State Reentry Council Collaborative

Individuals with criminal records or those leaving prison or jail face serious challenges as they reintegrate and work to build stable, healthy lives and families.

The State Reentry Council Collaborative (SRCC) was established by the North Carolina General Assembly and Governor Roy Cooper in 2017 and is managed by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety. The SRCC is made up of representatives from across state and local government whose agency responsibilities intersect with the incarceration or reentry process for people in North Carolina:

  • NC Department of Justice
  • Administrative Office of the Courts
  • NC Department of Health and Human Services
  • NC Department of Commerce Division of Workforce Solutions
  • NC Community College System
  • NC Department of Transportation Division of Motor Vehicles

The SRCC also includes stakeholders from various community sectors, including nonprofit organizations, community-based service providers, faith-based organizations, and fair-chance employers. This cross-representation of government and community stakeholders will help the SRCC develop a comprehensive approach to addressing reentry issues.

The SRCC works to facilitate an easier transition back into society for people leaving prison, jail, or any other form of incarceration by:

  • Coordinating existing local and statewide resources,
  • Identifying and working to address gaps in resources and policy, and
  • Advocating to remove stigmas and reduce the barriers to successful reentry.
State Reentry Council Collaborative Membership Roster
Secretary Erik Hooks, Chair
Dept. of Public Safety
Secretary James H. Trogdon
Dept. of Transportation

David Howard
Chief Deputy Secretary Dept. of Transportation

G. Reginald Skinner, Jr.
Administrative Officer Division of Motor Vehicles

Secretary Mandy Cohen
Dept. of Health & Human Services

Sonya Brown
Team Lead, Justice Innovations Dept. of Health & Human Services

Judge Marion Warren Director
Administrative Office of the Courts

Mildred Spearman Legislative Liaison
Administrative Office of the Courts

McKinley Wooten
Deputy Director of Court Program Administrative Office of the Courts

Peter Hans, President
NC Community College System

Nate Humphrey, Director of Continuing Education, Training & Standards
NC Community College System

Jim Ross, President
Pamlico Community College

Vacant, Deputy Secretary for Administration
Adult Correction & Juvenile Justice Dept. of Public Safety

Timothy Moose, Deputy Secretary for Operations
Adult Correction & Juvenile Justice Dept. of Public Safety

William Lassiter, Deputy Secretary for Juvenile Justice
Adult Correction& Juvenile Justice Dept. of Public Safety

Linda Nunnallee, Executive Director
Step Up Ministry
Michael Shank, Executive Director
Pardoned by Christ
Frankie Roberts, Executive Director

Rick Glazier, Executive Director
NC Justice Center

Miea Walker, Engagement Coordinator
NC Justice Center
Secretary Anthony Copeland
Dept. of Commerce
Elly Goetz Executive Director Benevolence Farm

Bonnie Helmink, Applicant Services Manager
Dept. of Commerce

Attorney General Josh Stein
Dept. of Justice

Jasmine McGhee, Special Deputy Attorney General
Dept. of Justice

Joyce Jones, Executive Director

Danny Hampton, Local Reentry Coordinator
Freedom Life Ministries

Dennis Gaddy, Executive Director
Community Success Initiative

Bernice McPhatter, Local Reentry Coordinator
Local Reentry Council

Brent Bailey, Local Reentry Coordinator
Buncombe County Local Reentry Coordinator

Dave Nash, Chief Operating Officer
Asheville Housing Authority

Lucas Vrbsky,
Veterans Incarcerated Reentry Specialist Veterans Administration

Judge Allen Baddour, Superior Court Judge
District 15B
Ophelia Ray, Executive Director
Maggie' s Outreach