mid-East Commission Region Public Workshops
April 14: 10–11 a.m. and 6–7 p.m. (online meetings)
April 23: 1:30–2:30 p.m. (online and in-person meeting)
Register to attend one of the above meetings at: https://form.jotform.com/220805697704158
Deadline: April 8

Upper Coastal Plain Council of Governments Region Public Workshops
April 14: 11 a.m.–12:30 p.m. (online meeting)
Register at: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIkf-urqTopGNHyOY3UY-7T6SD4gmlKysNP
April 14: 5:30–7 p.m. (online meeting)
Register at: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0lc-uurT0rHNRVAp5-T6EqkkNBEwAyXDKE

RISE is funded by a $1.1 million U.S. Economic Development Administration grant, with support from both NCORR and N.C. Rural Center. The Duke Energy Foundation has committed $600,000 to offer Accelerator Grants to the regions for priority projects identified as an outcome of the program. RISE is managed by NCORR, a division of the N.C. Department of Public Safety. To learn more about the program or what’s happening in each council of government region, visit the RISE website.

Related Topics: