Juvenile Jurisdiction Advisory Committee

The Juvenile Jurisdiction Advisory Committee was established in 2017 as part of the Juvenile Justice Reinvestment Act. This 21-member committee, staffed by the Juvenile Justice Section with DPS, is responsible for planning for the changes involved in the implementation of "Raise the Age" in North Carolina. The Advisory Committee must submit an interim report to the General Assembly by March 1, 2018, with annual reports due thereafter by Jan. 15 of each year. Its final report to the General Assembly is due by Jan. 15, 2023. This committee is scheduled to terminate on Feb. 1, 2023, or upon the filing of its final report, whichever occurs earlier.

Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee



First Name

Last Name

Role

Title

Appointed by

Email

Phone

Address

Betty

Budd

Representative from the victim advocacy community

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

31 Spring Forest Circle, Asheville, NC 28803

Tarrah E.

Callahan

Representative from the juvenile advocacy community

Executive Director Conservatives for Criminal Justice Reform

Speaker of the House of Representatives

tarrah@ccjrnc.com

919-260-9922 cell

200 W Morgan StreetRaleigh, NC 27601

Honorable Darren E.

Campbell

Sheriff

Sheriff (Iredell County)

Speaker of the House of Representatives

decampbell@co.iredell.nc.us

704-878-3180 work

201 Bess Rd., Statesville, NC 28625

Honorable J.H. "Jay"

Corpening, II

Representative from the victim advocacy community

Chief District Court Judge, District 5 (Pender and New Hanover Counties)

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Jcorpening54@gmail.com Julius.h.corpening@nccourts.org

910-341-7406 work

3119 Durbin Ct, Wilmington, NC 28409

Co-Chair

Bill D.

Davis

Representative from the juvenile advocacy community

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

bddavis11@hotmail.com

2208 Oakley Ridge Rd, North Wilkesboro, NC 28659

Co-Chair

Honorable Garry

Frank

District attorney

D.A. for District 22B, Davidson and Davie Counties

Speaker of the House of Representatives

westgwf@aol.com

336-240-3074 cell

392 JL Temple Rd., Lexington, NC 27295

Michelle

Hall

Executive Director of the North Carolina Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission

Executive Director NC Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission

Ex-officio

Michelle.L.Hall@nccourts.org

919.890.1470

901 Corporate Center Dr. Raleigh, NC 27607

Krista

Hiatt

Chief Court Counselors (rural county)

Chief Court Counselor

Governor

Krista.Hiatt@ncdps.gov

Rachel

Johnson

Director of the Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities,and Substance Abuse Services of the Department of Health and Human Services.

N.C. Division of Mental Health Developmental Disabilities & Substance Abuse Services, Justice Systems Team- Community Policy Management

Ex-officio- designee

Rachel.Johnson@dhhs.nc.gov

Honorable Jennifer J.

Knox

One clerk of superior court

Wake County Clerk of Superior Court

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

(919) 792-4000

1228 Banbury Rd, Raleigh, NC 27607

William L.

Lassiter

Deputy Commissioner for Juvenile Justice of the Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice of the Department of Public Safety

Deputy Secretary

Ex-officio

william.lassiter@ncdps.gov

919-825-2719

Chief Jeffrey

Ledford

Police chief

Chief of Police

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

jeff.ledford@cityofshelby.com

1304 Merrimont Ave., Kings Mountain, NC 28086

Kym

Martin

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Director of the Center for Safer Schools

Ex-officio- designee

kym.martin@dpi.nc.gov

Martin B.

McGee

Superior Court Judge

Judge of the 19A Judicial District of the Sixth Division of the Superior Court (Cabarrus County)

Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court

(704) 262-5628

PO Box 70Concord, NC 28026-0070

Carol

McManus

Chief Court Counselors (urban county)

Chief Court Counselor

Governor

Carol.McManus@ncdps.gov

Robert B.

Rader

Chief district court judge

Chief District Judge Wake County

Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court

Robert.B.Rader@nccourts.org

(919) 792-4800

PO Box 351Raleigh, NC 27602

Mary D.

Stansell

Assistant public defender who handles juvenile matters

North Carolina Association of Public Defenders; Wake County Public Defender Office: Juvenile Chief

marydstansell@yahoo.com

919-792-5488

Heather

Taraska

Assistant district attorney who handles juvenile matters

Conference of District Attorneys

heather.taraska@nccourts.org

901 Corporate Center Drive, Raleigh, NC 27607

Marion R.

Warren

Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts

Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts

Ex-officio

Eric

Zogry

Juvenile Defender in the Office of Indigent Defense

Juvenile Defender

Ex-officio

Eric.J.Zogry@nccourts.org

Phone: (919) 890-1650

P.O. Box 2448 | Raleigh, NC 27602

One representative from the Juvenile Justice Planning Committee of the Governor's Crime Commission