Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Application Checklist

Please click on the licensing process link to the left to obtain alarm licensing forms. 

Qualified applicants who wish to obtain a Burglar Alarm License should print the indicated application forms and then submit the following to the ASL office:

  • Complete the online application. ASLB Online Applications  (link: https://aslbapplication.permitium.com/aslb/start)             
  • One completed Federal Bureau of Investigation Form FD 258 fingerprint card. (All data must be complete, accurate and readable.) Please e-mail Board Secretary Cynthia Anthony at cynthia.anthony@ncdps.gov   in order to request a fingerprint card. You will need to provide a mailing address when requesting the fingerprint card.
  • A digital photograph will need to be uploaded with your application. The photograph must be current with no caps or hats being worn.  Paper photographs, polaroids’ and other similar types of photos are not acceptable.
  • Proof of high school graduation, general education certificate or proof of graduation from an accredited college or university. (Document must be uploaded during the application process)
  • Documentation verifying legal resident alien status (if not a US citizen). (Document must be uploaded during the application process)
  • DD 214 (if veteran or discharged).  If you are currently in the military, you must submit a letter from your commanding officer. (Document must be uploaded during the application process)
  • A $150.00 non-refundable application fee and an additional $38.00 fee for an SBI/FBI fingerprint check will be payable upon the completion of the online application.
  • A copy of your company’s current North Carolina Electrical Contractors license. (Document must be uploaded during the application process)
  • Applicants must sign two release statements. A signed and notarized ASL release of records form provided by this office.  In addition the applicant must sign the SBI release of records information form. (Document must be uploaded during the application process)
  • All applicants must obtain a criminal record check for the past sixty (60) months. All criminal records must be obtained from https://crclicensing.com/site/ppsb. You must order your criminal record via the internet. For any additional questions, call 1-877-272-0266, ext. 1029.
  • Every business entity must obtain a company business license to engage in an alarm systems business within North Carolina.  There is no fee for issuance of the company business license.  The only business that is exempted from the rule is a sole proprietorship where the owner is the licensee. Attach the proper forms either the Certificate of Authority from the North Carolina Secretary of State if out of state corporation or a copy of your Articles of incorporation if it is a North Carolina Corporation. Complete company business application, if applicable. (Document must be uploaded during the application process)
  • The enclosed Personal Reference Questionnaire is to be completed by each of the references you have listed on the application. (Document must be uploaded during the application process)

Prior to receiving a license, it is important that all applicants review the Alarm Systems Licensing Act N.C.G.S. 74-D and the administrative rules of the Alarm Systems Licensing Board 14B N.C.A.C 17.

If you have any further questions, you should contact the Licensing Unit of the Alarm Systems Licensing Board at (919) 788-5320.