Victim Services

Victim Services is comprised of four programs:

Crime Victims Compensation  

Victims Compensation Services reimburses citizens who suffer medical expenses and lost wages as a result of being an innocent victim of a crime committed in North Carolina. Victims of rape, assault, child sexual abuse, domestic violence, and drunk driving, as well as the families of homicide victims are eligible to apply for financial help. 

Senate Bill 257 of the NC General Assembly’s 2017 Session expanded allowable expenses for Crime Victims Compensation for certain counseling. For crimes committed on or after July 1, 2017, Crime Victims Compensation may be able to pay for counseling for the victim’s family as described in the statute highlighted below. Note that the new allowable expense is for family counseling, not for individual counseling. The counseling cannot include the offender.
 

EXPAND CRIME VICTIMS' SERVICES SECTION 16.6.(a) G.S. 15B-2 reads as rewritten:

"§ 15B-2. Definitions.

As used in this Article, the following definitions apply, unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) Allowable expense. – Reasonable charges incurred for reasonably needed products, services, and accommodations, including those for medical care, rehabilitation, medically-related property, and other remedial treatment and care. Reasonably needed services include (i) counseling for immediate family members of children under the age of 18 who are victims of rape, sexual assault, or domestic violence and (ii) family counseling and grief counseling for immediate family members of homicide victims. The cumulative total for counseling services provided to immediate family members shall not exceed three thousand dollars ($3,000) per family.

Allowable expense includes a total charge not in excess of five thousand dollars ($5,000) for expenses related to funeral, cremation, and burial, including transportation of a body, but excluding expenses for flowers, gravestone, and other items not directly related to the funeral service.

Allowable expense for medical care, counseling, rehabilitation, medically-related property, and other remedial treatment and care of a victim shall be limited to sixty-six and two-thirds percent (66 2/3%) of the amount usually charged by the provider for the treatment or care. By accepting the compensation paid as allowable expense pursuant to this subdivision, the provider agrees that the compensation is payment in full for the treatment or care and shall not charge or otherwise hold a claimant financially responsible for the cost of services in addition to the amount of allowable expense.

…."

Brochures

Rape Victim Assistance

Rape Victim Assistance provides free forensic medical examinations for victims of rape or sex offenses.  

Brochures

Prisons Probation and Parole  

The Victim Services Unit for Prisons, Probation and Parole assists victims, their families and interested parties whose offenders are sentenced in court to a prison term, placed on probation or released from prison on parole or post-release supervision.

                                         Call (919) 733-7974 or 1-800-826-6200
                                               English and En Espanol

NC SAVAN

North Carolina Statewide Automated Victims Assistance Notification
NC SAVAN, is a criminal justice information-sharing system that supports automated victim notification for incarcerated offenders in county jails.

Brochures