Juvenile Jurisdiction Advisory Committee

The Juvenile Jurisdiction Advisory Committee was established in 2017 as part of the Juvenile Justice Reinvestment Act. This 21-member committee, staffed by the Juvenile Justice Section with DPS, is responsible for planning for the changes involved in the implementation of "Raise the Age" in North Carolina. The Advisory Committee must submit an interim report to the General Assembly by March 1, 2018, with annual reports due thereafter by Jan. 15 of each year. Its final report to the General Assembly is due by Jan. 15, 2023. This committee is scheduled to terminate on Feb. 1, 2023, or upon the filing of its final report, whichever occurs earlier.

Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee

JJAC Member

Role

Title

Appointed by

Email

Ms. Betty Budd

Representative from the victim advocacy community

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

bbudd2@charter.net

Ms. Tarrah E. Callahan

Representative from the juvenile advocacy community

Executive Director, Conservatives for Criminal Justice Reform

Speaker of the House of Representatives

tarrah@ccjrnc.com

Honorable Darren E. Campbell

Sheriff

Sheriff (Iredell County)

Speaker of the House of Representatives

decampbell@co.iredell.nc.us

Honorable J. H. Corpening, II

Representative from the victim advocacy community

Chief District Court Judge, District 5 (Pender & New Hanover Counties)

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Julius.h.corpening@nccourts.org

Mr. Bill D. Davis (Co-Chair)

Representative from the juvenile advocacy community

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

bddavis11@hotmail.com

Honorable Garry Frank (Co-Chair)

District Attorney

District Attorney for District 22B (Davidson & Davie Counties)

Speaker of the House of Representatives

westgwf@aol.com

Honorable Beth Freshwater-Smith

One representative from the Juvenile Justice Planning Committee of the Governor's Crime Commission

District Court Judge for the 7th Prosecutorial District (Nash, Edgecombe, Wilson)

Governor's Crime Commission

beth.freshwater-smith@nccourts.org

Ms. Michelle Hall

Executive Director of the North Carolina Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission

Executive Director, NC Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission

Ex-officio

Michelle.L.Hall@nccourts.org

Ms. Krista Hiatt

Chief Court Counselor (rural county)

Chief Court Counselor

Governor

Krista.Hiatt@ncdps.gov

Ms. Ruby Brown Herring

Director of the Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services of the Department of Health and Human Services

Human Services Program Consultant

Ex-officio- designee

Ruby.BrownHerring@dhhs.nc.gov

Honorable Jennifer J. Knox

One Clerk of Superior Court

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

jenknox@mindspring.com

Mr. William L. Lassiter

Deputy Commissioner for Juvenile Justice of the Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice of the Department of Public Safety

Deputy Secretary

Ex-officio

william.lassiter@ncdps.gov

Chief Jeffrey Ledford

Police Chief

Chief of Police

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

jeff.ledford@cityofshelby.com

Ms. Kym Martin

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Director, Center for Safer Schools

Ex-officio- designee

kym.martin@dpi.nc.gov

Judge Martin B. McGee

Superior Court Judge

Judge of the 19A Judicial District of the Sixth Division of the Superior Court (Cabarrus County)

Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court

JudgeMcGee@nccourts.org

Ms. Carol McManus

Chief Court Counselor (urban county)

Chief Court Counselor

Governor

Carol.McManus@ncdps.gov

Judge Robert B. Rader

Chief District Court Judge

Chief District Judge Wake County

Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court

Robert.B.Rader@nccourts.org

Ms. Mary D. Stansell

Assistant public defender who handles juvenile matters

Wake County Public Defender's Office, Juvenile ChiefBoard Certified Specialist in Juvenile Law

North Carolina Association of Public Defenders

marydstansell@yahoo.com

Ms. Heather Taraska

Assistant district attorney who handles juvenile matters

Conference of District Attorneys

heather.taraska@nccourts.org

Director Marion R. Warren

Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts

Director, Administrative Office of the Courts

Ex-officio

marion.r.warren@nccourts.org

Mr. Eric Zogry

Juvenile Defender in the Office of Indigent Defense

Juvenile Defender

Ex-officio

Eric.J.Zogry@nccourts.org