Job & Unemployment Help

  • Need low-interest disaster loan for my business or nonprofit organization Call 800-659-2955
    or 800-877-8339 (TTY)
  • Need help understanding insurance claims process or disputed claims?  Call 855-408-1212 or go to NCHurriClaims.com
  • Disaster unemployment assistance Call 866-795-8877 or visit www.NCESC.com
  • Unemployment: 888-737-0259, www.ncesc.com

Unemployment Assistance

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is available for many workers impacted by Hurricane Matthew. Individuals and business owners from approved counties (see below) who were affected by Hurricane Matthew and are unable to continue working must file an application for benefits within 30 days of the time the assistance was implemented. Click here for details 

Workers or business owners meeting the following criteria may be eligible for benefits:

  • Individuals who are unemployed due to the disaster, and do not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits. If you are eligible for regular unemployment insurance benefits, you must first exhaust those benefits before you are eligible for DUA.
  • Self-employed individuals and small business owners who lost income due to the disaster.
  • Individuals who were prevented from working due to an injury caused by the disaster.
  • Individuals who have become the major supplier of household income due to the disaster-related death or injury of the previous major supplier of household income.
  • Individuals who are unable to reach their job or self-employment location because they must travel through the affected area and are prevented from doing so by the disaster.
  • Individuals who were to commence employment or self-employment but were prevented from doing so by the disaster.

Counties approved for Disaster Unemployment Assistance as of 11/21:

45 counties approved for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. 

All application deadlines have passed. Anson, Carteret, Chatham, Northampton, Perquimans, Richmond and Scotland had to file by Dec. 5. Brunswick, Halifax and Hertford had to  file by Dec. 1. The deadline to file for Onslow County was Nov. 21. Carven, Martin, Tyrrell and Washington had to file by Nov. 16. The deadline for 23 counties was Nov. 14 (Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, Pender, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Wayne and Wilson). Lee, Moore and Wake had to file by Nov. 23. Camden, Chowan, Currituck and Pasquotank residents had until Nov. 28 to file.  

What to do

  1. Individuals must first file for regular unemployment insurance. If an individual is determined ineligible for regular unemployment insurance, or has exhausted their regular unemployment insurance benefits, a DUA claim can then be filed.
  2. Individuals will need to provide their Social Security number, copies of their most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs, or documentation to support they were working or self-employed when the disaster occurred. To receive DUA benefits, all required documentation must be submitted within 21 days from the day the DUA application is filed.
  3. Unemployment assistance is available for up to 26 weeks, beginning with the week starting October 9, 2016, as long as the claimant’s unemployment continues to be as a result of Hurricane Matthew.
  4. Contact the Disaster Unemployment Assistance hotline at 1-866-795-8877 between 8am- 5pm weekdays to apply for benefits. File as soon as possible. If self-employed, you must submit your most recent Federal Income Tax returns and/or your profit and loss statement to establish your weekly amount. For questions, email esc.dua@nccommerce.com or visit www.ncesc.com.