Licensing Process The following information reviews the requirements necessary for each license, permit or certificate issued by Private Protective Services. In addition, license applicants are responsible for complying with relevant North Carolina law, Private Protective Services N.C.G.S. 74-C, and the Board's Administrative Rules and Regulations under Private Protective Services 14B N.C.A.C. 16. Requirements To Obtain a License All applicants must: Be at least 18 years of age with a high school degree or equivalent. Be a US citizen or a resident alien. Be of good moral character with temperate habits (no criminal record, etc.). Electronic Countermeasures Three years of experience within the past 10 years in counterintelligence, or successful completion of a counterintelligence course at a Board approved school. [See G.S. 74C-3(a)(3), 74C-8, 74C-9, 74C-10, 14B NCAC 16.0402]. Electronic Countermeasures Schools Private Investigator License Three years of experience in private investigative work, or three years in an investigative capacity as a member of a law enforcement agency or other governmental agency. [See G.S. 74C-3(a)(8), 74C-8, 74C-9, 74C-10, 14B NCAC.0401]. Reciprocity The Board currently has reciprocal licensing agreements with several states. These agreements allow currently licensed private investigators from states to come into North Carolina for a specific period of time (30 days maximum, except for Tennessee, which is 15 days) to work a case which originated in their home state. Likewise, licensed North Carolina investigators may enter that state to work a case originating there. Investigations exceeding the time limits must be handled by a private investigator licensed in the particular state. See Reciprocal Agreements. Security Guard and Patrol License Three years of experience as a manager, supervisor, or administrator with a contract security company, a proprietary security organization or law enforcement agency performing a guard and patrol function. (See G.S. 74C-3(a)(6), 74C-8, 74C-9, 74C-10, 14B NCAC.0301) Polygraph License Successful completion of a Polygraph course at a Board approved school, successful completion of an examination and performance test administered by a panel of polygraph examiners designated by the Board, and one year of experience within the past three years. Note: If you do not have one year of experience, you will be required to complete six months as a trainee. (See G.S. 74C-3(a)(5), 74C-8, 74C-9, 74C-10, 14B NCAC 16 .0501, 14B NCAC 16 .0502, and 14B NCAC 16 .0503.) The PPSB relies on the N.C. Polygraph Association (NCPA) to administer polygraph testing for license applicants. The testing consists of three parts: a written test, a chart review, and a panel interview. For more information about testing, please review the NCPA’s study guide. Testing will be administered twice in 2022: Wednesday, March 30, and Wednesday, Sept. 28. The testing will take place at the Private Protective Services office, located at 3101 Industrial Dr, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609. List of Polygraph Schools Reciprocity The Board currently has reciprocal licensing agreements with several states. These agreements allow for currently licensed polygraph operators in these states to obtain a license in North Carolina without having to take the examination and performance test administered by the Board. Likewise, currently licensed North Carolina polygraph operators may obtain a license in these states without having to take their examination and performance test. IMPORTANT NOTE: These agreements do not exempt persons from obtaining a license, but rather, only from the testing requirements. See Reciprocal Agreements. Guard Dog Service License Two years of experience as a manager, supervisor, administrator, or dog handler with a contract security company, proprietary security organization or a governmental agency performing guard dog functions. (See G.S. 74C-3(a)(7), 74C-8, 74C-9, 74C-10, 14B NCAC.0302) Psychological Stress Examiners License Successful completion of an approved P.S.E. school. (See G.S. 74C-3(a)(5), 74C-8, 74C-9, 74C-10, 14B NCAC.0601). Psychological Stress Examiner Schools Armored Car Profession License No experience required. Courier Service Profession License No experience required. Applying for a License Please review the above requirements for each license you wish to attain. There are licenses that have experience requirements. Please note you will be asked for supporting documentation to verify the experience required for those licenses. If after reviewing the above requirements, you determine that you qualify for a license, review the application checklist for a list of items required in order to apply. Once all documents are acquired (and in digital format for uploading) please go to: here (https://ppsapplication.permitium.com/ppsb/start) to begin the application process. Browser requirements in order of preference: Google Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Safari. (Internet Explorer may not load properly for all users) For technical support assistance, please call 855-642-2453 or email firstname.lastname@example.org Applying for a Private Protective Services License Applicants who do not meet the experience requirements that are listed above for Private Investigator, Electronic Countermeasure or Polygraph Examiner may apply for PI Associate or Trainee license and will need to first obtain a sponsor currently licensed in the State of North Carolina, who is willing to hire and train you. [Go here for list of active licensees.] You will need to read and maintain a copy of the below Private Protective Services Board General Statute and Administrative Laws and Rules. Private Protective Services N.C.G.S. 74-C Private Protective Services 14B N.C.A.C.16 NOTICE TO CURRENT LICENSE HOLDERS All current PPS licensees must contact the online vendor Permitium to request a LOGIN / PASSWORD in order to access your individual dashboard in order to renew / change company.Each individual licensee must email PPSM@ncdps.gov and provide your company’s name, Business Permit Number(s) (BPNs), the Qualifying Agent’s name, and a telephone number where you can be reached. You will receive a welcome email from Permitium. This email will contain the application URL, along with your username and password to access your dashboard. NOTE: At the present time this process can take 2 to 4 weeks due to the volume of requests. Please do not delay; we no longer mail paper applications.