Commission Members

Robert A. Evans Nash County District Attorney, Chair

Eddie M. Buffaloe Jr. Secretary of Public Safety

Chief Patrice V. Andrews Durham Police Department

Justice Philip Berger Jr. North Carolina Supreme Court

Sheriff Clarence Birkhead Durham County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Charles Blackwood Orange County Sheriff’s Office

Judge Charles E. Brown Chief District Court Judge, Rowan County

Matthew J. Cooper Raleigh Police Department

Leto Copeley National Crime Victim Bar Association

Judge Julius H. Corpening II Chief District Court Judge, New Hanover County

Judge Mary Covington District Court Judge, Davidson and Davie Counties

Benjamin J. Curtis Private Citizen, Senate Pro Tempore Appointee

Dontario Hardy Mayor of Kinston

Andrew T. Heath Director, Administrative Office of the Courts

Andrew Hendry Private Citizen, Governor’s Appointee

Matt Hughes Mayor Pro Tem of Hillsborough

Monika Johnson-Hostler Executive Director, North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault

Chief Dan L. House Wrightsville Beach Police Department

Karen Howard Chatham County Commissioner

Todd Ishee Commissioner of Prisons

Virginia Jicha President of the NC Parent Teacher Association

Assistant Chief Anthony Kelly Fayetteville Police Department

William L. Lassiter Deputy Secretary of Juvenile Justice

Tracy Lee Director of Community Corrections

Judge Thomas H. Lock Senior Resident Superior Court Judge, Johnston County

Susan Osborne Assistant Secretary of County Operations, NC Department of Health and Human Services

Ricky Parks Chief Deputy Marshall of the NC Supreme Court

Erendira Ramirez Campbell University

Robert Schurmeier Jr. Director, State Bureau of Investigation

Matthew C. Scott Robeson County District Attorney

Angela Smith Director of Juvenile Facilities Operations, NC Department of Public Safety

Lauren Smith Private Citizen, Governor’s Appointee

Rebecca L. Spragins Clerk of Superior Court, Halifax County

Rev. Bruce E. Stanley Private Citizen, Governor’s Appointee

Hon. Josh Stein Attorney General

Sheriff Keith J. Stone Nash County Sheriff’s Office

Christopher J. Suggs Private Citizen, Governor’s Appointee

Hoyt G. Tessener Law Offices of James Scott Farrin

Pamela Thompson Private Citizen, Senate Pro Tempore Appointee

Catherine Truitt State Superintendent of Public Instruction

James D. Williams Jr. Criminal Defense Attorney, Governor’s Appointee

Sheriff Calvin Woodard Wilson County Sheriff’s Office

Chief Michael G. Yaniero Jacksonville Police Department